DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first office action in response to application no. 18/879,325 filed on December 27, 2024 in which claims 1-24 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 14-15, 17-19 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
For example: Claim 1 has been written with generic place holder “means” coupled with the functional language “configured to”.
For example: Claim 2 has been written with generic place holder “means” coupled with the functional language “configured to”.
For example: Claim 6 has been written with generic place holder “means” coupled with the functional language “configured to”.
For example: Claim 19 has been written with generic place holder “means” coupled with the functional language “to”.
The claims cited above use a generic placeholder “means” coupled with functional language “configured to” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
NOTE: The Examiner pointed out many of the claims invoking 112(f) paragraph. However, the Applicant must review all claims of the instant application in order to correct the language of all claims.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1-23 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
5. Claim limitation “means configured to” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. “receiving samples”, “capture image”, “distribute sample”, “move samples”, “capture imagery”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jones et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0074146).
As per claim 1, Jones discloses an apparatus for visual inspection (See Jones Abstract, [0002]), the apparatus comprising:(i) a receiving means configured to receive a sample of particulates (See Jones [0034]); and(ii) an imagery means configured to capture imagery of the sample (See Jones [0036]).
As per claim 24, Jones method for visual inspection of a sample of particulates, the method comprising the steps of:(i) feeding the sample into an apparatus according to any one of(i) feeding the sample into an apparatus according to any one of to capture imagery of the sample (See Jones [0012]); and(ii) passing the captured imagery to a processing means to apply one or more data evaluation algorithms on the captured imagery to produce a data output (See Jones [0035]-[0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0074146) in view of Kokko et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2003/0072484).
As per claim 19, Jones discloses a method for visual inspection of a sample of particulates (See Jones [0002], [0025]), comprising the steps of:(i) feeding the sample into a receiving means (See Jones [0034]);(ii) subjecting the received sample into an imagery means to capture imagery of the sample (See Jones [0036]).
It is noted that although Jones captures images to produce output of processed images (See Jones [0015]0, it is silent about processing means to apply one or more data evaluation algorithms on the captured imagery to produce a data output.
However, Kokko teaches processing means to apply one or more data evaluation algorithms on the captured imagery to produce a data output (See Kokko [0048], [0153]-[0154] and [0161]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Jones to incorporate Kokko’s teachings with processing means to apply one or more data evaluation algorithms on the captured imagery to produce a data output. The motivation for performing such a modification in Jones is to perform image processing in order to eliminate an outer layer of pixels on the outer circumference of each of the objects and any debris.
As per claim 20, the combination of Jones and Kokko further teaches wherein the data outputs is information relating to physical features of the sample (See Kokko [0063], [0140]).
As per claim 21, the combination of Jones and Kokko further teaches wherein the output determines a quality of the sample for visual inspection including presence of defects or contaminants (See Jones [0059]-[0060]).
As per claim 22, the combination of Jones and Kokko further teaches wherein the processing means is adapted to derive the data output using Deep Learning algorithms (See Kokko [0027], [0060]).
As per claim 23, the combination of Jones and Kokko further teaches wherein the Deep Learning algorithm allows separation of individual grains within the captured imagery of the sample (See Kokko [0027] and [0060]).
12. Claims 2-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0074146) in view of Satake et al. (US Patent no. 5,917,927), and further in view of Morimoto et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2017/0115211).
Regarding claims 2-4, it is noted that Jones is silent about a batch feeder configured to feed the sample onto a plate, wherein the batch feeder receives a half hectolitre of particulates through a hopper and deposits the sample of the particulates onto the plate.
However, Satake teaches a batch feeder configured to feed the sample onto a plate (See Satake col. 4, lines 34-42 (See Stages 42-43 and plate 47 with feeder 29)), wherein the batch feeder receives a half hectolitre of particulates through a hopper and deposits the sample of the particulates onto the plate (See Satake col. 11, lines 5-25, with batch weighing that will provide the “hectolitre” if so desire).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Jones to incorporate Satake’s teachings to provide a batch feeder configured to feed samples wherein the batch feeder receives particulates to deposit the samples onto the plate. The motivation for performing such a modification in Jones is to provide a grain inspection that can provide information that can be used to optimize inspection process.
