CTNF 18/879,391 CTNF 80305 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Per Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment 12/27/24 Claims 7-10 have been amended. Claims 11-20 have been newly added. Claims 1-20 are pending . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20 AIA I. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. II. CLAIMS 1-3, 6, 8-12, 15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOHAMMED et al (US 2015/0256684) in view of HARPER (USPN 9,219,824). Per claim 1, MOHAMMED et al teach an information push method for a dormant card, comprising: acquiring, in response to detecting a startup flag of a terminal with the dormant card, a startup time of the dormant card and a shutdown time which is closest to the startup time ( para 0078—detected insertion of inactive SIM card into a smartphone; paras 0065, 0074-75—timer started for temporary usages of a device with a SIM card until timer usage period expires, then the device and SIM card are returned to its provisioned state prior to the start of the usage period ); and pushing corresponding target discount information to the terminal with the dormant card when a duration reaches a preset time threshold ( paras 0127, 0150, 0164, 0183—push notification service for sending marketing promotions relevant to the consumer; paras 0074, 0113—offer the subscriber the opportunity to extend the subscriber's services against the device and SIM combination, whe n the subscriber reaches 100% of the monthly quota, the subscriber session is redirected to a portal with specific offers ). MOHAMMED et al teach the methods, as applied above along with a trial basis, a subscriber is assigned a fixed duration pass until expiration of the time quota ( paras 0074, 0114 ); yet fail to explicitly teach “calculating a difference between the startup time and the shutdown time as a dormant duration and pushing the target discount information to the terminal with the dormant card when the dormant duration reaches a preset time threshold”. However, HARPER teaches a wireless service provider offering a promotion during a specified period of time that may begin at a starting point in time and ends at an ending point in time based on the promotion so that end users who are interested in activating or reloading a SIM card ( col.8 lines 17-27, col.10 lines 34-36 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to combine the teachings of MOHAMMED et al and HARPER for the purpose of provisioning specific times to send promotional messages based on the status of the SIM card, which is a well-known technique used in the art for when sending promotional offers and marketing data. Claims 9-10 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 1 are therefore rejected under the same basis. Per claim 2, MOHAMMED et al and HARPER teach the information push method for a dormant card according to claim 1, MOHAMMED et al further teach wherein before the acquiring, in the case of detecting a startup flag of a terminal with the dormant card, a startup time of the dormant card and a shutdown time which is closest to the startup time, the method comprises: acquiring a service type of the dormant card when the dormant card is in a 2G or 3G standard ( paras 0096, 0106, 0117, 0248, 0266—standard 3 rd generation partnership product, 3GPP; 3G network; 2/3G global system for mobile communication ); in response to the service type being a call service, sending, in the case of detecting a shutdown instruction sent by the terminal with the dormant card, a purge user operation instruction to a home location register through a mobile switching center or a visitor location register, and acquiring the time when the home location register receives the purge user operation instruction as the shutdown time of the dormant card ( paras 0074, 0226-228, 0241, 0244, 0252—in deactivated the state, after a period of time the SIM card and device enter a purge state and are removed from the system, removing and purging international mobile subscriber identifiers, IMSIs; paras 0053, 0068— mobile device roams from a home network to a visited network, retrieve the user's subscriber profile from the HLR ); and generating, in response to detecting that the terminal with the dormant card is restarted and registers with the mobile network, the startup flag through the mobile switching center or the visitor location register, and acquiring the current time as the startup time of the dormant card ( paras 0065, 0074-75, 0078—detected insertion of inactive SIM card into a smartphone, timer started for temporary usages of a device with a SIM card until timer usage period expires, then the device and SIM card are returned to its provisioned state prior to the start of the usage period; paras 0087, 0259, 0270, 0272, 0291—maintaining a register of cellular device locations, mobile device registers and activates in the new location, Mobile Switching Center (MSC)/Visitor Location Register (MSC/VLR) and the Home Location Register (HLR), mobile device can then start wireless communications using the bootstrap IMSI within its home network or a partner carrier network; HARPER: col.8 lines 17-27— a starting point in time and ending point in time for activating or reloading a SIM card ). Claim 11 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 2 are therefore rejected under