DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: fluid control device; fluid assembly; driving assembly; stator assembly, connection assembly, housing assembly, first driving assembly; second driving assembly; pump assembly; control valve assembly; rotor assembly; impeller assembly; first stator assembly; second stator assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the corresponding stator assembly" and “the other driving assembly”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the same driving assembly". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the movable unit of the control valve assembly" and “the movable unit of the pump assembly”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further it is unclear whether “the movable unit” is the “a movable unit” recited in claim 1. The metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claims 3-5, 7-12 are indefinite by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dehrmann (DE 102020130486 A1, reference provided in IDS filed on 07/20/2026. The corresponding US publication No.: US 2023/0021282 A1 is relied upon in this office action) in view of Nakazawa (US 2005/0265852 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dehrmann teaches a fluid control device (100), comprising at least two fluid assemblies (110A, 110 C) (Fig. 1, paras. 0080-0081) and at least two driving assemblies (Fig. 1, paras. 0076-007), wherein each driving assembly comprises a stator assembly (210A, 210C), (Fig. 1, paras. 0076-007), and each fluid assembly comprises a movable unit (310A, 310C) actuated by the corresponding stator assembly; and
the fluid control device further comprises a connection assembly (Figs. 1-7) and a connection terminal (204) (Fig. 7, para. 0086), wherein the connection assembly comprises a connection, and the connection terminal is electrically connected to the stator assembly of one or more of the driving assemblies and is electrically connected to the stator assembly of one or more of the other driving assemblies via the connection assembly.
Dehrmann does not specifically state that the connection assembly comprises a connection lead.
However, Nakazawa in the same field teaches a fluid control device having a driving assembly (50) and a connection assembly (Fig. 12), wherein the connection assembly comprises a connection lead (160) the connection lead being a flexible connection (Fig. 12, para. 0118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Dehrmann such that the connection assembly comprises a connection lead as taught by Nakazawa to provide flexibility in the fluid control device.
Regarding claim 2, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the driving assembly comprises a circuit board (Dehrmann, para. 0155) through which the stator assembly in the same driving assembly is electrically connected to the connection lead; or the driving assembly comprises an electric connection wire through which the stator assembly is electrically connected to the connection lead; or the stator assembly in the driving assembly is arranged in contact with the connection lead and electrically connected with the connection lead (Dehrmann, para. 0155; Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 3, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches M connection terminals, and N driving assemblies, wherein M>=1 and M<N, where M and N are positive integers (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 3. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches a housing assembly (300) (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7), wherein the housing assembly comprises an accommodating cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7), and at least part of the fluid assembly is located in the accommodating cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7); the driving assemblies are respectively arranged at two sides of the housing assembly (300) in a height direction, and the connecting assembly is located outside the housing assembly, or part of the housing assembly is further used as at least part of the connecting assembly (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 4. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the driving assembly comprises a first driving assembly (110A, Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7) and a second driving assembly (110C, Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7), the first driving assembly comprises a first housing (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7), the stator assembly of the first driving assembly comprises a first stator assembly connected to the first housing (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7) in a position-limiting way, and one or more stator assemblies (210B) of the second driving assembly form a part of a motor (Dehrmann, para. 0037).
Regarding claim 6, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 5. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the fluid assembly comprises a control valve assembly (370) (Dehrmann, Fig. 1; para. 0081) and a pump assembly (314 B, 340B) (Dehrmann, para. 0113-0114), wherein the movable unit of the control valve assembly comprises a valve core and a valve core shaft (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7) and the valve core is in transmission connection to the motor via the valve core shaft (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7), and the movable unit of the pump assembly comprises a rotor assembly (Dehrmann, para. 0079) and an impeller assembly (340), wherein the rotor assembly is located in a magnetic field range of the first stator assembly, and the rotor assembly is in transmission connection with the impeller assembly (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078).
Regarding claim 7, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 6. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the accommodating cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7) of the housing assembly comprises a first valve cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7) and a pump cavity(Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), wherein at least part of the valve core (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7) is located in the first valve cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), and at least part of the impeller assembly (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7) is located in the pump cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), and the housing assembly further comprises a fluid channel (364), which communicates the pump cavity (312) and the first valve cavity.
