DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendments/remarks filed on 02/23/2026. Claims 1-15 are pending; claims 1-2,9, 11 have been amended; claim 12-15 are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krzesicki (US 6743138 B2) in view of Ziech (US 8043188 B2) and further in view of Vogel (US 20100062892)
Claim 1: Krzesicki discloses a differential assembly (Figs.1-2) comprising
a gear wheel (26; Fig.1-2) provided with circumferentially extending outer cogs (e.g. teeth on outer rim of gear 26) and having a rotational axis (e.g. rotational axis of gear 26)
a first outgoing axle (e.g. an axle half-shaft -on the left side; see col.2 lines 26-27) provided with a first differential gear (e.g. 16 on the left side), and
a second outgoing axle (e.g. an axle half-shaft -on the right side; see col.2 lines 26-27) provided with a second differential gear (e.g. 16 on the right side); the first and second outgoing axles (e.g. an axle half-shaft -on the right side; see col.2 line 27) extending in opposite directions concentrically with the rotational axis (e.g. rotational axis of gear 26).
Krzesicki does not disclose wherein the differential assembly further comprises a first differential housing half and a second differential housing half, each of the first differential housing half and the second differential housing half being fixedly mounted to the gear wheel and, together with the gear wheel, enclosing the differential cross.
Ziech teaches a differential assembly (fig.1-2) further comprises a first differential housing half (40) and a second differential housing half (42), each of the first differential housing half (40) and the second differential housing half (42) being fixedly mounted to the gear wheel (10).
Accordingly as the modified device of Krzesicki in view of Ziech would have the differential housing half (40, 42-as taught by Ziech) together with the gear wheel (10-as taught by Ziech) enclose the differential cross (44-Krzesicki) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the differential housing (12) along with ring gear (26) with the differential housing half (40, 42-as taught by Ziech) together with the gear wheel (10-as taught by Ziech) in order to easy assemble and disassemble, maintenance, improve lubrication, better protect from debris.
Note: Figs.1-2 of Krzesicki further discloses a differential gear set (14) having pinion shaft (44) with two straight sections, differential pinions (37) rotatably arranged on the straight sections, and the first and second differential gears (16 on left and right side) engaging with the differential pinions (37).
Krzesicki (Figs.1-2) does not disclose a differential cross arranged within the gear wheel with arms of the differential cross arranged perpendicularly to the rotational axis, differential pinions rotatably arranged on the arms of the differential cross, wherein an inner circumference of the gear wheel is provided with radially extending recesses, and wherein each arm of the differential cross engages with one of the radially extending recesses via an interference fit.
Krzesicki (Fig.4) teaches a differential gear set (14) having a differential cross (44) arranged within the gear wheel (26) with arms (see annotated Fig below) of the differential cross arranged perpendicularly to the rotational axis (e.g. rotational axis of 26), differential pinions (37) rotatably arranged on the arms(see annotated Fig below) of the differential cross (44); wherein an inner circumference of the gear wheel (26) is provided with radially extending recesses (46), and wherein each arm of the differential cross (44) engages with one of the radially extending recesses (46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify differential pin (44-Fig.2) with differential cross (44-Fig.4) and differential pinions rotatably mounted on the arms and wherein each arm of the differential cross engages with one of radially extending recesses of gear wheel as taught by (Fig.4) of Krzesicki in order to reduce localized stress, improve load distribution, provide stable support for the pinions and increase resistance to deformation under heavy loads.
Note: Krzesicki does not disclose each arm of the differential cross engages with one of the radially extending recesses via an interference fit.
Vogel teaches differential assembly (8, Fig.1) having bearing shaft (18) that is similar to the pinion shaft (44) disclosed in Krzesicki; wherein the use of press-fit to secure the shaft (18-Vogel) within a housing (11) (see ¶[0035] disclosing “the gearing shaft 18 is secured in the housing part 11 by a press fit”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a press fit as taught by Vogel to secure the differential cross (44- Krzesicki) with one of the radially extending recesses (46- Krzesicki) in the device of Krzesicki in order to simplifying assembly and provide a secure, rigid, reliable fixation of the differential cross within the gear. It is noted that the ends of the shaft in Vogel are the portions that are press fit and similarly the ends of the pinion shaft 44 in Krzesicki would be the portion that is press fit.