the same basis. Per claim 3, MOHAMMED et al and HARPER teach the information push method for a dormant card according to claim 2, MOHAMMED et al further teach wherein before the acquiring, in the case of detecting a startup flag of a terminal with the dormant card, a startup time of the dormant card and a shutdown time which is closest to the startup time, the method comprises: in response to the service type being a data service, sending, in response to detecting a shutdown instruction sent by the terminal with the dormant card, the purge user operation instruction to the home location register through a wireless packet service support node, and acquiring the time when the home location register receives the purge user operation instruction as the shutdown time of the dormant card ( paras 0074, 0226-228, 0241, 0244, 0252—in deactivated the state, after a period of time the SIM card and device enter a purge state and are removed from the system, removing and purging international mobile subscriber identifiers, IMSIs; paras 0053, 0068— mobile device roams from a home network to a visited network, retrieve the user's subscriber profile from the HLR; page 14 Table 1—service type determination ); and generating, in response to detecting that the terminal with the dormant card is restarted and registers with the GPRS network, the startup flag through the wireless packet service support node, and acquiring the current time as the startup time of the dormant card ( paras 0065, 0074-75, 0078—detected insertion of inactive SIM card into a smartphone, timer started for temporary usages of a device with a SIM card until timer usage period expires, then the device and SIM card are returned to its provisioned state prior to the start of the usage period; paras 0073, 0085, 0087, 0206, 0226—maintaining a register of cellular device locations, cellular device registered with GPRS network for communication notifying of SIM card deactivation status; HARPER: col.8 lines 17-27— a starting point in time and ending point in time for activating or reloading a SIM card ). Claim 12 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 3 are therefore rejected under the same basis. Per claim 6, MOHAMMED et al and HARPER teach the information push method for a dormant card according to claim 1, MOHAMMED et al further teach wherein the pushing corresponding target discount information to the terminal with the dormant card when the dormant duration reaches a preset time threshold comprises: sending, in a case of the dormant duration reaching the preset time threshold, the dormant duration to a content management system for the content management system to find discount information corresponding to the dormant duration; and receiving the discount information sent by the content management system as the target discount information, and pushing the target discount information to the terminal with the dormant card ( paras 0127, 0150, 0164, 0183—push notification service for sending marketing promotions relevant to the consumer; paras 0074, 0113—offer the subscriber the opportunity to extend the subscriber's services against the device and SIM combination, whe n the subscriber reaches 100% of the monthly quota, the subscriber session is redirected to a portal with specific offers; HARPER: col.2 lines 46-57—limited time promotional discounts ). Claim 15 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 6 are therefore rejected under the same basis. Per claim 8, MOHAMMED et al and HARPER teach the information push method for a dormant card according to claim 1, HARPER further teaches wherein before the pushing corresponding target discount information to the terminal with the dormant card when the dormant duration reaches a preset time threshold, the method comprises: determining, in a case of the dormant duration reaching a first time threshold and being less than a second time threshold, first discount information corresponding to the first time threshold as the target discount information; and determining, in a case of the dormant duration reaching the second time threshold and being less than a third time threshold, second discount information corresponding to the second time threshold as the target discount information, wherein the discount level of the second discount information is greater than that of the first discount information ( col.7 lines 50-62, col.8 lines 18-27—promotional offer or sale beginning during a specified period of time and ending at an end time; MOHAMMED et al: paras 0072, 0079, 0101, 0150, 0159—creating new offers and promotions, sending promotional offers with codes, determining and changing amount of discounts ). Claim 17 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 8 are therefore rejected under the same basis. Per claim 19, MOHAMMED et al and HARPER teach the information push method for a dormant card according to claim 6, HARPER further teaches wherein the dormant duration is sent to the content management system comprised in a Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP) message ( col.9 lines 1-5 and 7-12—SOAP service used as a communication protocol to push information to a recipient ). Per claim 20, MOHAMMED et al and HARPER teach the information push method for a dormant card according to claim 19, HARPER further teaches wherein the SOAP message further comprises