Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 19 claims “a program”, while the program causes computer to perform functions, it nevertheless is software per se, which is not one of the four statutory categories. For the purpose of analysis below, claim 19 is treated as a system.
Independent claims 1 and 17-19 each recite a mental process and a method of organizing human activity because each claim recites a method that includes notifying a candidate for a service provider, of recruitment of the service provider in charge of at least any of temporarily receiving a package delivered by a mobile body that performs transportation in a passenger and freight integrated way outside the mobile body, passing the package to a delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body, loading the package into the mobile body, passing the package inside the mobile body, temporarily receiving the package inside the mobile body, and temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body. This is a method of managing interactions between people (e.g., service provider, delivery person). The mere nominal recitation of a a communication unit, a computer, and a service provider's terminal does not take the claim out of the method of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Each claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of notifying a candidate in a computer environment. The claimed communication unit, computer, and service provider's terminal are merely invoked as tools to perform the claimed method. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed with respect to Step 2A, the claim as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of notifying a candidate in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 2-16 are directed to substantially the same abstract idea as claim 1 and are rejected for substantially the same reasons. Claims 2 and 6 further narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining circumstances where the candidate is set as the service provider. Claims 3-5 further narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining instructions for the delivery person to handle the package. Claims 7-9 and 12 delivery of the package by the mobile body. Claims 10-11 and 13-16 further narrow the abstract idea of claim 1 by e.g., further defining notification of the recruitment of the service provider. Thus, claims 2-16 are directed to substantially the same abstract idea as claim 1 and do not add any additional elements to evaluate at Steps 2A prong two or 2B. Therefore, claims 2-16 describe neither a practical application of nor significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 14-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
El Dean US 20180293544 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, El Dean discloses an information processing system comprising a communication unit that notifies a service provider's terminal used by a candidate for a service provider, of recruitment of the service provider ([0043] service provider computing device 412 may be utilized, for example, for viewing pricing in correlation with available transportation service requests
404, for accepting available transportation service requests 404, and for executing an agreement with a user of the at least one user computing device 408 and/or the provider of the transportation arrangement system that governs the performance of the requested transportation services as described herein.[0045] The at least one transportation arrangement system computing device 402 is also adapted for executing at least one filtering scheme to create a sub-set of service providers capable of providing each of the transportation service requests 410, determining a price to be charged for the transportation service requests 410, advertising the price for the transportation service requests 410 in correlation with the transportation service request 410 to the respective sub-set of service providers,
receiving transportation service acceptances 404 corresponding to available transportation service
requests 410 from one or more of the sub-set of service providers, facilitating selection of one of the sub-set of service providers, and facilitating a written agreement governing the performance of the service request)
in charge of at least any of temporarily receiving a package delivered by a mobile body that performs transportation in a passenger and freight integrated way outside the mobile body, passing the package to a delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body, loading the package into the mobile body, passing the package inside the mobile body, temporarily receiving the package inside the mobile body, and temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body ([0053] the service provider is then authorized to provide the service requested (e.g., the service provider might go to the customer's location with his/her vehicle to pick up the goods to be transported or to deliver the vehicle that has been rented, etc.) [0063] If the service request is not successfully performed (e.g., the wrong goods are delivered), the service
provider will be required to obtain and deliver the appropriate goods at its own expense).
Regarding Claim 2, El Dean discloses the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses further comprising a control unit that sets the candidate for the service provider, as the service provider when the candidate for the service provider responds to the recruitment of the service provider ([0843] Once these are accepted the service provider can link to an update or upload to system interface 3122 where all the data input regarding the transport path can be loaded to the system via a cable or wireless connection, operation which, when completed leads to a printable confirmation of update or upload interface 3124),
wherein the communication unit notifies a delivery person's terminal used by the delivery person of setting information about setting of the service provider ([0093] At 614, the new job may be accepted or denied by the sub-driver. If not accepted, the job is denied at block 616 and the method
600 proceeds back to decision point 612 at which it is determined if another new job is available. Simultaneously, the new job is added back to the master driver list to allow the master driver to perform the job himself or herself, or to select a new sub-driver for the job. Alternatively, if the job is accepted at decision point 614, the job is performed at block 618 and payment is received at block 620. That is, at 620, the payment is received by the sub-driver from the master driver who hired the sub-driver to perform the job. Thereafter, moving to FIG. 5B, block 650 is performed at which the job ends. At this point, the completed job may be added to the master driver and sub-driver's list of completed projects).