It is further noted that the combination of Jones and Satake is silent about wherein the plate is formed of glass.
However, Morimoto teaches wherein the plate is formed of glass (See Morimoto [0120] and [0122]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Jones and Satake to incorporate Morimoto’s teachings to provide a plate is formed of glass. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Jones and Satake is to provide a glass so as to serve as protection films because they are arranged in intimate contact with stored grain.
As per claims 5-7, the combination of Jones, Satake and Morimoto further teaches wherein the receiving means further comprises one or more vibration means (See Satake col. 5, lines 23-28), and wherein the receiving means further comprises one or more vibration means (See Satake col. 6, lines 19-28). The exciter as claimed is necessary in a vibrating system.
As per claims 8-9, the combination of Jones, Satake and Morimoto further teaches wherein the imagery means comprises at least two capturing elements (See Jones [0058] and [0062]).
As per claims 10-11, the combination of Jones, Satake and Morimoto further teaches wherein the two image capturing elements are arranged in a manner such that the image capturing elements captures a top and bottom view of the entire sample of the plate (See Jones [0076], [0130]), and wherein the imagery is then captured from each of the two image capturing elements simultaneously (See Jones [0130]).
As per claim 12, the combination of Jones, Satake and Morimoto further teaches wherein the background for both top and bottom views are uniform (See Jones [0044], [0076]).
13. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0074146) in view of Satake et al. (US Patent no. 5,917,927) and Morimoto et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2017/0115211) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kokko et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2003/0072484).
Regarding claim 13, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the above rejection of claim 12.
It is noted that the combination of Jones, Satake and Morimoto is silent about the apparatus wherein the background is black.
However, Kokko teaches the apparatus wherein the background is black (See Kokko [0166], and [0188]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying the combination of Jones, Satake and Morimoto to incorporate Kokko’s teachings wherein the background is black. The motivation for performing such a modification in the combination of Jones, Satake and Morimoto is to use a black background of the image in order to distinguish a non-seed from a true seed (See Kokko [0188]).
14. Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0074146) in view of Satake et al. (US Patent no. 5,917,927).
As per claims 14-15, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1.
It is noted that Jones is silent about a transfer means configured to move the sample through the apparatus, and wherein the transfer means comprises a conveyor.
However, Satake teaches a transfer means configured to move the sample through the apparatus (See 15, lines 38-53), and wherein the transfer means comprises a conveyor (See Satake col. 4, lines 13-33).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Jones to incorporate Satake’s teachings to provide a transfer means configured to move the sample through the apparatus, and wherein the transfer means comprises a conveyor. The motivation for providing such a modification in Jones is to move the tray forward until the grain in the sample have been processed and inspected, and to discharge the grains from the collection hopper or container (See Satake col. 15, lines 34-42).
As per claim 16, the combination of Jones and Satake further teaches wherein the sample on a plate is moved through the apparatus, on a continuous closed-loop conveyor (See Satake col. 4, lines 13-33).
As per claim 17, the combination of Jones and Satake further teaches wherein the conveyor moves the sample through the receiving means and the imagery means (See Satake col. 4, lines 13-33).
15. Claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2005/0074146) in view of Deppermann et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2007/0207485).
Regarding claim 18, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1.
It is noted that Jones is silent about the apparatus further comprising one or more pressurised air cleaning means.
However, Depperman teaches an apparatus further comprising one or more pressurised air cleaning means (See Depperman [0063]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Jones to incorporate Deppermann’s teachings to provide an apparatus further comprising one or more pressurized air cleaning means. The motivation for performing such a modification in Jones is use the pressurized to remove and/or collect any seed coat residue that may collect on the bits the milling tools.
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424