DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025, 05/05/2025, 08/12/2025, 01/14/2026, and 08/07/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The use of the term “Bluetooth,” which is a trade name or mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application (specification p. 64). The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2, 5, 7-8, 12, 16, and 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 2, the phrase “from manufacturing facility” should be “from a manufacturing facility”
In Claim 5, the phrase “down-conversion an echo signal” should be “down-conversion of an echo signal”
In Claim 7, the phrase “a first adder, coupled to the first real DAC, and is configured to” should be “a first adder, coupled to the first real DAC,
In Claim 8, the phrase “the auxiliary receive link post-calibration is configured is adapted to” should be “the auxiliary receive link post-calibration is configured
In Claim 12, the phrase “frequency shift” should be “frequency shifting”
In Claim 16, line 8, add a space in “electromagnetic(EM)” (e.g., “electromagnetic (EM)”)
In Claim 19, the phrase “signal primary transmission paths” should be “primary signal transmission paths”
In Claim 19, the phrase “a calibration of claim 1” should be “a calibration link according to claim 1”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the
inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his
invention.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 10-11, 13, 15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regrading Claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “any calibration link.” It is unclear whether there are multiple calibration links, or to which calibration link the limitations refers to. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as referring the “the calibration link” recited in Claim 1.
Regrading Claim 3, the claim recites the limitation “wherein the radar signal is a Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) signal, a signal transmitted by the calibration link is a single-tone signal.” It is unclear whether this limitation requires one or both of the radar signal being an FMCW signal and the signal transmitted by the calibration link being a single-tone signal. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as “wherein the radar signal is a Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) signal, and a signal transmitted by the calibration link is a single-tone signal.”
Regarding Claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “the auxiliary transmit link comprises at least one of an intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link … and a radio frequency (RF) auxiliary transmit link … .” It is unclear whether this limitation requires the auxiliary transmit link to comprise one or both of the intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link and the RF auxiliary transmit link. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as requiring both the intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link and the RF auxiliary transmit link (e.g., “the auxiliary transmit link comprises at least one of an intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link … and at least one of a radio frequency (RF) auxiliary transmit link …”).
Regarding Claim 5, the claim recites the limitation “an output terminal of the intermediate frequency signal.” It is unclear how a transient signal can have an output terminal. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as “an output terminal of the intermediate frequency unit.”
Regarding Claim 10, the claim recites the limitation “the calibration transmit link further comprises at least one of a second adder and a band pass filter.” It is unclear whether this limitation requires the calibration transmit link to comprise one or both of a second adder and a band pass filter. For examination purposes, the limitation is interpreted as requiring both the second adder and the band pass filter.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “the fourth real DAC.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim introduces “a fourth DAC,” but does not introduce “a fourth real DAC.”
Regarding Claim 13, the claim recites both an apparatus and method steps of using the apparatus. Specifically, Claim 13 is directed to a “calibration link,” but also recites: “upon calibration of the intermediate frequency unit, the RF auxiliary transmit link is subsequently calibrated … and the radio frequency unit is calibrated … .” Therefore, the claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether infringement occurs when the calibration link is configured to perform the method steps, or whether infringement occurs when the calibration link actually performs the method steps.
Regarding Claim 13, the claim recites the limitation “upon calibration of the intermediate frequency unit.” It is unclear which component calibrates the intermediate frequency unit, or if the intermediate frequency unit is calibrated at all. Claim 5, from which Claim 13 depends, recites calibrating an “intermediate frequency signal” but does not recite calibrating the intermediate frequency unit.
Regarding Claim 15, the claim recites the limitation “the calibrated IF unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 15 depends from Claims 1, 5, and 14, none of which recite a calibrated IF unit.
Regrading Claim 17, the claim recites the limitation “the calibration link.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 introduces an “integral calibration subsystem” but does not introduce a calibration link.
Regrading Claim 18, the claim recites the limitation “the calibration link.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 introduces an “integral calibration subsystem” but does not introduce a calibration link.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention.
in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b),
in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and
was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lang (US 2020/0382170).
