DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action. In response to Examiner’s communication of 12/11/25, Applicant, on 9/22/2026, amended claims 1-3 and 5-11, cancelled claim 4, and added new claims 12 and 13. Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are pending in the present application and are under examination on the merit.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
The 35 USC 101 rejections of claims 9-11 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments and explanations.
New 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-3 and 5-13 are applied in light of Applicant’s amendments and explanations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0396437 to Rangel et al. (hereafter referred to as Rangel) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0243535 to Nakamura (hereafter referred to as Nakamura).
As per claim 1, Rangel teaches:
A schedule management system comprising: an air conditioner to circulate a refrigerant to perform heat exchange between the refrigerant and air (Paragraph Number [0002] teaches climate control devices are used, for example, to control temperature, humidity, and/or air quality in an enclosed space, such as in a building, vehicle, or storage chamber. For example, a climate control device having cooling capability may be used to cool a building during the summer, and a climate control device having heating capability may be used to heat a building during the winter. Climate control devices having cooling capability typically include a refrigeration system, where the refrigeration system includes a compressor, an evaporator coil, a condenser coil, and a refrigerant metering device. Climate control systems having heating capability typically include one or more of a fossil fuel burner and associated heat exchanger, an electric resistive heating element, and/or a refrigeration system capable of operating in “reverse,” i.e., to transfer heat to a conditioned space).
a communication device to acquire operation data from the air conditioner and transmit the acquired operation data (Paragraph Number [0086] teaches it is anticipated that diagnostic device 104 will often be remote from monitoring devices 106, e.g., to enable off-site monitoring of climate control devices 102. Each communication link 108 includes one or more of a wired communication link, e.g., an electrical communication cable or a fiber optic communication cable, and/or a wireless communication link, e.g., a wireless communication link operating according to a mobile telephone protocol, an Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol such as a WiFi protocol, or a low power wide area network (LPWAN) protocol ((i) Cell and or SIM (ii) Mesh network (iii) WiFi)).
a schedule management device including a storage unit storing failure information and associated work level as well as associated technical level, technical level information associated with each worker in the schedule management system and support information; (Paragraph Number [0011] teaches the method further includes adding the one or more initial operating parameters to a database accessible to the diagnostic device. Paragraph Number [0027] teaches the method further includes identifying, at the diagnostic device, a first corrective action to address the abnormality, from a database associating a plurality of abnormalities with respective corrective actions. Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. (See also Paragraph Numbers [0138] and [0152])).
reception circuitry to receive the operation data transmitted by the communication device (Paragraph Number [0114] teaches control circuitry 920 is formed of analog electrical circuitry, digital electrical circuitry, and/or a combination of digital and analog electrical circuitry. For example, in some embodiments, control circuitry 920 includes a processor and memory (not shown), where the processor executes instructions in the form of software and/or firmware that are stored in the memory, to control monitoring device 900. Control circuitry 920 is configured to acquire operating parameters of a climate control device from signals received at each of input ports 902, 904, 906, 908, 910, 912, 914, and 916. Control circuitry 920 is further configured to generate a signal 926 representing the operating parameters of the climate control device and to cause signal 926 to be transmitted to the diagnostic device via communication port 918).
diagnosis circuitry to diagnose a failure in operation of the air conditioner based on the operation data (Paragraph Number [0083] teaches system 100 includes a diagnostic device 104 and one or more monitoring devices 106. Each monitoring device 106 is configured to monitor one or more monitored operating parameters of a climate control device 102 and transmit a signal representing the operating parameters, and/or additional parameters derived from the monitored operating parameters, to diagnostic device 104 via a communication link 108. Paragraph Number [0084] teaches the number of monitoring devices 106 may vary without departing from the scope hereof. Each monitoring device 106 monitors operating parameters of a respective climate control device 102 in the FIG. 1 example, and in some embodiments, each monitoring device 106 is located at its respective climate control device 102. However, in some alternate embodiments, one or more monitoring devices 106 monitor operating parameters of two or more climate control device 102. For example, FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram illustrating a system 200 configured to remotely diagnose abnormalities in climate control devices 102).
