DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 8-10 have been considered but are moot based on new ground of rejection discussed below.
Claims 4-7, 11 have been canceled.
Claims 12-15 have been withdrawn.
Applicant argues Leong at least fails to disclose “a surface of the rotating disc is provided with a plurality of adjusting bosses, and each of the pair of pull wire is configured to be wound around at least part of the plurality of adjusting bosses” in the amended claim 1 because Leong is silent on the plurality of adjusting bosses, Leong discloses the first and second control wheels are rotated in opposite directions relative to each other (cf. Claim 2), which is different from how tension is realized in the technical of the amended claim 1, Leong does not disclose a plurality of adjusting bosses formed on a surface of the control wheel around which the pull wires are wound. The pull wires disclosed in Leong are not wound around the tensioning pin boss 228 or the main control wheel boss 226 (Applicant’s remarks on page 6).
In response, it is noted the according MPEP 2173.05 (g), “a claim term is functional when it recites a feature “by what it does rather than by what it is””. In this case, amended claim 1 recites “a surface of the rotating disc is provided with a plurality of adjusting bosses, and each of the pair of wires is configured to be wound around at least part of the plurality of adjusting bosses, and to adjust a tightness of each of the pair of pull wires by adjusting a winding path of each of the pair of pull wires around at least part of adjusting bosses during assembly of the controllable bendable medical instrument.”
Leong discloses “a surface of rotating disc” (read on surface of control wheel assembly (204) including surface 811, 852, surfaces of 814, 816, 846, 854 – see figures 2b, 8A-8B) is provided with a plurality of plurality of adjusting bosses (adjusting bosses are read on wheels 800, 804 – see figures 8A-8B) and each of the pair of wires (208/210) is configured to be wound around at least part of the plurality of adjusting bosses (each of pair of wires 208/210 is configured to wound/wrap around at least part of the wheels 800, 804 – see figures 2b, 8a-8b, paragraphs) and to adjust a tightness of each of the pair of pull wires by adjusting a winding path of each pair of pull wires around at least part of the plurality of adjusting bosses during assembly of the controllable bendable medical instrument (read on to adjust a tightness/tensioning of each pair of wires 208/210 by adjusting the winding path of each pair of pull wires 208/210 around at least part of the wheel 800, 804 by rotating the wheels 800, 804 of the control assembly wheel 204 during assembly of the controllable bendable medical instrument/endoscope – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2a-2b, 8a-8b, paragraphs 0065-0066, 0068-0069, 0078, 0081, 0083).
With respect to Applicant’s argument that in Leong, the accurate tensioning of the pair of pull wires is realized by “the first and second control wheels are rotated in opposite directions relative to each other, which is different from how tension is realized in the technical scheme of the amended claim 1, Examiner notices amended claim 1 does not recite that the wheel is not rotated in opposition direction. It is noted that the control wheel assembly 204 (comprising wheel 800, 804) is read on the claimed “rotating disc”.
With respect to Applicant’s argument that Leong does not disclose a plurality of adjusting bosses form on a surface of the control wheel around which the pull wires are wound (page 6), the “adjusting bosses” are read on wheels 800, 804 as discussed above. The wheels 800, 804 are formed on surface of control wheel assembly 204 and the wires 208/210 are wound on wheels 800, 804 as shown in figures 2a-2b, 8a-8b and discussed above.
For the reasons given above, rejection of claims 1-3, 8-10 are discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leong et al. (US 20190350440).
