Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024, 06/11/2026, and 08/06/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16, 18-19, and 21-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For claims -16, 18-19, and 21-22, the claims should be rearranged such that the claims are easier to read. The current iteration of the claims lumps the limitations into a bulky paragraph. The limitations should be delineated in a fashion more-consistent with accepted patent practice.
Although the courts have found that the use of the term “and/or” would not be indefinite, (Employers Mut. Liability Ins. Co. v. Tollefsen, 219 Wis. 434 (1935)), the board did note that the preferred way of writing the claim is through use of “at least one of A and B" in the future. Therefore, the Examiner object to the terms "and/or" in claim 15 such that it is written in accordance with the courts preferred way.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16, 18-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Therefore, claims 1-16, 18-19, and 21-22 are indefinite.
For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes “ultrasonic signal groups”, “ultrasonic signals”, “ultrasonic sub-signals” are the same ultrasound signals.
For claims 1, 18, and 19, “imaging frequencies” is indefinite. It is unclear if the imaging frequencies are transmission frequencies, or reception frequencies. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes the imaging frequencies are at least one of transmission frequencies and reception frequencies.
For claims 1, 18, and 19, “fusing the contrast images to obtain target contrast images” is indefinite. It is unclear how to fuse images to generate “images”, not just one image. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes reads the limitation as fusing contrast images to generate one contrast image.
Claims 2-16 are dependent of claims 1, and claims 21-22 are dependent of claim 19, and therefore rejected under these 112(b) rejections.
For claims 2-3 and 21-22, “reference transmission frequency” and “target coefficient” are indefinite. It is unclear what is considered a “reference” transmission frequency, and if determining the target coefficient is independent of the reference transmission frequency. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner assumes the reference transmission frequency is the fundamental frequency, and the target coefficient is an arbitrary value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 18-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen et al. (US 20050124895 A1, published June 9, 2005) in view of Ji et al. (US 20030078497 A1, published April 24, 2003), hereinafter referred to as Jensen and Ji, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, and similarly for claims 18 and 19, Jensen teaches a method for ultrasonic contrast imaging, comprising:
determining a plurality of transmission frequencies within an effective bandwidth range of an ultrasonic probe, and generating a pulse sequence comprising a plurality of ultrasonic signal groups based on the plurality of transmission frequencies (Fig. 4d; see para. 0018 – “The ultrasound system of FIG. 1 utilizes a transmitter 16 which transmits waves or pulses of a selected modulation characteristic in a desired beam direction for the return of harmonic echo components from scatterers within the body.”),
wherein each of the ultrasonic signal groups comprises a plurality of ultrasonic signals, and each of the ultrasonic signals comprises at least two periods of ultrasonic sub-signals having different transmission frequencies, the plurality of ultrasonic signals in a same ultrasonic signal group have a same transmission frequency in a corresponding period, and the plurality of ultrasonic signals in different ultrasonic signal groups have different transmission frequencies in the corresponding period (see para 0018 – “The transmitter is responsive to a number of control parameters which determine the characteristics of the transmit beams as shown in the drawing, including the frequency components of the transmit beam, their relative intensities or amplitudes, and the phase or polarity of the transmit signals.”);
transmitting the plurality of ultrasonic signals in the plurality of ultrasonic signal groups in the pulse sequence sequentially, and receiving echo signals generated by contrast agent microbubbles in response to the transmitted ultrasonic signals, wherein the echo signals comprise fundamental signals and harmonic signals corresponding to different imaging frequencies (see para. 0017 – “The transmit signals are modulated by the nonlinear effects of the tissue through which the beam passes or the nonlinear response of a contrast agent microbubble encountered by the beam, thereby generating echo signals with harmonic components.”; see para. 0019 – “The transducer array 12 receives echoes from the body containing linear and harmonic (nonlinear) frequency components which are within the transducer passband.”);
processing the echo signals to obtain a plurality of contrast signals corresponding to different imaging frequencies (see para. 0020 – “In accordance with the principles of the present invention, multiple waves or pulses are transmitted in each beam direction using different modulation techniques, resulting in the reception of multiple echoes for each scanned point in the image field.”); and
obtaining a target contrast image (see para. 0020 – “The detected signals are coupled to a nonlinear signal combiner 34 to reduce image speckle content, as described more fully below. The signals are then processed for the formation of two dimensional, three dimensional, spectral, parametric, or other desired image in image processor 36, and the image is then displayed on a display 38.”).
