DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
The application is a national stage entry of 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCR/CN2023/102706 (filed on 06/27/2023) and claims foreign priority to CHINA PCT/CN2022/101948 (filed 06/28/2022).
Claims Status
Claims 1-5, 8, 12, 14, 27-31, and 34-38 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of claim 31, the phrase "used for protect neurons" is improper and seems to be a typo. For compact prosecution, the claim is being interpreted as reciting, …used for protection of neurons by reducing oxidative stress.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Interpretation
For clarity of the record the following comments are made regarding claim interpretation under broadest reasonable interpretation:
TRIM72 is a muscle enriched tripartite motif (TRIM) protein with functions in cell membrane repair and regulation of immune signaling for tissue repair. TRIM72 is also known as, Mitsugumin 53 or MG53 in the prior art. Any reference to MG53 is a reference to TRIM72.
Regarding claims 1-5,8,12,14, and 27-31: These claims are drawn to a product. Claim 1 is drawn to a recombinant adeno-associated virus (rAAV) expression vector, comprising a gene encoding a TRIM72 protein or its variant or functional fragment thereof, wherein said recombinant AAV expression vector comprises a neuron-specific promoter. The product is an rAAV expression vector comprising TRIM72 and a neuron specific promoter
Regarding claim 31: The instant claim attempts to further define the rAAV expression vector by reciting a function of the rAAV expression vector of reducing oxidative stress in neurons. However, recited uses are considered intended use limitations. Intended use limitations only limit the product in so far as the product must be capable of being used as recited. See MPEP 2111.02. In the instant case, the rAAV expression vector encoding TRIM72 and a neuron-specific promoter is capable of reducing oxidative stress. Therefore, the instant claim as written does not further limit the structure of the rAAV expression vector discussed herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 31: Intended use limitations are set forth above. Following that discussion, claim 31 recites, the rAAV expression vector of claim 1, is used for the protect(ion) of neurons by reducing oxidative stress. The intended use limitation after the preamble does not introduce any further limitation to the structure of the rAAV expression vector, i.e., the product of claim 1 is the same product as claim 31, and likewise suitable for any intended purposes recited therein. Thus, claim 31 has the same scope as claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 30-31,34-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finneran et al (Frontiers in neurology, 2021) in view of He et al (Molecular therapy: the journal of the American Society of Gene Therapy, 2012) and Yao et al (Oncotarget, 2016); evidenced by Sermersheim et al (Nature communications, 2020).
Finneran et al teaches the strength and specificity of neuron-specific promoters, human synapsin 1 (hSyn1) and mouse calmodulin/calcium dependent kinase II (CaMKIIα) in Adeno-associated serotype 9 (AAV9) in expression in the brain to create mouse models for Alzheimer's disease (See, Abstract).
Regarding claim 1, Finneran et al teaches that capsid variants of AAV9 have been engineered to cross the blood-brain barrier, such as PHP.B or PHP.eB (See, p1 paragraph 1). Finneran et al teaches the use of PHP.eB AAV capsid expressing GFP with a hSyn1 promoter to assess ability to restrict peripheral expression after intravenous administration (See, p2 col 1 paragraph 2). This reads on, a recombinant adeno-associated virus (rAAV) expression vector, comprising,…wherein said rAAV expression vector comprises a neuron-specific promoter.
Finneran et al does not teach that the rAAV expression vector encodes for TRIM72. Yet, Finneran et al teaches that the rAAV of the study can be used for a therapeutic approach for neurodegenerative diseases (See, p10 col 2 paragraph 3 – p11 col 1 paragraph 1).
He et al teaches the use of a rAAV vector encoding MG53 (TRIM72) for systemic delivery of MG53 to enhance membrane repair and improve muscle and heart functions (See, Abstract).
He et al teaches the use of human MG53 AAV vectors packaged in AAV8 viral particles from 293 cells that were then administered intravenously into TO-2 hamsters (See, p733 col 2 paragraph 2-3).
