DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0323768 A1 Hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches A refrigerator (1, Fig. 1-3) comprising:
a cabinet (10, Fig. 1-2) defining a storage space (12 / 13, Fig. 2);
a door (20 / 40 / 50, Fig. 1-7) opening and closing the cabinet (10, Fig. 1-2); and
a door upgrade kit (panel assembly 54 / display unit 60 / door lighting unit 49 with LEDs 4921 and associated controllers and wiring as removable / serviceable door modules, Fig. 7-9, 20-21; Paragraph 0147, 0186) detachably mounted to improve the performance of the door,
wherein the door upgrade kit includes:
a panel assembly (54, Fig. 20-21, Paragraph 0186-0208) mounted on the door to form an outer appearance of a front surface of the door and having a lighting device (door lighting unit 49 / LEDs 4921, Fig. 13, Paragraph 0147) that causes the front surface of the door to glow in a set color (selective illuminated / see-through appearance of the half-mirror front panel when the lighting device is turned on, Fig. 4-5);
a main controller (controller 2, Fig. 42, Paragraph 0308-0309, 0391-0395) provided in the cabinet and controlling the operation of the refrigerator,
an LED controller (lighting control of / connected to controller 2 configured to control LEDs 4921 of the lighting device, Fig. 42, Paragraph 0391-0395) connected to the main controller and configured to control light sources disposed in the lighting device;
an electric wire (wire L, Fig. 27, Paragraph 0273, 0289, 0308) connecting the lighting device, the main controller, and the LED controller to transmit power and operation signals to the lighting device; and
a cover assembly (hinge cover 53 / cap decorations 45, 401, Fig. 3, 26-28, Paragraph 0049) disposed on an upper surface of the cabinet,
wherein the cover assembly includes a hinge cover (53, Fig. 3, 26-28) provided on the upper surface of the cabinet and shielding a hinge device (upper hinge 51 / main hinge 401, Fig. 26-28) that rotatably connects the door to the cabinet, and
wherein the electric wire and the LED controller are accommodated in the hinge cover (wire L guided through hinge cover 53, Fig. 27-28).
Seo fails to teach wherein the electric wire and the LED controller are accommodated in the hinge cover.
Lee teaches wherein the electric wire and the LED controller are accommodated in the hinge cover (control unit 14 disposed on an upper portion of the cabinet; connection cable guided through the door hinge / hinge shaft and hinge-cover path toward the control unit so that control / lighting electronics and wiring are accommodated at the cabinet-top hinge cover region, Fig. 1-2, 18, 26-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included accommodating the LED controller with the electric wire in the hinge cover of Seo as taught by Lee, in order to locate door-lighting control electronics at the cabinet upper portion along the existing hinge-cover wire path for compact protected routing.
Regarding claim 13, Seo teaches wherein the door upgrade kit further includes a user detection device (second detection device 81 / knock detection device 82, Paragraph 0198) for detecting user approach; and
wherein the main controller turns on the lighting device or controls the output according to detection of the user detection device (Paragraph 0209-0212; Fig. 42).
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0323768 A1 Hereinafter Lee) and Artwohl et al. (US 2019/0221144 A1 Hereinafter Artwohl).
Regarding claim 4, Seo teaches a plurality of doors (refrigerator compartment doors 20 and freezer compartment doors 30, Fig. 1-2) and wherein lighting is controlled by the controller (controller 2, Fig. 42).
Seo in view of Lee fails to teach wherein a plurality of lighting devices are provided, and wherein the lighting devices provided on the plurality of doors are connected to the LED controller provided as a single configuration in the cabinet by the electric wires.
Artwohl teaches wherein a plurality of doors (10, Fig. 4) and a plurality of lighting devices (18, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0083-0084) are provided, and wherein the lighting devices provided on the plurality of doors are connected to the LED controller (media / controller electronics 737, Paragraph 0130) provided as a single configuration in the cabinet by the electric wires.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included plural door lighting devices connected to a single LED controller of Seo as taught by Artwohl, in order to drive lighting on multiple refrigerated doors from one centralized controller.