Jensen teaches obtaining a plurality of contrast signals to generate a contrast image, but does not explicitly teach fusing contrast images to obtain a contrast image.
Whereas, Ji, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches processing the echo signals to obtain a plurality of contrast signals corresponding to different imaging frequencies, and generating contrast images based on the contrast signals (Fig. 1; see para. 0183 – “Post-processing system 180 can also combine data derived from multiple transmit zones to produce data sets covering an expanded area. Post-processing generates at least data representing some attribute of the signal as a function of a coordinate system.”); and
fusing the contrast images to obtain target contrast images (see para. 0172 – “In various aspects of the invention post-processor system 180 also combines data from multiple broad-beam zones and prepares a single data set for delivery to an image scan converter 190 for output on an optional image display 192.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified obtaining a plurality of contrast signals to generate a contrast image, as disclosed in Jensen, by fusing contrast images to obtain a contrast image, as disclosed in Ji. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order for image produced from separate frequency bands to be formed in parallel and compounded together to decrease speckle noise without reduction of frame rate, as taught in Ji (see para. 0187).
Furthermore, regarding claim 2 and 21, Jensen further teaches wherein the determining the plurality of transmission frequencies within the effective bandwidth range of the ultrasonic probe, and generating the pulse sequence comprising the plurality of ultrasonic signal groups based on the transmission frequencies comprises:
determining a reference transmission frequency and a target coefficient (see para. 0029 – “These signal components include the first through the fourth harmonics, of which the first and third harmonics are the major contributors (see FIG. 4d).” where first harmonic is the same as the fundamental frequency, reference transmission frequency as fundamental frequency, and target coefficient as 1),
determining a product of the reference transmission frequency and the target coefficient as a first transmission frequency (see para. 0029 – “These signal components include the first through the fourth harmonics, of which the first and third harmonics are the major contributors (see FIG. 4d).” product of the reference transmission frequency and the target coefficient (first transmission frequency) as fundamental frequency),
determining twice the first transmission frequency as a second transmission frequency (see para. 0029 – “These signal components include the first through the fourth harmonics, of which the first and third harmonics are the major contributors (see FIG. 4d).” fundamental frequency times two is second harmonic frequency),
determining three times the first transmission frequency as a third transmission frequency (see para. 0029 – “These signal components include the first through the fourth harmonics, of which the first and third harmonics are the major contributors (see FIG. 4d).” fundamental frequency times three is third harmonic frequency), and
determining four times the first transmission frequency as a fourth transmission frequency (see para. 0029 – “These signal components include the first through the fourth harmonics, of which the first and third harmonics are the major contributors (see FIG. 4d).” fundamental frequency times four is fourth harmonic frequency),
wherein the first transmission frequency, the second transmission frequency, the third transmission frequency and the fourth transmission frequency are all within the effective bandwidth range of the ultrasonic probe (see para. 0018 – “The ultrasound system of FIG. 1 utilizes a transmitter 16 which transmits waves or pulses of a selected modulation characteristic in a desired beam direction for the return of harmonic echo components from scatterers within the body.”); and
generating the pulse sequence comprising a first ultrasonic signal group and a second ultrasonic signal group (Fig. 5a, P1-P5 transmit pulse sequence comprising a first ultrasonic signal group and a second ultrasonic signal group),
wherein the first ultrasonic signal group is generated based on the first transmission frequency and the second transmission frequency (Fig. 5a, transmit pulses P1 and P2 as first ultrasonic signal group), and
the second ultrasonic signal group is generated based on the third transmission frequency and the fourth transmission frequency (Fig. 5a, transmit pulses P3 and P4 as second ultrasonic signal group).
