DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDSs) submitted on 12/27/24 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, but where the documents in the IDS(s) will be considered in the same manner as other documents in Office search files while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search.
Status of the Application
This application has priority to GB 2209851.1, filed 7/5/22, and is a 371 of PCT/GB2023/051765, filed 7/5/23.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending in the application and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 7, lines 1-2, the term “according to claim 6, wherein the first connector has a single frusto-conical section”; is considered indefinite, as claim 6 recites the first connector has a plurality of frusto-conical section”. Appropriate correction is required, e.g., making claim 7 dependent upon claim 5, where claim 5 has the first recitation of “a first connector”.
The following terms are indefinite as lacking antecedent basis: In claim 6, lines 1-2, the term “according to claim 1, wherein the first connector”; has no antecedent basis in claim 1, where the first connector is first recited in claim 5. Appropriate correction is suggested, e.g., amending claim 6 to recited “according to claim 5, wherein the first connector”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murphy (US 2021/0322753 A1).
As to claim 1, Murphy teaches a tap assembly (transfer valve 110; Fig.2; [0028]) for a urine drainage system (tap assembly capable of being used in a urine drainage system), the tap assembly 110 (Fig.2,4a,6,9a) comprising:
(a) a tap body 140/105-112 (Fig.2) formed as: a first cylindrical body 105/112 (as cylindrical portion of opposing connectors 105 and 112 (Fig.2) attached to 2nd cylindrical body 140 [0028]) and a second cylindrical body 140 (valve body 140; Fig.4a; [0039]), mutually intersecting at right-angles (Fig.4a,6,9a), the wall of the first cylindrical body 105/112 defining mutually opposed apertures 146,148 (through holes 146,148 Fig.6; [0039],ll.6,10-11,16-19), aligned with the axis of the second cylindrical body 140 (Fig.6; [0039]);
(b) a tap member 118/140 (lever 118 (Fig.10A ; [0032]-[0037]); valve core 140 Fig.6,10A [0045]) rotatably housed in the first cylinder movable between a first position 1 preventing fluid flow along the second cylindrical body (closed position 1 [0040],ll.4-5) and a second position 2 allowing fluid flow (Flow position 2; [0040],ll.7-9), the tap member actuable by a tap lever 118 (Fig.10A ; [0032]-[0040]); and
(c) the tap lever 118 comprising a protrusion 126 (notch 126 as extension elevating from lever/tap member 118, interacting with recess/trough 128; Fig.10A; [0036]), the protrusion engaging, in use, a recess 128 (trough 128; Fig.10a) on the second cylindrical body 140 (Fig.10b; [0060]), the recess 128 being of complementary shape to the protrusion 126 (Fig.10a; [0060]).
As to claims 2-3, Murphy teaches wherein the tap lever has a curved surface and a notch (curved ellipsoid shaped side of 118 for grip (Fig.4C;6;10A; [0035]).
As to claim 4, Murphy teaches wherein the recess 128 includes a rim around the circumference of the recess (as rounded edge of recess 128 Fig.4G; 10Al [0060]).
As to claims 5-7, Murphy teaches: (claim 5) wherein a first connector 105 ([0028],ll.1-5) extends from a first end of the second cylindrical body (Fig.10a); and (claims 6-7) wherein the first connector 105 comprises a single or a plurality of nested frusto-conical sections (one or more barbs on first connector 105 Fig.2; [0028],ll.3-5).
As to claim 8, Murphy teaches wherein a reclosable closure extends from a second end (top Fig.10A) of the second cylindrical body 140 (where cover 114 underneath handle/lever 118 adjacent top of 2nd body 140 having feature 130 that locks/closes and unlocks top of 2nd body 140 to bottom of handle 118 Fig.4H-4J; [0031],ll.5-11).
As to claim 9, Murphy teaches a urine drainage system comprising a tap assembly according to claim 1 (where tap assembly is usable for a urinary drainage system without modification by attaching connectors 105 and 112 to urine collection drain tubing).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO Form 892 are considered relevant to Applicants’ disclosure and are cited to show further the general state of the art.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, REBECCA EISENBERG, can be reached on 571-270-5879. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GUY K TOWNSEND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781