Regarding claim 1, Leong discloses a controllable bendable medical instrument (endoscope 102 – figures 1-2b, 8a-8b, paragraph 0029), comprising
a controllable bendable tube (distal end includes a flexible tip 124 – see figure 1, paragraph 0058),
a pair of pull wires (wires 208, 210 – figures 2B, 8A-8B, paragraph 0058), and
a rotating disc (wheel assembly 204 – see figures 2b, 8a-8b, paragraphs 0063- 0064), wherein a first end of each of the pair of pull wires is fixedly connected to the rotating disc (one end of each pair of wires 208/210 is fixedly connected to the wheel assembly (204) with wire termination element 209 is seated within wire fixing aperture 818 – paragraph 0069, figures 2b, 8A), and a second end of each of the pair of pull wires is connected to the controllable bendable tube (the second end of each pair of wire 208/210 is connected to the distal end with flexible tip 124 – see figures 2A-2B, paragraphs 0066, 0072); and
the pair of pull wires is configured to be pulled or loosened by rotating the rotating disc to drive the controllable bendable tube in the controllable bendable medical instrument to bend (the pair of pull wires 208, 210 is configured to be pulled/tensioned or loosened by rotating the wheel assembly 204 to drive the controllable tube to the distal end with flexible tip to bend – see figures 2A-2B, paragraph 0058) ;
wherein “a surface of rotating disc” (read on surface of control wheel assembly (204) including surface 811, 852, surfaces of 814, 816, 846, 854 – see figures 2b, 8A-8B) is provided with a plurality of plurality of adjusting bosses (adjusting bosses are read on parts of wheels 800, 804 – see figures 8A-8B) and each of the pair of pull wires is configured to be wound around at least part of the plurality of adjusting bosses (each of pair of wires 208/210 is configured to wound/wrap around at least part of the wheels 800, 804 – see figures 2b, 8a-8b, paragraphs) and to adjust a tightness of each of the pair of pull wires by adjusting a winding path of each pair of pull wires around at least part of the plurality of adjusting bosses during assembly of the controllable bendable medical instrument (read on to adjust a tightness/tensioning of each pair of wires 208/210 by adjusting the winding path of each pair of pull wires 208/210 around at least part of the wheel 800, 804 by rotating the wheels 800, 804 of the control assembly wheel 204 during assembly of the controllable bendable medical instrument/endoscope – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2a-2b, 8a-8b, paragraphs 0065-0066, 0068-0069, 0078, 0081, 0083).
Regarding claim 2, Leong discloses the controllable bendable medical instrument according to claim 1, wherein the surface of rotating disc is further provided with at least one fixing boss (surface of control assembly wheel 204 is provided with pull wire termination elements 209/211 seated within the wire fixing apertures 818/856 – see paragraph 0069), and the pair of pull wires are fixedly mounted to the at least one fixing boss (the pair of wires 208, 210 are fixedly mounted to the pull wire terminations 209/2011 – see figures 2A, 8A-8B, paragraphs 0058, 0068-0069, 0078).
Claims 3,8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Leong et al. (US 20190350440) as applied to claim 2 and in view of Suh et al. (US 20200000318).
Regarding claim 3, Leong discloses the controllable bendable medical instrument according to claim 2, wherein the pair of pull wires comprises a first full wire and a second pull wire (full wires 208/210, see paragraphs 0066, 0068, figure 2A), and the adjusting bosses (wheels 800, 804 – figure 8A-8B, para. 0068-0069, 78); and the al least one fixing boss comprises a first fixing boss and a second fixing boss (termination elements 209/211 – see paragraphs 0068-0069,0078);
wherein a first end of the first pull wire is fixedly connected to the first fixing boss (first end of pull wire 208 is fixedly connected to the termination element 209 – see paragraphs 0058, 0068-0069), and a second end of the first pull wire is connected to the controllable bendable tube (see figures 2A, 2B, paragraphs 0058,0060, 0072), and the first full wire is wound around at least part of plurality of first adjusting bosses (first full wire 208 is wound around at least part of wheel 800 of the plurality of wheels 800, 804 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 2a, 2b, 8a-8b, paragraphs 0068-0069; and
Wherein a first end of the second pull wire is fixedly connected to the second fixing boss (first end of pull wire 210 is fixedly connected to the termination element 211 – see figures 2a-2b, 8a-8b, paragraph 0078), a second end of the second pull wire is connected to the controllable bendable tube, and the second pull wire is wound around at least part of plurality of second adjusting bosses (second end of pull wire 210 is connected to the controllable tip of the endoscope, and the pull wire 210 is wound around at least part of wheel 804 of plurality of wheels 800, 804 -see include, but are not limited to, figures 2A-2B, 8A-8B, paragraphs 0058, 0060, 0072, 0078).
