Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 26th, 2024 and January 23rd, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 17 referred to in Paragraphs 124 and 132 of the specifications are not presented as part of the drawings.
Paragraph 132 of the specification refers to “working memory 1435,” but 1435 has no reference present in Fig. 14.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs 124 and 132 mention “Fig. 17.” However, “Fig. 17 is not presented in the drawings as part of the original disclosure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 29 discloses the following limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): means for obtaining, means for determining, and means for providing.
“means for obtaining a differential angle-of-arrival (AoA) between (a) a first AoA of a first wireless reference signal at a second mobile device and (b) a second AoA of a second wireless reference signal at the second mobile device” has structure defined in Paragraph 58 of the specification: “Because UE 105 may also include an antenna array, it can receive RF reference signals transmitted by base stations 120-1 and 120-2 using beamforming to form respective receive beams (Rx beams) 311-a and 311-b…They can also be used for other purposes, including taking AoD and AoA measurements for position determination.”
“means for determining a position of the first mobile device based at least in part on the differential AoA” has structure defined in Paragraph 5 of the specification: “An example device enabling positioning of a first mobile device, according to this disclosure, may comprise a transceiver, a memory, one or more processing units communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory. …The one or more processors further may be configured to determine a position of the first mobile device based at least in part on the differential AoA.”
“means for providing the position of the first mobile device” has structure defined in Paragraph 5 of the specification: “An example device enabling positioning of a first mobile device, according to this disclosure, may comprise a transceiver, a memory, one or more processing units communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory. …The one or more processors further may be configured to provide the position of the first mobile device.”
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities: It is unclear which portion of the method of claim 3 is performed by the first invention and by the second invention. While claim 3 specifies parts of the method performed at different devices, claims 4 and 6 refer broadly to the method and may be read as the first device and the second device respectively performing the entirety of the method. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, 14, 17, 24, 25, and 28-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (U.S. Publication No. US 20220317235 A1) in view of Sahinoglu (U.S. Publication No. US 20100177681 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Ye teaches a method of enabling positioning of a first mobile device, the method comprising: obtaining a differential angle-of-arrival (AoA) between (a) a first AoA of a first wireless reference signal at a second mobile device and (b) a second AoA of a second wireless reference signal at the second mobile device
("For example, the mobile tag 101 may estimate AOA information for anchor 102 based upon receipt of the first wireless signal s.sub.1 at each of multiple antennas, and may estimate AOA information for anchor 104 based upon receipt of the second wireless signal s.sub.2 at each of the multiple antennas." [Paragraph 115],
i.e. The "mobile tag" in this embodiment may be considered the second wireless reference signal.)
wherein: the first wireless reference signal is transmitted by a third mobile device
("The network of anchors may include a pair of anchors located within a communication range of one another. A first anchor of the pair of anchors may be configured to transmit a first wireless signal (e.g., a request (REQ) packet or the like) and a second anchor of the pair of anchors may be configured to receive the first wireless signal and to transmit a second wireless signal (e.g., a response (RSP) packet or the like) based on, or in response to, receiving the first wireless signal." [Paragraph 118],
i.e. The "first anchor," also referred to as anchor 102 in embodiments, may be considered the third mobile device transmitting a first wireless signal.)
and the second wireless reference signal is transmitted by the first mobile device
("The network of anchors may include a pair of anchors located within a communication range of one another. A first anchor of the pair of anchors may be configured to transmit a first wireless signal (e.g., a request (REQ) packet or the like) and a second anchor of the pair of anchors may be configured to receive the first wireless signal and to transmit a second wireless signal (e.g., a response (RSP) packet or the like) based on, or in response to, receiving the first wireless signal." [Paragraph 118],
i.e. The "second anchor," also referred to as anchor 104 in embodiments, may be considered first mobile device transmitting a second wireless signal.)
determining a position of the first mobile device based at least in part on the differential AoA
("As briefly described above with respect to FIG. 18A, estimated AOA information (azimuth angle θ and/or elevation angle ϕ) can be leveraged to determine a location of the mobile tag 101…the relationship between azimuth angle θ of the second wireless signal (s.sub.2) (e.g., azimuth angle θ.sub.2) and the locations of the anchor 104 and the mobile tag 101 in 2D space can be similarly represented as…tanθ2=y2-yx2-x,(EQ 15)" [Paragraph 100],
i.e. The position of anchor 104 (analogous to the first device) can be found using AOA information with other information and calculations.)
and providing the position of the
("Once a mobile tag 201 calculates location information via TDOA or TW-TOA measurement techniques, the mobile tag 201 can in turn report at step 308 the location information to other devices such as other mobile tags 201, the anchors 204 in its coverage area, and/or the server by communicating directly to one or more gateway anchors 208 or indirectly via one or more intermediate anchors 204 that can communicate with the one or more gateway anchors 208. The location information can include without limitation, x-y coordinates of the mobile tag 201 within the demarcated area 200…" [Paragraph 56],
i.e. Here, although the position of the mobile tag, analogous to the second device, is provided, since in position/x-y coordinates of the second anchor, analogous to the first device, is also determined on the second device, it is reasonable to assume that the embodiments presents here for this step may be to adapted to provide the anchor, or first device, position.)