Regarding Claim 3, El Dean discloses the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses wherein the control unit generates instruction information that is information to instruct the delivery person to handle the package, based on whether the candidate for the service provider responds to the recruitment of the service provider, and the communication unit notifies the delivery person's terminal of the instruction information ([0092] If at 610, the user is a sub-driver, the method 600 proceeds to decision point 612, at which any new jobs are displayed to a user. That is, in the depicted embodiment, during acceptance of a job by a master driver at 626, the master driver may assign a sub-driver to the project. Upon such an assignment, the job becomes available in the sub-driver's new job list. [0093] At 614, the new job may be accepted or denied by the sub-driver. If not accepted, the job is denied at block 616 and the method 600 proceeds back to decision point 612 at which it is determined if another new job is available. Simultaneously, the new job is added back to the master driver list to allow the master driver to perform the job himself or herself, or to select a new sub-driver for the job. Alternatively, if the job is accepted at decision point 614, the job is performed at block 618 and payment is received at block 620. That is, at 620, the payment is received by the sub-driver from the master driver who hired the sub-driver to perform the job. Thereafter, moving to FIG. 5B, block 650 is performed at which the job ends. At this point, the completed job may be added to the master driver and sub-driver's list of completed projects).
Regarding Claim 14, El Dean discloses the limitations of claims 1-2, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses wherein the communication unit notifies the service provider's terminal used by the candidate for the service provider who is on the mobile body, of the recruitment of the service provider in charge of at least any of temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person inside the mobile body and temporarily receiving the package loaded in the mobile body ([0081] If at decision point 530 it is determined that a service provider has accepted the service request and corresponding price, the method 500 proceeds to block 534 at which the user selects (i.e., agrees to use) the service provider to perform the desired service request. Next, at block 536, notification is sent to the service provider that the offer to perform the service request has been accepted).
Regarding Claim 17, El Dean discloses an information processing device including a communication unit that notifies a service provider's terminal used by a candidate for a service provider, of recruitment of the service provider ([0043] service provider computing device 412 may be utilized, for example, for viewing pricing in correlation with available transportation service requests
404, for accepting available transportation service requests 404, and for executing an agreement with a user of the at least one user computing device 408 and/or the provider of the transportation arrangement system that governs the performance of the requested transportation services as described herein. [0045] The at least one transportation arrangement system computing device 402 is also adapted for executing at least one filtering scheme to create a sub-set of service providers capable of providing each of the transportation service requests 410, determining a price to be charged for the transportation service requests 410, advertising the price for the transportation service requests 410 in correlation with the transportation service request 410 to the respective sub-set of service providers,
receiving transportation service acceptances 404 corresponding to available transportation service
requests 410 from one or more of the sub-set of service providers, facilitating selection of one of the sub-set of service providers, and facilitating a written agreement governing the performance of the service request)
in charge of at least any of temporarily receiving a package delivered by a mobile body that performs transportation in a passenger and freight integrated way outside the mobile body, passing the package to a delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body, loading the package into the mobile body, passing the package inside the mobile body, temporarily receiving the package inside the mobile body, and temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body ([0053] the service provider is then authorized to provide the service requested (e.g., the service provider might go to the customer's location with his/her vehicle to pick up the goods to be transported or to deliver the vehicle that has been rented, etc.) [0063] If the service request is not successfully performed (e.g., the wrong goods are delivered), the service
provider will be required to obtain and deliver the appropriate goods at its own expense).