Claim 5: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel discloses the differential assembly (Figs.1-2, 4 of Krzesicki) according to claim 1, wherein a radially outer end of each arm (see annotated Fig below) of the differential cross (44) comprises two surfaces extending in parallel with each other, and wherein the interference fit (e.g. press-fit as taught by Vogel) is provided between the two surfaces (see annotated Fig below) and mating parallel surfaces (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 5) of the relevant radial recess (46).
Claim 6: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel discloses the differential assembly (Figs. 1-2, 4 of Krzesicki) according to claim 1, wherein a radially outer end of each arm (see annotated Fig below) of the differential cross (44) comprises two surfaces (see annotated Fig below) extending at an angle and wherein the interference fit is provided between the two surfaces (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 5) and mating surfaces (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 5) of the relevant radial recess (46).
Krzesicki as modified by Vogel does not disclose the angle is within a range of 0.01 – 2 degrees to each other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide angle of two surfaces of the modified Krzesicki device is within a range 0.01 – 2 degrees to each other in order to account for normal manufacturing tolerance and alignment variation. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 10: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel discloses the differential assembly (Figs. 1-2, 4 of Krzesicki) according to claim 1. Furthermore, Vogel teaches that it was known to provide differential assembly within a powertrain (e.g. transmission, ¶[0024] of Vogel) of a vehicle (¶[0024] of Vogel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate differential assembly of Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel into powertrain of a vehicle as explicitly taught by Vogel in order to provide a complete structure of powertrain within vehicle and/or to provide an arrangement that allows for the changing of the gear ratio. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that differentials are conventionally used as part of powertrain to transmit torque to the wheels, and thus applying known differential structure in powertrain environment would have been obvious as a mere combination of well-known elements to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143-A).
Claim 11: Krzesicki discloses a method for assembling a differential assembly (Fig.1-2), the differential assembly (Fig.1-2) comprising a gear wheel (26) having a rotational axis (e.g. rotational axis of 26),
a first outgoing axle (e.g. an axle half-shaft -on the left side; see col.2 line 27) provided with a first differential gear (e.g. 16 on the left side), and
a second outgoing axle (e.g. an axle half-shaft -on the right side; see col.2 line 27) provided with a second differential gear (e.g. 16 on the right side) ,
the first and second outgoing axles (e.g. an axle half-shaft -on the right side; see col.2 line 27) being configured to extend in opposite directions concentrically with the rotational axis (e.g. rotational axis of 26)
Krzesicki does not disclose wherein the differential assembly further comprises a first differential housing half and a second differential housing half, each of the first differential housing half and the second differential housing half being fixedly mounted to the gear wheel and, together with the gear wheel, enclosing the differential cross.
Ziech teaches a differential assembly (fig.1-2) further comprises a first differential housing half (40) and a second differential housing half (42), each of the first differential housing half (40) and the second differential housing half (42) being fixedly mounted to the gear wheel (10).
Accordingly as the modified device of Krzesicki in view of Ziech would have the differential housing half (40, 42-as taught by Ziech) together with the gear wheel (10-as taught by Ziech) enclose the differential cross (44-Krzesicki) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the differential housing (12) along with ring gear (26) of Krzesicki with the differential housing half (40, 42-as taught by Ziech) together with the gear wheel (10-as taught by Ziech) in order to easy assemble and disassemble, maintenance, improve lubrication, better protect from debris.
Note: Figs.1-2 of Krzesicki further discloses a differential gear set (14) having pinion shaft (44) with two straight sections, differential pinions (37) rotatably arranged on the straight sections, and the first and second differential gears (16 on left and right side) engaging with the differential pinions (37).
Krzesicki (Figs.1-2) does not disclose a differential cross to be arranged within the gear wheel with arms of the differential cross arranged perpendicularly to the rotational axis, differential pinions to be rotatably arranged on the arms of the differential cross, wherein an inner circumference of the gear wheel is provided with radially extending recesses, and wherein the method comprises a step of: - positioning the arms of the differential cross in the radially extending recesses to provide an interference fit between each arm of the differential cross and a respective one of the radially extending recesses.