Furthermore, regarding claims 3 and 22, Jensen further teaches wherein the determining the plurality of transmission frequencies within the effective bandwidth range of the ultrasonic probe, and generating the pulse sequence comprising the plurality of ultrasonic signal groups based on the transmission frequencies comprises:
determining a reference transmission frequency and a target coefficient, determining a product of the reference transmission frequency and the target coefficient as a first transmission frequency (see para. 0029 – “These signal components include the first through the fourth harmonics, of which the first and third harmonics are the major contributors (see FIG. 4d).” where first harmonic is the same as the fundamental frequency, reference transmission frequency as fundamental frequency, and target coefficient as 1, product of the reference transmission frequency and the target coefficient (first transmission frequency) as fundamental frequency),
determining twice the first transmission frequency as a second transmission frequency, determining three times the first transmission frequency as a third transmission frequency, determining four times the first transmission frequency as a fourth transmission frequency, and determining a transmission frequency adjacent to the second transmission as a fifth transmission frequency, wherein the second transmission frequency, the third transmission frequency, the fourth transmission frequency and the fifth transmission frequency are all within the effective bandwidth range of the ultrasonic probe (see para. 0029 – “These signal components include the first through the fourth harmonics, of which the first and third harmonics are the major contributors (see FIG. 4d).” where harmonics are multiples of the fundamental frequency); and
generating the pulse sequence comprising a first ultrasonic signal group and a second ultrasonic signal group, wherein the first ultrasonic signal group is generated based on the fifth transmission frequency and the second transmission frequency, and the second ultrasonic signal group is generated based on the third transmission frequency and the fourth transmission frequency (Fig. 5a, P1-P5 transmit pulse sequence comprising a first ultrasonic signal group and a second ultrasonic signal group).
Furthermore, regarding claim 4, Jensen further teaches wherein the transmitting the multiple ultrasonic signals in the multiple ultrasonic signal groups in the pulse sequence sequentially comprises:
determining different voltage amplitudes for ultrasonic sub-signals in the corresponding period in the multiple ultrasonic signals of the same ultrasonic signal group (Fig. 5A, transmit pulses P1-P5 having different voltage amplitudes);
determining a same number of array elements of the transmitting aperture for ultrasonic sub-signals in the multiple ultrasonic signals of the same ultrasonic signal group (see para. 0018 – “The array transducer can be a one dimensional array for planar (two dimensional) imaging or a two dimensional array for two dimensional or volumetric (three dimensional) imaging.”); and
transmitting the multiple ultrasonic signals in the multiple ultrasonic signal groups in the pulse sequence sequentially, based on the transmission frequencies, the voltage amplitudes and the numbers of array elements of the transmitting aperture for different ultrasonic sub-signals in the multiple ultrasonic signals (see para. 0028 – “FIGS. 5 a-5 c illustrate an embodiment of the present invention in which a transmit sequence of five pulses is employed in each beam direction, resulting in ensembles of five echoes for each sample point in the image field.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 5, Jensen further teaches wherein each of the ultrasonic signal groups comprises a first ultrasonic signal and a second ultrasonic signal (Fig. 5a, transmit pulses P1-P5 as ultrasonic signals), and the determining different voltage amplitudes for ultrasonic sub-signals in the corresponding period in the multiple ultrasonic signals of the same ultrasonic signal group comprises:
determining a first voltage amplitude for the ultrasonic sub-signal in the first ultrasonic signal, and determining a second voltage amplitude for the ultrasonic sub-signal in the second ultrasonic signal, wherein the second voltage amplitude is a preset multiple of the first voltage amplitude (Fig. 5a, transmit pulses P1-P5 with different voltage amplitudes; see para. 0028 – “As FIG. 5a illustrates, the first and fifth pulses P1(+0.5) and P5(+0.5) both exhibit the same phase or polarity as well as the same amplitude. The other three pulses P2(−1), P3(+1) and P4(−1) all have an amplitude which is twice that of the first and last pulses.”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 6, Jensen further teaches wherein each of the ultrasonic signal groups comprises a first ultrasonic signal, a second ultrasonic signal and a third ultrasonic signal (Fig. 5a, transmit pulses P1-P5 as ultrasonic signals), and the determining different voltage amplitudes for ultrasonic sub-signals in the corresponding period in the multiple ultrasonic signals of the same ultrasonic signal group comprises:
determining a third voltage amplitude for the ultrasonic sub-signal in the first ultrasonic signal and the ultrasonic sub-signal in the third ultrasonic signal, and determining a fourth voltage amplitude for the ultrasonic sub-signal in the second ultrasonic signal, wherein the fourth voltage amplitude is a preset multiple of the third voltage amplitude (Fig. 5a, transmit pulses P1-P5 with different voltage amplitudes; see para. 0028 – “As FIG. 5a illustrates, the first and fifth pulses P1(+0.5) and P5(+0.5) both exhibit the same phase or polarity as well as the same amplitude. The other three pulses P2(−1), P3(+1) and P4(−1) all have an amplitude which is twice that of the first and last pulses.”).
