DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary amendments
The preliminary amendment filed 12/27/2024 has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024 and 12/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 recites the limitation "each of the plurality of doors." in lines 3 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim will be best understood to be “wherein the LED controller is provided in a single configuration in the cabinet, and wherein the electric wire connects the lighting devices provided on each of a plurality of doors said door being one of the plurality of doors to the LED controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo (US 2017/0191746).
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a cabinet (1, Fig. 2) defining a storage space (12, Fig. 2);
a door (20, Fig. 2 and 4) opening and closing the cabinet; and
a door upgrade kit (50 and 4921, Paragraph 0147) detachably mounted to improve the performance of the door,
wherein the door upgrade kit includes:
a panel assembly (54, Paragraphs 0186-01987) mounted on the door to form an outer appearance of a front surface of the door (Figs. 4 or 5) and having a lighting device (4921, Paragraph 0147) that causes the front surface of the door to glow in a set color (specifically whatever the set color of the LEDs are); and
a main controller (2, Paragraphs 0308-0309) provided in the cabinet and controlling the operation of the refrigerator and the lighting device (Paragraphs 0391-0395).
Regarding claim 2, Seo discloses the door upgrade kit includes an LED controller (2, Paragraphs 0391-0395) that controls the light sources placed in the lighting device, and wherein the main controller is connected to the LED controller (specifically the main controller controls the LEDs and the other parts of the device and therefore is considered to be connected) and controls the lighting device to glow in a set color.
Regarding claim 3, Seo discloses the door upgrade kit includes: an electric wire connecting the lighting device, the main controller, and the LED controller (Fig. 27, Paragraph 0273, 0289, 0308; Specifically the wire L is being used to power the LEDs and the power is provided by the lighting part of controller which is part of the main controller).
Regarding claim 6, Seo discloses the door upgrade kit includes: an electric wire (Fig. 27, Paragraph 0273, 0289, 0308; Specifically the wire L is being used to power the LEDs and the power is provided by the lighting part of controller which is part of the main controller) transmitting power and operating signals to the lighting device; and a cover assembly (401, Fig. 3) disposed on an upper surface of the cabinet, and wherein the electric wires are guided through the cover assembly (Paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 10, Seo discloses the door further includes a door body (40, Fig. 4) having the panel assembly detachably mounted thereon and having insulation material filled therein (Paragraph 0097);
wherein the panel assembly includes:
a panel (541, Fig. 20) forming the outer appearance of the front surface of the door and through which light is transmitted;
a light guide plate (542 specifically the one in the middle, Fig. 20) disposed at the rear of the panel and guiding light irradiated from the lighting device toward the panel (Paragraphs 205-208); and
a back cover (542 at the back, Fig. 20) forming a rear surface of the panel assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Seo discloses the door upgrade kit further includes a user detection device (81 and 82, Paragraph 0198) for detecting user approach; and
wherein the main controller turns on the lighting device or controls the output according to detection of the user detection device (Paragraphs 0209-0212).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746) in view of Artwohi et al. (US 2019/0221144 Hereinafter Artwohi).
Regarding claim 4, Seo teaches a plurality of doors are provided, and wherein the lighting devices provided on the plurality of doors are connected to the LED controller provided as a single configuration in the cabinet by the electric wires (Fig. 27).
Artwohl teaches a plurality of doors (10, Fig. 4) and a plurality of lighting devices (18, Fig. 4, Paragraphs 0083-0084) are provided, and wherein the lighting devices provided on the plurality of doors are connected to the LED controller (737, Paragraph 0130) provided as a single configuration in the cabinet by the electric wires.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included multiple display panels on the other doors of the refrigerator of Seo as taught by Artwohl, in order to provide images and media as desired for a given application.
Regarding claim 5, Seo teaches the electric wires are disposed along an upper surface of the cabinet, and guided to the lighting device inside the door through an upper hinge connected to an upper end (Figs. 4 and 27).
Seo fails to teach electric wires are disposed along a lower surface and rear surface of the cabinet.
Artwohl teaches the electric wires are disposed along a lower surface of the cabinet, and guided to the lighting device inside the door through a lower hinge connected to a lower end of the door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the display panels with electrical wires on the other doors of the refrigerator of Seo as taught by Artwohl, in order to provide images and media as desired for a given application.
