DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 9, 12, 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2023/0171056) in view of Choi (US 2022/0078780).
2. As per claim 1, Huang teaches a method of orbital angular momentum (OAM) modes indication, performed by a first device and comprising: receiving first indication information reported by a second device (Huang, Fig. 5 item 510 and related text. Furthermore, it’s well known in the art to receive indication information to achieve optimum communication -see Choi US 2022/0078780 for example ¶0403-0406); and selecting, in response to the first indication information, an OAM mode as a target OAM mode for transmitting a-target signal or control signaling (Huang, Fig. 1 item 520 and related text).
3. Claim 12 is similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above.
4. As per claim 9, Huang in view of Choi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that respective OAM modes are mapped with corresponding antenna ports, the method further comprises: maintaining or adjusting mapping relationships between the respective OAM modes and the antenna ports, so that the target OAM mode is mapped to an antenna port (Choi, ¶0370-0373 “… OAM … antenna port…”).
5. Claim 19 is similarly analyzed as claim 9 for obviousness reason discussed above.
6. Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2023/0171056) in view of Choi (US 2022/0078780).
7. As per claim 11, Huang in view of Choi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the signal or control signaling comprises: radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Choi, ¶0194), an enhanced media access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Choi, ¶0362), and physical layer control information (Choi, ¶0159). While Huang in view of Choi teaches doesn’t teach, Horn teaches a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) (Horn, ¶0071). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Haung, Choi and Horn as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of achieving optimum communication.
8. Claim 20 is similarly analyzed as claim 11 for obviousness reason discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10, 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635