Ye teaches providing the location of a mobile device but does not directly teach providing the position of the first mobile device.
In an analogous art, Sahinoglu teaches providing the position of the first mobile device
(Fig. 1C, and
"While a primary node performs TW-TOA ranging with a target node, multiple, secondary nodes, which also receive these two-way ranging signals, contribute to position estimation by providing additional time of arrival (TOA) information. The TW-TOA and TOA information is combined at a position solver node to improve accuracy of the estimate of the position of the target node, with respect to conventional RTLS systems that only use TW-TOA measurements." [Paragraph 17-18],
i.e. Based on reference signals sent between the target node (analogous to the first mobile device), the secondary nodes (each analogous to the third mobile device), and the position solver node (analogous to the second mobile device), the position of the target node / first mobile device can be determined at the position solver / second mobile device and provided by the position solver / second mobile device.
Therefore, as Ye teaches a method of determining position of a device using AoA and time information of transmitted and received reference signals, and as Sahinoglu teaches providing the position of the target device where the target device is a different device than the device calculating AoA and position, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to adapt Ye’s method with Shinoglu’s target device. The motivation to combine is to have a method where the position of a device using AoA and time information of transmitted and received reference signals and the device is a different device than the device calculating AoA and position, thereby having a method which can "provide a positioning and tracking system and method that overcomes the overhead and scaling inefficiencies of conventional TW-ToA based trilateration" (Sahinoglu, Paragraph 16).
Regarding claim 2, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye also teaches obtaining an estimated distance between the first mobile device and the second mobile device based on timing information associated with the first wireless reference signal, the second wireless reference signal, and a third wireless reference signal transmitted by the third mobile device to the first mobile device
("The distance between anchor 102 and the mobile tag can be represented as,
d.sub.AM=c(t.sub.1−t.sub.0) (EQ 1),
where c is the speed of light constant. Similarly, the distance from anchor 102 to anchor 104 can be represented as,
d.sub.AB=c(t.sub.2−t.sub.0) (EQ 2).
Additionally, the distance from anchor 104 to the mobile tag 101 can be represented as,
d.sub.BM=c(t.sub.4−t.sub.3) (EQ 3).
The total distance traveled by the first wireless signal (s.sub.1) from anchor 102 to anchor 104 and the second wireless signals (s.sub.2) from anchor 104 to mobile tag 101 can be represented as,
d.sub.AB+d.sub.BM=c(t.sub.2−t.sub.0+t.sub.4−t.sub.3) (EQ 4A)…
…provide a two-dimensional coordinate location (i.e., x, y) for the mobile tag 101 relative to anchor pairs 102 and 104 (anchors A/B)." [Paragraph 31 - 33],
i.e. The distance calculations to estimate positions/distances of the anchors and the mobile tag relative to each other involve using timing received/transmitted (t.sub.#) information for the signals sent between the anchors and mobile tag. The total distance calculations is further manipulated to derive a relative distance between the mobile tag and the anchor pairs.)
and a third wireless reference signal transmitted by the third mobile device to the first mobile device
("In an embodiment, anchor 102 can be configured to transmit a first wireless signal (s.sub.1) that can be received by anchor 104 and the mobile tag 101.
i.e. As per the disclosed invention, "It can further be noted that sidelink signal 450 and sidelink signal 460 may comprise the same or different reference signals" (Paragraph 72).
As taught in Ye's embodiment, the first wireless signal that is sent to the mobile tag is also sent to the second anchor, the same reference signal sent to different devices. Therefore, Ye's first wireless signal may be sent to the mobile tag may considered the first wireless signal sent from the third mobile device to second mobile device of the disclosed invention, and may also be considered the third reference signal sent from the third mobile device to the first mobile device when it is being sent from the first anchor 102 to the second anchor 104.)
wherein the determining the position of the first mobile device is further based on the estimated distance between the first mobile device and the second mobile device
("Equation EQ 6 has only two unknown variables (x, y) that can be solved by the mobile tag 101 utilizing a non-linear regression technique (e.g., Nonlinear Least Squares). Such a technique produces a hyperbolic curve of solutions for x and y that is associated with the positions of anchors 102 and 104. Such a hyperbolic curve can be represented as,
h.sub.AB=Δd.sub.1" [Paragraph 33],
i.e. Referring to calculations in Paragraphs 31-33, the position of second anchor 104, analogous to the first mobile device, is also determined based on the distance calculations.)
