DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 12/11/2025, cancelled claims 5-8, 10-13, 17, 19, 22-24, and 27.
Claims 1-4, 9, 14-16, 18, 20-21, 25-26 and 28-34 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
NOTE: Claims 28-34 are labeled as “(Previously Presented).” However these claims are new and therefore should be labeled “(New).” Claims 28-34 are interpreted as “New.”
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4, 20 and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
-In claim 3, line 2, the term “ethoxytlate” is misspelled and should be replaced with –ethoxylate- -.
-In claim 4, line 2, the space between the terms “ethyl” and “eneoxide” should be deleted. The term should read “ethyleneoxide.”
-In claim 4, line 2, the space between the terms “propyleneoxi” and “de” should be deleted. The term should read “proplyeleneoxide.”
-In claim 20, part “c),” the space between the terms “ethyl” and “eneoxide” should be deleted. The term should read “ethyleneoxide.”
-In claim 31, line 3, the “%” sign is missing following ”30 wt.” The claim should be amended to recite “30 wt%.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-In claim 3, it is not clear of “linear or branched” in line 2 only applies to “C8-C10 alcohol ethoxylate” or if it refers to every member of the Markush group.
-In claim 3, line 3, the structure of a “COCH alcohol ethoxylate” is unclear. It is not clear what position “COCH” occupies in the alcohol ethoxylate and what two group the “C” in the “CH” is attached to and which group the “C” in the “CO” is attached to.
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, “linear or branched” is interpreted as applying to every member of the Markush group.
-In claim 4, part “(b),” the parenthetical recitations “(e.g. lauryl sulfonate),” “(N-methyl oleyl taurate),” and “(cocoyl isethionate),” render the claim indefinite. It is not clear if these recitations are further limitations of fatty acid sulfonate, taurate, and isethionate, respectively, or if they are merely exemplary of fatty acid sulfonate, taurate, and isethionate.
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, these parenthetic recitations are interpreted as merely exemplary of fatty acid sulfonate, taurate, and isethionate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9, 14-16, 18, 25-26, 28-29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IN201821023083 (published 2019, IDS of 12/26/2024).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 9, 14-16, 18, 28, 29, 31, ‘083 teaches a suspension concentrate comprising 4% afidopyropen (additional insecticide), 20% diafenthiuron (additional insecticide), 7.5% spiromesifen (ketoenol insecticide), 2% ethoxylated fatty alcohol (adjuvant), 3% acrylic graft copolymer (steric stabilizer), 0.5% alkylated naphthalene sulfonate sodium salt (static stabilizer, alkyl aryl sulfonate), silicone antifoam (defoamer additive), 1,2-benzisothiazoline-3-one, mono-ethylene glycol, 0.2% xanthan powder, i.e. xanthan gum( rheomodifier), DM water (57.6%) (pgs. 22-23, 28, 7).
Regarding claims 25-26, ‘083 teaches a method of using its suspension to manage or control insect pests in crops by mixing the suspension in soil (pg. 36, claims 6-7; pg. 14, lines 19-27).
Further regarding claim 31, the ratio of 2%ethoxylated fatty alcohol (adjuvant) to 3% acrylic graft copolymer (steric stabilizer) and 0.5% alkylated naphthalene sulfonate sodium salt (static stabilizer) is present at a ratio between about 1:5 and about 5:1.
Regarding claim 32, water is an agriculturally acceptable liquid carrier.
Claim 33 is interpreted as if the rheomodifier is a cellulose ether, then the cellulose ether is any one of the compounds recited in claim 33. Since the rheomodifier is xanthan gum and not cellulose ether, this limitation is met.
Claim 34 is interpreted as if the steric stabilizer is a fatty acid sulfonate, N-methyl oleyl taurate, and/or isethionate, then the steric stabilizer is any one of the compounds recited in claim 34. Since the steric stabilizer is acrylic graft copolymer and not fatty acid sulfonate, taurate, and/or isethionate, this limitation is met.