and selection circuitry having a controller configured to: determine a work level associated with the failure indicating a degree of difficulty of repair or maintenance of the air conditioner based on a diagnosis result (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126).
and select a first worker who performs work at the work level based on the technical level information associated with the first worker (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126. (See also Paragraph Number [0144])).
identify a second candidate worker whose technical level information does not satisfy the technical level of the work level associated with the failure (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). (See also Paragraph Number [0144]) (Examiner asserts that the determination and then exclusion of PY(1) and PY(3) because they do not satisfy the technical level required constitutes identification of workers that do not satisfy the technical level of the work level)).
acquire the support information for supporting the repair or maintenance of the failure in the air conditioner (Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
select the second candidate worker as a second worker based on the effective technical level corresponding to the second candidate worker satisfying the technical level of the work level associated with the failure; (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126. (See also Paragraph Number [0144])).
Rangel teaches selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner but does not explicitly teach determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician as described by the following citations from Nakamura:
determine an effective technical level of the second candidate worker based on the technical level information for the second candidate worker and the support information (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches when a trouble occurs in an air conditioner, the appropriate worker to repair the air conditioner can be identified remotely, based on the model data and the operation data of the air conditioner. This configuration can reduce the frequency of visits by personnel of the service company to the sites. Furthermore, the appropriate worker may accompany a trainee so that the trainee can gain experience. In addition, education pertaining to lacking skills may be provided in accordance with technician data, thereby raising the level of technological capability of the service company. (Examiner asserts that here the qualified worker is equivalent to support information while the trainee is the second candidate worker)).
transmitting a work request to a terminal device of the first worker (Paragraph Number [0035] teaches (1) The owner becomes aware that the air conditioner develops a trouble. (2) The owner requests repair from an operator at the service company. (3) The owner and the service company arrange a schedule for dispatching a worker at the service company).
and transmitting the work request and the support information to the second worker when a response from the terminal device of the first worker indicates that the first worker is not available (Paragraph Number [0141] teaches worker selecting unit 81 calculates the root sum square Su of the difference between the worker's characteristics D1 to Ds inferred by inference unit 74 and characteristics D1 to Ds of each worker Mu. Worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the second smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, the process above is repeated until the available dates for dispatch of another worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule).
Both Rangel and Nakamura are directed to air conditioner diagnostics and repair. Rangel discloses selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner. Nakamura improves upon Rangel by disclosing determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician, to efficiently complete work orders as needed by available technicians. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner in Rangel to further utilize determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician in Nakamura, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, the combination of Rangel and Nakamura teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
Rangel teaches selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner but does not explicitly teach determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician as described by the following citations from Nakamura:
wherein the selection circuitry includes schedule determination circuitry to receive a work day on which the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner is to be performed (Paragraph Number [0141] teaches worker selecting unit 81 calculates the root sum square Su of the difference between the worker's characteristics D1 to Ds inferred by inference unit 74 and characteristics D1 to Ds of each worker Mu. Worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the second smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, the process above is repeated until the available dates for dispatch of another worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule).
and determines whether or not the first worker is available to be assigned on the received work day, and selects the second worker in a case where the schedule determination circuitry determines that the first worker is not available to be assigned on the work day (Paragraph Number [0141] teaches worker selecting unit 81 calculates the root sum square Su of the difference between the worker's characteristics D1 to Ds inferred by inference unit 74 and characteristics D1 to Ds of each worker Mu. Worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the second smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, the process above is repeated until the available dates for dispatch of another worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule).