While He et al teaches the administration for enhancing muscle membrane repair. Yao et al teaches recombinant human (rh) MG53 protein facilitates repair of ischemic-reperfusion injury to the brain by moving to acute injury sites on neuronal cells to form a membrane repair patch (See, Abstract). Yao et al also teaches that rhMG53 provides neuroprotection (See, Abstract).
Yao et al teaches that cultured neuronal cells incubated with rhMG53 enhanced survival against ischemic reperfusion (I/R) injury (See, p 22475 col 2 paragraph 2). Yao et al teaches that intravenous delivery of rhMG53 prior to I/R injury, reduces the injured area and protective effects that lasted up to 4 hours (See, p22475 col 2 paragraph 3, Figure 3). Yao et al also teaches that administration of rhMG53 post ischemia protects the brain from I/R injury, it can be used to prevent and/or treat ischemic stroke (See, p22475 col 2 paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the rAAV taught by Finneran et al for neural specific targeting of AAV gene therapy to substitute or include gene encoding for MG53 (TRIM72), as taught by He et al. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification to utilize a neuron specific rAAV to provide MG53 to neuronal tissues for the prevention or treatment of neurodegeneration either by ischemic stroke or disease, as taught by Finneran et al and Yao et al. Therefore, one would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by Finneran et al and Yao et al teaching the specific targeting of AAV9/PHP.eB with hSyn1 promoter and the effects of rhMG53 in neuronal ischemic injury, respectively.
Regarding claim 2, following the discussion above, Finneran et al teaches the use of PHP.eB AAV capsid expressing GFP with a hSyn1 promoter (See, p2 col 1 paragraph 2). This reads on, wherein said neuron-specific promoter comprises a human derived promoter.
Regarding claim 3, following the discussion above, the hSyn1 promoter taught by Finneran et al is a pan-neuronal promoter, which includes excitatory (glutamatergic) and inhibitory (GABAergic) neurons. This reads on, wherein said promoter is selected from…an excitatory neuron-specific promoter.
Regarding claim 4, following the discussion above, the use of the hSyn1 promoter by Finneran et al reads on, wherein said promoter is selected from a group: human synapsin (hSyn).
Regarding claim 5, following the discussion above, the PHP.eB vector is a AAV9 capsid vector variant, this reads on, wherein the serotype of AAV capsid is…AAV9.
Regarding claim 30, following the discussion above, the gene encoding MG53 in He et al has no specified mutations. Therefore, it reads on, wherein said TRIM72 protein, its variant or functional fragment thereof does not comprise an amino acid mutation at position C242.
Regarding claim 31, following the discussion above, claim 31 is an intended use claim (See, claim interpretation), it is included in the rejection of claim 1, evidenced by Sermersheim et al teaches that TRIM72 (MG53) has been shown to be essential for cell membrane repair and that exogenous rhMG53 has shown protective effects against both mechanical injury and oxidative stress that extends to kidney, lung and brain tissues, which includes neurons (See, p2 col 1 paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 34, Finneran et al transduced the AAV into mice intravenously. Figures 3 and 4 of Finneran et al show the GFP expression in various brain regions (See, Figures 3 and 4). This reads on, a host cell comprising said rAAV expression vector of claim 1.
Regarding claim 35, following the discussion above, Finneran et al administered the rAAV expression vectors diluted in PBS into the lateral tail vein of mice (See, p2 col 2 paragraph 3). This reads on, a pharmaceutical composition, comprises said rAAV expression vector of claim 1, and a pharmaceutically accepted adjuvant.
Regarding claim 36, following the discussion above, Finnean et al teaches the method of administrating the rAAV and the targeting of neuronal cells. Yao et al teaches that the administration of rhMG53 provides neuron protective properties. Therefore, the administration of rAAV with the substituted MG53, as stated above, would read on a method for protecting neurons in a subject, comprising administering an effective amount of said rAAV expression vector of claim 1 to a subject in need thereof.