Krzesicki (Fig.4) teaches a differential gear set (14) having a differential cross (44) arranged within the gear wheel (26) with arms (see annotated Fig below) of the differential cross arranged perpendicularly to the rotational axis (e.g. rotational axis of 26), differential pinions (37) rotatably arranged on the arms (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 1) of the differential cross (44); wherein an inner circumference of the gear wheel (26) is provided with radially extending recesses (46), and wherein the method comprises a step of: - positioning the arms (see annotated Fig. below rejection of claim 1 above) of the differential cross (44) in the radially extending recesses (46)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify differential pin (44-Fig.2 of Krzesicki) with differential cross (44-Fig.4 of Krzesicki) and differential pinions rotatably mounted on the arms and wherein each arm of the differential cross engages with one of radially extending recesses of gear wheel as taught by (Fig.4) of Krzesicki in order to reduce localized stress, improve load distribution, provide stable support for the pinions and increase resistance to deformation under heavy loads.
Note: Krzesicki does not disclose an interference fit between each arm of the differential cross and a respective one of the radially extending recesses.
Vogel teaches differential assembly (8, Fig.1) having bearing shaft (18) that is similar to the pinion shaft (44) disclosed in Krzesicki; wherein the use of press-fit to secure the shaft (18-Vogel) within a housing (11) (see ¶[0035] disclosing “the gearing shaft 18 is secured in the housing part 11 by a press fit”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide press fit as taught by Vogel between the arm of differential cross (44-Krzeiscki) and respective one of the radially extending recess (46- Krzesicki) in the device of Krzesicki in order to simplifying assembly and provide a secure, rigid, reliable fixation of the differential cross within the gear.
Claim 12: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel discloses the differential assembly according to claim 1, wherein each of the first differential housing half (40- Ziech) and the second differential housing half (42- Ziech) being fixedly mounted (via 60) to the gear wheel (10- Ziech) comprises each of the first differential housing half (40-Ziech) and the second differential housing half (42-Ziech) being fixedly mounted to the gear wheel (10) via bolts (60) extending from the first differential housing half (40) to the second differential housing half (42) through the gear wheel (10) (Ziech: see col.3 lines 13-19).
Claim 13: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel discloses the differential assembly according to claim 1, wherein each of the first differential housing half (40-Ziech) and the second differential housing half (42-Ziech) being fixedly mounted (via 60) to the gear wheel (10-Ziech) comprises each of the first differential housing half and the second differential housing half being fixedly mounted to the gear wheel via respective bolts (60), extending from the first differential housing half (40) and the second differential housing (42), that engage with the gear wheel (10) (col.3 lines 13-19, Ziech).
Claim 14: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein each of the first differential housing half (40- Ziech) and the second differential housing half (42- Ziech) being fixedly mounted (via 60) to the gear wheel (10- Ziech) comprises each of the first differential housing half (40-Ziech) and the second differential housing half (42-Ziech) being fixedly mounted to the gear wheel (10) via bolts (60) extending from the first differential housing half (40) to the second differential housing half (42) through the gear wheel (10) (Ziech: see col.3 lines 13-19).
Claim 15: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein each of the first differential housing half (40-Ziech) and the second differential housing half (42-Ziech) being fixedly mounted (via 60) to the gear wheel (10-Ziech) comprises each of the first differential housing half and the second differential housing half being fixedly mounted to the gear wheel via respective bolts (60), extending from the first differential housing half (40) and the second differential housing (42), that engage with the gear wheel (10) (col.3 lines 13-19, Ziech).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krzesicki (US 6743138 B2) in view of Ziech (US 8043188 B2) and Vogel (US 20100062892) and further in view of Knowles (US 20110269593 A1)
Claim 4: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel does not disclose comprising a locking sleeve arranged concentrically around the first outgoing axle and an interface for releasable engagement between the locking sleeve and the first differential housing half, wherein the locking sleeve is rotationally locked to the first outgoing axle and movable along the rotational axis in order to engage and release the interface.
