DETAILED ACTION
This application is a continuation of PCT/KR2023/007159.
The amendment filed on December 26, 2024 has been entered.
Status of Claims
Claim 6 is pending.
Claim 6 is under examination.
Claim for Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 26, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma (CN 112725253 - form PTO-892 and the English translation of CN 112725253. Retrieved on January 29, 2026 – form PTO-892. The English translation of CN 112725253 is used for specific passages of Ma).
Regarding claim 6, Ma discloses a method of producing L-glutamic acid by (1) culturing a microorganism belonging to the genus of Corynebacterium or Corynebacterium glutamicum transformant comprising the enzyme variant consisting of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:4 (BBD29_14900D372N) a polynucleotide encoding the variant in a medium and (2) recovering L-glutamic acid from the medium in which the transformant has been cultured (page 4, page 9, page 14, and claim 10). The enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:4 of Ma has 100% sequence identity to the NADP-dependent malic enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below).
MPEP 2112.01. II. states that “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”. MPEP 2112. II. states that “[t]here is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.”. In the instant case, since the enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:4 of Ma has identical structure as the NADP-dependent malic enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application, the enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:4 of Ma is an NADP-dependent malic enzyme.
Therefore, the reference of Ma anticipates claim 6.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma (US20240076701 - form PTO-892).
Regarding claim 6, Ma discloses a method of producing L-glutamic acid by (1) culturing a microorganism belonging to the genus of Corynebacterium or Corynebacterium glutamicum transformant comprising the enzyme variant consisting of the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:4 (BBD29_14900D372N) or a polynucleotide encoding the variant in a medium and (2) recovering L-glutamic acid from the medium in which the transformant has been cultured ([0025]-[0026], [0035], [0187], Example 6, and claims 16-17). The enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:4 of Ma has 100% sequence identity to the NADP-dependent malic enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application (see the sequence alignment below).
MPEP 2112.01. II. states that “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”. MPEP 2112. II. states that “[t]here is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference.”. In the instant case, since the enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:4 of Ma has identical structure as the NADP-dependent malic enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application, the enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:4 of Ma is an NADP-dependent malic enzyme.
Therefore, the reference of Ma anticipates claim 6.
Conclusion
Claim 6 is pending.
Claim 6 is rejected.
/YONG D PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652
Sequence alignment between the NDP-dependent malic enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:4 of Ma CN112725253-A (“Db”)
BJG54485
ID BJG54485 standard; protein; 392 AA.
XX
AC BJG54485;
XX
DT 24-JUN-2021 (first entry)
XX
DE Corynebacterium glutamicum BBD29_14900 protein mutant/D372N, SEQ ID 4.
XX
KW BBD29_14900 protein; amino acid production; fermentation; microorganism;
KW mutein.
XX
OS Corynebacterium glutamicum; Strain ATCC 13869 CGMCC No. 21220.
OS Synthetic.
XX
CC PN CN112725253-A.
XX
CC PD 30-APR-2021.
XX
CC PF 30-DEC-2020; 2020CN-11628757.
XX
PR 30-DEC-2020; 2020CN-11628757.
XX
CC PA (NING-) NINGXIA EPPEN BIOTECH CO LTD.
XX
CC PI Ma F, Wei A, Meng G, Zhao C, Jia H, Su H, Yang L, Guo X;
CC PI Tian B, Zhou X;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-48206J/047.
DR N-PSDB; BJG54483.
XX
CC PT New bacterium useful for producing L-glutamic acid, comprises
CC PT polynucleotide encoding amino acid sequence.
XX
CC PS Claim 6; SEQ ID NO 4; 28pp; Chinese.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel bacterium, useful for producing
CC L-glutamic acid. The bacterium comprises: improved expression of a
CC polynucleotide encoding the amino acid sequence, the amino acid sequence
CC of SEQ ID NO: 3 (see BJG54484) or its homologous sequence, preferably,
CC the improved expression is enhanced the expression of the polynucleotide
CC encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 or its homologous
CC sequence or the polynucleotide encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID
CC NO: 3 or its homologous sequence has a point mutation or the
CC polynucleotide encoding the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 or its
CC homologous sequence has a point mutation and the expression is enhanced.
CC The invention also provides: a method for producing L-glutamic acid.