at least one of the following parameters: Identity, Client Time Zone ID, RecordID, Mobile Subscriber International ISDN number (MSISDN), International Mobile Subscriber Identification Number (IMSI), Location ( col.9 lines 1-5 and 47—SOAP service used as a communication protocol to push information to a recipient comprising identification; MOHAMMED et al: paras 0065, 0068-72, 0101, 0168, 0304—IMSI, location, MSISDN and time parameters ). III. CLAIMS 4-5 AND 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOHAMMED et al (US 2015/0256684) in view of HARPER (USPN 9,219,824) and HONG et al (US 2023/0397164). Per claim 4, MOHAMMED et al and HARPER teach the information push method for a dormant card according to claim 1 along with purging and registering ( MOHAMMED et al : paras 0074, 0226-228, 0241, 0244, 0252—in deactivated the state, after a period of time the SIM card and device enter a purge state and are removed from the system, removing and purging international mobile subscriber identifiers, IMSIs; paras 0053, 0068— mobile device roams from a home network to a visited network, retrieve the user's subscriber profile from the HLR; page 14 Table 1—service type determination; paras 0073, 0085, 0087, 0206, 0226—maintaining a register of cellular device locations, cellular device registered with GPRS network for communication notifying of SIM card deactivation status )—yet fail to explicitly teach “wherein before the acquiring, in the case of detecting a startup flag of a terminal with the dormant card, a startup time of the dormant card and a shutdown time which is closest to the startup time, the method comprises: in response to the standard of the dormant card being 4G, sending, in the case of detecting a shutdown instruction sent by the terminal with the dormant card, a 4G user location information purge request to a home subscriber server through a mobility management entity, and acquiring the time when the home subscriber server receives the request as the shutdown time of the dormant card; and generating, in response to detecting that the terminal with the dormant card is restarted and registers with the 4G network, the startup flag through the mobility management entity and acquiring the current time as the startup time of the dormant card”. However, HONG et al teach a 4G and 5G network device communication ( paras 0071-72, 0111-112, 0157 ) for communicating and paging SIM cards in an idle state ( pages 0006-12, 0054 ) and switching from a turn-on state to a turn-off state ( paras 0088-89 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to combine the teachings of MOHAMMED et al and HARPER with HONG et al for the purpose of provisioning communication using a 4G/5G network, which is well-known in the art for extending communication capabilities via 4 th or 5 th generation technology. Claims 5 and 13-14 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 4 are therefore rejected under the same basis. IV. CLAIMS 7, 16 AND 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MOHAMMED et al (US 2015/0256684) in view of HARPER (USPN 9,219,824) and WANE (US 2020/0128393). Per claim 7, MOHAMMED et al and HARPER teach the information push method for a dormant card according to claim 6 and network addresses/IP addresses used for establishing connections using Internet Protocol network and IP routing ( MOHAMMED et al : paras 0095, 0123, 0219, 0252, 0254 )—yet fail to explicitly teach “wherein before the sending, in the case of the dormant duration reaching the preset time threshold, the dormant duration to a content management system, the method further comprises: acquiring an Internet protocol address of the content management system and establishing a connection with the content management system based on the Internet protocol address, wherein the connection is a connection based on a transmission control protocol (TCP)”. However, WANE specifically teaches using TCP/IP for initiating network communication ( para 0115 ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to combine the teachings of MOHAMMED et al and HARPER with WANE for the purpose of provisioning communication using TCP/IP, which is well-known technology in the art for internet communication. Claims 16 and 18 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 7 are therefore rejected under the same basis. Conclusion V. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: US 2014/0019352; US 2016/0205546. VI. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTIE D SHINGLES whose telephone number is (571)272-3888. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 10am-7pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kamal Divecha can be reached on 571-272-5863. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KRISTIE D SHINGLES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 2 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 3 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 4 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 5 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 6 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 7 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 8 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 9 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 10 Art Unit: 2453 Application/Control Number: 18/879,391 Page 11 Art Unit: 2453