Regarding claim 8, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 5. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the first driving assembly comprises a first control board, which is located in a chamber of the first driving assembly (Dehrmann, para. 0085, Figs. 1-7), and the second driving assembly comprises a second control board, which is located in a chamber of the second driving assembly (Dehrmann, para. 0085, Figs. 1-7) , the connection terminal comprises a first terminal, which comprises a first pin portion (314); the first pin portion is electrically connected to the first stator assembly via the first control board (Figs. 1-7), and the first pin portion is electrically connected to the motor via the first control board, the connection lead and the second control board (Nakazawa, Fig. 12); or the first pin portion (314) is electrically connected to the motor via the second control board, and the first pin portion is electrically connected to the first stator assembly via the second control board, the connection lead and the first control board (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 9, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 5. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the second driving assembly comprises a third control board (Dehrmann, para. 0085, Figs. 1-7), a gear assembly (350) (para. 0124, Fig. 5) and a potentiometer (312), wherein the gear assembly comprises an output gear (358), the motor is in transmission connection to the valve core shaft of the control valve assembly through the output gear, and the potentiometer is located in and electrically connected with the third control board (Dehrmann, para. 0085, Figs. 1-7), and the output gear comprises a shaft portion and a toothed portion, wherein the shaft portion protrudes out of the toothed portion, and at least part of the shaft portion is disposed in the potentiometer (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 10, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 9. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches wherein the connection terminal comprises a second terminal connected to the second driving assembly (Dehrmann, Fig. 4) and comprising a second pin portion (314), and the second pin portion is electrically connected to the motor via the third control board (Dehrmann, para. 0085, Figs. 1-7) and is electrically connected to the first stator assembly via the third control board, the connection lead and an electric connection wire (220) in the first driving assembly (Dehrmann, para. 0085, Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 11, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 7. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the control valve assembly comprises a first valve assembly (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), and the accommodating cavity comprises a first valve cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7) and a pump cavity (312), wherein the first valve assembly comprises a first valve core (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), at least part of the first valve core is located in the first valve cavity, and the fluid channel communicates the first valve cavity and the pump cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 12, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 11. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the fluid assembly comprises a pump assembly (314 B, 340B) (Dehrmann, para. 0113-0114), the movable unit of the pump assembly comprises an impeller assembly (340) (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078), and the housing assembly comprises a first side wall portion and a pump cover portion, and the first side wall portion (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078) forms at least part of the wall portion of the first valve cavity, the pump cover portion (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078) forms at least part of the wall portion of the first side wall portion, the first valve core (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078) and the impeller assembly are respectively arranged at different heights in the height direction of the fluid control device, and an orthographic projection of the first side wall portion in the height direction of the fluid control device at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the pump cover portion in the height direction of the fluid control device (Dehrmann, para. 0085, Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 13, Dehrmann teaches a method for manufacturing a fluid control device, comprising the steps of:
providing at least part of at least two driving assemblies (110A, 110 C) (Fig. 1, paras. 0076-0077 and 0080-0081), each of which comprises a stator assembly (210A, 210C), (Fig. 1, paras. 0076-0077);
assembling the driving assemblies with corresponding fluid assemblies such that the stator assemblies enable movable units of the fluid assemblies to move (Fig. 1, paras. 0076-0077 and 0080-0081);
arranging at least part of a connection assembly between at least two of the driving assemblies (Fig. 1, paras. 0076-0077 and 0080-0081), wherein the connection assembly comprises a connection; and electrically connecting the stator assembly of one or more of the driving assemblies to the connection lead, such that a connection terminal is electrically connected to one or more of the stator assemblies through the connection (Fig. 1, paras. 0076-0077 and 0080-0081).
Dehrmann does not specifically state that the connection assembly comprises a connection lead.
However, Nakazawa in the same field teaches a fluid control device having a driving assembly (50) and a connection assembly (Fig. 12), wherein the connection assembly comprises a connection lead (160) the connection lead being a flexible connection (Fig. 12, para. 0118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Dehrmann such that the connection assembly comprises a connection lead as taught by Nakazawa to provide flexibility in the fluid control device.
Regarding claim 14, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the connection assembly further comprises a connection housing (Dehrmann, Fig. 1), at least part of the connection lead are located in the connection housing (Dehrmann, Fig. 1) each of the driving assemblies comprises a housing (Dehrmann, Fig. 1), and the connection housing is fixed to the housing of one of the driving assemblies by injection molding (Dehrmann, para. 0017), and at least one of the other driving assemblies comprises a limiting hole, and the step of assembling the driving assembly with the corresponding fluid assembly comprises: assembling at least two of the driving assemblies with the corresponding fluid assemblies; and inserting the connecting assembly into another driving assembly through the limiting hole (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, paras. 0076-0077 and 0080-0081).
Regarding claim 15, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 8. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches a fluid control system, comprising the fluid control device according to claim 1, a control system (220) (Dehrmann, Fig. 4, para. 0085) and K wire harness structures (Dehrmann, para. 0053), wherein the fluid control device comprises M connection terminals (200) which are electrically connected to the stator assemblies, the control system is electrically connected to the wire harness structures, and the wire harness structures are electrically connected to the connection terminals (200), and the number of the driving assemblies is N, K=M>=1 and M<N, where K, M and N are positive integers (Dehrmann, Figs. 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 16, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 8. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the control valve assembly comprises a first valve assembly (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), and the accommodating cavity comprises a first valve cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7) and a pump cavity (312), wherein the first valve assembly comprises a first valve core (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), at least part of the first valve core is located in the first valve cavity, and the fluid channel communicates the first valve cavity and the pump cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 17, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 9. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the control valve assembly comprises a first valve assembly (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), and the accommodating cavity comprises a first valve cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7) and a pump cavity (312), wherein the first valve assembly comprises a first valve core (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7), at least part of the first valve core is located in the first valve cavity, and the fluid channel communicates the first valve cavity and the pump cavity (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 18, Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 16. Dehrmann as modified by Nakazawa further teaches the fluid assembly comprises a pump assembly (314 B, 340B) (Dehrmann, para. 0113-0114), the movable unit of the pump assembly comprises an impeller assembly (340) (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078), and the housing assembly comprises a first side wall portion and a pump cover portion, and the first side wall portion (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078) forms at least part of the wall portion of the first valve cavity, the pump cover portion (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078) forms at least part of the wall portion of the first side wall portion, the first valve core (Dehrmann, Figs. 1-7, para. 0078) and the impeller assembly are respectively arranged at different heights in the height direction of the fluid control device, and an orthographic projection of the first side wall portion in the height direction of the fluid control device at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the pump cover portion in the height direction of the fluid control device (Dehrmann, para. 0085, Figs. 1-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2023031800-A1 discloses a fluid control device comprising fluid assemblies, driving assemblies and a stator assembly.
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745