Seo in view of Artwohl fail to teach the electric wires are disposed along a rear surface of the cabinet.
Examiner takes off official notice in pointing out that it would have been obvious to have the wires disposed along a rear surface of the cabinet if there was a reason to have the wires in that location such as having the controller on the rear surface of the cabinet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included having wires on the rear surface of the cabinet of Seo, in order to provide wiring as needed for a given application.
In this case, selecting a given controller on the rear surface of the refrigerator would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746).
Regarding claim 7, Seo teaches the cover assembly includes: a hinge cover (401, Fig. 3) provided on the upper surface of the cabinet and shielding a hinge device that rotatably connects to the door, and wherein the hinge cover accommodates the electric wires.
Seo fails to teach wherein the hinge cover accommodates the LED controller.
Examiner takes official notice in pointing of that the device would function the same regardless of where the LED controller is located.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have had the LED controller be its own element and being under the hinge cover to provide the element in a desired location as needed for a given application.
In this case, selecting a given controller on the rear surface of the refrigerator would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 8, Seo teaches covering the wires between the lighting device and the controller (Fig. 1 and 27).
Seo fails to explicitly teach the wires running to the rear surface.
Examiner takes official notice in pointing out that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a side cover on both the left and right sides of the cabinet to guide the electric wires toward the rear surface of the cabinet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the side cover with wires passing to the rear of the cabinet, in order to allow for the controller to be placed at the rear of the cabinet
In this case, selecting a given controller on the rear surface of the refrigerator would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application.
Regarding claim 9, Seo fails to teach a side cover.
Examiner takes official notice in pointing out that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the side cover connected to the hinge cover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included having the hinge cover of Seo connected to the hinge cover, in order to provide a cover over the wiring thereby protecting the wiring from damage.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746) in view of Levi et al. (US 2022/0065436 Hereinafter Levi).
Regarding claim 11, Seo fails to teach the main controller receives color information set by the user from a remote device and controls the lighting device so that the panel glows in a color set by the user.
Levi teaches the main controller receives color information set by the user from a remote device (remote control with button, Paragraph 0035) and controls the lighting device so that the panel glows in a color set by the user (Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have replaced the LEDs of Seo with the LEDs of Levi, in order to allow the user to have a desired light color or temperature as desired (Paragraph 0035).
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746) in view of Recker et al. (US 2016/0330825 Hereinafter Recker).
Regarding claim 12, Seo discloses the door upgrade kit further includes a microphone (8211, Paragraph 0309) module.
Seo fails to teach the microphone being used for voice commands.
Recker teaches a microphone module (1936, Paragraph 0247) into which the user's voice is input, and
wherein the main controller turns on the lighting device or controls the intensity of the light output by voice input through the microphone module (Paragraph 0236).
Regarding claim 14, Seo fails to teach a light sensing device for detecting brighness.
Recker teaches the door upgrade kit further includes a light sensing device (sensor, Paragraph 0267 or 0274) that detects the brightness of the surrounding environment (Paragraph 0267 or 0274), and
wherein the main controller controls the output of the lighting device according to detection of the light sensing device (Paragraph 0267 or 0274).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have replaced the lighting device of Seo with the lighting device of Recker, in order to allow for a sensor which can detect light and provide illumination as desired for a given application.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746) in view of Artwohi et al. (US 2019/0221144 Hereinafter Artwohi).
Regarding claim 15, Seo discloses the door upgrade kit includes electric wires (L, Fig. 27) to power and transmit signals to the lighting device, and from the upper surface to the controller.
Seo fails to teach the electric wire guided from the upper surface to the rear surface and from the rear surface along the lower surface to the lighting device.
Artwohl teaches the lighting deivce (Fig. 4) have a wire which moves along a lower surface from the light source.
Seo in view of Artwohl fail to teach the upper surface and lower surfaces being run to the rear surface.
Examiner takes official notice in pointing out that if the controller was at the rear surface than it would be obvious to run the wires there given that they provide the power for the lighting device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the display panels with electrical wires on the other doors of the refrigerator of Seo as taught by Artwohl, in order to provide images and media as desired for a given application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included having wires on the rear surface of the cabinet of Seo, in order to provide wiring as needed for a given application.