Regarding claim 3, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye also teaches obtaining the estimated distance between the first mobile device and the second mobile device
("EQ 7A-7C can provide a two-dimensional coordinate location (i.e., x, y) for the mobile tag 101 relative to anchor pairs 102 and 104 (anchors A/B)" [Paragraph 33],
i.e. "mobile tag" is analogous to the second device, and "anchor 104" is analogous to the first device.)
obtaining a first time difference, the first time difference comprising a time difference between: a time the third wireless reference signal transmitted by the third mobile device is received at the first mobile device, and a time the first mobile device transmits the second wireless reference signal
("Substituting Δt=t.sub.3−t.sub.2 into EQ 4B results in equation,
d.sub.AB+d.sub.BMd.sub.AM=c(t.sub.4−t.sub.1−Δt)"" [Paragraph 31],
i.e. A time difference.
t.sub.3 is the time at which anchor 102 transmits the first reference signal and t.sub.2 is the at which the anchor 104 transmits the second wireless reference signal [Paragraph 29].)
obtaining a second time difference, the second time difference comprising a time difference between: a time the first wireless reference signal transmitted by the third mobile device is received at the second mobile device, and a time the second wireless reference signal transmitted by the first mobile device is received at the second mobile device
("Substituting Δt=t.sub.3−t.sub.2 into EQ 4B results in equation,
d.sub.AB+d.sub.BMd.sub.AM=c(t.sub.4−t.sub.1−Δt)", [Paragraph 31],
i.e. A second time difference is implicitly included in the calculations.
t.sub.4 is the time that the second reference signal transmitted by anchor 104 is received by the mobile tag, and t.sub.1 is the time that the second reference signal transmitted by anchor 102 by the mobile tag [Paragraph 29].)
and generating the estimated distance between the first mobile device and the second mobile device, based on the first time difference and the second time difference
("Equation EQ 6 has only two unknown variables (x, y) that can be solved by the mobile tag 101 utilizing a non-linear regression technique (e.g., Nonlinear Least Squares). Such a technique produces a hyperbolic curve of solutions for x and y that is associated with the positions of anchors 102 and 104. Such a hyperbolic curve can be represented as,
h.sub.AB=Δd.sub.1" [Paragraph 33],
i.e. Referring to distance calculations using time differences in Paragraphs 31-33, the position of second anchor 104, analogous to the first mobile device, is also determined based on the distance calculations.)
Regarding claim 4, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 3.
Ye also teaches the method is performed by the first mobile device
("In an embodiment, anchor 102 transmits the first wireless signal (s.sub.1) at time t.sub.0, which in turn is received by the mobile tag 101 at time t.sub.1 and anchor 104 at time t.sub.2. Anchor 104 can be configured to transmit a second wireless signal (s.sub.2) at time t.sub.3, which is received by the mobile tag 101 at time t.sub.4. The mobile tag 101 can be configured to use a time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurement technique based on the first and second wireless signals (s.sub.1, s.sub.2) to determine location information between the mobile tag 101 and the anchors 102 and 104 as will be described below." [Paragraph 29],
i.e. Anchor 104, analogous to the first mobile device, performs some aspects of the method.)
Regarding claim 5, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 4.
Ye also teaches obtaining the differential AoA comprises receiving the differential AoA from the second mobile device
("For example, the mobile tag 101 may estimate AOA information for anchor 102 based upon receipt of the first wireless signal s.sub.1 at each of multiple antennas, and may estimate AOA information for anchor 104 based upon receipt of the second wireless signal s.sub.2 at each of the multiple antennas. In some embodiments, the mobile tag may provide, to the external position estimator device (e.g., the server described above with respect to FIG. 8), information relating to the first and second wireless signals, which the server may use to determine the AOA information." [Paragraph 115],
i.e. The second device makes the AoA measurement available to another device in the network.)
obtaining the first time difference comprises generating the first time difference at the first mobile device, based on measuring the time the third wireless reference signal is received at the first mobile device and measuring the time the first mobile device transmits the second wireless reference signal; and obtaining the second time difference comprises receiving the second time difference from the second mobile device
("As noted earlier, the time to process the R-REQ signal and transmit the R-RSP signal via anchor 102 can be represented as Δt=t.sub.4−t.sub.3. Anchor 102 can be configured to transmit the value of Δt in the R-RSP signal for use by the mobile tag 101 in calculating d.sub.r−trip. Substituting Δt in d.sub.r−trip results in the formula..It will be appreciated that the mobile tag 101 can also be configured to know a priori the fixed value of Δt thus eliminating the need to transmit the value of Δt in the R-RSP signal. This knowledge can be based on a pre-provisioning of the mobile tag 101 with this information prior to deployment. " [Paragraph 39])
Regarding claim 6, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 3.