Leong discloses wherein the rotating disc further comprises a plurality adjusting bosses (e.g., wheels 800, 804 – see figures 2A-2B, 8A-8B). Leong also discloses wheel boss 226, tensioning pin boss 228, routing posts 230 (figure 2a, paragraphs 0064-0066). However, Leong does not explicitly disclose plurality of adjusting bosses comprise a plurality of the first adjusting bosses and a plurality of second adjusting bosses.
Suh discloses plurality of adjusting bosses comprises a plurality of first adjusting bosses and the second adjusting bosses (surface of driving part comprising plurality of idlers, wherein the plurality of idlers comprises a plurality of first idlers and second idlers 140,142,143 on each side of the driving part – see for example, figure 6, paragraphs 0063-0067 . It is noted that Suh discloses a driving spool having a circular shape may be used in a driving part (para. 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leong with the teaching of plurality of adjusting bosses comprise a plurality of first adjusting bosses and a plurality of second adjusting bosses as taught by Suh in order to yield predictable result of preventing cable scratch or to stably actuate a target such as a working tool located at an end of an endoscope – see paragraphs 0062, 0002).
Regarding claim 8, Leong in view of Suh discloses the controllable bendable medical instrument according to claim 3, wherein the first fixing boss, the plurality of first adjusting bosses, the second fixing boss, and the plurality of second adjusting bosses are of cylindrical shaped boss structures formed on surfaces of the rotating disc (termination elements 209, 211, and the control wheels 800, 804 are cylindrical shaped structures formed on surfaces of the control assembly 204 – see figures 2a-2b, 8a-8b, paragraphs 0058,0068, 0076. Suh disclosures idlers 142, 143, 136 are read on first fixing boss, second fixing boss, first plurality and second plurality of adjusting bosses, are formed on a surface of the driving part (see for example, figure 6, paragraphs 0063-0067).
Regarding claim 9, Leong in view of Suh discloses the controllable bendable medical instrument according to claim 3, wherein the surface of the rotating disc further provided with a first steering boss and/or a second steering boss (part of the control wheel 800 or part of control wheel 804 – see Leong figures 8A-8B; or see Suh: figure 6 ), wherein the first steering boss is configured to change a winding direction of the first pull wire, and the second steering boss is configured to change a winding direction of the second pull wire (part of control wheel 800 is configured to change the winding direction of the first pull wire 208, and the part of control wheel 804 is configured to change a winding direction of the pull wire 210 – see for example, Leong: figures 2A-2B, 8A-8B, paragraphs 0069, 0078. See also Suh: figure 6, paragraphs 0062-0067).
Regarding claim 10, Leong in view of Suh discloses the controllable bendable medical instrument according to claim 9, wherein the rotating disc is formed with a first through hole and a second through hole, wherein the first pull wire passes through the first through hole, and the second pull wire passes through the second through hole (see include, but are not limited to, Leong: figures 2a-2b, 8a, 8b, paragraphs 0073, 0069, 0078, wherein the “first through hole and second through hole are read on opening space/gap (near face 828 – see figure 8A) on the control assembly wheel 204 for the pull wires 208/210 to exit/go through to the distal end) .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Awtar (US 20180080533 A1) discloses tension management apparatus for cable-driven transmission a surface of rotating disc comprises bosses for controlling pull wires (see for example figures 15a-15d, 26a-26b).
Furnish et al. (US 20220062587) discloses a surface of rotating disc comprises plurality of posts/bosses for adjusting a pair of pull wires 42, 44 (see figures 6-10).
Jungles (US 20180028786) discloses distal wire securement in steerable catheter (see also figure 4A).
Heimberger (US 5888192) discloses endoscope comprises surface of a rotating disc comprises plurality of different types of posts/bosses for adjusting full wires and fixedly connected with end of pull wires (see for example, figure 1).
Schena (US 20080087871) discloses compact cable tension tender device (see also figures 5, 8A-8B, 13).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795
September 21, 2026