Status of the Application
Claims 1-12 are currently pending in this case and have been examined and addressed below. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the Claims filed on 12/27/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 and 07/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: information acquisition unit that acquires, content unit that determines, query unit that presents […] and acquires, determination unit that determines, in Claim 1; gaze acquisition unit that acquires in Claim 7.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification describes that the cognitive ability analysis device may include an information acquisition unit, a content unit, a query unit, a determination unit, and a gaze acquisition unit. The cognitive ability analysis device may perform overall operations by one or more processors. Therefore, the specification provides the structure of processors to perform the functions of the units identified above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite “a program stored on a computer readable recording medium”. Applying the broadest reasonable interpretation, this phrase can include both non-transient physical storage such as hardware and signals. Signals are not patent eligible subject matter. The specification does not disclose the computer readable recording medium and therefore it can be either/both volatile and nonvolatile media and can comprise both computer storage media and communication media such as a carrier wave. Examiner notes that Applicant can overcome this particular rejection by changing the phrase "computer readable recording medium" in Claim 12 to read "non-transitory computer readable recording medium".
Claims 1-12 are rejected because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-10 fall within the statutory category of an apparatus or system. Claim 11 falls within the statutory category of a process. Claim 12 does not fall within a statutory category, as described above. However, for purpose of compact prosecution, it will be included in the rejection below as directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong One
As per Claims 1, 11, and 12, the limitations of acquiring user information, determining a type of content that determines cognitive ability for social situations based on the user information, presenting the content and a question related to the content to a user and acquiring a user’s answer, and determining user’s cognitive ability for social situations based on the user’s answer, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers activity which can be performed by a person when assessing or evaluating a person for cognitive ability. This is activity which is managing personal behavior and personal interactions, where the interactions are those between a person being evaluated and the person evaluating or assessing that person. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers management of personal behavior or personal interactions, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The steps of determining a type of content that determines cognitive ability for social situations based on the user information and determining user’s cognitive ability for social situations based on the user’s answer can be performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion in the human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. As per MPEP 2106.04(a), a claim can fall within more than one grouping or sub-grouping of abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements and combination of additional elements do not impose meaningful limits on the judicial exception. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements – a cognitive ability analysis device which comprises an information acquisition unit, content unit, query unit, and determination unit, as well as a program stored on a computer-readable recording medium. The device, units, and computer-readable recording medium in these steps is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Because the additional elements do not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exception, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with the respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of a cognitive ability analysis device which comprises an information acquisition unit, content unit, query unit, and determination unit, as well as a program stored on a computer-readable recording medium to perform the method of the invention amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing component. The cognitive ability analysis device which comprises an information acquisition unit, content unit, query unit, and determination unit, as well as a program stored on a computer-readable recording medium are recited at a high level of generality and are recited as generic computer components by reciting that the cognitive ability analysis device which includes the units performs operations by one or more processors (Specification, Page 5, Lines 10-16), which do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea beyond mere instructions to apply an exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of the computer or improves another technology. The claims do not amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
Dependent Claims
Dependent Claims 2-9 add further limitations which are also directed to an abstract idea. For example, Claims 2 and 6 further specifies or limits the elements of Claim 1 and is therefore directed to the same abstract idea. Claim 3 includes determining a content level based on the gender, disability level, IQ, age, and SRS-2 score which can be performed using human mental observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and is therefore directed to a mental process. Claim 4 includes acquiring a first response selected by a user for a question, a second response to a nonverbal expression, and a third response to a time when the nonverbal expression should be performed which describes managing personal behavior or personal interactions and therefore falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas. Claim 5 includes searching for next content and providing the content to the user which also is activity performed as an interaction between people and therefore falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas. Claim 7 includes acquiring coordinate information of a point where a user gazes at the content, time information of the point of gaze, and information about an order in which the point of gaze has moved in time series which describes managing personal behavior or personal interactions and therefore falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas. Claim 8 includes specifying and storing a point where the user gazes at a certain point for a preset time or longer which describes activity by a person when interacting with another person and therefore falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas. Claim 9 includes determining whether the point at which the gaze duration is equal to or greater than the preset time is included within the area serving as a clue which can be performed using human mental observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and is therefore directed to a mental process. Claim 10 includes determining cognitive ability for social situations of the content for user’s gaze information based on a preset score criterion which can be performed using human mental observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion and is therefore directed to a mental process. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. (KR102374780 B1), hereinafter Sung, in view of Kotra et al. (US 2021/0043106 A1), hereinafter Kotra.
