DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I and Species A1, claims 1-5 as amended, drawn to a method for modifying the electrochemical properties of an electronic device in the reply filed on August 11, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (S. Zhang, Patterning of Stretchable Organic Electrochemical Transistors, Chemistry of Materials, 2017(29), pp. 3126-32) in view of Vohra (A. Vohra, Developing the Surface Chemistry of Transparent Butyl Rubber for Impermeable Stretchable Electronics, Langmuir 2016(32), pp. 10206-10212), supported by the document for oxygen permeability calculation.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for modifying the electrochemical properties of an electronic device (title, [Abstract]), comprising:
providing a stretchable substrate (p. 3126, col. 1, para. 2: organosilicon compound polydimethylsiloxane PDMS) selected from one or more of elastomers (p. 3129, col. 2, para. 2: PDMS elastomer); and
forming a stretchable redox-active layer on the substrate (Fig. 3: PEDOT:PSS patterning; p. 3130, col. 2: stretchable electrochemical transistor featuring a PEDOT:PSS channel which is a PEDOT:PSS gate electrode; thus PEDOT:PSS is redox active), the redox-active layer including one or more of conductive polymers (p. 3127, col. 2, last para.: the conducting polymer PEDOT:PSS).
Zhang does not teach the stretchable substrate having a selected oxygen permeability of 0.1-50 Barrer.
However, Vohra teaches transparent butyl rubber as a new elastomer of the stretchable electronics due to its intrinsically low gas permeability ([Abstract]). Compared to high permeability of PDMS to oxygen that permits oxidation and corrosion of metals and curtails the lifetime of devices, the new elastomer T-IIR possess an intrinsically low gas permeability to protect sensitive device components (p. 10207, col. 1, para. 2). The oxygen permeation rate of T-IIR is 216 ± 3 cc-mm/m2-day (p. 10207, col. 1, para. 2). Based on the calculation (see attached evidential document), 216 cc-mm/m2-day corresponding to 0.219 Barrer, which lies within the recited range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang by adjusting the oxygen permeability of the stretchable substrate within the claimed range as suggested by Vohra because it is known in the art that low oxygen permeability would protect sensitive device components and thus lengthen the lifetime of devices (p. 10207, col. 1, para. 2). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the method further including depositing one or more electrodes on the stretchable redox-active layer (Fig. 3(a): Au patterning and PEDOT:PSS patterning; Fig. 3(d): indicating electrodes G, S, D on the PEDOT:PSS layer).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches wherein the electronic device is a bioelectronic device in the form of a bioelectrode, a wearable biosensor or a bioelectronic implant ([Abstract]: wearable electronics, biosensors, and surface electrodes to monitor body conditions).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Vohra, and further in view of Lee (W. Lee, Nonthrombogenic, stretchable, active multielectrode array for electroanatomical mapping, Sci. Adv. 2018(4): eaau2426, pp. 1-7).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Vohra teaches all limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the electronic device has a shape of micro- wires, macro-wires, micro-mesh, macro-mesh, film, micro-3D structure and/or macro-3D structure.
However, Lee teaches a stretchable, active multielectrode array for high precision monitoring of electrophysiological signals with high spatial and temporal resolution (Title, [Abstract]). The stretchable MEA consisting of OECTs and grid substrates is fabricated on a 1.2-m-thick parylene substrate (Fig. 1A; p. 2, col. 1, para. 2), indicating a micro-mesh shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang and Vohra by fabricating the electronic device in a shape of micro-mesh as taught by Lee because the honeycomb grids would show excellent mechanical durability (p. 3, col. 1, para. 1). Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Vohra, and further in view of Qi (D. Qi, Stretchable Electronics Based on PDMS Substrates, Adv. Mater. 2021(33): 2003155, pp. 1-25).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in view of Vohra teaches all limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the stretchable substrate is selected from styrene-butadiene rubber, ethylene propylene diene monomer, poly(styrene-ethylene-butylene- styrene), ethylene-vinyl acrylate and/or thermoplastic polyurethane.
However, Qi teaches poly(dimethylsiloxane) (PDMS), Ecoflex, poly(styrene-co-ethylenebutylene-co-styrene) (SEBS), and polyurethane (PU) based elastomers are common candidates for the elastic substrates of stretchable electronics (p. 2, col. 1, para. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang by substituting PDMS with PU as taught by Qi because the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.07. Here, the substitution of one known element for another would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2141(III)(B).
Conclusion
/C. SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795