Regarding Claim 18, El Dean discloses an information processing method to be performed by a computer, the information processing method including notifying a service provider's terminal used by a candidate for a service provider, of recruitment of the service provider ([0043] service provider
computing device 412 may be utilized, for example, for viewing pricing in correlation with available transportation service requests 404, for accepting available transportation service requests 404, and for executing an agreement with a user of the at least one user computing device 408 and/or the provider of the transportation arrangement system that governs the performance of the requested
transportation services as described herein. [0045] The at least one transportation arrangement system computing device 402 is also adapted for executing at least one filtering scheme to create a sub-set of service providers capable of providing each of the transportation service requests 410, determining a price to be charged for the transportation service requests 410, advertising the price for the transportation service requests 410 in correlation with the transportation service request 410 to the respective sub-set of service providers, receiving transportation service acceptances 404 corresponding to available transportation service requests 410 from one or more of the sub-set of service providers, facilitating selection of one of the sub-set of service providers, and facilitating a written agreement governing the performance of the service request)
in charge of at least any of temporarily receiving a package delivered by a mobile body that performs transportation in a passenger and freight integrated way outside the mobile body, passing the package to a delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body, loading the package into the mobile body, passing the package inside the mobile body, temporarily receiving the package inside the mobile body, and temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body ([0053] the service provider is then authorized to provide the service requested (e.g., the service provider might go to the customer's location with his/her vehicle to pick up the goods to be transported or to deliver the vehicle that has been rented, etc.) [0063] If the service request is not successfully performed (e.g., the wrong goods are delivered), the service
provider will be required to obtain and deliver the appropriate goods at its own expense).
Regarding Claim 19, El Dean discloses a program that causes a computer to function as a communication unit that notifies a service provider's terminal used by a candidate for a service provider, of recruitment of the service provider ([0021] Computer-executable instructions such as program modules executed by a computer may be used. Generally, program modules include routines, programs, objects, components, data structures, etc. that perform particular tasks or implement particular abstract data types. [0043] service provider computing device 412 may be utilized, for example, for viewing pricing in correlation with available transportation service requests 404, for accepting available transportation service requests 404, and for executing an agreement with a user of the at least one user computing device 408 and/or the provider of the transportation arrangement system that governs the performance of the requested transportation services as described herein. [0045] The at least one transportation arrangement system computing device 402 is also adapted for executing at least one filtering scheme to create a sub-set of service providers capable of providing each of the transportation service requests 410, determining a price to be charged for the transportation service requests 410, advertising the price for the transportation service requests 410 in correlation with the transportation service request 410 to the respective sub-set of service providers, receiving
transportation service acceptances 404 corresponding to available transportation service requests 410
from one or more of the sub-set of service providers, facilitating selection of one of the sub-set of
service providers, and facilitating a written agreement governing the performance of the service
request)
in charge of at least any of temporarily receiving a package delivered by a mobile body that performs transportation in a passenger and freight integrated way outside the mobile body, passing the package to a delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body, loading the package into the mobile body, passing the package inside the mobile body, temporarily receiving the package inside the mobile body, and temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person or the service provider who is inside the mobile body ([0053] the service provider is then authorized to provide the service requested (e.g., the service provider might go to the customer's location with his/her vehicle to pick up the goods to be transported or to deliver the vehicle that has been rented, etc.) [0063] If the service request is not successfully performed (e.g., the wrong goods are delivered), the service
provider will be required to obtain and deliver the appropriate goods at its own expense).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
I. Claims 4-5, 10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Dean in view of Sato US 20210158280 A1.
Regarding Claim 4, El Dean teaches the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above. El Dean does not explicitly teach, however Sato teaches wherein the instruction information includes information to instruct the delivery person to get on the mobile body together with the package ([0060] The vehicle 300 is an automatic vehicle capable of travelling with the service unit 200 loaded thereon. The vehicle 300 does not need to be an unattended vehicle. For example, a safety attendant can be on the vehicle. The vehicle 300 may not be a vehicle of totally autonomous operation. For example, the vehicle may be operated or assisted by a person depending on the situation. [0158] Based on the generated assembly command, the service unit(s) 200 is loaded on the vehicle 300. The method of loading the service unit(s) 200 on the vehicle 300 may be a method using a dedicated elevator or a method using an accessory mechanism of the vehicle 300 or the service unit(s) 200, for example. The method is not limited to any particular method as far as the service unit(s) 200 can be lifted and lowered based on the assembly command. If the service unit(s) 200 is loaded by man power, the assembly command may be a command to a worker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the instruction information including information to instruct the delivery person to get on the mobile body together with the package as taught in Sato with the delivery system of El Dean because such a combination enables safe delivery of the package (Sato [0060]).