Ye also teaches the method is performed by the second mobile device
("In an embodiment, anchor 102 transmits the first wireless signal (s.sub.1) at time t.sub.0, which in turn is received by the mobile tag 101 at time t.sub.1 and anchor 104 at time t.sub.2. Anchor 104 can be configured to transmit a second wireless signal (s.sub.2) at time t.sub.3, which is received by the mobile tag 101 at time t.sub.4. The mobile tag 101 can be configured to use a time difference of arrival (TDOA) measurement technique based on the first and second wireless signals (s.sub.1, s.sub.2) to determine location information between the mobile tag 101 and the anchors 102 and 104 as will be described below." [Paragraph 29],
i.e. The mobile tag, analogous to the second mobile device, performs some aspects of the method.)
Regarding claim 7, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 6.
Ye also teaches obtaining the differential AoA comprises generating the differential AoA based on measuring (a) the first AoA of the first wireless reference signal at the second mobile device and (b) the second AoA of the second wireless reference signal at the second mobile device
("For example, the mobile tag 101 may estimate AOA information for anchor 102 based upon receipt of the first wireless signal s.sub.1 at each of multiple antennas, and may estimate AOA information for anchor 104 based upon receipt of the second wireless signal s.sub.2 at each of the multiple antennas." [Paragraph 115],
i.e. The "mobile tag" in this embodiment may be considered the second wireless reference signal.)
obtaining the first time difference comprises receiving the first time difference from the first mobile device
("Additionally, the mobile tag 101 can be configured to include in its look-up table the receive time and transmit time (t.sub.2, t.sub.3) of anchor 104 and/or a time difference between these times (Δt=t.sub.3−t.sub.2), or can receive this information in the second wireless signal (s.sub.2) transmitted by anchor 104." [Paragraph 30])
and obtaining the second time difference comprises generating the second time difference at the second mobile device, based on measuring the time the first wireless reference signal is received at the second mobile device and measuring the time the second wireless reference signal is received at the second mobile device
("Substituting Δt=t.sub.3−t.sub.2 into EQ 4B results in equation,
d.sub.AB+d.sub.BMd.sub.AM=c(t.sub.4−t.sub.1−Δt)", [Paragraph 31],
i.e. A second time difference is implicitly included in the calculations.
t.sub.4 is the time that the second reference signal transmitted by anchor 104 is received by the mobile tag, and t.sub.1 is the time that the second reference signal transmitted by anchor 102 by the mobile tag [Paragraph 29].
t.sub.4 and t.sub.1 are received times known to the second device, and therefore this "second time difference" may be generated in the calculation performed in the mobile tag (second device).)
Regarding claim 8, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 6.
Ye also teaches providing the position of the
("Once a mobile tag 201 calculates location information via TDOA or TW-TOA measurement techniques, the mobile tag 201 can in turn report at step 308 the location information to other devices such as other mobile tags 201, the anchors 204 in its coverage area, and/or the server by communicating directly to one or more gateway anchors 208 or indirectly via one or more intermediate anchors 204 that can communicate with the one or more gateway anchors 208. The location information can include without limitation, x-y coordinates of the mobile tag 201 within the demarcated area 200…" [Paragraph 56],
i.e. Here, although the position of the mobile tag, analogous to the second device, is provided, since in position/x-y coordinates of the second anchor, analogous to the first device, is also determined on the second device, it is reasonable to assume that the embodiments presents here for this step may be to adapted to provide the anchor, or first device, position.)
Ye teaches providing the location of a mobile device but does not directly teach providing the position of the first mobile device.
Sahinoglu teaches providing the position of the first mobile device
(Fig. 1C, and
"While a primary node performs TW-TOA ranging with a target node, multiple, secondary nodes, which also receive these two-way ranging signals, contribute to position estimation by providing additional time of arrival (TOA) information. The TW-TOA and TOA information is combined at a position solver node to improve accuracy of the estimate of the position of the target node, with respect to conventional RTLS systems that only use TW-TOA measurements." [Paragraph 17-18],
i.e. Based on reference signals sent between the target node (analogous to the first mobile device), the secondary nodes (each analogous to the third mobile device), and the position solver node (analogous to the second mobile device), the position of the target node / first mobile device can be determined at the position solver / second mobile device and provided by the position solver / second mobile device.)
Regarding claim 9, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye also teaches determining the position of the first mobile device comprises resolving an ambiguity of the position of the first mobile device based on: a second differential AoA indicative of an angle at the second mobile device between a fourth mobile device and the first mobile device, historical location information or tracking information for the first mobile device, or location information for the first mobile device obtained from the first mobile device, or any combination thereof.