Regarding claim 5, Seo teaches wherein the electric wires (wire L, Fig. 27) are disposed along an upper surface of the cabinet, and guided to the lighting device inside the door through an upper hinge connected to an upper end of the door (Fig. 26-28).
Seo in view of Lee fails to teach wherein the electric wires are disposed along an upper surface, a lower surface, and a rear surface of the cabinet, and guided to the lighting device inside the door through an upper hinge and a lower hinge connected to an upper end and a lower end of the door.
Artwohl teaches electric wires disposed along frame / cabinet paths including lower routing to door lighting, and guided to lighting devices inside the doors through hinge / frame channels connected at door ends (wiring channels in the door frame feeding lighting 18 on plural doors, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0083-0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included routing the electric wires of Seo along upper, rear, and lower cabinet surfaces through upper and lower hinges as taught by Artwohl, in order to feed plural door lighting devices from a cabinet-side controller without exposing the wires across the door gap.
Regarding claim 15, Seo teaches at least a part of the electric wire (wire L, Fig. 27) guided from the upper surface of said cabinet.
Seo in view of Lee fails to teach wherein at least a part of the electric wire is guided from the upper surface of said cabinet to the rear surface of said cabinet, and wherein the electric wire guided to the rear surface of the cabinet is guided along the lower surface of the cabinet and connected to the lighting device.
Artwohl teaches electric wires guided along cabinet / frame paths including rearward and lower routing connected to the lighting device (wiring channels feeding lighting 18, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0083-0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included guiding the electric wire of Seo from the upper surface to the rear surface and along the lower surface to the lighting device as taught by Artwohl, in order to complete a protected cabinet-perimeter wire path from the upper hinge region to lower door lighting connections.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0323768 A1 Hereinafter Lee) and Kim et al. (US 10,563,904 B2 Hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 8, Seo teaches wherein the cover assembly includes a hinge cover (53, Fig. 3, 26-28) on the upper surface of the cabinet guiding electric wires (wire L, Fig. 27).
Seo in view of Lee fails to teach wherein the cover assembly includes a side cover provided on both left and right sides of the upper surface of the cabinet and extending from a front end to a rear end of the cabinet to guide the electric wires toward the rear surface of the cabinet.
Kim teaches wherein the cover assembly includes a side cover provided on both left and right sides of the upper surface of the cabinet and extending from a front end to a rear end of the cabinet to guide the electric wires toward the rear surface of the cabinet (wire cover unit 100 including case 110 on the top surface of body 10 guiding wire drawn from the body toward the door / hinge region along the upper path; sliding member 130, Fig. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included side / upper-surface wire covers of Seo as taught by Kim, in order to guide and protect cabinet-top wires from the hinge region toward the rear of the cabinet.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches wherein the side cover is connected to the hinge cover (wire cover unit 100 / case 110 coupled on the cabinet top adjacent the hinge / door wire path so as to connect with the hinge-region cover structure, Fig. 1-4).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0323768 A1 Hereinafter Lee) and Kim et al. (US 8,523,375 B2 Hereinafter Kim375).
Regarding claim 10, Seo teaches wherein the door further includes a door body (main door 40 / sub-door structure, Fig. 4, 17-19) having the panel assembly (54, Fig. 20-21) detachably mounted thereon and having insulation material filled therein (Paragraph 0097);
Seo in view of Lee fails to teach wherein the panel assembly includes a panel forming the outer appearance of the front surface of the door and through which light is transmitted; a light guide plate disposed at the rear of the panel and guiding light irradiated from the lighting device toward the panel; and a back cover forming a rear surface of the panel assembly.