Knowles teaches a differential device (10; Fig.2a) having a differential housing half (14-left side); a locking sleeve (44) arranged concentrically around a first outgoing axle (30) and an interface (46, 50) for releasable engagement between the locking sleeve (44) and the differential housing half (14-left side), wherein the locking sleeve (44) is rotationally locked to the first outgoing axle (30) and movable along a rotational axis (rotational axis of gear 18) in order to engage and release the interface (46,50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a differential locking device (58, 60, 62, 64, 44, 48, 46 of Knowles) as taught by Knowles in the modified device of Krzesicki and to include claw (50-Knowles) in the differential housing halves (42/40, Ziech) in order to ensure both wheels contribute toque evenly when desired, thereby improving traction on low friction surface, enhancing vehicle’s stability.
Claim 9 : Krzesicki as modified by Ziech, Vogel and Knowles discloses wherein with the interface (46,50-Knowles) between the locking sleeve (44-Knowles) and the first differential housing half (14-left side) engaged, torque is transferrable between the first (Krzesicki: e.g. an axle half-shaft -on the left side) and second outgoing axles (Krzesicki e.g. an axle half-shaft -on the right side) via the locking sleeve (44-Knowles), the interface, the first differential housing half (40-Ziech), the differential cross (44-Krzesicki), and the second differential gear (Krzesicki:16 on right side).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krzesicki (US 6743138 B2) in view of Ziech (US 8043188 B2) and Vogel (US 20100062892) and further in view of Radzevich (US 20110021305 A1)
Claim 7: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel does not disclose wherein each of the two surfaces of the radially outer end of each arm of the differential cross is a convex surface.
Radzevich teaches a differential (10; Fig.3) having pin (50) with each of two outer surfaces (56) of each arm of the differential pin (50) is convex surface ( see ¶[0023)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the two surfaces of the radially outer end of each arm of the differential cross from the modified Krzesicki device to form convex surface as taught by Radzevich in order to facilitate smooth meshing relationship between the pinion gear and the side gear while allowing for adjustability of the pinion gear relative to the cross pin (see ¶[0023] of Radzevich)
Claim 8: Krzesicki as modified by Ziech and Vogel and Radzevich does not disclose wherein the convex surface is convex within a range of 0.02 – 1 % of a length tangentially along an extension of the convex surface.
Note: Radzevich depicts a very small convex deviation (see Fig.3a of Radzevich).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide convex of the modified Krzesicki device within a range of 0.02 – 1 % of a length tangentially along an extension of the convex surface in order to reduce stress concentrations and compensate for normal manufacturing tolerance and alignment variation. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art Krzesicki (US 6743138 B2) in view of Ziech (US 8043188 B2) and further in view of Vogel (US 20100062892) does not disclose “wherein the first differential housing half is provided with a first set of axial recesses at an axial end facing the gear wheel, wherein the arms of the differential cross engage with the first set of axial recesses, wherein the second differential housing half is provided with a second set of axial recesses at an axial end facing the gear wheel, wherein the arms of the differential cross engage with the second set of axial recesses.” And in combination with the remaining structure of claim 2. Saito (US 7025702 B2) or Klotz (US 4959043 A) discloses axial recesses in one of the differential housing half but not both housing halves. Thereof, there is no reasons or disclosure from prior art that would led one skills in the art to include axial recesses in the both differential housing halves. Furthermore, Krzesicki discloses the end of differential cross engaged with the gearwheel not housing half, changing that would require redesign the whole differential assembly.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 (b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendment to claim 9.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the present rejections are based on Krzesicki (US 6743138 B2) in view of Ziech (US 8043188 B2) and further in view of Vogel (US 20100062892); wherein Ziech is relied upon to teach the newly added limitation (see rejection above).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Meier (US 7819040 B2) discloses differential assembly (10) with differential cross (78, 76), differential pinion (72), outgoing axle (18,20), gearwheel (24); however, Meier does not discloses each arms engages with radially extending recesses of gear wheel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3655A