DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 19 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2026/0011796 A1; pub. Jan. 28, 2026).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. disclose: A battery cell inspection apparatus (Abstract, fig.1) comprising: a cell inspection portion inspecting battery cells (fig.1 items C1 & C2); a plurality of cell accommodating portions (para. [0039] trays) receiving battery cells from the outside and positioned to be spaced apart from each other with the cell inspection portion therebetween (para. [0039] trays); and a stage including a first part (para. [0012], the loading area) and a second part in which the battery cells supplied to the cell accommodating portions are disposed (para. [0039], [0043] conveyor) and moving the battery cells supplied to the cell accommodating portions while reciprocating the plurality of cell accommodating portions (para. [0043] conveyor); wherein, while the second part in which the battery cells are disposed is positioned in the cell inspection portion, a battery cell supplied to a first cell accommodating portion among the plurality of cell accommodating portions is disposed in the second part (the batteries are loaded at the beginning of the conveyor and moved to the inspection zone 200}, and while the first part in which the battery cells are disposed is positioned in the cell inspection portion (para. [0044], fig.1 item 200), a battery cell supplied to a second cell accommodating portion among the plurality of cell accommodating portions is disposed in the firsts part (the batteries are loaded onto the conveyor belt to be inspected in zone 200 fig.1 and discharged after the inspection zone 200).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. disclose: the first cell accommodating portion, the second cell accommodating portion, and the cell inspection portion are positioned on a straight line (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. disclose: the stage reciprocates in a linear direction between the first cell accommodating portion and the second cell accommodating portion (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. disclose: the cell inspection portion includes an X-ray inspection apparatus (para. [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. disclose: the X-ray inspection apparatus includes an X-ray output portion and an X-ray detection portion (para. [0045]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. disclose: A battery cell inspection method comprising:
supplying a first battery cell to a first cell accommodating portion;
disposing the first battery cell on a first part of a stage and moving the stage so that the first part is positioned in a cell inspection portion;
performing inspection of the first battery cell positioned in the cell inspection portion; disposing a second battery cell supplied to a second cell accommodating portion on a second part of the stage while performing inspection of the first battery cell; moving the stage so that the second part is positioned in the cell inspection portion; and performing inspection of the second battery cell positioned in the cell inspection portion (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. disclose: disposing a third battery cell supplied to the first cell accommodating portion on the first part while performing inspection of the second battery cell (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 16).
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al. disclose: the disposing the third battery cell supplied to the first cell accommodating portion includes discharging the first battery cell disposed on the first part to the outside of the first cell accommodating portion (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 16).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. disclose: A battery cell inspection system comprising:
a battery cell supply apparatus supplying supplies battery cells;
a battery cell inspection apparatus receiving battery cells from the battery cell supply apparatus, performing inspection, and discharging battery cells that have been completely inspected; and
a battery cell classification apparatus classifying battery cells discharged from the battery cell inspection apparatus according to inspection results,
wherein the battery cell supply apparatus includes: a cell inspection portion inspecting battery cells; a plurality of cell accommodating portions receiving battery cells from the outside and positioned to be spaced apart from each other with the cell inspection portion therebetween: and a stage including a first part and a second part in which the battery cells supplied to the cell accommodating portions are disposed and moving the battery cells supplied to the cell accommodating portions while reciprocating the plurality of cell accommodating portions;
wherein, while the second part in which the battery cells are disposed is positioned in the cell inspection portion, a battery cell supplied to a first cell accommodating portion among the plurality of cell accommodating portions is disposed on the first part, and
while the first part in which the battery cells are disposed is positioned in the cell inspection portion, a battery cell supplied to a second cell accommodating portion among the plurality of cell accommodating portions is disposed on the second part (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2026/0011796 A1; pub. Jan. 28, 2026) in view of Seifert et al. (2020/0148483 A1; pub. May 14, 2020).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. are silent about: the cell accommodating portions each include a cell supply area on one side surface, through which battery cells are supplied from the outside.
In a similar field of endeavor Seifert et al. disclose: the object accommodating portions each include an object supply area on one side surface, through which object are supplied from the outside (Abstract, fig.1-4, para. [0027]) motivated by the benefits for an efficient inspection that avoids gaps in the continuous flow of objects to be inspected (Seifert et al. para. [0027]).
