DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending in the present application and are under examination on the merits. This communication is the first action on the merits (FAOM).
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant filed an Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) on 12/27/2024. This filing is in compliance with 37 C.F.R. 1.97.
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statement is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), a copy of the PTOL -1449 form, initialed and dated by the examiner, is attached to the instant office action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/27/2024 are acceptable as filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 101
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Here, under considerations of the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention, Examiner finds that the Applicant invented a method and system for selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner. Examiner formulates an abstract idea analysis, following the framework described in the MPEP, as follows:
Step 1: The claims are directed to a statutory category, namely a "method" (claims 9) and "system" (claims 10 and 11).
Step 2A - Prong 1: The claims are found to recite limitations that set forth the abstract idea(s), namely, regarding claim 1:
A schedule management method comprising:
…
a step of acquiring operation data from an air conditioner to circulate a refrigerant to
perform heat exchange between the refrigerant and air and transmitting the acquired operation
data;
…
a step of receiving the operation data transmitted by the communication device;
a step of diagnosing the air conditioner based on the operation data;
a step of determining a work level indicating a degree of difficulty of repair or maintenance of the air conditioner based on a diagnosis result, and selecting a worker who performs work at the work level; and
a step of providing support information for supporting the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner,
wherein the step of selecting the worker includes selecting a first worker who reaches a technical level corresponding to the work level and a second worker who is included in workers not reaching the technical level corresponding to the work level and reaches the technical level corresponding to the work level under a condition where the support information is used.
Independent claims 10 and 11 recites substantially similar claim language.
The limitations in claims 9-11 above falling well-within the groupings of subject matter identified by the courts as being abstract concepts, specifically the claims are found to correspond to the category of:
"Certain methods of organizing human activity- fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)" as the limitations identified above are directed to selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner and thus is a method of organizing human activity including at least commercial or business interactions or relations and/or a management of user personal behavior.
Step 2A - Prong 2: Claims 9-11 are found to clearly be directed to the abstract idea identified above because the claims, as a whole, fail to integrate the claimed judicial exception into a practical application, specifically the claims recite the additional elements of:
" via a communication device… via a schedule management device," (claim 9), “schedule management device comprising: reception circuitry… diagnosis circuitry… selection circuitry… provision circuitry…” (claim 10), “A computer readable non-transitory recording medium having a program causing a computer of a schedule management device to execute a process comprising,” (claim 11), however the aforementioned elements merely amount to generic components of a general purpose computer used to "apply" the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.0S(f)) and thus fails to integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application, furthermore the high-level recitation of receiving data from a generic "device" is at most an attempt to limit the abstract to a particular field of use (MPEP 2106.0S(h), e.g.: "For instance, a data gathering step that is limited to a particular data source (such as the Internet) or a particular type of data (such as power grid data or XML tags) could be considered to be both insignificant extra-solution activity and a field of use limitation. See, e.g., Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (limiting use of abstract idea to the Internet); Electric Power, 830 F.3d at 1354, 119 USPQ2d at 1742 (limiting application of abstract idea to power grid data); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie lndem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d 1928, 1939 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (limiting use of abstract idea to use with XML tags).") and/or merely insignificant extra-solution activity (MPE 2106.05(g)) and thus further fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application;
Step 2B: Claims 9-11 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 merely amount to a general purpose computer that attempts to apply the abstract idea in a technological environment (MPEP 2106.0S(f)), including merely limiting the abstract idea to a particular field of use of analysis of a "air conditioner" via a communication device, as explained above, and/or performs insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g. data gathering or output, (MPEP 2106.0S(g)), as identified above, which is further found under step 2B to be merely well-understood, routine, and conventional activities as evidenced by MPEP 2106.0S(d)(II) (describing conventional activities that include transmitting and receiving data over a network, electronic recordkeeping, storing and retrieving information from memory, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, and a web browser's back and forward button functionality). Therefore, similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea directed to selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner.
Claims 9-11 are accordingly rejected under 35 USC§ 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea(s)) without significantly more.
Note: The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. As such, the presentment of any claim otherwise styled as a machine or manufacture, for example, would be subject to the same analysis.
For further authority and guidance, see:
MPEP § 2106
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/laws/examination-policy/subject-matter-eligibility
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(A)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0396437 to Rangel et al. (hereafter referred to as Rangel).