Regarding Claim 1, Lang discloses: A calibration link of a primary signal transmission path, wherein:
the primary signal transmission path is used for transmitting electromagnetic wave signals, wherein the electromagnetic wave signals are radar signals ([0038]: “frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) radar system”; “The transmission antenna continuously radiates an RF signal”); the calibration link is integrated within an integrated circuit that includes the primary signal transmission path ([0050]: “monitor circuit”; [0069]: “the control circuit 120 may be implemented in the same MMIC as the monitor circuit 150 and the channels TX01, TX02, etc.”); the calibration link is connected at least between the primary signal transmission path and an antenna corresponding to the primary signal transmission path ([0051]: “the RF output signals … are tapped and supplied to an RF combiner circuit 110, which may be configured to combine the RF output signals”; [0052]: “The monitor circuit 150 includes a phase mixer 107 receiving the combined signal … as a TX monitoring signal”; [0101]; Fig. 5);
the primary signal transmission path comprises a primary transmit path for a radio frequency signal ([0041]: “RF frontend”; [0044]: “transmission signal path”); the calibration link correspondingly comprises an auxiliary receive link corresponding to the primary transmit path ([0050]: “monitor circuit 150 (including, e.g., phase shifter 106 and phase mixer 107, see FIG. 5)”; [0052]: “The monitor circuit 150 includes a phase mixer 107 receiving the combined signal … as a TX monitoring signa’”);
the antenna correspondingly comprises a transmit antenna corresponding to the primary transmit path ([0038]: “transmission antenna”);
the auxiliary receive link is connected between the primary transmit path and a corresponding transmit antenna ([0051]: “the RF output signals … are tapped and supplied to an RF combiner circuit 110”; [0052]: “The monitor circuit 150 includes a phase mixer 107 receiving the combined signal … as a TX monitoring signal”; Figs. 5), and is configured to calibrate a radio frequency signal transmitted by the primary transmit path ([0050]: “a monitor circuit 150 (including, e.g., phase shifter 106 and phase mixer 107, see FIG. 5) is provided that is used to sense the phases φTX01 and φTX02 and thus to detect a possible maladjustment of the phases”; [0052]: “TX monitoring signal”; [0105]: “yielding NTx phase values”);
the calibration link is configured to calibrate the primary signal transmission path to obtain calibration information ([0050]: “sense the phases φTX01 and φTX02 and thus to detect a possible maladjustment of the phases”; [0054]; [0105]: “Comparing these NTx phase values allows for TX phase calibration”); and
the primary signal transmission path is configured to perform a calibration operation based on the calibration information obtained from the calibration link, wherein the calibrated primary signal transmission path is configured to transmit electromagnetic wave signals ([0050]: “the phase shifters 105 may be used to compensate for the deviation by adding additional phase shifts ΔφTX01 and ΔφTX02.”; [0105]: “Comparing these NTx phase values allows for TX phase calibration by the control circuit 120 by adjusting the phase shifters 105 in the individual RF TX paths properly.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Lang discloses: wherein the calibration link is adapted to perform calibration on the primary signal transmission path at least one of prior to departure of the integrated circuit from manufacturing facility and/or during any interval between signal transmission and reception by the integrated circuit ([0051]: “the RF output signals … are tapped and supplied to an RF combiner circuit 110”; [0101]: “before leaving the radar chip to be sent to the TX antenna”), and is further adapted to provide real-time compensation for transmitted information based on calibration data derived from a preceding calibration ([0050]: “In the event that the measured phases φTX01 and φTX02 deviates from a desired setting, the phase shifters 105 may be used to compensate for the deviation by adding additional phase shifts ΔφTX01 and ΔφTX02.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Lang discloses: wherein the integrated circuit incorporates at least two primary signal transmission paths, wherein any calibration link is configured to calibrate at least two of the primary signal transmission paths ([0046]: “two transmission channels TX01 and TX02”; [0050]: “phase shifts ΔφTX01 and ΔφTX02”); or wherein the radar signal is a Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) signal, a signal transmitted by the calibration link is a single-tone signal.