As per Claims 1 and 11, Sung discloses a cognitive ability analysis device comprising:
a content unit that determines a type of content that determines cognitive ability for social situations based on the user information ([0011-0012] providing learning content including a question content where the content provided is based on grade of mental disability level, generating learning content based on determined level of mental disability [0021] server comprising a processor, and computer program comprising instructions for executing the invention, [0089] detecting an abnormality for social adaption ability, [0039] provide digital therapeutic for treating disorder such as autism, [0097] generate learning content based on user’s level of disability and generate content to user terminal);
a query unit that presents the content and a question related to the content to a user and acquires a user's answer ([0011-0012] providing learning content including a question content where the content provided is based on grade of mental disability level, providing a question through the learning content and receiving an answer from the user as a response to the question; [0021] server comprising a processor, and computer program comprising instructions for executing the invention; [0129] provide a query and receive an answer to the query from the user); and
a determination unit that determines user's cognitive ability for social situations based on the user's answer ([0012] analyzing the answer to determine if the answer is correct; [0136] analyze answer and determine appropriateness of answer, [0140] based on the analysis of the answer as inappropriate, determine level of mental disability and associated difficulty level for content).
However, Sung may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Kotra: an information acquisition unit that acquires user information ([0058] an input area used to provide details of the person such as name, date of birth, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining user information from Kotra with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content including a question and receiving a response from a user from Sung in order to provide content which adequately addresses the various learning needs of a person with autism or particular characteristics (Kotra [0004]).
As per Claim 4, Sung and Kotra discloses the device of Claim 1. Sung also teaches the query unit acquires a first response ([0012-0013] receive a response from a user to a question), which is a response option selected by a user for a question given in the content ([0106] receiving as the answer a selection of one option from a multiple provided options), a second response to a nonverbal expression that should be performed for a situation given in the content ([0016] generating a second content including situation and question about the situation and receiving answer as response to the second query about the situation, where the answer is related to a user behavior).
However, Sung may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Kotra: a third response to a time when the nonverbal expression should be performed, from the user ([0196] user asked to select an image appropriate for a particular situation, i.e. time when expression/behavior should be performed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining user responses to a query from Kotra with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content including a question and receiving a response from a user from Sung in order to provide content which adequately addresses the various learning needs of a person with autism or particular characteristics (Kotra [0004]).
As per Claim 5, Sung and Kotra discloses the device of Claim 4. Sung also teaches the determination unit searches for next content to be presented to the user based on scores for the first to third responses and provide the content to the user ([0015] based on the answer content from the user, determine the next content to provide by selecting from a plurality of templates and providing the appropriate template with content to the user).
As per Claim 12, Sung and Kotra discloses a program stored on a computer-readable recording medium ([0022] computer program recorded on a computer-readable medium for solving the problem) for executing the method of Claim 11 (as taught by Sung and Kotra above).
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (KR102374780 B1), in view of Kotra (US 2021/0043106 A1), in view of Hoffman et al. (US 2021/0338619 A1), hereinafter Hoffman.
As per Claim 2, Sung and Kotra discloses the device of Claim 1. Kotra also teaches the user information comprises age ([0196] data store includes user age).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining user information from Kotra with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content including a question and receiving a response from a user from Sung in order to provide content which adequately addresses the various learning needs of a person with autism or particular characteristics (Kotra [0004]).
However, Sung and Kotra may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Hoffman: user information includes gender ([0182] gender is collected for each patient, used to determine if patient is eligible for study), disability level, IQ, and Social Responsiveness Scale Second Edition (SRS-2) score ([0238] patient characteristics collected which influence treatment include severity of disability/anxiety, IQ, SRS-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining user information from Hoffman with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content based on user information from Sung and Kotra in order to determine therapeutically effective methods for treating autism based on the user’s particular symptoms and traits (Hoffman [0012, 0015]).
As per Claim 3, Sung and Kotra discloses the device of Claim 2. Sung also teaches the content unit determines a content level based on the user information disability level ([0011] providing the content at a difficulty corresponding to the user’s determined grade of mental disability level).
However, Sung may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Kotra: content level is based on age ([0196] images presented to user are based on age of user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining user information from Kotra with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content including a question and receiving a response from a user from Sung in order to provide content which adequately addresses the various learning needs of a person with autism or particular characteristics (Kotra [0004]).
However, Sung and Kotra may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Hoffman: other user information to influence therapy includes gender, IQ, and SRS-2 score included in the user information ([0182] gender is collected for each patient, used to determine if patient is eligible for study, [0238] patient characteristics collected which influence treatment include severity of disability/anxiety, IQ, SRS-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining user information from Hoffman with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content based on user information from Sung and Kotra in order to determine therapeutically effective methods for treating autism based on the user’s particular symptoms and traits (Hoffman [0012, 0015]).