As per claim 1, Rangel teaches:
A schedule management system comprising: an air conditioner to circulate a refrigerant to perform heat exchange between the refrigerant and air (Paragraph Number [0002] teaches climate control devices are used, for example, to control temperature, humidity, and/or air quality in an enclosed space, such as in a building, vehicle, or storage chamber. For example, a climate control device having cooling capability may be used to cool a building during the summer, and a climate control device having heating capability may be used to heat a building during the winter. Climate control devices having cooling capability typically include a refrigeration system, where the refrigeration system includes a compressor, an evaporator coil, a condenser coil, and a refrigerant metering device. Climate control systems having heating capability typically include one or more of a fossil fuel burner and associated heat exchanger, an electric resistive heating element, and/or a refrigeration system capable of operating in “reverse,” i.e., to transfer heat to a conditioned space).
a communication device to acquire operation data from the air conditioner and transmit the acquired operation data (Paragraph Number [0086] teaches it is anticipated that diagnostic device 104 will often be remote from monitoring devices 106, e.g., to enable off-site monitoring of climate control devices 102. Each communication link 108 includes one or more of a wired communication link, e.g., an electrical communication cable or a fiber optic communication cable, and/or a wireless communication link, e.g., a wireless communication link operating according to a mobile telephone protocol, an Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol such as a WiFi protocol, or a low power wide area network (LPWAN) protocol ((i) Cell and or SIM (ii) Mesh network (iii) WiFi)).
a schedule management device including reception circuitry to receive the operation data transmitted by the communication device (Paragraph Number [0114] teaches control circuitry 920 is formed of analog electrical circuitry, digital electrical circuitry, and/or a combination of digital and analog electrical circuitry. For example, in some embodiments, control circuitry 920 includes a processor and memory (not shown), where the processor executes instructions in the form of software and/or firmware that are stored in the memory, to control monitoring device 900. Control circuitry 920 is configured to acquire operating parameters of a climate control device from signals received at each of input ports 902, 904, 906, 908, 910, 912, 914, and 916. Control circuitry 920 is further configured to generate a signal 926 representing the operating parameters of the climate control device and to cause signal 926 to be transmitted to the diagnostic device via communication port 918).
diagnosis circuitry to diagnose the air conditioner based on the operation data received by the reception circuitry (Paragraph Number [0083] teaches system 100 includes a diagnostic device 104 and one or more monitoring devices 106. Each monitoring device 106 is configured to monitor one or more monitored operating parameters of a climate control device 102 and transmit a signal representing the operating parameters, and/or additional parameters derived from the monitored operating parameters, to diagnostic device 104 via a communication link 108).
selection circuitry to determine a work level indicating a degree of difficulty of repair or maintenance of the air conditioner based on a diagnosis result of the diagnosis circuitry and select a worker who performs work at the work level (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126).
provision circuitry to provide support information for supporting the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner (Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
wherein the selection circuitry selects a first worker who reaches a technical level corresponding to the work level and a second worker who is included in workers not reaching the technical level corresponding to the work level and reaches the technical level corresponding to the work level under a condition where the support information is used (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126. (See also Paragraph Number [0144])).
As per claim 3, Rangel teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the schedule management device provides both a terminal device corresponding to the first worker and a terminal device corresponding to the second worker with information for requesting the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner (Paragraph Number [0129] teaches a flowchart illustrating a method 1200 for remotely diagnosing an abnormality in a climate control device. Method 1200 is performed by a diagnostic device, e.g., by diagnostic device 1100 of FIG. 11. In a step 1202 of method 1200, a signal representing one or more operating parameters of the climate control device is received at a diagnostic device that is remote from the climate control device. In one example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives signal 544 representing operating parameters of climate control device 504 (FIG. 5). In another example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives a signal 644 (FIG. 6) representing operating parameters of one or more climate control devices. [0155] Referring again to FIG. 14, in a step 1404 of method 1400, information characterizing the climate control device is obtained at the diagnostic device from a database associating climate control devices with respective characterizing information. In one example of step 1404, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to access database 1120 to obtain attributes AT(1) characterizing climate control device ID(1). In a step 1406 of method 1400, the information characterizing the climate control device is outputted from the diagnostic device. In one example of step 1406, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to output attributes AT(1) from monitoring device 1100. For instance, in some embodiments, processor 102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a display device (not shown) communicatively coupled to monitoring device 1100, and in some other embodiments, processor 1102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a remote system, such as a portable information technology device used by a technician at the climate control device).
As per claim 4, Rangel teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the schedule management device includes database circuitry to register work level data in which the operation data, information indicating the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner, and the work level are associated with each other, technical level data in which information indicating the worker and the technical level are associated with each other, and support information data in which the support information and an increase width of the technical level are associated with each other. (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126. (See also Paragraph Number [0144])).
the selection circuitry acquires the work level corresponding to the operation data transmitted by the communication device based on the work level data, acquires information indicating the first worker satisfying the technical level corresponding to the acquired work level based on the technical level data, and acquires information indicating the second worker based on the technical level data and the support information data (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126. (See also Paragraph Number [0144])).
