DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 37-50 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 12/27/2024 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harding (CN 101203160 A).
In regards to Claim 37, Harding teaches: A mattress seat (1 - Fig. 1) comprising a mattress seat body (see annotated Fig. 1.1 from Harding) configured to receive a mattress (9 - Fig. 1) thereon, the mattress seat body comprising a plurality of frames (see annotated Fig. 1.1 from Harding) disposed sequentially in a circumferential direction of the mattress seat body ("Specific implementation examples with reference to the accompanying drawings, rectangular frame 5 and upstanding sidewall standard bed 1 comprises a support level of the four corner legs 7 to 3. the small bed 1 further includes a rectangular mattress 9, the mattress 9 is, during normal use the small bed can be placed in the vertical sidewall 7 of the bottom frame 5 of the top.", Examiner noting: that the frame of a traditional rectangular bed would circumferential to the mattress body as it surrounds it), at least one of the plurality of frames is movable with respect to the other one of the plurality of frames (13 - Figs. 1-3, is shown to be movable relative to the other plurality of frames) in the circumferential direction of the mattress seat body to enable a length of the mattress seat body to be adjusted in at least one direction (see annotated Figs. 1-3 from Harding indicating the adjustment in length in at least one direction in the circumferential direction).
Annotated Fig. 1.1 from Harding
Annotated Figs. 1-3 of Harding
In regards to Claim 38, Harding teaches: The mattress seat according to claim 37, wherein at least two adjacent frames of the plurality of frames (3 - Fig. 1)are provided with a connecting member in between (5 - Fig. 1), at least one frame is slidably connected with the connecting member in the circumferential direction of the mattress seat body (13 - Fig. 1).
In regards to Claim 39, Harding teaches: The mattress seat according to claim 38, wherein the mattress seat further comprises a lifting mechanism (35 - Fig. 4)connected to the mattress seat body (shown in Fig. 4 to be connected to mattress seat body through element '13'), a driving device (37- Fig. 4) connected to the lifting mechanism and a control device (49 - Fig. 4), an output end of the control device is electrically connected to an input end of the driving device (47 - Fig. 4, noting input end of 37 the driving device is connected through the cable and the output end of 49 of the control device is connected through the same cable), the control device is configured to activate or inactivate the driving device (switch per specification, can be switched on or off), when the driving device is activated, the driving device is configured to drive the lifting mechanism to reciprocate upwards (as 35 inflates - Fig. 4) and downwards (as 35 deflates - Fig. 4) and/or swing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 40-50 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to Claim 40, Harding fails to teach or suggest a supporting plate connected to the lifting mechanism, wherein the supporting plate is movably connected to two frames on opposite sides of the mattress seat. While Harding discloses a lifting mechanism (35) operatively associated with the mattress seat body, the reference relies on a movable frame structure (e.g., element 13) as the primary support. Harding does not disclose an intermediate supporting plate that is distinct from the frame structure, nor does it disclose a plate that is movably coupled to opposing frames while simultaneously being connected to the lifting mechanism. Accordingly, the specific structural relationship between the supporting plate, lifting mechanism, and opposing frames as claimed is not taught or suggested by Harding.
In regards to Claim 41, Harding further fails to disclose or suggest a lifting mechanism comprising an air bag and a first plate member provided above the supporting plate, with at least one air bag disposed between the first plate member and the supporting plate. Although Harding generally discloses inflation and deflation of an airbag-type lifting mechanism, the reference does not teach a layered plate-and-airbag arrangement in which an air bag is positioned between a supporting plate and a first plate member. Harding instead relies on direct interaction between the lifting element and the frame structure, and does not disclose additional plate members configured to sandwich one or more airbags therebetween as claimed. As such, Harding does not teach the claimed configuration or the associated control of inflation and deflation relative to the claimed plate members.
In regards to Claim 42, Harding does not teach or suggest a mattress seat body comprising spaced first connecting plates with second connecting plates slidably disposed between adjacent first connecting plates. While Harding discloses movable frames arranged circumferentially, it does not disclose or suggest the claimed multi-plate connecting architecture involving alternating first and second connecting plates configured for relative sliding motion. The claimed arrangement provides a distinct structural organization and mode of adjustability that is neither shown nor suggested by Harding’s frame-based construction.
Accordingly, the specific structural configurations and cooperative relationships recited in claims 40–42 are not taught or suggested by Harding, either alone or in combination with the prior art of record. The claims are therefore considered allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karp et al. (US 20150045608 A1) teaches: An infant calming/sleep-aid/SIDS detection device is provided that includes a main moving platform that moves in a variable manner with accompanying variable sound generation, the sound and motion adapted to calm a fussy baby, induce sleep, and maintain sleep under normal conditions. The device may also have a sensor for detection of pauses in breathing and/or detection of resultant biological changes related to breathing pauses and respond with appropriate stimuli to arouse the baby and allow breathing to recommence.
Bender (US 20110251535 A1) teaches: An apparatus and method for introducing multisensory integration. The apparatus includes an ergonomically contoured seating device, at least one vibrating acoustic device, at least one plate for dispersing vibration throughout the entire seating device, a rotatable mechanism for rotating the seating device.
/MADISON MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673