In light of the benefits for an efficient inspection that avoids gaps in the continuous flow of objects to be inspected as taught by Seifert et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kim et al. with the teachings of Seifert et al.
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. and Seifert et al. disclose: the cell accommodating portions each include a cell discharge area on the other side surface where the cell supply area is not positioned, through which battery cells are discharged to the outside (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. disclose: while the second part, in which battery cells are disposed, is positioned in the cell inspection portion, a battery cell that is positioned on the first part and has moved from the cell inspection portion is discharged to the cell discharge area of the first cell accommodating portion, and while the first part, in which battery cells are disposed, is positioned in the cell inspection section, a battery cell that is positioned in the second part and has moved from the cell inspection portion is discharged to the cell discharge area of the second cell accommodating portion (referring to fig.1. battery cells C1 & C2 are loaded on a conveyor before the inspection zone 200, the conveyor transports the cells through the inspection zone a discharge area after the inspection zone).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. disclose: the cell supply area and the cell discharge area are positioned on opposite side surfaces of the cell accommodating portions (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 4).
Claims 10 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2026/0011796 A1; pub. Jan. 28, 2026) in view of Stamm et al. (US 2023/0056945 A1; pub. Feb. 23, 2023).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. are silent about: the X-ray detection portion includes one or more line scanners in which a plurality of pixels are arranged in a line shape.
In a similar field of endeavor Stamm et al. disclose: the X-ray detection portion includes one or more line scanners in which a plurality of pixels are arranged in a line shape (para. [0021], [0023]) motivated by the benefits for high-speed and high-resolution imaging.
In light of the benefits for high-speed and high-resolution imaging, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the line scanner of Stamm et al. in the apparatus of Kim et al.
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. are silent about: the X-ray detection portion includes a flat panel detector including a plurality of pixels, each of which detects X-rays.
In a similar field of endeavor Stamm et al. disclose: the X-ray detection portion includes a flat panel detector including a plurality of pixels, each of which detects X-rays (para. [0021], [0023]) motivated by the benefits for higher sensitivity and faster image acquisition.
In light of the benefits for higher sensitivity and faster image acquisition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the flat panel detector of Stamm et al. in the apparatus of Kim et al.
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. are silent about: an electrode tab protrudes from the battery cell (para. [0059]). The combined references are silent about: in the X-ray detection portion, a first length of the flat panel detector in a first direction, in which an electrode tab protrudes from the battery cell, is longer than the length of the battery cell in the first direction. However, selecting a flat panel detector dimension length to be longer or shorter than a battery dimension would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing in order to optimize cost (reduced cost or maintenance) and/or performance (image quality, image throughput).
Regarding claim 13, the combined references are silent about: a second length of the flat panel detector in a second direction, which is perpendicular to both the first direction and a stacking direction of electrode layers within the battery cells, is shorter than the first length of the flat panel detector. However, selecting a flat panel detector dimension length to be longer or shorter than a battery dimension would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing in order to optimize cost (reduced cost or maintenance) and/or performance (image quality, image throughput).
Claims 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2026/0011796 A1; pub. Jan. 28, 2026) in view of Heo et al. (US 2020/0363344 A1; pub. Nov. 19, 2020).
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. are silent about: the cell inspection portion includes a shielding portion preventing X-rays from being emitted to the outside.
In a similar field of endeavor Heo et al. disclose: the cell inspection portion includes a shielding portion preventing X-rays from being emitted to the outside (para. [0081]-[0083]) motivated by the benefits for preventing the radioactive rays from leaking, thereby ensuring the operator's safety (Heo et al. para. [0082]).
In light of the benefits for higher sensitivity and faster image acquisition as taught by Hoe et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the shield of Heo et al. in the apparatus of Kim et al.
Regarding claim 15, Heo et al. disclose: the shielding portion is formed to surround the outer circumference of the cell inspection portion (para. [0081]-[0083]) motivated by the benefits for preventing the radioactive rays from leaking, thereby ensuring the operator's safety (Heo et al. para. [0082]).
Conclusion
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884