DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7, 14, 15, 17, 19 – 21, 23, 25 – 27 and 29 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazoe et al. (10,854,183) in view of Eatwell et al. (US 2007/0014418).
With respect to claims 1, 27, 32 and 33, Yamazoe et al. teach a sound insulation structure (Figs.3A and 3B) comprising an elastic membrane part (Fig.3B, Item 18), an elastic support wall part (Fig.3B, Item 14) standing on the membrane part, and weight parts (Fig.3B, Item 25) standing on the membrane part, wherein the membrane part is divided into a plurality of compartments (Fig.3A, Items 26) by the support wall part (Fig.3B, Item 14); the weight parts (Fig.3A and B, Item 25) are located inside some or all of the plurality of compartments (Fig.3A, Item 26); in the compartments in which the weight parts are located, one weight part is disposed in one compartment (Figs.3A and B); the height of the support wall part (Fig.3B, Item 14) extending in a direction perpendicular to the membrane part is greater than the height of the weight parts (Fig.3B, Item 25) extending in the direction perpendicular to the membrane part; but fail to disclose wherein each of the weight parts constitutes a spring mass resonator having a spring part having elasticity and a mass part having a mass greater than that of the spring part.
Regarding claims 27, 32 and 33, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to employ the sound insulation structure in a plane, an automobile or any other device because it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d - 164 7 (1987).
On the other hand, Eatwell et al. teach a sound insulation structure (Fig.5) comprising a weight part (Fig.5, Items 212 and 210) constituting a spring mass resonator standing on a membrane (Fig.5, Item 102) and having a spring part (Fig.5, Item 210) having elasticity and a mass part (Fig.5, Item 212) having a mass greater than that of the spring part (¶ [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Eatwell et al. configuration with the Yamazoe et al. design because it would provide a structure that could be tuned to a broader sound frequency range while maintaining its size, improving the overall performance of the sound insulation structure.
With respect to claims 2 – 4, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the membrane part, the support wall part, and the spring parts of a desired material with predetermined physical properties because it would tune the structure to provide a preferred acoustic and structural performance as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416; also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 5, Eatwell et al. teach wherein the spring part (Fig.5, Item 210) of each weight part is located on the side to which the membrane part (Fig.5, Item 102) is attached, and the mass part (Fig.5, Item 212) is located on the side opposite the side to which the membrane part is attached.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Eatwell et al. teach wherein the mass part of each weight part (Fig.5, Item 212) has a larger volume than the spring part (Fig.5, Item 210).
With respect to claims 14, 15, 17, 19, 20, 21, 23, 25, 26 and 29, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the compartments with predetermined dimensions and configuration because it would tune the structure to provide a desired acoustic performance as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application without departing from the scope and spirit of the Yamazoe et al. and Eatwell et al. inventions.
With respect to claim 30, The Examiner considers that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to form the membrane part and the support wall in any known manner because the method of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself.
With respect to claim 31, the Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art to provide a decorative and/or protective layer over a sound insulation structure because it would provide the final application with a more acceptable and appealing look.
Conclusion
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
September 26, 2026