Claims 1, 4, 14, 16, 18, 25-26, and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN11006336 (published 2019, IDS of 12/26/2024 (Original) and PTO-892 (Translation)).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 14, 16, 18, 28-30, ‘336 teaches a suspension pesticide comprising 15% spirotetramat (ketoenol insecticide), 15% thiamethoxam (additional insecticide), 3% sodium lignosulfonate (static stabilizer), 3% fatty alcohol polyoxyethylene ether (adjuvant), 0.2% xanthan gum (rheomodifier), 0.2% silicone antifoaming agent (additive), 63.6% water (Translation, pg. 10, Comparative Example 5).
‘336 teaches its suspensions as diluted with water prior to its use, thereby meeting the limitation of “concentrate form” (Translation, pgs. 10-11, Test Example 1).
Regarding claims 25-26, ‘336 teaches its suspensions for use as pesticides for controlling pests in crop fields, and specifically teaches its examples as tested in citrus planting fields by spraying the pesticides in planting areas, i.e., applying onto the plant and/or soil to control locusts and mites (Translations, pgs. 2, 10-11, Claims 8-10, Test Example 1).
Further regarding claim 31, the ratio of 3% fatty alcohol polyoxyethyelene ether (adjuvant) to 3% sodium linosulfonate (static stabilizer) is present at a ratio between about 1:5 and about 5:1.
Regarding claim 32, water is an agriculturally acceptable liquid carrier.
Claim 33 is interpreted as if the rheomodifier is a cellulose ether, then the cellulose ether is any one of the compounds recited in claim 33. Since the rheomodifier is xanthan gum and not cellulose ether, this limitation is met.
Claim 34 is interpreted as if the steric stabilizer is a fatty acid sulfonate, N-methyl oleyl taurate, and/or isethionate, then the steric stabilizer is any one of the compounds recited in claim 34. Since the steric stabilizer is sodium lignosulfonate and not fatty acid sulfonate, taurate, and/or isethionate, this limitation is met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, 14-16, 18, 25-26, and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IN201821023083 (published 2019, IDS of 12/26/2024).
Claims 1-4, 9, 14-16, 18, 20-21, 25-26, 28-29, and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IN201821023083 (published 2019, IDS of 12/26/2024) in view of Croda (Crop Care Product Guide, published 2020, PTO-892).
IN201821023083 is applied to claims 1, 4, 9, 14-16, 18, 25-26, 28-29 and 31-34 as discussed above, and incorporated herein.
Regarding claims 2-3, the suspension concentration of‘083 differs in that it does not teach the chain length of the ethoxylated fatty alcohol, i.e., fatty alcohol alkoxylate.
Croda teaches agricultural adjuvants for crop care (pg. 3). Croda teaches C8-15 alcohol ethoxylates as nonionic surfactants for use in agricultural formulations (pgs. 5-6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select C8-C15 alcohol ethoxylates as the ethoxylated fatty alcohols of ‘083, to arrive at claims 2-3. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘083 teaches its suspension concentrates as comprising ethoxylated fatty alcohol, and
-Croda teaches C8-C15 ethoxylated fatty alcohols as adjuvants for use in agricultural formulations.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection, to predictably arrive at a formulation that is stable and maximally effective for use as a pesticide to control locusts and mites.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, the suspension concentrate of the combination of ‘083 and Croda differs in that it does not teach spirotetramat.
‘083 teaches that its composition can comprise spiromesifen or spirotetramat in combination with afidopyropen and diafenthiuron (pgs. 10-11; pg. 34-35, claims 1-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the spiromesifen in the suspension concentration of the combination of‘083 and Croda, with spirotetramat, to arrive at instant claims 20-21. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-‘083 teaches spirotetramat as an alternative for spiromesifen, and
-substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious, see MPEP 2144.06.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution, to predictably arrive at a functionally similar suspension concentrate for use as a pesticide to control locusts and mites.
Double Patenting
Conclusion
/LAUREN WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622