As per claim 3, the combination of Rangel and Nakamura teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the schedule management device includes both the terminal device corresponding to the first worker and the terminal device corresponding to the second worker with information for requesting the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner (Paragraph Number [0129] teaches a flowchart illustrating a method 1200 for remotely diagnosing an abnormality in a climate control device. Method 1200 is performed by a diagnostic device, e.g., by diagnostic device 1100 of FIG. 11. In a step 1202 of method 1200, a signal representing one or more operating parameters of the climate control device is received at a diagnostic device that is remote from the climate control device. In one example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives signal 544 representing operating parameters of climate control device 504 (FIG. 5). In another example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives a signal 644 (FIG. 6) representing operating parameters of one or more climate control devices. [0155] Referring again to FIG. 14, in a step 1404 of method 1400, information characterizing the climate control device is obtained at the diagnostic device from a database associating climate control devices with respective characterizing information. In one example of step 1404, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to access database 1120 to obtain attributes AT(1) characterizing climate control device ID(1). In a step 1406 of method 1400, the information characterizing the climate control device is outputted from the diagnostic device. In one example of step 1406, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to output attributes AT(1) from monitoring device 1100. For instance, in some embodiments, processor 102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a display device (not shown) communicatively coupled to monitoring device 1100, and in some other embodiments, processor 1102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a remote system, such as a portable information technology device used by a technician at the climate control device).
As per claim 5, the combination of Rangel and Nakamura teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to decrease a range of the support information provided to a terminal device, which corresponds to the second candidate worker, as the technical level of the second candidate worker is higher (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126.o Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
As per claim 6, the combination of Rangel and Nakamura teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to provide a terminal device, which corresponds to the second worker, with a content for selecting a work item for which the support information is provided among work items included in the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner based on the operation data and to provide the support information corresponding to the work item selected by the second worker (Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
As per claim 7, the combination of Rangel and Nakamura teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to provide a terminal device, which corresponds to the second worker, with a content for selecting a function for which the support information is provided among functions of the air conditioner to be repaired or maintained based on the operation data and provides the support information corresponding to the function selected by the second worker. (Paragraph Number [0129] teaches a flowchart illustrating a method 1200 for remotely diagnosing an abnormality in a climate control device. Method 1200 is performed by a diagnostic device, e.g., by diagnostic device 1100 of FIG. 11. In a step 1202 of method 1200, a signal representing one or more operating parameters of the climate control device is received at a diagnostic device that is remote from the climate control device. In one example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives signal 544 representing operating parameters of climate control device 504 (FIG. 5). In another example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives a signal 644 (FIG. 6) representing operating parameters of one or more climate control devices. [0155] Referring again to FIG. 14, in a step 1404 of method 1400, information characterizing the climate control device is obtained at the diagnostic device from a database associating climate control devices with respective characterizing information. In one example of step 1404, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to access database 1120 to obtain attributes AT(1) characterizing climate control device ID(1). In a step 1406 of method 1400, the information characterizing the climate control device is outputted from the diagnostic device. In one example of step 1406, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to output attributes AT(1) from monitoring device 1100. For instance, in some embodiments, processor 102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a display device (not shown) communicatively coupled to monitoring device 1100, and in some other embodiments, processor 1102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a remote system, such as a portable information technology device used by a technician at the climate control device. Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
As per claim 8, the combination of Rangel and Nakamura teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to provide a terminal device, which corresponds to the second worker, with a content for selecting an inspection item for which the support information is provided among inspection items of the air conditioner to be repaired or maintained based on the operation data and provides the support information corresponding to the inspection item selected by the second worker (Paragraph Number [0129] teaches a flowchart illustrating a method 1200 for remotely diagnosing an abnormality in a climate control device. Method 1200 is performed by a diagnostic device, e.g., by diagnostic device 1100 of FIG. 11. In a step 1202 of method 1200, a signal representing one or more operating parameters of the climate control device is received at a diagnostic device that is remote from the climate control device. In one example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives signal 544 representing operating parameters of climate control device 504 (FIG. 5). In another example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives a signal 644 (FIG. 6) representing operating parameters of one or more climate control devices. [0155] Referring again to FIG. 14, in a step 1404 of method 1400, information characterizing the climate control device is obtained at the diagnostic device from a database associating climate control devices with respective characterizing information. In one example of step 1404, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to access database 1120 to obtain attributes AT(1) characterizing climate control device ID(1). In a step 1406 of method 1400, the information characterizing the climate control device is outputted from the diagnostic device. In one example of step 1406, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to output attributes AT(1) from monitoring device 1100. For instance, in some embodiments, processor 102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a display device (not shown) communicatively coupled to monitoring device 1100, and in some other embodiments, processor 1102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a remote system, such as a portable information technology device used by a technician at the climate control device. Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
As per claim 9, claim 9 recites a method with limitations that are substantially similar to the limitations found in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 10, claim 10 recites a system with limitations that are substantially similar to the limitations found in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 12, claim 12 recites a system with limitations that are substantially similar to the limitations found in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 13, the combination of Rangel and Nakamura teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the storage unit stores work level data in which the operation data, information indicating the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner, and the work level are associated with each other, the technical level information indicating the worker and the technical level are associated with each other, and the support information and the increased width of the technical level are associated with each other (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126. (See also Paragraph Number [0144])).
