DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application No. 18/879,591, filed on 12/27/2024. Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-14 have been rejected as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harnischfeger (DE-102020121313-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Harnischfeger discloses a roof arrangement (10, Fig. 1) of a motor vehicle comprising a fixed roof element (12, Fig. 1-2), which is disposed rigidly and so as to not be displaceable with respect to a roof substructure and which comprises a flat glass and/or plastic panel (26, Fig. 2), and a headliner (22, Fig. 2) with a liner element (24, Fig. 2), which forms an inner visible surface and which is connected to the fixed roof element (12, Fig. 2), the fixed roof element (12, Fig. 2) having a molded portion (30, Fig. 2), which is molded to the glass and/or plastic panel (26, Fig. 2), wherein at least one retaining element (32, Fig. 2) is fastened to (interpreted as attached or joined to) the molded portion (30, Fig. 2), the retaining element (32, Fig. 2) having a fastening geometry (c-shape; page 3, lines 51-53) via which the liner element (24, Fig. 2) is fastened (at 34, Fig. 2) to the retaining element (32, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Harnischfeger further discloses the fastening geometry (c-shape, Fig. 2) is configured as a receptacle (groove 32, Fig. 2) on a flank (30, Fig. 2) of the retaining element facing away from an edge of the glass and/or plastic panel (26, 28, Fig. 2), a fastening structure (34, Fig. 2) of the liner element (24, Fig. 2) engaging in the receptacle (groove 32, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Harnischfeger further discloses the molded portion (30, Fig. 2; page 3, line 51) is disposed on a lower surface of the glass and/or plastic panel (26, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Harnischfeger further discloses the glass and/or plastic panel (26, Fig. 2) has an edge foam (28, Fig. 2; page 3, lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 10, Harnischfeger discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses the molded portion (30, Fig. 2) is formed integrally (interpreted as connected to; page 3, lines 7-8) with the edge foam (28, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Harnischfeger discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses the molded portion (30, Fig. 2) is spaced apart (36, Fig. 2) from to the edge foam (28, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Harnischfeger discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 9 above, and further discloses the glass and/or plastic panel (26, Fig. 2) is glued to the roof substructure (page 3, lines 13-15) via a glue bead (20, Fig. 2) in the area of the edge foam (28, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Harnischfeger further discloses the molded portion (30, Fig. 2) is molded from a polyurethane material (page 3, lines 47-49).
Regarding claim 14, Harnischfeger further discloses a motor vehicle (page 3, lines 25-26) with at least one roof arrangement (10, Fig. 1-2) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harnischfeger (DE-102020121313-A1) in view of Karg et al (DE-102010020075-A1).
Regarding claim 2, Harnischfeger discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. However, Harnischfeger does not expressly disclose wherein the retaining element (32, Fig. 2) comprises a retaining clamp or is formed as the retaining clamp, which is clamped on the molded portion (30, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Harnischfeger discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. However, Harnischfeger does not expressly disclose the retaining element (32, Fig. 2) comprises a clawing hook and/or mandrel, which engages in the molded portion (30, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Harnischfeger discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. However, Harnischfeger does not expressly disclose that the molded portion (30, Fig. 2) comprises a fixing groove in which a fixing area of the retaining element engages and whose plane is aligned at least largely at right angles to a main extension plane of the glass and/or plastic panel (26, Fig. 2).
Karg et al teaches a retaining element (clip 3, Fig. 2) comprising a retaining clamp (31, 32, 33, Fig. 2) or is formed as the retaining clamp, which is clamped on the molded portion (see annotated Figure 1 below); the retaining element (clip 3, Fig. 2) comprises a clawing hook and/or mandrel (see annotated Figure 1 below), which engages in the molded portion (see annotated Figure 1 below); and the molded portion (see annotated Figure 1 below) comprises a fixing groove (see annotated Figure 1 below) in which a fixing area of the retaining element engages and whose plane is aligned at least largely at right angles to a main extension plane of the glass and/or plastic panel (26, Fig. 2 of Harnischfeger) in the analogous field of the claimed invention of vehicle roof headliner fasteners.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the headliner attachment molded portion and fastening structure of Harnischfeger with the type of headliner molded portion and clamp as taught by Karg et al. Doing so would provide an alternate way of clamping a headliner to the roof of a vehicle with a fixed glass/plastic panel.
Figure 1:
Regarding claim 3, Harnischfeger in view of Karg et al discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 2 above, and Karg et al further discloses the retaining clamp (31-35, Fig. 2-3) comprises a portion U-shaped (see annotated Figure 1 above) in cross section via which the retaining clamp (31-35, Fig. 2) is clamped on and/or interlocked with and/or fastened to the molded portion (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harnischfeger (DE-102020121313-A1) in view of Huelke (US 2014/0265456)
Regarding claim 7, Harnischfeger discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. However, Harnischfeger does not expressly disclose at least portions of the molded portion (30, Fig. 2) are formed circumferentially in a frame-like manner and several retaining elements (32, Fig. 2) are fastened to the molded portion (30, Fig. 2).
Huelke teaches a vehicle headliner attachment system where at least portions of the molded portion (104, Fig. 4 & 7-8) are formed circumferentially in a frame-like manner (20, Fig. 3) and several retaining elements (24, 114, Fig. 4 & 7-8) are fastened to the molded portion (104, Fig. 4 & 7-8) in the analogous field of the claimed invention of vehicle headliner attachment systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the headliner attachment of Harnischfeger to include multiple duplicate retaining elements formed circumferentially in a frame-like manner as taught by Huelke. Doing so would improve the fastening function of the headliner to the roof of a vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zeo et al (US Patent No. 11,897,545) discloses a roof arrangement with a flat glass panel (2, Fig. 6), and a headliner (3, Fig. 6) which is connected to a fixed roof element (11, Fig. 6), the fixed roof element (12, Fig. 2) having a molded portion (6, Fig. 6), which is molded to the glass and/or plastic panel (2, Fig. 6), and adhesive bead (K, Fig. 6). Grimm et al (US Patent No. 6,378,936) discloses a roof module with headliner (28, Fig. 6), molded portion (26, Fig. 6) attached to glass panel (25, Fig. 6) and retaining element (29, Fig. 6). German reference DE-102005008678-A1 discloses a U-shaped clamp (80) for a vehicle sun roof (11) with molded portion (130) and headliner (7).
/D.L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612