Kim375 teaches wherein the panel assembly includes a panel (front glass 110, Fig. 2-3) forming the outer appearance of the front surface of the door and through which light is transmitted; a light guide plate (120, Fig. 2-3) disposed at the rear of the panel and guiding light irradiated from the lighting device (LED device 130 / LEDs 132, Fig. 2-3) toward the panel; and a back cover (door structure / rear of the panel stack including upper cap 150 region, Fig. 2-3) forming a rear surface of the panel assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included a panel, light guide plate, and back cover stack of Seo as taught by Kim375, in order to edge-light the door front so the entire front surface emits a selectable set color.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0323768 A1 Hereinafter Lee) and Levi et al. (US 2022/0065436 A1 Hereinafter Levi).
Regarding claim 11, Seo in view of Lee teaches the refrigerator of claim 1 as set forth above, including a main controller controlling the lighting device (Seo controller 2, Fig. 42).
Seo in view of Lee fails to teach wherein the main controller receives color information set by the user from a remote device and controls the lighting device so that the panel glows in a color set by the user.
Levi teaches wherein the main controller receives color information set by the user from a remote device (remote control, Paragraph 0035) and controls the lighting device so that the panel glows in a color set by the user (Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included remote color setting of Seo as taught by Levi, in order to allow the user to set a desired glow color or temperature from a remote device.
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0323768 A1 Hereinafter Lee) and Recker et al. (US 2016/0330825 A1 Hereinafter Recker).
Regarding claim 12, Seo teaches wherein the door upgrade kit further includes a microphone module (microphone module 8211 of the knock detection device, Paragraph 0309) into which input is received.
Seo in view of Lee fails to teach wherein the main controller turns on the lighting device or controls the intensity of the light output by voice input through the microphone module.
Recker teaches a microphone module (1936, Paragraph 0247) into which the user's voice is input, and wherein the main controller turns on the lighting device or controls the intensity of the light output by voice input through the microphone module (Paragraph 0236).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included voice control of the lighting device of Seo as taught by Recker, in order to turn on or dim the door lighting by spoken command.
Regarding claim 14, Seo in view of Lee fails to teach wherein the door upgrade kit further includes a light sensing device that detects the brightness of the surrounding environment, and wherein the main controller controls the output of the lighting device according to detection of the light sensing device.
Recker teaches wherein the door upgrade kit further includes a light sensing device (sensor, Paragraph 0267, 0274) that detects the brightness of the surrounding environment, and wherein the main controller controls the output of the lighting device according to detection of the light sensing device (Paragraph 0267, 0274).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included ambient light sensing control of Seo as taught by Recker, in order to automatically adjust door-lighting output to surrounding brightness.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Choe et al. (US 2020/0271373 A1 Hereinafter Choe).
Regarding claim 16, Seo teaches A door assembly kit comprising:
a panel assembly (54, Fig. 20-21, Paragraph 0186-0208) mounted on a door (20 / 40 / 50, Fig. 1-7) that opens and closes a storage space (12 / 13, Fig. 2) in a cabinet (10, Fig. 1-2), forming an outer appearance of a front surface of said door, and having a lighting device (door lighting unit 49 / LEDs 4921, Fig. 13, Paragraph 0147) that illuminates in a set color (selective illuminated appearance, Fig. 4-5);
a main controller (controller 2, Fig. 42, Paragraph 0308-0309, 0391-0395) provided on the cabinet and controlling the operation of the refrigerator and the lighting device;
an electric wire (wire L, Fig. 27, Paragraph 0273, 0289, 0308) connecting the main controller and the lighting device to transmit power and operation signals; and
a cover assembly (hinge cover 53 / cap decorations 45, 401, Fig. 3, 26-28, Paragraph 0049) disposed in the cabinet and having the electric wires accommodated therein,
wherein the cover assembly includes:
a hinge cover (53, Fig. 3, 26-28) provided on an upper surface of the cabinet and accommodating the electric wire (wire L, Fig. 27); and
a side cover provided on both left and right sides of the upper surface of the cabinet, connected to the hinge cover, and extending from a front end to a rear end of the cabinet to guide the electric wire toward a rear surface of the cabinet (wire L guided along the upper surface of the cabinet through hinge cover 53 / upper hinge 51 region and related upper-surface cover structure from the front hinge area toward rear routing, Fig. 3, 26-28, Paragraph 0273, 0289 — mapped as left/right upper-surface wire-guiding cover path along the hinge-cover region), and
wherein the panel assembly is detachably mounted on the front surface of the door (panel assembly 54 / display 60 removable / serviceable, Fig. 7-9, 20-21), and the controller and cover assembly are detachably mounted on an outer appearance of the cabinet, such that the front surface of the door glows in a set color.