Regarding claims 37-38, following the discussion above, Yao et al teaches that the administration of rhMG53 can treat or prevent ischemic stroke. Therefore, the method taught by Finneran et al reads on, a method of preventing and/or treating a nervous system disease, comprising administering an effective amount of said rAAV expression vector of claim 1 to a subject in need thereof of claim 37. It also reads on, wherein said nervous system disease comprising…stroke of claim 38 based on the teachings of Yao et al.
Therefore, claims 1-5, 30-31, 34-38 are rendered obvious by Finneran et al in view of He et al and Yao et al; evidenced by Sermersheim et al.
Claims 8,12,14,27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finneran et al (Frontiers in neurology, 2021), He et al (Molecular therapy: the journal of the American Society of Gene Therapy, 2012), and Yao et al (Oncotarget, 2016). as applied to claims 1-5,30-31,34-38 above, and further in view of Xiao et al (US2019/0153406A1; as cited in the IDS filed on 12/26/2024).
The teachings of Finneran et al, He et al, and Yao et al are set forth above.
Regarding claims 8,12, and 14, Finneran et al nor He et al, teach the TRIM72 protein sequence. Thus, it cannot be said they teach a full-length TRIM72 protein or truncated protein.
Xiao et al disclosed MG53 (TRIM72) mutants with identical amino acid sequence of wild-type MG53 except for at least one serine changed in the coiled-coil-SPRY region; either by deletion of mutation with non-serine or non-threonine amino acid (See, Abstract).
Xiao et al disclosed that the present invention relates to the use of the polypeptide used as a medicament for treating diseases associated with cellular and/or tissue damage (See, ¶0030).
Xiao et al disclosed SEQ ID NO:148, an amino acid sequence of a human MG53 subtype S255A mutant (See, Figure 25), which is 100% query match to instant SEQ ID NO:6 (See, APPENDIX for sequence alignment).
This sequence reads on, wherein said TRIM72 protein…comprises a…a TRIM72 truncated protein of claim 8.
This sequence reads on, wherein said TRIM72 truncated protein at least comprises PRYSPRY domain or its functional fragment of a TRIM72 protein of claim 12.
This sequence also reads on, wherein said PRYSPRY domain comprises an amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 6 of claim 14.
Given that both Finneran et al, He et al, and Xiao et al teach a pharmaceutical composition for treatment of a tissue, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the MG53 of He et al with the truncated MG53 taught by Xiao et al for a similar purpose. The use of a known MG53 (TRIM72) variant with SEQ ID NO: 148, is a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, leading to predictable results of cellular membrane repair. This rationale aligns with the principle of KSR for simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See, MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 27, following the discussion above, Xiao et al disclosed SEQ ID NO: 148, which is 100% match for SEQ ID NO: 6 of the instant application. Therefore, this reads on, wherein said TRIM72 protein… comprises the amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 6.
Regarding claim 30, following the discussion above, Xiao et al disclosed the mutations of SEQ ID NO: 148 and it does not include one at position C242. This reads on, wherein said TRIM72 protein… does not comprise an amino acid mutation at position C242.
Therefore, claims 8,12,14,27, and 30 are rendered obvious by Finneran et al, He et al and Yao et al in further view of Xiao et al.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Molecular therapy: the journal of the American Society of Gene Therapy, 2020, He et al (Molecular therapy: the journal of the American Society of Gene Therapy, 2012), and Yao et al (Oncotarget, 2016). as applied to claims 1-2,5,8,12,30-31,34-38 above, and further in view of Xiao et al (US2015/0361146 A1)
The teachings of Finneran et al, He et al, and Yao et al are set forth above.
Regarding claims 28-29, following the discussion above, Finneran et al nor He et al teach a TRIM72 protein variant comprising an amino acid mutation at position C14.
Xiao et al disclosed MG53 mutant, wherein one or more of the 7 cystines in the RING domain at the N-terminal of MG53 (TRIM72) are mutated amino acids, such that the mutants have therapeutic effects (See, Abstract).
Xiao et al disclosed MG53 mutant MG53 C14A, with a mutation at the 14th cysteine site of the RING domain of the N-terminus, substituted with a non-polar amino acid alanine (See, ¶0006-0018).