("The mobile tag 201 can also be configured to track a history of its movements from the time it left the network 501 to an open space 503 not inside the wireless coverage area of the network 501. The mobile tag 201 can perform this type of tracking by utilizing an accelerometer, gyroscope, and/or magnetometer (compass) to determine a history of positions from inside the network 501 to an open space 503 and back to the network 501. By tracking a history of positions, the mobile tag 201 can determine where it is in the coverage map of the network 501 and thereby determine whether it is in a communication range of one or more anchors 204 in the network 501. Alternatively, the mobile tag 201 can be configured to try to communicate with one or more anchors 204 and determine from ranging measurements whether it is located in the network 501. In yet another embodiment, the mobile tag 201 may receive messages from anchors 204 during a CFP period and based on the number of messages and quality of messages received during the CFP period determine if it is in the communication coverage of anchors 204 in the network 501." [Paragraph 68],
i.e. Tracking information and historical data related to the position of the anchor, analogous to the first device, relative to the position of the mobile tag, analogous to the second device.)
Regarding claim 11, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye also teaches the first wireless reference signal and the third wireless reference signal comprise the same signal.
("In an embodiment, anchor 102 can be configured to transmit a first wireless signal (s.sub.1) that can be received by anchor 104 and the mobile tag 101.
i.e. As per the disclosed invention, "It can further be noted that sidelink signal 450 and sidelink signal 460 may comprise the same or different reference signals" (Paragraph 72).
As taught in Ye's embodiment, the first wireless signal that is sent to the mobile tag is also sent to the second anchor, the same reference signal sent to different devices. Therefore, Ye's first wireless signal may be sent to the mobile tag may considered the first wireless signal sent from the third mobile device to second mobile device of the disclosed invention, and may also be considered the third reference signal sent from the third mobile device to the first mobile device when it is being sent from the first anchor 102 to the second anchor 104.)
Regarding claim 12, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Sahinoglu also teaches the first wireless reference signal and the third wireless reference signal comprise different signals, and determining the position of the first mobile device is further based on a difference in time between the transmission of the first wireless reference signal and the third wireless reference signal
(Fig. 1C, and
"the signaling is initiated by transmitting range request messages 161-164 from reference devices 101-104 to the target 130. In response to receiving the requests, the target 130 broadcasts range reply messages 171-174. Then, the reference devices relay timing data (181-184) to the position solver 120" [Paragraph 8],
i.e. Taking a reference device such as 102 as analogous of the third mobile device in this embodiment, the reference device 102 sends to separate signals to the target 130, analogous to the first device, and to the position solver 120, analogous to the second device.)
Regarding claim 14, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye also teaches the first wireless reference signal and the second wireless reference signal are transmitted according to a coordinated schedule for transmission and measurement of wireless reference signals for a group of mobile devices
("To achieve this, the server can be configured, for example, to determine at step 304 which anchor pairs 204 have overlapping coverage areas with other anchor pairs and schedule the communications between the anchor pairs and the mobile tags 201 during specific timeslots T.sub.0−T.sub.n (e.g., 402a through 402n). In the case where a pair of anchors 204 does not have an overlapping coverage area with another anchor pair (e.g., anchor pairs at opposite ends of the demarcated area 200), the server can schedule simultaneous wireless communications of both anchor pairs 204 during a same timeslot (not shown in FIG. 9). As part of the scheduling process shown in FIG. 9, the server can be further configured at step 304 to determine which of the anchor pairs 204 will initiate/start a measurement session through a transmission of wireless signal (s.sub.1)." [Paragraph 50])
Regarding claim 17, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 14.
Ye also teaches the differential AoA is measured by the second mobile device according to the coordinated schedule
("As part of the scheduling process shown in FIG. 9, the server can be further configured at step 304 to determine which of the anchor pairs 204 will initiate/start a measurement session through a transmission of wireless signal (s.sub.1)." [Paragraph 50],
i.e. Here, "measurement session" includes measuring AoA in the process, which is initiated by an anchor transmitting a signal in the network. The start of this measurement session is based on the schedule.)
Regarding claim 24, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Sahinoglu also teaches the method does not require receiving, at the first mobile device, a wireless reference signal from the second mobile device
(Fig. 1C shows an embodiment the position solving node 120, analogous to the second mobile device, not sending a reference signal to the target node 130, analogous to the first mobile device.)
Regarding claim 25, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye also teaches the determining the position of the first mobile device is further based on known positions of the second mobile device and the third mobile device
("Equation EQ 6 has only two unknown variables (x, y) that can be solved by the mobile tag 101 utilizing a non-linear regression technique (e.g., Nonlinear Least Squares). Such a technique produces a hyperbolic curve of solutions for x and y that is associated with the positions of anchors 102 and 104. Such a hyperbolic curve can be represented as,
h.sub.AB=Δd.sub.1 (EQ 7A),
where h.sub.AB=√{square root over ((x−x.sub.2).sup.2+(y−y.sub.2).sup.2)}−√{square root over ((x−x.sub.1).sup.2+(y−y.sub.1).sup.2)}. The mobile tag 101 can be further configured to perform the above calculation across other anchor pairs as depicted in FIG. 3." [Paragraph 33],
i.e. Equations associate the position of the first mobile device / anchor 104 with the positions of the second mobile device / mobile tag and the third mobile device / anchor 102, in which the positions of each much be found in relation to each other.)