Seo fails to teach wherein the controller and cover assembly are detachably mounted on an outer appearance of the cabinet.
Choe teaches wherein the controller and cover assembly are detachably mounted on an outer appearance of the cabinet (controller assembly 14 detachably mounted on the outer appearance of the cabinet, Fig. 2, Paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included a detachable exterior controller of Seo as taught by Choe, in order to allow easy access and replacement of the controller on the cabinet exterior.
Regarding claim 17, Seo teaches wherein the door assembly kit further includes an LED controller (lighting control of / connected to controller 2 controlling LEDs 4921, Fig. 42, Paragraph 0391-0395) that controls the light sources disposed in the lighting device, and
wherein the main controller is connected to the LED controller to control the lighting device to glow in the set color (Fig. 42, Paragraph 0391-0395).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Choe et al. (US 2020/0271373 A1 Hereinafter Choe) and Artwohl et al. (US 2019/0221144 A1 Hereinafter Artwohl).
Regarding claim 18, Seo teaches wherein the LED controller is provided in a single configuration in the cabinet (lighting control as part of / connected to controller 2, Fig. 42), and wherein lighting devices on the door are connected to the LED controller by electric wires (wire L, Fig. 27).
Seo in view of Choe fails to teach wherein a plurality of doors are provided, and a plurality of lighting devices are provided on the plurality of doors, wherein the LED controller is provided in a single configuration in the cabinet, and wherein plurality of lighting devices provided on plurality of doors are connected to the LED controller by electric wires.
Artwohl teaches wherein a plurality of doors (10, Fig. 4) are provided, and a plurality of lighting devices (18, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0083-0084) are provided on the plurality of doors, wherein the LED controller (737, Paragraph 0130) is provided in a single configuration in the cabinet, and wherein plurality of lighting devices provided on plurality of doors are connected to the LED controller by electric wires.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included plural door lighting devices connected to a single LED controller of Seo as taught by Artwohl, in order to drive lighting on multiple refrigerated doors from one centralized controller.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Choe et al. (US 2020/0271373 A1 Hereinafter Choe) and Kim et al. (US 8,523,375 B2 Hereinafter Kim375).
Regarding claim 19, Seo in view of Choe teaches the door assembly kit of claim 16 as set forth above, including a panel assembly (Seo 54, Fig. 20-21).
Seo in view of Choe fails to teach wherein the panel assembly includes a panel forming the outer appearance of the front surface of the door and through which light is transmitted; a light guide plate disposed at the rear of the panel and guiding light irradiated from the lighting device toward the panel; and a back cover forming the rear surface of the panel assembly.
Kim375 teaches wherein the panel assembly includes a panel (front glass 110, Fig. 2-3) forming the outer appearance of the front surface of the door and through which light is transmitted; a light guide plate (120, Fig. 2-3) disposed at the rear of the panel and guiding light irradiated from the lighting device (LED device 130 / LEDs 132, Fig. 2-3) toward the panel; and a back cover (door structure / rear of the panel stack, Fig. 2-3) forming the rear surface of the panel assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included a panel, light guide plate, and back cover stack of Seo as taught by Kim375, in order to edge-light the door front so the entire front surface emits a selectable set color.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo (US 2017/0191746 A1 Hereinafter Seo) in view of Choe et al. (US 2020/0271373 A1 Hereinafter Choe) and Levi et al. (US 2022/0065436 A1 Hereinafter Levi).