Claim(s) 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (KR102374780 B1), in view of Kotra (US 2021/0043106 A1), in view of Klin et al. (US 2016/0262613 A1), hereinafter Klin.
As per Claim 6, Sung and Kotra discloses the device of Claim 1. However, Sung and Kotra may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Klin: the content is pre-designated as an area that serves as a clue for determining social situations based on coordinate information for an area that includes some of texts to be output, or coordinate information for an area that includes some of images output by the content ([0081] providing to the user a display of testing stimuli including visual images and fixation targets, [0087] provide fixation targets for monitoring cognitive/social or mental ability, [0097] target locations on the screen are identified, [0107] gaze coordinates are compared to the actual location of the displayed target).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of displayed content to determine social ability being associated with coordinates from Klin with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content on a screen for a user to interact with from Sung and Kotra in order to provide early detection and progression of developmental disorders such as autism spectrum disorder which allows for early intervention (Klin [0002]).
As per Claim 7, Sung, Kotra, and Klin discloses the device of Claim 6. Klin also teaches a gaze acquisition unit that acquires coordinate information of a point where a user gazes at the content, time information of the point of gaze, and information about an order in which the point of gaze has moved in time series ([0099] collect coordinates which the subject is gazing at over time/continuously until a sufficient number of fixations towards the targets have been registered, [0101] the gaze coordinate stream indicates the gaze position coordinates of the subject with respect to the display over a period of time, where the gaze position coordinates are recorded temporally in association with the object/stimuli; [0128] point of gaze data includes time of fixation on each region-of-interest; [0107] gaze coordinates are compared to the actual location of the displayed target).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining user gaze data over a period of time from Klin with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content on a screen for a user to interact with from Sung and Kotra in order to provide early detection and progression of developmental disorders such as autism spectrum disorder which allows for early intervention (Klin [0002]).
As per Claim 8, Sung, Kotra, and Klin discloses the device of Claim 7. Kotra also teaches the gaze acquisition unit separately specifies and stores a point where the user gazes at a certain point for a preset time or longer ([0022-0023] creating a hologram image and display to user at a specified point, outside the line of vision of the user, determine if the user is detected to be gazing at the object, Examiner interprets that if the user is detected as gazing at the object it has been at least a preset time to make the detection, [0137] gaze is determined as looking at something continuously for a certain duration of time, 3 seconds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of specify a user gaze point from Kotra with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content including a question and receiving a response from a user from Sung in order to determine a patient’s cognitive ability and progress by aiding in the skill of establishing eye contact which is a factor in cognitive ability (Kotra [0022]).
As per Claim 9, Sung, Kotra, and Klin discloses the device of Claim 8. Kotra also teaches the determination unit determines whether the point at which the gaze duration is equal to or greater than the preset time is included within the area serving as a clue ([0025] determine the duration spent which includes the meaningful interaction time computed based on the time interacting inside the designated area on the display screen; [0137-0139] determine the user is gazing at the image on the screen where this determines the user is gazing for a preset time period at particular coordinates on the screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of specify a user gaze point from Kotra with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content including a question and receiving a response from a user from Sung in order to determine a patient’s cognitive ability and progress by aiding in the skill of establishing eye contact which is a factor in cognitive ability (Kotra [0022]).
As per Claim 10, Sung, Kotra, and Klin discloses the device of Claim 9. Kotra also teaches the determination unit determines cognitive ability for social situations of the content from user's gaze information based on a preset score criterion for each of gaze coordinate information, gaze time, whether gaze occurred for a preset time or longer, and whether gaze occurred in an area that serves as a clue ([0142] identify the success of user’s in establishing eye contact where score indicates percentage of success in making eye contact with objects, as in [0136-0139] includes user’s gaze information including gaze coordinate information, time being a preset time or longer, and the coordinates of the object to be gazed at, i.e. clue; [0242]/Fig. 5A shows a metric for the eye contact skill).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of specify a user gaze point from Kotra with the determining of a user’s cognitive ability for social situations by providing content including a question and receiving a response from a user from Sung in order to determine a patient’s cognitive ability and progress by aiding in the skill of establishing eye contact which is a factor in cognitive ability (Kotra [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gossens et al. (US 2021/0228130 A1) teaches assessing a cognitive disorder in a subject and collecting data with respect to a subject’s interaction with a mobile device to diagnose and monitor the subject’s condition.
/EVANGELINE BARR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682