Regarding claim 28, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations of claim 28 in claim 1, in device mode rather than method mode. Therefore, claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Ye also teaches a transceiver
("communication device 900 can comprise a first wireless transceivers 901" [Paragraph 125])
a memory
("a main memory 1004 and a static memory 1006" [Paragraph 136])
and one or more processing units communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory
("The computer system 1000 may include a processor (or controller) 1002" [Paragraph 136])
Regarding claim 29, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations of claim 29 in claim 1. Therefore, claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Ye also teaches means for obtaining a differential angle-of-arrival (AoA) between (a) a first AoA of a first wireless reference signal at a second mobile device and (b) a second AoA of a second wireless reference signal at the second mobile device
("multiple antennas and phase detectors to calculate an angle of arrival of any wireless signal generated by an anchor and received by the mobile tag 101" [Paragraph 41],
i.e. Referring to paragraph 58 of the specification of the present disclosure, AoAs may be measured by an antenna array, or multiple antennas.)
means for determining a position of the first mobile device based at least in part on the differential AoA
( “The mobile device may include a processor and a receiver for receiving, from the plurality of antennas, the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal, and may determine (e.g., using the processor of the mobile device), based on receiving the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal from the plurality of antennas (e.g., based on the REQ and RSP packets received by all of the antennas), time difference of arrival information and angle of arrival information relating to the first wireless signal and the second wireless signal to enable a location of the mobile device to be estimated.” [Paragraph 118]
i.e. Referring to paragraph 5 of the specification of the present disclosure, processor may be configured to perform the measurements and other calculations for determining the position of the first device.)
and means for providing the position of the first mobile device
(“In an embodiment, communication device 900 can comprise a first wireless transceivers 901, a user interface (UI) 904, a power supply 914, and a processing system 906 for managing operations of the communication device 900…The first wireless transceiver 901 can be configured to support wideband wireless signals such as ultra-wideband signals (e.g., 500 MHz) for performing precision measurements such as TDOA and TW-TOA as described above and can be further configured for exchanging messages (e.g., x-y coordinates, location flags, etc.). [Paragraph 125],
i.e. Referring to Paragraph 5, processor coupled with a transceiver may be configured to communicate the positions and coordinates of devices.)
Regarding claim 30, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations of claim 30 in claim 1, with CRM rather than method mode. Therefore, claim 30 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Ye also teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for enabling positioning of a first mobile device
("The main memory 1004 and the processor 1002 also may constitute tangible computer-readable storage media." [Paragraph 137])
Claims 10, 18, 19, 20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Sahinoglu further in view of Irvine (U.S. Publication No. US 20170108579 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye-Sahinoglu does not teach obtaining a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) measurement indicative of a time difference between a time the first wireless reference signal is received at the second mobile device and a time the second wireless reference signal is received at the second mobile device, wherein determining the position of the first mobile device is based on a determination that the time difference is below a threshold.
In an analogous art, Irvine teaches obtaining a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) measurement indicative of a time difference between a time the first wireless reference signal is received at the second mobile device and a time the second wireless reference signal is received at the second mobile device, wherein determining the position of the first mobile device is based on a determination that the time difference is below a threshold
("In some embodiments, a null value is reported with the OTDOA signal measurement information from the UE 14 to the location server 18 if a suitable orientation of the UE 14 is not found within a pre-determined amount of time, the null value indicating that an angle of arrival has not been detected for a particular PRS." [Paragraph 36], and
“If the orientation of the UE 14 is acceptable, then, for each of a plurality of PRSs, the signals received at each of at least two antennas 24 of the UE 14 are phased with respect to each other to sweep a null in a beam formed by the antennas 24 through an angular sector such as 360° (block S104)…Each determined angle of arrival is associated with an RSTD determined by the UE (block S108). Each observed angle of arrival and corresponding RSTD is transmitted from the UE 14 to the location server 18 (block S110)." [Paragraph 37],
i.e. Provided that the time between a transmittal of a signal and the reception of that signal occurs within a pre-determined time, meaning the time difference is below a threshold, RSTd measurement associated with the signal is obtained.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu teaches a method of determining position of a device using AoA and time information of transmitted and received reference signals, and as Irvine teaches receiving RSTD from reference signals with time difference below a threshold, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu’s and Irvine’s respective methods. The motivation to combine is to have a method where RSTD may be received along with the signals under a particular condition that may be pertinent for the position-finding method, thereby allowing "improved accuracy in determining the position of a UE" (Irvine, Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 18, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 17.
Ye-Sahinoglu does not teach after measurement of the differential AoA, signal measurements are exchanged among one or more of the group of mobile devices.