the controller of the selection circuitry is configure to acquire the work level corresponding to the operation data transmitted by the communication, acquire information indicating the first worker satisfies the technical level corresponding to the work level based on the technical level information, and acquire the effective technical level indicating the second worker based on the technical level information and the support information (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126. (See also Paragraph Number [0144])).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0396437 to Rangel et al. (hereafter referred to as Rangel) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0243535 to Nakamura (hereafter referred to as Nakamura) and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0080139 to Brown et al. (hereafter referred to as Brown).
As per claim 11, Rangel teaches selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner but does not explicitly teach utilizing computer readable storage media as described by the following citations from Brown:
A computer readable non-transitory recording medium having a program causing a computer of a schedule management device to execute a process comprising: (Paragraph Number [0198] teaches the present disclosure contemplates methods, systems and program products on any machine-readable media for accomplishing operations. The embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented using existing computer processors, or by a special purpose computer processor for an appropriate system, incorporated for this or another purpose, or by a hardwired system. Embodiments within the scope of the present disclosure include program products comprising machine-readable media for carrying or having machine-executable instructions or data structures stored thereon. Such machine-readable media can be any available media that can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer or other machine with a processor. By way of example, such machine-readable media can comprise RAM, ROM, EPROM, EEPROM, or other optical disk storage, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to carry or store desired program code in the form of machine-executable instructions or data structures and which can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer or other machine with a processor. Combinations of the above are also included within the scope of machine-readable media. Machine-executable instructions include, for example, instructions and data which cause a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or special purpose processing machines to perform a certain function or group of functions).
Both the combination of Rangel and Nakamura and Brown are directed to air conditioner diagnostics and repair. The combination of Rangel and Nakamura discloses selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner. Brown improves upon the combination of Rangel and Nakamura by disclosing utilizing computer readable storage media. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include utilizing computer readable storage media to efficiently utilize technology to store data and execute algorithms. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner in the combination of Rangel and Nakamura to further utilize computer readable storage media in Brown, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Additionally, the remainder of the claim limitations are substantially similar to those found in claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons as provided in regard to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the previously cited references do not teach the newly amended portions including the new limitations recited by the independent claims. (See Applicant’s Remarks, 9/22/2026, pgs. 15-18). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that new citations from the previously cited Rangel and Nakamura references have been applied to the newly presented claim limitations as indicated in the above in the new 103 rejections. As such, Applicant’s arguments directed towards the previous rejection are moot. In response to Applicant’s arguments, Examiner directs Applicant to review the new citations and explanations provided in the new 103 rejections presented above.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW H. DIVELBISS whose telephone number is (571) 270-0166. The fax phone number is 571-483-7110. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th, 7:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jerry O'Connor can be reached on (571) 272-6787.
/MATTHEW H DIVELBISS/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624