Regarding Claim 16, Lang discloses: A signal transmission link, comprising:
a primary signal transmission path, configured to convey electromagnetic (EM) wave signals ([0038]: “frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) radar system”; “The transmission antenna continuously radiates an RF signal”), and
an integral calibration subsystem, embedded within a device encompassing the primary signal transmission path, for the purpose of calibrating the primary signal transmission path ([0050]: “monitor circuit”; “sense the phases φTX01 and φTX02 and thus to detect a possible maladjustment of the phases”; [0069]: “the control circuit 120 may be implemented in the same MMIC as the monitor circuit 150 and the channels TX01, TX02, etc.”),
wherein the primary signal transmission path is adapted to execute calibration procedures based on calibration data derived from the integral calibration subsystem, subsequently facilitating the transmission of calibrated electromagnetic (EM) wave signals ([0050]: “In the event that the measured phases φTX01 and φTX02 deviates from a desired setting, the phase shifters 105 may be used to compensate for the deviation by adding additional phase shifts ΔφTX01 and ΔφTX02.”’ [0105]: “Comparing these NTx phase values allows for TX phase calibration by the control circuit 120 by adjusting the phase shifters 105 in the individual RF TX paths properly.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Lang discloses: wherein:
the calibration link is a calibration link of the primary signal transmission path ([0051]: “the RF output signals sTX01(t) and sTX02(t) are tapped and supplied to an RF combiner circuit 110”);
the calibration link is at least connected between the primary signal transmission path and an antenna corresponding to the primary signal transmission path ([0051]: ““the RF output signals sTX01(t) and sTX02(t) are tapped”; [0101]; Fig. 5);
the calibration link correspondingly comprises an auxiliary receive link ([0050]: “a monitor circuit 150 (including, e.g., phase shifter 106 and phase mixer 107, see FIG. 5)”); and
the calibration link is configured to calibrate the primary signal transmission path to obtain calibration information ([0050]: “a monitor circuit 150 (including, e.g., phase shifter 106 and phase mixer 107, see FIG. 5) is provided that is used to sense the phases φTX01 and φTX02 and thus to detect a possible maladjustment of the phases”).
Regarding Claim 18, Lang discloses: wherein the primary signal transmission path and the calibration link are integrated onto the same semiconductor die or chip, or mounted on the same Power Control Daughterboard (PCD) board or a same Printed circuit board (PCB) board ([0069]: “the control circuit 120 may be implemented in the same MMIC as the monitor circuit 150 and the channels TX01, TX02, etc.”; [0079]: “the monitor circuit as well as supplementary circuitry may be implemented on the same chip as the RF channels (e.g., the MMIC)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the
statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a
new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection,
would be the same under either status.
rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang (US 2020/0382170), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Doare (US 2020/0158821).
Regarding Claim 19, Lang as modified teaches: An integrated circuit, wherein the integrated circuit is provided with at least two signal primary transmission paths and a calibration link of claim 1 ([0046]: “two transmission channels TX01 and TX02”; [0050]: “monitor circuit”; [0069]: “same MMIC”), … with the calibration link being common to both primary signal transmission paths ([0050]; Fig. 5).
Lang as modified does not explicitly teach: the calibration link is interposed between two adjacent primary signal transmission paths.
However, Doare is in the field of radar calibration (Doare [Abstract]) and teaches: calibration circuitry interposed between two adjacent primary signal transmission paths (Doare Fig. 1, showing calibration circuitry 112, 114, 116, 118 between two signal transmission paths).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lang and interpose the calibration link between two adjacent primary signal transmission paths, as taught by Doare, with a reasonable expectation of success. Applying Doare’s circuitry layout to Lang’s radar calibration circuitry yields the predictable result of enabling the calibration link to calibrate multiple transmission paths while reducing signal routing length.