As per claim 5, Rangel teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the provision circuitry decreases a range of the support information provided to a terminal device, which corresponds to the second worker, as the technical level of the second worker is higher (Paragraph Number [0142] teaches processor 1102 is configured to execute instructions 1106 to select a party, e.g. a contractor, to perform a corrective action CA based at least in part on whether the party is eligible, e.g. has required skills, experience, and/or certification, to perform the corrective action. For example, in some embodiments, diagnostic device 1100 maintains a database 1126 in memory 1104, where database 1126 lists parties PY eligible to perform certain corrective actions CA, and processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to identify from database 1126 one of more parties that are eligible to perform a needed corrective action CA. For example, in one embodiment, corrective action CA(1) is a relatively simple task, e.g. clearing a condensation drain, and database 1126 accordingly indicates that multiple parties of differing skill levels, i.e. parties PY(1), PY(2), PY(3), are eligible to perform corrective action CA(1). Corrective action CA(2) is relatively complex, e.g. repairing a leaking evaporator coil, and corrective action CA(2) therefore requires refrigeration system repair skills and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) 608 certification. Accordingly, database 1126 indicates that only one party having this high skill-level and certification, i.e. party PY(2), is capable of performing corrective action CA(2). Processor 1126 is optionally configured to execute instructions 1106 to automatically schedule a corrective action CA with a party PY eligible to perform the corrective action, after processor 1126 identifies the eligible party from database 1126.o Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
As per claim 6, Rangel teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the provision circuitry provides a terminal device, which corresponds to the second worker, with a content for selecting a work item for which the support information is provided among work items included in the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner based on the operation data and provides the support information corresponding to the work item selected by the second worker. (Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
As per claim 7, Rangel teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the provision circuitry provides a terminal device, which corresponds to the second worker, with a content for selecting a function for which the support information is provided among functions of the air conditioner to be repaired or maintained based on the operation data and provides the support information corresponding to the function selected by the second worker (Paragraph Number [0129] teaches a flowchart illustrating a method 1200 for remotely diagnosing an abnormality in a climate control device. Method 1200 is performed by a diagnostic device, e.g., by diagnostic device 1100 of FIG. 11. In a step 1202 of method 1200, a signal representing one or more operating parameters of the climate control device is received at a diagnostic device that is remote from the climate control device. In one example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives signal 544 representing operating parameters of climate control device 504 (FIG. 5). In another example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives a signal 644 (FIG. 6) representing operating parameters of one or more climate control devices. [0155] Referring again to FIG. 14, in a step 1404 of method 1400, information characterizing the climate control device is obtained at the diagnostic device from a database associating climate control devices with respective characterizing information. In one example of step 1404, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to access database 1120 to obtain attributes AT(1) characterizing climate control device ID(1). In a step 1406 of method 1400, the information characterizing the climate control device is outputted from the diagnostic device. In one example of step 1406, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to output attributes AT(1) from monitoring device 1100. For instance, in some embodiments, processor 102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a display device (not shown) communicatively coupled to monitoring device 1100, and in some other embodiments, processor 1102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a remote system, such as a portable information technology device used by a technician at the climate control device. Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
As per claim 8, Rangel teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
In addition, Rangel teaches:
wherein the provision circuitry provides a terminal device, which corresponds to the second worker, with a content for selecting an inspection item for which the support information is provided among inspection items of the air conditioner to be repaired or maintained based on the operation data and provides the support information corresponding to the inspection item selected by the second worker (Paragraph Number [0129] teaches a flowchart illustrating a method 1200 for remotely diagnosing an abnormality in a climate control device. Method 1200 is performed by a diagnostic device, e.g., by diagnostic device 1100 of FIG. 11. In a step 1202 of method 1200, a signal representing one or more operating parameters of the climate control device is received at a diagnostic device that is remote from the climate control device. In one example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives signal 544 representing operating parameters of climate control device 504 (FIG. 5). In another example of step 1202, processor 1102 receives a signal 644 (FIG. 6) representing operating parameters of one or more climate control devices. [0155] Referring again to FIG. 14, in a step 1404 of method 1400, information characterizing the climate control device is obtained at the diagnostic device from a database associating climate control devices with respective characterizing information. In one example of step 1404, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to access database 1120 to obtain attributes AT(1) characterizing climate control device ID(1). In a step 1406 of method 1400, the information characterizing the climate control device is outputted from the diagnostic device. In one example of step 1406, processor 1102 executes instructions 1106 to output attributes AT(1) from monitoring device 1100. For instance, in some embodiments, processor 102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a display device (not shown) communicatively coupled to monitoring device 1100, and in some other embodiments, processor 1102 outputs attributes AT(1) by sending the attributes to a remote system, such as a portable information technology device used by a technician at the climate control device. Paragraph Number [0144] teaches diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically provide instructions and/or training for performing a corrective action CA, such as by transmitting instructions for performing the corrective action CA or a video illustrating an example of performing the corrective action, to a remote system, such as a computing device, accessible to a person who will perform the corrective action. For example, in one embodiment, if diagnostic device 1100 determines from signal DP that a climate control device has a clogged filter bank, diagnostic device 1100 is configured to automatically transmit a video illustrating how to change filters in a filter bank, to a computing device associated with a person who will change the filters).