Regarding Claim 5, El Dean teaches the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above. El Dean does not explicitly teach, however Sato teaches wherein the instruction information includes information to instruct the delivery person to unload the package from the mobile body ([0077] Furthermore, the server apparatus 100 issues a command that indicates an operation (referred to as an operation command hereinafter) to the vehicle 300. The operation command is not limited to those that instructing the travel. For example, the operation command may be “to unload a predetermined parcel locker at the destination address”) (see claim 4 rejections above for combination rationale).
Regarding Claim 10, El Dean discloses the limitations of claims 1-2, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses wherein the communication unit issues notification of the recruitment of the service provider ([0048] the service provider application and/or user application may notify the service provider regarding a location to meet the user/customer to facilitate the service. [0053] The user will be informed by the service provider when the service request has been completed, and the receiver of the goods (when applicable) will also have the ability to inform the user of the goods' arrival via a user account. This information will be supplied to the users via real-time alerts and notifications through the application on the user computing device such as user computing device 408. [0081] If at decision point 530 it is determined that a service provider has accepted the service request and corresponding price, the method 500 proceeds to block 534 at which the user selects (i.e., agrees to use) the service provider to perform the desired service request. Next, at block 536, notification is sent to the service provider that the offer to perform the service request has been accepted).
El Dean does not explicitly disclose, however Sato teaches in charge of temporarily receiving the package that is delivered by the mobile body outside the mobile body and in charge of delivering the package by getting on the mobile body ([0157] In Step S14, the service unit management part 1033 generates and outputs a command (referred to as an assembly command) to load the service unit(s) 200 on the vehicle 300. The assembly command includes the identifier of the determined vehicle 300, the identifier(s) of the service unit(s) 200 to be loaded on the vehicle 300, and the identifier(s) of the package(s) to be contained in the service unit(s) 200 (if the service unit(s) 200 is a parcel locker(s))) (see claim 4 rejection above for combination rationale).
Regarding Claim 12, El Dean discloses the limitations of claims 1-2, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses wherein the package loaded in the mobile body is accommodated in an accommodation box installed in the mobile body ([0157] In Step S14, the service unit management part 1033 generates and outputs a command (referred to as an assembly command) to load the service unit(s) 200 on the vehicle 300. The assembly command includes the identifier of the determined vehicle 300, the identifier(s) of the service unit(s) 200 to be loaded on the vehicle 300, and the identifier(s) of the package(s) to be contained in the service unit(s) 200 (if the service unit(s) 200 is a parcel locker(s)) (see claim 4 rejection above for combination rationale).
Regarding Claim 13, El Dean discloses the limitations of claims 1-2, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses El Dean further discloses wherein the communication unit issues notification of the recruitment of the service provider ([0048] the service provider application and/or user application may notify the service provider regarding a location to meet the user/customer to facilitate the service. [0053] The user will be informed by the service provider when the service request has been completed, and the receiver of the goods (when applicable) will also have the ability to inform the user of the goods' arrival via a user account. This information will be supplied to the users via real-time alerts and notifications through the application on the user computing device such as user computing device 408. [0081] If at decision point 530 it is determined that a service provider has accepted the service request and corresponding price, the method 500 proceeds to block 534 at which the user selects (i.e., agrees to use) the service provider to perform the desired service request. Next, at block 536, notification is sent to the service provider that the offer to perform the service request has been accepted).
El Dean does not explicitly disclose, however Sato teaches in charge of temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person or the service provider inside the mobile body or temporarily receiving the package loaded in the mobile body by getting on the mobile body ([0157] In Step S14, the service unit management part 1033 generates and outputs a command (referred to as an assembly command) to load the service unit(s) 200 on the vehicle 300. The assembly command includes the identifier of the determined vehicle 300, the identifier(s) of the service unit(s) 200 to be loaded on the vehicle 300, and the identifier(s) of the package(s) to be contained in the service unit(s) 200 (if the service unit(s) 200 is a parcel locker(s))) (see claim 4 rejection above for combination rationale).