This reads on, wherein said TRIM72 protein…. comprises an amino acid mutation at position C14 of claim 28.
This also reads on, wherein said TRIM72 protein…comprises an amino acid mutation C14A of claim 29.
Given that both Finneran et al, He et al, and Xiao et al teach a pharmaceutical composition for administration, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to substitute the MG53 of He et al with the C14A mutated MG53 taught by Xiao et al for a similar purpose. The use of a known MG53 C14A is a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, leading to predictable results of cellular membrane repair. This rationale aligns with the principle of KSR for simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See, MPEP 2143).
Therefore, claims 28 and 29 are rendered obvious by Finneran et al, He et al, and Yao et al in further view of Xiao et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8, 12,14,27,30,31, and 35-38 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2,5-6,9,10,13-14,17-19, 28,30,32,35,36,39, and 42 of copending Application No. 18/879,150 in view of Finneran et al (Frontiers in neurology, 2021) and Yao et al (Oncotarget, 2016).
The teachings of Finneran et al and Yao et al are set forth above.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 30-31: Copending application claims 1-2,5-6,9-10,13-14, and 17-19, teaches a truncated TRIM72 protein comprising PRYSPRY domain or its functional fragment of a TRIM72 protein. Copending application claims 1-2,5-6,9-10,13-14, and 17-19 does not teach an rAAV expression vector comprising TRIM72 or functional fragment thereof, wherein the rAAV comprises a neuron-specific promoter.
Finneran et al teaches that capsid variants of AAV9 have been engineered to cross the blood-brain barrier, such as PHP.B or PHP.eB (See, p1 paragraph 1). Finneran et al teaches the use of PHP.eB AAV capsid expressing GFP with a hSyn1 promoter to assess ability to restrict peripheral expression after intravenous administration (See, p2 col 1 paragraph 2).
Yao et al teaches that cultured neuronal cells incubated with rhMG53 enhanced survival against ischemic reperfusion (I/R) injury (See, p 22475 col 2 paragraph 2). Yao et al teaches that intravenous delivery of rhMG53 prior to I/R injury, reduces the injured area and protective effects that lasted up to 4 hours (See, p22475 col 2 paragraph 3, Figure 3). Yao et al also teaches that administration of rhMG53 post ischemia protects the brain from I/R injury, it can be used to prevent and/or treat ischemic stroke (See, p22475 col 2 paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the rAAV taught by Finneran et al for neural specific targeting of AAV gene therapy to substitute or include gene encoding for truncated TRIM72 as taught by copending application. This conclusion of obviousness is based on teaching suggestion motivation rationale. One would have been motivated to make this modification to utilize a neuron specific rAAV to provide TRIM72 to neuronal tissues for the prevention or treatment of neurodegeneration either by ischemic stroke or disease, as taught by Finneran et al and Yao et al. Therefore, one would have had a reasonable expectation of success evidenced by Finneran et al and Yao et al teaching the specific targeting of AAV9/PHP.eB with hSyn1 promoter and the effects of rhMG53 in neuronal ischemic injury, respectively.
Regarding claims 8,12,14, and 27, following the discussion above, copending application claim 5 recites, the TRIM72 truncated protein of claim 1, wherein said PRYSPRY domain comprises an amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 6. This reads on instant claims 8,12, 14, and 27, as they are drawn to TRIM72 truncated protein and SEQ ID NO:6 of the copending application is a 100% match for SEQ ID NO: 6 of the instant application (See, APPENDIX for sequence alignment).
Regarding claims 35, following the discussion above, copending application claim 36 recites, a pharmaceutical composition comprising said TRIM72 truncated protein of claim 1, and a pharmaceutically accepted adjuvant. This reads on instant claim 35, as the rAAV expression vector has a gene encoding for the TRIM72 truncated protein.