In an analogous art, Irvine teaches after measurement of the differential AoA, signal measurements are exchanged among one or more of the group of mobile devices
("The UE 14 has at least two antennas 24 for receiving PRS and for transmitting OTDOA signal measurement information, which includes RSTD and AOA, and may also include LOS quality data." [Paragraph 28],
i.e. The device which measures the AoA of received signals is able to transmit the measurement to other devices in the network.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu teaches a method of determining position of a device using AoA and time information of transmitted and received reference signals, and as Irvine teaches sending AoA to other devices in the network after measurement, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu’s and Irvine’s respective methods. The motivation to combine is to have a method where other devices may receive information regarding measured AoA that are pertinent to the position-finding method, thereby allowing "improved accuracy in determining the position of a UE" (Irvine, Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 19, Ye-Sahinoglu-Irvine teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 18.
Ye also teaches after exchange of signal measurements among the one or more of the group of mobile devices, the position of the first mobile device is calculated by one of the group of mobile devices
("In some embodiments, the mobile tag may provide, to the external position estimator device (e.g., the server described above with respect to FIG. 8), information relating to the first and second wireless signals, which the server may use to determine the AOA information…the mobile tag 101, or the external position estimator device, may estimate the location of the mobile tag 101 based on a combination of the TDOA information and geometric relationships between the AOA information and the location of the mobile tag 101" [Page 115 - 116],
i.e. Within the calculations for the mobile tag /second mobile device location in this embodiment, the location of the anchor 104 / first mobile device is also calculated. These calculations are performed by a device in the network other than the mobile tag / second mobile device.)
Regarding claim 26, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye-Sahinoglu does not teach the first wireless reference signal comprises: a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS), a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSIRS), or Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS), or any combination thereof.
In an analogous art, Irvine teaches the first wireless reference signal comprises: a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS), a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSIRS), or Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS), or any combination thereof.
("This technique operates by transmitting a special physical channel called a position reference signal (PRS) to the UE from 3 or more base stations such as evolved node Bs (eNBs) in a long term evolution (LTE) communication network." [Paragraph 3])
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu teaches a method of determining position of a device using AoA and time information of transmitted and received reference signals, and as Irvine teaches a particular type of signal exchanged, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu’s and Irvine’s message type. The motivation to combine is to have a method where other devices may receive particular types of messages that are pertinent to the position-finding method, thereby allowing "improved accuracy in determining the position of a UE" (Irvine, Paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 27, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye-Sahinoglu does not teach the second wireless reference signal comprises: a sidelink PRS (SL-PRS), a DMRS, or a CSIRS, or any combination thereof.
In an analogous art, Irvine teaches the second wireless reference signal comprises: a sidelink PRS (SL-PRS), a DMRS, or a CSIRS, or any combination thereof.
("This technique operates by transmitting a special physical channel called a position reference signal (PRS) to the UE from 3 or more base stations such as evolved node Bs (eNBs) in a long term evolution (LTE) communication network." [Paragraph 3],
i.e. A PRS may be an SL-PRS.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu teaches a method of determining position of a device using AoA and time information of transmitted and received reference signals, and as Irvine teaches a particular type of signal exchanged, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu’s and Irvine’s message type. The motivation to combine is to have a method where other devices may receive particular types of messages that are pertinent to the position-finding method, thereby allowing "improved accuracy in determining the position of a UE" (Irvine, Paragraph 35).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Sahinoglu further in view Baek (International Publication No. WO 2021075851 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye-Sahinoglu does not teach the second mobile device and the third mobile device are out of range of a Transmission Reception Point (TRP).
In an analogous art, Baek teaches the second mobile device and the third mobile device are out of range of a Transmission Reception Point (TRP)
("Alternatively, if the AN group exists outside the coverage of the network or performs TDoA positioning without the assistance of the network, the information related to the PRS pool structure and TDoA positioning operation may be configured in advance for the operation related to the default TDoA positioning." [Paragraph 204],
i.e. Location of a device is being found when the devices may be out of range of a particular point where signals and messages are transmitted and received.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu teaches method of determining position of a device using AoA and time information of transmitted and received reference signals, and as Baek teaches out of range transmission and reception of signals, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu’s method with Baek’s range. The motivation to combine is to have a method where determining position of a device using AoA and time information of transmitted and received reference signals and signals may be out of range of a reception point, thereby allowing the method to "address the burden on base stations caused by rapidly increasing data traffic" (Baek, Paragraph 4).
Claims 15, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Sahinoglu further in view of Lu (U.S. Publication No.US 20080242373 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 14.
Ye-Sahinoglu does not teach the coordinated schedule is proposed by one of the group of mobile devices and confirmed by other ones of the group of mobile devices.