Regarding Claim 15, El Dean discloses the limitations of claims 1-2, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses wherein the communication unit issues notification of the recruitment of the service provider in charge of at least any of temporarily receiving the package outside the mobile body, temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person inside the mobile body, temporarily receiving the package loaded in the mobile body, and temporarily receiving the package from the delivery person who is inside the mobile body, and in charge of unloading the package from the mobile body ([0048] the service provider application and/or user application may notify the service provider regarding a location to meet the user/customer to facilitate the service. [0053] The user will be informed by the service provider when the service request has been completed, and the receiver of the goods (when applicable) will also have the ability to inform the user of the goods' arrival via a user account. This information will be supplied to the users via real-time alerts and notifications through the application on the user computing device such as user computing device 408. After the transportation arrangement system computing device application confirms and processes the user's payment, the service provider is then authorized to provide the service requested (e.g., the service provider might go to the customer's location with his/her vehicle to pick up the goods to be transported or to deliver the vehicle that has been rented, etc. [0081] If at decision point 530 it is determined that a service provider has accepted the service request and corresponding price, the method 500 proceeds to block 534 at which the user selects (i.e., agrees to use) the service provider to perform the desired service request. Next, at block 536, notification is sent to the service provider that the offer to perform the service request has been accepted).
II. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Dean in view of Grillo US 20200034786 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, El Dean teaches the limitations of claims 2-3, as discussed above. El Dean does not explicitly teach, however Grillo teaches the communication unit receives a service provider setting request that is a notification to request setting of the service provider from the delivery person's terminal ([0025] At act 98, the Driver enter the following information into the app: Company name (if applicable); First Name and Last Name (as it appears on their license); Phone number, Mailing Address, e-mail, EIN or Social Security Number, Insurance Company, Insurance Policy Number, Bank Information: including the bank name, the bank state, the Routing Number and Account Number).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the delivery system of El Dean the communication unit that receives a service provider setting request that is a notification to request setting of the service provider from the delivery person's terminal as taught by Grillo since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination is predictable. Such a combination would yield the predictable result of a delivery system that includes a communication unit that receives a service provider setting request that is a notification to request setting of the service provider from the delivery person's terminal.
III. Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Dean in view of Or-Bach US 6988079 B1.
Regarding Claim 7, El Dean teaches the limitations of claims 2-3, as discussed above. El Dean does not explicitly teach, however Or-Bach teaches wherein the mobile body is a mobile body that operates on a regular schedule (Col. 6:11-16 Although one embodiment uses a truck, in other embodiments, other types of vehicles can be used, e.g. airplanes, busses, scheduled trucks, railroads or other kind of transport. The form of transport can be either transport that runs according to a regular schedule or it can be transport that does not run according to a regular schedule).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the mobile body in El Dean with the mobile body in Or-Bach. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results). Such a simple substitution would yield the predictable result of a mobile body that operates on a regular schedule.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of El Dean and Or-Bach teaches the limitations of claim 7, as discussed above. El Dean further teaches wherein the communication unit receives from the delivery person's terminal, information to instruct the service number of the mobile body that delivers the package ([0093] At 614, the new job may be accepted or denied by the sub-driver. If not accepted, the job is denied at block 616 and the method 600 proceeds back to decision point 612 at which it is determined if another new job is available. Simultaneously, the new job is added back to the master driver list to allow the master driver to perform the job himself or herself, or to select a new sub-driver for the job. Alternatively, if the job is accepted at decision point 614, the job is performed at block 618 and payment is received at block 620. That is, at 620, the payment is received by the sub-driver from the master driver who hired the sub-driver to perform the job. Thereafter, moving to FIG. 5B, block 650 is performed at which the job ends. At this point, the completed job may be added to the master driver and sub-driver's list of completed projects).