Claims 7-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Ji, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sato (US 20050256404 A1, published November 17, 2005), hereinafter referred to as Sato.
Regarding claim 7, Jensen in view of Ji teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above, and
Jensen further teaches wherein the transmitting the multiple ultrasonic signals in the multiple ultrasonic signal groups in the pulse sequence sequentially comprises: determining a same voltage amplitude for the ultrasonic sub-signals in the corresponding period in the multiple ultrasonic signals of the same ultrasonic signal group (Fig. 2a, transmit pulses P1-P3 having the same voltage amplitude (1)).
Jensen in view of Ji teach transmitting ultrasound signals, but does not explicitly teach transmitting ultrasound signals with different number of array elements.
Whereas, Sato, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches determining different numbers of array elements of the transmitting aperture for the ultrasonic sub-signals in the multiple ultrasonic signals of the same ultrasonic signal group (Fig. 6, first, second, and third transmission activating different transducer elements (even numbered elements, odd numbered elements, all elements) of ultrasound probe 13); and
transmitting the multiple ultrasonic signals in the multiple ultrasonic signal groups in the pulse sequence sequentially, based on the transmission frequencies, the voltage amplitudes and the numbers of array elements of the transmitting aperture for different ultrasonic sub-signals in the multiple ultrasonic signals (see para. 0091 – “FIG. 6 is a diagram explaining a method for controlling the number of channels used in the ultrasonic probe 13 to modulate the amplitude of transmission ultrasound in the ultrasonic diagnostic apparatus 10 shown in FIG. 1.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified transmitting ultrasound signals, as disclosed in Jensen in view of Ji, by transmitting ultrasound signals with different number of array elements, as disclosed in Sato. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve control with high linearity, as taught in Sato (see para. 0092)
Furthermore, regarding claim 8, Sato further teaches wherein each of the ultrasonic signal groups comprises a first ultrasonic signal and a second ultrasonic signal, and the determining different numbers of array elements of the transmitting aperture for the ultrasonic sub-signals in the multiple ultrasonic signals of the same ultrasonic signal group comprises:
determining a first number of array elements of the transmitting aperture for the ultrasonic sub-signals in the first ultrasonic signal, and determining a second number of array elements of the transmitting aperture for the ultrasonic sub-signals in the second ultrasonic signal, wherein the second number of array elements of the transmitting aperture is a preset multiple of the first number of array elements of the transmitting aperture (Fig. 6; see para. 0089 – “For example, when ultrasonic waves are transmitted by the ultrasonic probe 13 including a one-dimensional array of transducers according to a pulse sequence of [−0.5, −1, 1], the number of channels used in the transmission of [−0.5) is reduced to half that used in the transmission of [1].”).
Furthermore, regarding claim 9, Sato further teaches wherein the second number of array elements of the transmitting aperture is twice the first number of array elements of the transmitting aperture (Fig. 6; see para. 0089 – “For example, when ultrasonic waves are transmitted by the ultrasonic probe 13 including a one-dimensional array of transducers according to a pulse sequence of [−0.5, −1, 1], the number of channels used in the transmission of [−0.5) is reduced to half that used in the transmission of [1].”).
The motivation for claims 8-9 was shown previously in claim 7.
Furthermore, regarding claim 14, Sato further teaches wherein the fusing the contrast images to obtain the target contrast images comprises:
determining weighting coefficients of contrast images corresponding to different imaging modes, and performing weighted fusion on the contrast images based on the weight coefficients of the contrast images, to obtain the target contrast images corresponding to different imaging modes (see para. 0182 – “The weighting coefficients for weighted addition are set according to the depth of a target part in the object P in such a manner that the weighting coefficient for the B-mode signal value BP, the power signal value PP, and the velocity signal value VP filtered by the high-frequency filter F2 are larger than that for the values BA, PA, and VA with respect to a shallow part of the object P in order to assure high resolution, and with respect to a deep part of the object P, the weighting coefficient for the B-mode signal value BA, the power signal value PA, and the velocity signal value VA filtered by the low-frequency filter F1 is larger in order to assure high penetration.”).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ensure high resolution and high penetration, as taught in Sato (see para. 0182).