Regarding claim 36-38, following the discussion above, copending application claim 39 recites, a method for preventing and/or treating a nervous system disease comprising administering an effective amount of said TRIM72 truncated protein of claim 1 to a subject in need thereof and copending application claim 42 recites, wherein said nervous system disease comprising ALS…. This reads on instant claims 36-38, as they are methods of administering an rAAV expression vector for encoding for truncated TRIM72 protein (claims 36/37) and claim 38 further narrows the method for treating ALS.
Therefore, claims 1-5/, 8, 12,14,27,30,31, and 35-38 are provisionally rejected over copending application 18/879,150 in view of Finneran et al and Yao et al.
Claims 1-5,8,12,14,27-31,34-38 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4,6,10,12,25-26,28,30-31,33-34,37-38, and 40-42 of copending Application No. 18/879,117.
Regarding claims 1-5, 8, 12, 14, 27-31, and 37: Copending application claim 1 recites, a method for preventing and/or treating Parkinson’s disease comprising administering one or more TRIM72 protein modulators to a subject in need thereof. Copending application claim 2 recites, wherein said TRIM72 protein modulator increase expression and/or activity of said TRIM72 protein. Copending claims 3-4, 6,10,12, further narrow the TRIM72 modulator to be protein or functional variant thereof or truncated protein.
As copending application if a method of administering TRIM72 protein, truncated or functional variant thereof and the instant application provides various rAAV expression vectors that encode for the TRIM72 protein, truncated or functional variant thereof. In carrying out the method of the copending application, one would necessarily provide the rAAV expression vector encoding for TRIM72 protein, truncated or functional variant. Thus, the copending application anticipates the examined or instant claims.
Regarding claim 1-5: Copending application claims 31, 33, 34, 37-38, and 40, recite that the method of claim 1 wherein the TRIM72 protein modulator comprises an rAAV expression vector with neuron specific promoter, from selected group of types of promoters, and specific AAV serotype that anticipate the rAAV expression vector of the examined claims because in carrying out the method of the copending application, one would necessarily provide the rAAV expression vector encoding for TRIM72 protein, truncated or functional variant
Regarding claims 8,10,12, and 14: Copending claims 6, 10, 12, and 25 recite about a the TRIM72 modulator comprising PRYSPRY domain with amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO: 6, which is a 100% for instant SEQ ID NO:6 (See, APPENDIX for sequence alignment). In carrying out the method of the copending application, one would necessarily provide the rAAV expression vector encoding for TRIM72 protein, truncated or functional variant. Thus, the copending application anticipates the examined or instant claims.
Regarding claims 27-31: Copending application claim 26 recites the TRIM72 modulator comprises an amino acid mutation at position C14. Copending claim 28 recites that the TRIM72 protein modulator does not comprise an amino acid mutation at position C242. In carrying out the method of the copending application, one would necessarily provide the rAAV expression vector encoding for TRIM72 protein, truncated or functional variant with specific mutations. Thus, the copending application anticipates the examined or instant claims.
Regarding claim 34: Copending application claim 41 recites a TRIM72 protein modulator comprises a cell wherein the cell comprises said vector of claim 31. This reads on a host cell comprising the rAAV expression vector of instant claim 1. In carrying out the method of the copending application, one would necessarily provide the rAAV expression vector encoding for TRIM72 protein, truncated or functional variant. Thus, the copending application anticipates the examined or instant claims.
Therefore, claims 1-5,8,12,14,27-31,34-38 are anticipated by copending application 18/879,117.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/CAROLINE M LARA/
Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633
APPENDIX
SEQUENCE ALIGNMENT
RE: Claims 14 and 27
Query (Qy) SEQ ID NO: 6 vs Database (Db) US2019/0153406A1 SEQ ID NO: 148
RE: NSDP over Copending Application 18/879,150
Query (Qy) SEQ ID NO: 6 vs Database (Db) vs Copending Application 18/879,150 SEQ ID NO: 6
RE: NSDP over Copending Application 18/879,117
Query (Qy) SEQ ID NO: 6 vs Database (Db) vs Copending Application 18/879,117 SEQ ID NO: 6