Regarding Claim 20, Lang as modified teaches: An electromagnetic (EM) wave device, comprising:
a carrier ([0069]: “MMIC”);
the integrated circuit (IC) according to claim 19, which is affixed to the carrier ([0046]; [0050]; [0069]: “same MMIC”) and
an antenna, which is affixed to the carrier or integrated with the IC as a unified device provided on the carrier; the antenna comprises a transmitter antenna and a receiver antenna ([0041]: “at least one transmission antenna 5 (TX antenna) and at least one reception antenna 6 (RX antenna) are connected to an RF frontend 10, which may be integrated in a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC)”),
wherein the IC is linked to the antenna for the transmission and/or reception of EM wave signals ([0041]: “a single antenna or a single antenna array may be used to both receive and transmit electromagnetic (radar) signals”).
Regarding Claim 21, Lang as modified teaches: A user terminal equipment, comprising:
an equipment body ([0037]: “radar transmitter or transceiver”; “communication devices”); and
an electromagnetic (EM) wave device of claim 20, which is disposed on the equipment body ([0037]),
wherein the electromagnetic wave device is employed for target detection and/or wireless communication to furnish reference information for operation of the equipment body ([0037]: “Embodiments are discussed below in the context of a radar transmitter or transceiver. It should be noted, however, that the present invention may also be applied in applications different from radar such as, for example, RF transceivers of RF communication devices.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 6-15 would be allowable by virtue of their dependence on Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim recites the calibration link of Claim 1 further comprising an auxiliary transmit link which comprises an intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link and an RF auxiliary transmit link. The intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link is connected to an output terminal of the intermediate frequency unit, and is configured to calibrate an intermediate frequency signal obtained by down-conversion of an echo signal received by a primary receive path. The RF auxiliary transmit link is connected between the primary receive path and a corresponding receive antenna, and is configured to calibrate the echo signal received by the primary receive path.
Lang teaches the calibration link of Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the calibration link further comprising an auxiliary transmit link which comprises an intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link and an RF auxiliary transmit link.
Delbecq (US 2016/0109559) teaches calibrating a radar device comprising an RF auxiliary transmit link connected to a receive path and configured to calibrate a received signal (Delbecq [0033]: “radar device 300 is also re-configurable to perform a self-test receiver calibration in response to two or more self-generated transmit signals that are configured to loop back into the one or more receiver paths”; Fig. 3). However, Delbecq does not explicitly teach a received echo signal, or the intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link.
Schrattenecker (US 2018/0172801) teaches testing an RF receiver by injecting test signals into a base-band or intermediate frequency processing chain and an RF processing chain ([0027]: “The respective base (or IF) band signal (i.e. the mixer output signal) is denoted by SBB.”; [0047]: “the test signal STEST provided by the oscillator 18, may be directly injected in the circuit node connecting the output of the mixer 10 and the analog signal processing chain 13, i.e. injected to the input of the analog signal processing chain 13. This allows separately testing the mixer 10 (using the RF test signal SRFTEST, which is then down-converted by mixer 10) and the analog signal processing chain 13 using the test signal STEST, which is directly provided to the analog signal processing chain 13 thus bypassing the mixer 10.”; Fig. 13 showing STEST injected into an intermediate frequency processing chain and SRFTEST injected into an RF processing chain). However, Schrattenecker does not explicitly teach an intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link configured to calibrate a received intermediate frequency signal or an RF auxiliary transmit link configured to calibrate a received RF signal.
Therefore, the prior art does not teach the combined limitations of the claimed invention. Specifically, the prior art does not teach an auxiliary transmit link comprising an intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link and an RF auxiliary transmit link, wherein the intermediate frequency auxiliary transmit link is connected to an output terminal of the intermediate frequency unit, and is configured to calibrate an intermediate frequency signal obtained by down-conversion of an echo signal received by a primary receive path, and wherein the RF auxiliary transmit link is connected between the primary receive path and a corresponding receive antenna, and is configured to calibrate the echo signal received by the primary receive path.
Conclusion
The cited references made of record in the contemporaneously filed PTO-892 form and not relied upon in the instant office action are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure, and may have one or more of the elements in Applicant’s disclosure and at least Claim 1.
/NOAH YI MIN ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/BRADY W FRAZIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648