Furthermore, regarding claim 15, Sato further teaches wherein the imaging modes comprise a penetration mode and/or a resolution mode, the weighting coefficient of the contrast image corresponding to the penetration mode is negatively correlated with an imaging frequency corresponding to the contrast image (see para. 0182 – “…weighting coefficient for the B-mode signal value BA, the power signal value PA, and the velocity signal value VA filtered by the low-frequency filter F1 is larger in order to assure high penetration.” Weighting coefficient is larger for lower frequencies (negatively correlated)), and
the weighting coefficient of the contrast image corresponding to the resolution mode is positively correlated with the imaging frequency corresponding to the contrast image (see para. 0182 – “…weighting coefficient for the B-mode signal value BP, the power signal value PP, and the velocity signal value VP filtered by the high-frequency filter F2 are larger than that for the values BA, PA, and VA with respect to a shallow part of the object P in order to assure high resolution…” weighting coefficient is larger for higher frequencies (positively correlated)).
The motivation for claim 15 was shown previously in claim 14.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Ji and Sato, as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Pan et al. (US 20090227872 A1, published September 10, 2009), hereinafter referred to as Pan.
Regarding claim 10, Jensen in view of Ji and Sato teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 7 above, and
Jensen further teaches wherein each of the ultrasonic signal groups comprises a first ultrasonic signal, a second ultrasonic signal and a third ultrasonic signal (Fig. 5a, transmit pulses P1-P3 as first, second, and third ultrasonic signals).
Jensen in view of Ji and Sato teaches transmitting ultrasound signals, but does not explicitly teach transmitting a first ultrasound signal using odd numbered transducer elements, transmitting a second ultrasound signal using all transducer elements, and transmitting a third ultrasound signal using even numbered transducer elements.
Whereas, Pan, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches the determining different numbers of array elements of the transmitting aperture for the ultrasonic sub-signals in the multiple ultrasonic signals of the same ultrasonic signal group comprises:
determining the transmitting aperture of the ultrasonic sub-signal in the first ultrasonic signal as one of an odd aperture and an even aperture (Fig. 10; see para. 0050 – “In one example, the first pulse may be transmitted using a portion of the aperture 202, such as … the sub-aperture 208 [odd aperture] (of FIG. 8).”),
determining the transmitting aperture of the ultrasonic sub-signal in the second ultrasonic signal as a full aperture (see para. 0051 – “Continuing the above example, the second pulse may be transmitted using the entire aperture 202 [full aperture] or all of the N elements 104.”), and
determining the transmitting aperture of the ultrasonic sub-signal in the third ultrasonic signal as the other one of the odd aperture and the even aperture (see para. 0052 – “The third pulse may be transmitted using the elements 104 that were not excited in the first pulse, such as …the sub-aperture 210 [even aperture]…”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified transmitting ultrasound signals, as disclosed in Jensen in view of Ji and Sato, by transmitting a first ultrasound signal using odd numbered transducer elements, transmitting a second ultrasound signal using all transducer elements, and transmitting a third ultrasound signal using even numbered transducer elements, as disclosed in Pan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to sum the responses to determine a non-linear response, where the linear response, representative of the tissue, will cancel out, leaving the non-linear response of the contrast agent, as taught in Pan (see para. 0054).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Ji, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Averkiou et al. (US 6186950 B1, published February 13, 2001), hereinafter referred to as Averkiou.
Furthermore, regarding claim 11, Jensen in view of Ji teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above, and
Jensen further teaches performing weighted processing on the echo signals of the multiple ultrasonic signals in each of the ultrasonic signal groups, based on a voltage amplitude relationship and a phase relationship among the multiple ultrasonic signals in each of the ultrasonic signal groups, to obtain the contrast signals corresponding to each of the ultrasonic signal groups (see para. 0029 – “In FIG. 5 f a signal separator circuit 78 operates on echoes from all five pulses. Echoes from the first and last pulses, which exhibit the lesser amplitudes, are weighted by −8. Echoes from the second, third, and fourth pulses are weighted by weights of −1, 6, and −1, respectively. This combination will result in nonlinear signal components PMPI2 by the combined technique, and include the first, second, and third harmonics, of which the first and third are predominant.”).
