Status of Claims
2. This is a final action on the merits in response to the reply received 6/16/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chen fails to teach in response to a size of the search block in the reference frame meeting a threshold size, selecting, by the at least one processor, a first weighting factor from a first set of more than two weighting factors associated with the MHP procedure. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen discloses that the weight value is specified based on any size at a block level. For example, no mater what size of the unit, weight value is specified. In addition, Pham discloses selecting weights based on block sizes in [0230]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to disclose in response to a size of the search block in the reference frame meeting a threshold size, selecting, by the at least one processor, a first weighting factor from a first set of more than two weighting factors associated with the MHP procedure as taught by Pham, to improve combined inter-intra prediction mode for prediction of video data ([0022], Pham). Rejection remains.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 13, 17-19, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent 12335460 B2-Chen et al (hereinafter referred to as “Chen”), in view of US 20200260091 A1-Pham Van et al (hereinafter referred to as “Pham”)
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method of encoding by an encoder (abstract, wherein methods are described for video coding), comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor, a set of frames including a reference frame and a current frame (Column 1, lines 45-55);
performing, by the at least one processor, a multi-hypothesis prediction (MHP) procedure for a coding unit (CU) located in the current frame based on a search block in the reference frame (Column 6, lines 1-15); and
in response to a size of the search block in the reference frame meeting a threshold size, selecting, by the at least one processor, a first weighting factor from a first set of more than two weighting factors associated with the MHP procedure (column 6, lines 45-60).
Chen fails to disclose selecting weights based on block sizes.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pham discloses selecting weights based on block sizes ([0230])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Chen to disclose in response to a size of the search block in the reference frame meeting a threshold size, selecting, by the at least one processor, a first weighting factor from a first set of more than two weighting factors associated with the MHP procedure as taught by Pham, to improve combined inter-intra prediction mode for prediction of video data ([0022], Pham).
Regarding claim 5, Pham discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the performing, by the at least one processor, the MHP procedure for the CU located in the current frame based on a search block in the reference frame comprises: obtaining, by the at least one processor, motion information associated with the CU located in the current frame based and the search block in the reference frame using template matching (column 10, lines 35-50); and encoding, by the at least one processor, the current frame based on the motion information and the first weighting factor (column 10, lines 35-50), wherein the first weighting factor is selected based on the motion information obtained via template matching (column 15, lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 6, Pham discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying, by at least one processor, a weighting factor sign associated with the first weighting factor (column 10, lines 55-67); and sending, by the at least one processor, an indication of the weighting factor sign associated with the first weighting factor in a bitstream ((column 10, lines 55-67)).
Regarding claim 13, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 17, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 5 and are applicable for claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 6 and are applicable for claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 23, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 5 and are applicable for claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 6 and are applicable for claim 24.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-4, 14-16, 20-22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487