XX
SQ Sequence 392 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1936; Length 392;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 392; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MTIDLQRSTQNLTHEEIFEAHEGGKLSISSTRPLRDMRDLSLAYTPGVAQVCEAIKEDPE 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MTIDLQRSTQNLTHEEIFEAHEGGKLSISSTRPLRDMRDLSLAYTPGVAQVCEAIKEDPE 60
Qy 61 VARTHTGIGNTVAVISDGTAVLGLGDIGPQASLPVMEGKAQLFSSFAGLKAIPIVLDVHD 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 VARTHTGIGNTVAVISDGTAVLGLGDIGPQASLPVMEGKAQLFSSFAGLKAIPIVLDVHD 120
Qy 121 VDALVETIAAIA PSFGAINLEDISAPRCFEVERRLIERLDIPVMHDDQHGTAVVILAALR 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 VDALVETIAAIA PSFGAINLEDISAPRCFEVERRLIERLDIPVMHDDQHGTAVVILAALR 180
Qy 181 NSLKLLDRKIEDLKIVISGAGAAGVAAVDMLTNAGATDIVVLDSRGIIHDSREDLSPVKA 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 NSLKLLDRKIEDLKIVISGAGAAGVAAVDMLTNAGATDIVVLDSRGIIHDSREDLSPVKA 240
Qy 241 ALAEKTNPRGISGGINEAFTGADLFIGVSGGNIGEDALKLMAPQPILFTLANPTPEIDPE 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 ALAEKTNPRGISGGINEAFTGADLFIGVSGGNIGEDALKLMAPQPILFTLANPTPEIDPE 300
Qy 301 LSQKYGAIVATGRSDLPNQINNVLAFPGIFAGALAAKAKKITPEMKLAAAEAIA DIAAED 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 LSQKYGAIVATGRSDLPNQINNVLAFPGIFAGALAAKAKKITPEMKLAAAEAIA DIAAED 360
Qy 361 LEVGRIVPTALNPRVAPAVKAAVQAVAEAQNA 392
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 LEVGRIVPTALNPRVAPAVKAAVQAVAEAQNA 392
Sequence alignment between the NDP-dependent malic enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:2 of the instant application (“Qy”) and the enzyme variant of SEQ ID NO:4 of Ma of US20240076701 (“Db”)
US-18-270-493-4
Sequence 4, US/18270493
Publication No. US20240076701A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: NINGXIA EPPEN BIOTECH CO., LTD
TITLE OF INVENTION: Recombinant Strain with Modified Gene BBD29_14900, and Method for
TITLE OF INVENTION: Constructing the Same and Use Thereof
FILE REFERENCE: GNPYX21083
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/18/270,493
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2023-06-30
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 32
SEQ ID NO 4
LENGTH: 392
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Glutamate synthesis
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1936; Length 392;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 392; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MTIDLQRSTQNLTHEEIFEAHEGGKLSISSTRPLRDMRDLSLAYTPGVAQVCEAIKEDPE 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MTIDLQRSTQNLTHEEIFEAHEGGKLSISSTRPLRDMRDLSLAYTPGVAQVCEAIKEDPE 60
Qy 61 VARTHTGIGNTVAVISDGTAVLGLGDIGPQASLPVMEGKAQLFSSFAGLKAIPIVLDVHD 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 VARTHTGIGNTVAVISDGTAVLGLGDIGPQASLPVMEGKAQLFSSFAGLKAIPIVLDVHD 120
Qy 121 VDALVETIAAIA PSFGAINLEDISAPRCFEVERRLIERLDIPVMHDDQHGTAVVILAALR 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 VDALVETIAAIA PSFGAINLEDISAPRCFEVERRLIERLDIPVMHDDQHGTAVVILAALR 180
Qy 181 NSLKLLDRKIEDLKIVISGAGAAGVAAVDMLTNAGATDIVVLDSRGIIHDSREDLSPVKA 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 NSLKLLDRKIEDLKIVISGAGAAGVAAVDMLTNAGATDIVVLDSRGIIHDSREDLSPVKA 240
Qy 241 ALAEKTNPRGISGGINEAFTGADLFIGVSGGNIGEDALKLMAPQPILFTLANPTPEIDPE 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 ALAEKTNPRGISGGINEAFTGADLFIGVSGGNIGEDALKLMAPQPILFTLANPTPEIDPE 300
Qy 301 LSQKYGAIVATGRSDLPNQINNVLAFPGIFAGALAAKAKKITPEMKLAAAEAIA DIAAED 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 LSQKYGAIVATGRSDLPNQINNVLAFPGIFAGALAAKAKKITPEMKLAAAEAIA DIAAED 360
Qy 361 LEVGRIVPTALNPRVAPAVKAAVQAVAEAQNA 392
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 LEVGRIVPTALNPRVAPAVKAAVQAVAEAQNA 392