Claim(s) 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746) in view of Choe et al. (US 2020/0271373 Hereinafter Choe).
Regarding claim 16, Seo discloses a panel assembly (54, Paragraphs 0186-01987) mounted on a door (20, Fig. 2 and 4) that opens and closes a storage space in a cabinet (1, Fig. 2), forming an outer appearance of a front surface (outer surface, Fig. 2) of said door and having a lighting device (4921, Paragraph 0147) that illuminates in a set color (specifically whatever the set color of the LEDs are);
a main controller (2, Paragraphs 0308-0309) provided in the cabinet and controlling the operation of the refrigerator and the lighting device (Paragraphs 0391-0395);
an electric wire controller (Fig. 27, Paragraph 0273, 0289, 0308; Specifically the wire L is being used to power the LEDs and the power is provided by the lighting part of controller which is part of the main controller) connecting the main controller and the lighting device to transmit power and operation signals; and
a cover assembly (401, Fig. 3) disposed in the cabinet and having the electric wires accommodated therein,
wherein the panel assembly is detachably mounted on the front surface of the door (specifically its able to be removed), and the cover assembly are detachably mounted on an outer appearance of the cabinet, such that the front surface of the door glows in a set color (the set color being the color of the LEDs).
Seo fails to teach the controller assembly are detachably mounted on an outer appearance of the cabinet.
Choe teaches the controller assembly (14, Fig. 2, Paragraph 0036) are detachably mounted on an outer appearance of the cabinet (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included having the controller of Seo detachably mount on the outside of the cabinet as taught by Choe, in order to allow for easy access to the controller so it can be replaced or otherwise accessed as needed.
Regarding claim 17, Seo teaches the door upgrade kit includes an LED controller (the LED controller being part of the main controller 2) that controls the light sources disposed in the lighting device, and
wherein the main controller is connected to the LED controller to control the lighting device to glow in the set color (specifically there is only one color but it is turned on and off by the controller which is also the LED controller).
Regarding claim 19, Seo teaches the panel assembly is provided detachably on the front surface of the door (Fig. 2), wherein the panel assembly includes:
a panel (541, Fig. 20) forming the outer appearance of the front surface of the door and through which light is transmitted;
a light guide plate (542 specifically the one in the middle, Fig. 20) disposed at the rear of the panel and guiding light irradiated from the lighting device toward the panel (Paragraphs 205-208); and
a back cover (542 at the back, Fig. 20) forming the rear surface of the panel assembly.
Claim(s) 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746) in view of Choe et al. (US 2020/0271373 Hereinafter Choe) and further in view of Artwohi et al. (US 2019/0221144 Hereinafter Artwohi).
Regarding claim 18, Seo teaches the LED controller is provided in a single configuration in the cabinet (as part of 2), and wherein the electric wire connects the lighting device provided on the door to the LED controller (Fig. 27).
Seo fails to teach wherein the electric wire connects the lighting devices provided on each of the plurality of doors to the LED controller.
Artwohl teaches a plurality of doors (10, Fig. 4) and a plurality of lighting devices (18, Fig. 4, Paragraphs 0083-0084) are provided, and wherein the lighting devices provided on the plurality of doors are connected to the LED controller (737, Paragraph 0130) provided as a single configuration in the cabinet by the electric wires.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included multiple display panels on the other doors of the refrigerator of Seo as taught by Artwohl, in order to provide images and media as desired for a given application.
Claim(s) 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746) in view of Choe et al. (US 2020/0271373 Hereinafter Choe) and further in view of Levi et al. (US 2022/0065436 Hereinafter Levi).
Regarding claim 20, Seo fails to teach the main controller receives color information set by the user from a remote device and controls the lighting device so that the panel glows in a color set by the user.
Levi teaches the main controller receives color information set by the user from a remote device (remote control with button, Paragraph 0035) and controls the lighting device so that the panel glows in a color set by the user (Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have replaced the LEDs of Seo with the LEDs of Levi, in order to allow the user to have a desired light color or temperature as desired (Paragraph 0035).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Artwohl et al. (US 2014/0144083), Laible et al. (US 8789900), Allen (US 10561256), and Yun et al. (US 2013/0194167) teach doors with displays which are powered.
Conclusion
/ERIC T EIDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875