Jensen in view of Ji teaches receiving ultrasound signals, but does not explicitly teach demodulating the ultrasound signals.
Whereas, Averkiou, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches demodulating the contrast signals corresponding to each of the ultrasonic signal groups by using demodulation circuits corresponding to the different imaging frequencies, to obtain the contrast signals corresponding to the different imaging frequencies (see col. 8, lines 40-43 – “The separated harmonic signals are demodulated by a quadrature bandpass (QBP) filter 20 into in-phase (I) and quadrature (Q) harmonic samples in a predetermined passband.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified receiving ultrasound signals, as disclosed in Jensen in view of Ji, by also demodulating the ultrasound signals, as disclosed in Averkiou. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to roll off any residual fundamental frequency components and unwanted out-of-band signals, as taught in Averkiou (see col. 8, lines 43-45).
Furthermore, regarding claim 12, Jensen further teaches wherein the performing weighted processing on the echo signals of the multiple ultrasonic signals in each of the ultrasonic signal groups, based on the voltage amplitude relationship and the phase relationship among the multiple ultrasonic signals in each of the ultrasonic signal groups, to obtain the contrast signals corresponding to each of the ultrasonic signal groups, comprises:
determining weighting coefficients of the echo signals, based on the voltage amplitude relationship among the multiple ultrasonic signals in each of the ultrasonic signal groups (see para. 0029 – “In FIG. 5 f a signal separator circuit 78 operates on echoes from all five pulses. Echoes from the first and last pulses, which exhibit the lesser amplitudes, are weighted by −8. Echoes from the second, third, and fourth pulses are weighted by weights of −1, 6, and −1, respectively. This combination will result in nonlinear signal components PMPI2 by the combined technique, and include the first, second, and third harmonics, of which the first and third are predominant.”);
determining an operational relationship of the echo signals based on the phase relationship among the multiple ultrasonic signals in each of the ultrasonic signal groups, wherein the operational relationship is determined as a summation in response to the phase relationship being out of phase (Fig. 5f, echoes E2 and E4 out of phase (-1) times negative weight (-1) is a summation operation), and
the operational relationship is determined as a subtraction in response to the phase relationship being in phase (Fig. 5f, echoes E1 and E5 in phase (+0.5) times negative weight (-8) is a subtraction operation);
performing weighted processing on the echo signals of the multiple ultrasonic signals in each of the ultrasonic signal groups based on the weighting coefficients and the operational relationship, to obtain the contrast signals corresponding to each of the ultrasonic signal groups (see para. 0029 – “In FIG. 5 f a signal separator circuit 78 operates on echoes from all five pulses. Echoes from the first and last pulses, which exhibit the lesser amplitudes, are weighted by −8. Echoes from the second, third, and fourth pulses are weighted by weights of −1, 6, and −1, respectively. This combination will result in nonlinear signal components PMPI2 by the combined technique, and include the first, second, and third harmonics, of which the first and third are predominant.”).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Ji, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yamamoto (US 20090112090 A1, published April 30, 2009), hereinafter referred to as Yamamoto.
Regarding claim 13, Jensen in view of Ji teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 1 above, and
Jensen further teaches transmitting the multiple ultrasonic signals in the multiple ultrasonic signal groups in the pulse sequence sequentially, wherein in response to the transmitted ultrasound signals, the contrast agent microbubbles generate fundamental signals corresponding to different first imaging frequencies (Fig. 5a, transmit pulses P1-P5 as ultrasonic signals; see para. 0029 – “These signal components include the first through the fourth harmonics, of which the first and third harmonics are the major contributors (see FIG. 4d).”).
Jensen in view of Ji teaches generating a multi-harmonic signal, but does not explicitly teach receiving the fundamental signals, the multi-harmonic signal, and the differential harmonic signal.