In an analogous art, Lu teaches the coordinated schedule is proposed by one of the group of mobile devices and confirmed by other ones of the group of mobile devices
("Conversely, such a preferred schedule can transmit location update messages according to a proposed schedule received from the network server 305 during periods of estimated adequate battery power, estimated low usage of the microprocessor 113, or estimated low network congestion." [Paragraph 26],
i.e. A case where the schedule is proposed by one network device to other network devices, and the device transmit messages according to this preferred schedule.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu teaches a coordinated schedule for transmission and reception of signals, and as Lu teaches the coordinate schedule being proposed and preferred by the devices, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu’s schedule with Lu’s condition. The motivation to combine is to have the coordinated schedule agreed upon by the devices, thereby having a method that would "improve network efficiency and provide better Quality of Service (QoS) " (Lu, Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 20, Ye-Sahinoglu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 1.
Ye-Sahinoglu does not teach the first wireless reference signal and the second wireless reference signal are dynamically scheduled based on one or more messages communicated among the first mobile device, the second mobile device, and the third mobile device.
In an analogous art, Lu teaches the first wireless reference signal and the second wireless reference signal are dynamically scheduled based on one or more messages communicated among the first mobile device, the second mobile device, and the third mobile device.
("At step 405, a location services request is processed at the wireless device. For example, the location services request message 315 is processed at the mobile telephone 100. At step 410, in response to the location services request, a preferred schedule for location update messages is determined, wherein the preferred schedule is based on at least one operating parameter of the wireless device." [Paragraph 30-31],
i.e. The schedule is determined based on a message (here, a location service request), which is sent in the network earlier.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu teaches a coordinated schedule for transmission and reception of signals, and as Lu teaches the coordinate schedule being proposed and preferred by the devices, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu’s schedule with Lu’s condition. The motivation to combine is to have the coordinated schedule agreed upon by the devices, thereby having a method that would "improve network efficiency and provide better Quality of Service (QoS) " (Lu, Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 21, Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 20.
Lu also teaches the one or more messages comprise a single message sent from one of the first mobile device, the second mobile device, and the third mobile device, and the single message is sent to other ones of the first mobile device, the second mobile device, and the third mobile device.
(" A location services request message 315 is first sent from the network server 305 to the mobile telephone 100." [Paragraph 21],
i.e. The location services request message is sent between devices in the network.)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu further in view of Wang (Chinese Publication No. CN 113950068 A, using English machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 15.
Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu does not teach prior to the coordinated schedule being proposed, parameters including one or more of capabilities, resources, and/or Quality of Service (QoS) are exchanged among one or more of the group of mobile devices.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches prior to the coordinated schedule being proposed, parameters including one or more of capabilities, resources, and/or Quality of Service (QoS) are exchanged among one or more of the group of mobile devices
("The basic principle is that the base station allocates a semi-static SRS resource pool to each cell. After the terminal accesses the cell, the base station schedules and configures dedicated radio resources for the terminal to transmit uplink SRS." [Paragraph 131],
i.e. Resources sent prior to scheduling.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu teaches a coordinated schedule, and as Wang teaches messages sent prior to determining the schedule, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu’s and Wang’s respective methods. The motivation to combine is to have a messages sent prior to determining the coordinated schedule, thereby having a method that would "simplify the air interface communication process and signal transmission." (Wang, Paragraph 6).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu further in view of Baek (International Publication No. WO 2021075851 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 20.
Lu also teaches the one
(" A location services request message 315 is first sent from the network server 305 to the mobile telephone 100." [Paragraph 21],
i.e. The location services request message is sent between devices in the network.)
Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu does not directly teach multiple messages being sent.
In an analogous art, Lu teaches multiple messages being sent
("The processor controls the RF transceiver to receive a plurality of sidelink control information (SCI) including scheduling information of PRS from a plurality of anchor nodes" [Paragraph 27],
i.e. Multiple messages are sent prior to determining the schedule, and upon which the schedule is determined.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu teaches a message sent prior to determining a coordinates schedule, and as Baek teaches multiple message sent prior to scheduling, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu’s method with Baek’s multiple messages. The motivation to combine is to have a method where multiple messages are sent prior to determining a coordinated schedule, thereby having a method that would "address the burden on base stations caused by rapidly increasing data traffic" (Baek, Paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 23, Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu teaches all the limitations and motivations of claim 20.
Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu does not teach each of the one or more messages is a sideline control information (SCI) message.
Baek teaches each of the one or more messages is a sideline control information (SCI) message
("The processor controls the RF transceiver to receive a plurality of sidelink control information (SCI) including scheduling information of PRS from a plurality of anchor nodes" [Paragraph 27]
i.e. SCI messages are sent prior to determining the schedule, and upon which the schedule is determined.)
Therefore, as Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu teaches a message sent prior to determining a coordinates schedule, and as Baek teaches the message being an SCI message, to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious to combine Ye-Sahinoglu-Lu’s method with Baek’s message. The motivation to combine is to have a method where SCI messages are sent prior to determining a coordinated schedule, thereby having a method that would "address the burden on base stations caused by rapidly increasing data traffic" (Baek, Paragraph 4).
Conclusion
/FATIHA KAMAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2647
/Alison Slater/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647