Regarding claim 20, Seo in view of Choe teaches the door assembly kit of claim 19 as set forth above, including a main controller controlling the lighting device (Seo controller 2, Fig. 42).
Seo in view of Choe fails to teach wherein the main controller receives color information set by the user from a remote device and controls the lighting device so that the panel glows in a color set by the user.
Levi teaches wherein the main controller receives color information set by the user from a remote device (remote control, Paragraph 0035) and controls the lighting device so that the panel glows in a color set by the user (Paragraph 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included remote color setting of Seo as taught by Levi, in order to allow the user to set a desired glow color from a remote device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with the Reply have been fully considered. To the extent directed to claim 1 as previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 over Seo alone and/or Official Notice, those arguments are moot in view of the amendment requiring the electric wire and the LED controller accommodated in the hinge cover, which necessitated a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Seo in view of Lee. The rejection of claim 1 under that new ground is set forth below.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant argues that Seo relates to a permanent main/subdoor see-through lighting arrangement and does not teach a retrofit door assembly kit with a detachably mounted panel assembly and a controller and cover assembly detachably mounted on an outer appearance of the cabinet; that Seo does not teach side covers on both left and right sides of the upper surface of the cabinet guiding the electric wire from front to rear; that Choe and the other applied secondary references teach OEM-integrated structures rather than a retrofit exterior control and wiring arrangement for upgrading an existing refrigerator; and that the combination therefore does not teach a detachable panel plus a detachable controller and cover on the cabinet outer appearance yielding a set-color glow. While these arguments have been fully considered they are not persuasive.
As to the retrofit / upgrade-kit framing, claim 16 is directed to a door assembly kit as an apparatus having structural elements that are detachably mounted. The claim language does not require a method of field-retrofitting an existing refrigerator or use of an 'upgrade kit' label in the prior art. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, art that teaches the recited structure meets the claim whether or not it is branded as a field upgrade kit.
Seo teaches a panel assembly and lighting modules that are removable/serviceable on the door (panel assembly 54 / display 60 and associated lighting as mapped), which maps the detachably mounted panel assembly. Seo further teaches the cabinet, lighting device that changes the front-surface appearance, main controller, electric wire, and hinge cover guiding the wire along the upper surface of the cabinet as set forth in the rejection. The gap identified for claim 16 is that Seo does not expressly teach the controller and cover assembly detachably mounted on an outer appearance of the cabinet. Choe is applied to cure that gap: Choe teaches a controller assembly detachably mounted on the outer appearance of the cabinet (controller assembly 14, Fig. 2, Paragraph 0036). Motivation remains serviceability, exterior access, and ease of replacement as taught by Choe. Secondary reference Choe need only cure the gap for which it was cited; Seo already maps the panel, lighting, wire, and hinge cover structure.
Regarding the side covers, Applicant's distinction does not patentably distinguish claim 16 as applied. As maintained under the mapping of record, Seo teaches wire guidance along the upper surface of the cabinet through the hinge cover / upper hinge region from the front hinge area toward rear routing (wire L, hinge cover 53 / upper hinge 51, Fig. 3, 26-28, Paragraph 0273, 0289), which is mapped to the claimed side-cover / cover-assembly wire-guiding path. No additional secondary is stacked onto independent claim 16 for that element. The rejection of claim 16 over Seo in view of Choe is maintained.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 8-15, and 17-20, Applicant argues patentability based on dependency from claims 1 and 16. These arguments are not persuasive for the reasons set forth with respect to the independent claims as rejected herein. The rejections of the dependent claims are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC T EIDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875