IV. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Dean in view of Or-Bach and Wu US 20040225515 A1.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of El Dean and Or-Bach teaches the limitations of claim 7, as discussed above. El Dean does not explicitly teach, however Wu teaches wherein the control unit determines a time when the service provider provides a service, based on a determination of a service number of the mobile body that delivers the package ([0016] obtains the information on the cargo, the shipping path, the invoice number, the arrival time at the destination port, the flight/voyage number, and the export files; generates a corresponding shipping advice based on said obtained matters; and sends the shipping advice to the communication module 145. [0013] shipping advice comprises data for invoice number, basic information on cargo, information on forwarders, shipping path, arrival time at destination port).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the delivery system of El Dean the control unit determines a time when the service provider provides a service, based on a determination of a service number of the mobile body that delivers the package as taught by Wu since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination is predictable. Such a combination would yield the predictable result of a delivery system that includes a control unit that determines a time when the service provider provides a service, based on a determination of a service number of the mobile body that delivers the package.
V. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Dean in view of Sato and Healy US 20180281657 A1.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of El Dean and Soto teaches the limitations of claim 10, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses wherein the communication unit issues notification of the recruitment of the service provider ([0048] the service provider application and/or user application may notify the service provider regarding a location to meet the user/customer to facilitate the service. [0053] The user will be informed by the service provider when the service request has been completed, and the receiver of the goods (when applicable) will also have the ability to inform the user of the goods' arrival via a user account. This information will be supplied to the users via real-time alerts and notifications through the application on the user computing device such as user computing device 408. [0081] If at decision point 530 it is determined that a service provider has accepted the service request and corresponding price, the method 500 proceeds to block 534 at which the user selects (i.e., agrees to use) the service provider to perform the desired service request. Next, at block 536, notification is sent to the service provider that the offer to perform the service request has been accepted).
El Dean does not explicitly disclose, however Sato teaches in charge of temporarily receiving the package that is delivered by the mobile body outside the mobile body ([0157] In Step S14, the service unit management part 1033 generates and outputs a command (referred to as an assembly command) to load the service unit(s) 200 on the vehicle 300. The assembly command includes the identifier of the determined vehicle 300, the identifier(s) of the service unit(s) 200 to be loaded on the vehicle 300, and the identifier(s) of the package(s) to be contained in the service unit(s) 200 (if the service unit(s) 200 is a parcel locker(s))) (see claim 4 rejections above for combination rationale).
El Dean does not explicitly disclose, however Healy teaches in charge of loading the package into an unmanned vehicle after the delivery by the mobile body ([0027] the drivers may manually drive the route and then later hand over control to the autonomous vehicle for the item transfer. [0041] Turning now to FIG. 9, block diagram of an example network-accessible autonomous goods transfer
service 9010, a first autonomous vehicle 9020 and a second autonomous vehicle 9030 according to some examples of the present disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the provider in charge of loading the package into an unmanned vehicle after the delivery by the mobile body as taught in Healey with the delivery system of El Dean because such a combination provides the advantages of “decreasing costs by limiting human
involvement and improving efficiency” (Healy [0015]).
VI. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Dean in view of Healy.
Regarding Claim 16, El Dean teaches the limitations of claim 15, as discussed above. El Dean further discloses wherein the communication unit issues notification of the recruitment of the service provider ([0048] the service provider application and/or user application may notify the service provider regarding a location to meet the user/customer to facilitate the service. [0053] The user will be informed by the service provider when the service request has been completed, and the receiver of the goods (when applicable) will also have the ability to inform the user of the goods' arrival via a user account. This information will be supplied to the users via real-time alerts and notifications through the application on the user computing device such as user computing device 408. [0081] If at decision point 530 it is determined that a service provider has accepted the service request and corresponding price, the method 500 proceeds to block 534 at which the user selects (i.e., agrees to use) the service provider to perform the desired service request. Next, at block 536, notification is sent to the service provider that the offer to perform the service request has been accepted).
El Dean does not explicitly disclose, however Healy teaches in charge of unloading the package from the mobile body and in charge of loading the package into an unmanned vehicle ([0027] the drivers may manually drive the route and then later hand over control to the autonomous vehicle for the item transfer. [0041] Turning now to FIG. 9, block diagram of an example network-accessible
autonomous goods transfer service 9010, a first autonomous vehicle 9020 and a second autonomous
vehicle 9030 according to some examples of the present disclosure) (see rejection above for combination rationale).
Conclusion
/D.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628