Whereas, Yamamoto, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches
generate a multi-harmonic signal corresponding to a second imaging frequency based on the fundamental signals corresponding to the first imaging frequencies (see para. 0065 – “Moreover, in the ultrasonic imaging apparatus of the present invention, a center frequency fi (i=1, 2, . . . , n) includes a harmonic frequency, which is an integral multiple of a center frequency of a transmitting signal, and a sub-harmonic frequency, which is a fractional multiple of the center frequency, and also includes, when a transmitting pulse has frequencies included in a plurality of frequency bands, at least one of frequencies corresponding respectively to a sum frequency of these frequencies and a difference frequency therebetween.”), and
generate a differential harmonic signal corresponding to a third imaging frequency based on the fundamental signals corresponding to the different first imaging frequencies, wherein the second imaging frequency is an integer multiple of the first imaging frequency (see para. 0065 – “Moreover, in the ultrasonic imaging apparatus of the present invention, a center frequency fi (i=1, 2, . . . , n) includes a harmonic frequency, which is an integral multiple of a center frequency of a transmitting signal, and a sub-harmonic frequency, which is a fractional multiple of the center frequency, and also includes, when a transmitting pulse has frequencies included in a plurality of frequency bands, at least one of frequencies corresponding respectively to a sum frequency of these frequencies and a difference frequency therebetween.”), and
the third imaging frequency is at least one of a difference between first imaging frequencies or a sum of first imaging frequencies (see para. 0065 – “Moreover, in the ultrasonic imaging apparatus of the present invention, a center frequency fi (i=1, 2, . . . , n) includes a harmonic frequency, which is an integral multiple of a center frequency of a transmitting signal, and a sub-harmonic frequency, which is a fractional multiple of the center frequency, and also includes, when a transmitting pulse has frequencies included in a plurality of frequency bands, at least one of frequencies corresponding respectively to a sum frequency of these frequencies and a difference frequency therebetween.”); and
receiving the fundamental signals corresponding to the first imaging frequencies, the multi-harmonic signal corresponding to the second imaging frequency, and the differential harmonic signal corresponding to the third imaging frequency (see para. 0065 – “Moreover, in the ultrasonic imaging apparatus of the present invention, a center frequency fi (i=1, 2, . . . , n) includes a harmonic frequency, which is an integral multiple of a center frequency of a transmitting signal, and a sub-harmonic frequency, which is a fractional multiple of the center frequency, and also includes, when a transmitting pulse has frequencies included in a plurality of frequency bands, at least one of frequencies corresponding respectively to a sum frequency of these frequencies and a difference frequency therebetween.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified generating a multi-harmonic signal, as disclosed in Jensen in view of Ji, by receiving the fundamental signals, the multi-harmonic signal, and the differential harmonic signal, as disclosed in Yamamoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maximize contrast resolution, as taught in Yamamoto (see para. 0065).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen in view of Ji and Sato, as disclosed in claim 14 above, and in further view of Ito et al. (JP 3644895 B2, published May 11, 2005), hereinafter referred to as Ito.
Regarding claim 16, Jensen in view of Ji and Sato teaches all of the elements disclosed in claim 14 above.
Jensen in view of Ji and Sato teaches determining weighting coefficients of contrast images corresponding to different imaging modes, but does not explicitly teach obtaining and adjusting the weighting coefficient of the contrast image.
Whereas, Ito, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches
displaying, for one target imaging mode, an adjustment window corresponding to the target contrast image, wherein the adjustment window comprises adjustment areas for the contrast images (see para. 0034 – “Note that the operation panel 18 is used when the filter characteristics of various filters described later are changed by the user or when the weighting ratio in weighted addition described later is set by the user.”); and
receiving an adjustment instruction on at least one of the adjustment areas and adjusting the weighting coefficient of the contrast image corresponding to the at least one of the adjustment areas based on the adjustment instruction, to obtain the weighting coefficients of the contrast images in the target imaging mode (see para. 0061 – “Of course, the brightness distributions of the contrast agent and the tissue image can be adjusted by adjusting the filter characteristics of the BPFs 66 and 68 and adjusting the coefficients in the above weighting.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining weighting coefficients of contrast images corresponding to different imaging modes, as disclosed in Jensen in view of Ji and Sato, by obtaining and adjusting the weighting coefficient of the contrast image, as disclosed in Ito. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order for the contrast agent to be displayed more clearly on the ultrasonic image, and the tissue to be appropriately imaged, as taught in Ito (see para. 0064).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Uhlendorf et al. (US 5678553 A, published October 21, 1997) discloses process for selective graphic representation and/or evaluation of the Doppler spectrum of objects limitedly resistant to sonic intensity, for example biological organs and tissues, by an ultrasonic process wherein a material is introduced in the examination area to be acoustically irradiated, nonlinear oscillations are produced in the examination area by irradiated ultrasonic waves and the signal is evaluated by an ultrasonic converter.