As per claim 9, claim 9 recites a method with limitations that are substantially similar to the limitations found in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
As per claim 10, claim 10 recites a system with limitations that are substantially similar to the limitations found in claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons put forth in regard to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0396437 to Rangel et al. (hereafter referred to as Rangel) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0243535 to Nakamura (hereafter referred to as Nakamura).
As per claim 2, Rangel teaches each of the limitations of claim 1.
Rangel teaches selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner but does not explicitly teach determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician as described by the following citations from Nakamura:
wherein the selection circuitry includes schedule determination circuitry to receive a work day on which the repair or maintenance of the air conditioner is to be performed (Paragraph Number [0141] teaches worker selecting unit 81 calculates the root sum square Su of the difference between the worker's characteristics D1 to Ds inferred by inference unit 74 and characteristics D1 to Ds of each worker Mu. Worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the second smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, the process above is repeated until the available dates for dispatch of another worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule).
and determines whether or not the first worker is possible to be assigned on the received work day, and selects the second worker in a case where the schedule determination circuitry determines that the first worker is not possible to be assigned on the work day (Paragraph Number [0141] teaches worker selecting unit 81 calculates the root sum square Su of the difference between the worker's characteristics D1 to Ds inferred by inference unit 74 and characteristics D1 to Ds of each worker Mu. Worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, worker selecting unit 81 identifies the worker with the second smallest Su and, if the available dates for dispatch of the worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule, approves the worker as the worker to be dispatched for repair. If the available dates for dispatch of the worker are not included in the on-site acceptable schedule, the process above is repeated until the available dates for dispatch of another worker are included in the on-site acceptable schedule).
Both Rangel and Nakamura are directed to air conditioner diagnostics and repair. Rangel discloses selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner. Nakamura improves upon Rangel by disclosing determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician, to efficiently complete work orders as needed by available technicians. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner in Rangel to further utilize determining a day in which the air conditioner must be serviced and assigning an available technician in Nakamura, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0396437 to Rangel et al. (hereafter referred to as Rangel) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0080139 to Brown et al. (hereafter referred to as Brown).
As per claim 11, Rangel teaches selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner but does not explicitly teach utilizing computer readable storage media as described by the following citations from Brown:
A computer readable non-transitory recording medium having a program causing a computer of a schedule management device to execute a process comprising: (Paragraph Number [0198] teaches the present disclosure contemplates methods, systems and program products on any machine-readable media for accomplishing operations. The embodiments of the present disclosure may be implemented using existing computer processors, or by a special purpose computer processor for an appropriate system, incorporated for this or another purpose, or by a hardwired system. Embodiments within the scope of the present disclosure include program products comprising machine-readable media for carrying or having machine-executable instructions or data structures stored thereon. Such machine-readable media can be any available media that can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer or other machine with a processor. By way of example, such machine-readable media can comprise RAM, ROM, EPROM, EEPROM, or other optical disk storage, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to carry or store desired program code in the form of machine-executable instructions or data structures and which can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer or other machine with a processor. Combinations of the above are also included within the scope of machine-readable media. Machine-executable instructions include, for example, instructions and data which cause a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or special purpose processing machines to perform a certain function or group of functions).
Both Rangel and Brown are directed to air conditioner diagnostics and repair. Rangel discloses selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner. Brown improves upon Rangel by disclosing utilizing computer readable storage media. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to further include utilizing computer readable storage media to efficiently utilize technology to store data and execute algorithms. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of selecting technicians to complete work orders based on their level of skill and received fault data from an air conditioner in Rangel to further utilize computer readable storage media in Brown, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Additionally, the remainder of the claim limitations are substantially similar to those found in claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons as provided in regard to claim 1.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW H. DIVELBISS whose telephone number is (571) 270-0166. The fax phone number is 571-483-7110. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th, 7:00 - 5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jerry O'Connor can be reached on (571) 272-6787.
/M.H.D/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624