Burns et al. (US 6095980 A, published August 1, 2000) discloses separates broadband linear and nonlinear echo signal components while simultaneously distinguishing the effects of motion.
Tujino et al. (US 6146330 A, published November 14, 2000) discloses in a fundamental wave mode, a fundamental wave component is extracted from the echo signal, and an image is generated based on the fundamental wave component. In a harmonics mode, a harmonics component is extracted, and an image is generated based on the harmonics component.
Krishnan (US 6290647 B1, published September 18, 2001) discloses subharmonic and harmonic imaging are combined by generating a subharmonic frequency intensity value, generating a harmonic frequency intensity value, and generating display indicia as a function of both the subharmonic and harmonic intensity values.
Averkiou (US 20020032382 A1, published March 14, 2002) discloses nonlinear tissue or contrast agent effects are detected by combining echoes from multiple, differently modulated transmit pulses below the second harmonic band.
Averkiou (US 20020040188 A1, published April 4, 2002) discloses performing nonlinear echo signal imaging with harmonic and intermodulation product (sum or difference frequency) components. Both the harmonic and the intermodulation products are produced by nonlinear effects of tissue or contrast agents and both are advantageously separated from the fundamental transmit components of the echo signals by pulse inversion processing.
Biagi et al. (US 20040193056 A1, published September 30, 2004) discloses a plurality of microbubbles, is sent by means of the blood circulation to a part of a living body under investigation and said part is struck by an ultrasonic excitation signal at an excitation frequency (f0), and in which the microbubbles struck by the ultrasonic excitation signal generate an echo signal at a frequency different from the excitation frequency, said signal being used to, generate an image.
Cerofolini (US-20050054928-A1, published March 10, 2005) discloses acoustic beams reflected from the body under examination and the contrast agents are separated into at least one harmonic or subharmonic components along with the fundamental frequency component.
Imamura et al. (US-20070167780-A1, published July 19, 2007) discloses a transmitting and receiving unit that transmits two kinds of ultrasonic waves with inverted phases to each of a plurality of scanning lines and receives first and second echo signals corresponding to the two kinds of ultrasonic waves from one scanning line to another.
Kawagishi et al. (US-20070197916-A1, published August 23, 2007) discloses the first reception echo obtaining unit transmits a plurality of ultrasonic pulses having frequency spectra different from one another to an object, and obtains each of reception echoes corresponding to the plurality of ultrasonic pulses. The second reception echo obtaining unit transmits an ultrasonic pulse having the same frequency component characteristics as an combined pulse obtained by combining the plurality of ultrasonic pulses, and to obtain an reception echo.
Jensen et al. (US-20080275338-A1, published November 6, 2008) discloses transmits waveforms containing first and second major frequency components which are intermodulated by passage through a nonlinear medium or interaction with a contrast agent microbubble to produce a difference frequency component.
Itani et al. (US-20100036255-A1, published February 11, 2010) discloses transmit ultrasound at a transmission frequency which is set using, as a reference, a resonance frequency of a bubble administered into a living organism, and also at a transmission sound pressure which is set using an expansion ratio of the bubble as a reference.
Park et al. (US-20160058419-A1, published March 3, 2016) discloses an ultrasound contrast agent (UCA) sensor configured to determine whether an UCA flows in an object based on an echo signal that is reflected by the object in a mechanical index environment.
Adams et al. (US-20180000452-A1, published January 4, 2018) discloses successively transmitted, differently modulated pulses are transmitted by an ultrasound probe and both fundamental and harmonic frequencies are received in response. The echo signals received from the two pulses are processed by pulse inversion, producing cleanly separated bands of fundamental and harmonic signals in which undesired components have been cancelled.
Miller et al. (US-20230255495-A1, published August 17, 2023 with a priority date of July 1, 2020) discloses a broadband acoustic response that produces one or more optical responses upon receiving fundamental frequency, super-harmonic, ultra-harmonic, subharmonic, or differential harmonic ultrasound echoes corresponding to the transmitted ultrasound signal(s).
/N.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3798