DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noble, US 6,107,262.
Noble teaches an enhanced light transmission transparent soap bar, where liquid soap is poured into a mold, allowed to cool, and then depressions or voids are formed by a downward force that may be varied according to the size of the void desired (col. 7, lines 53-67), and these voids are dispersed in an 11x7 array on the surface of the soap bar (col. 8, lines 1-10). Thus, hollow, air-filled voids having surfaces in the soap can be created in a variety of shapes, spaces, and locations (col. 8, lines 11-15). With respect to the porosity claimed, figure 8 shows the 11x7 array on the soap bar and it is clear that at least 50% of the surface of the soap bar is covered in round voids (see figure 8). The examiner maintains this amount of voids easily satisfies the porosity claimed, particularly if larger voids are desired, as contemplated by the reference.
With respect to the composition, the transparent soap bar in comprised of standard soap ingredients, including coconut and castor oil, stearic acid, glycerin, propylene glycol, and fragrance (col. 10, example 1).
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khamis et al, US 2017/0181934.
Khamis et al teach a soap bar with two through cavities defined therein (see abstract and figure 1). It is clear from figure 1 that a large portion of the soap bar is composed of the cavities, and so one of ordinary skill would expect at least 30% of the soap bar to be composed of the cavities. Note that the soap bar may be made by placing into a mold and formed to the desired shape, followed by punching holes in the soap (¶36), and the user may fill the cavities with different personal compositions according to their needs (¶37), but before this occurs, a soap bar containing through cavities as claimed is made.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, a soap bar is by definition an anionic surfactant and well-known aesthetic agents such as dyes and fragrances are patently obvious additions to soap bars.
With respect to claim 12, as discussed above, a soap is an anionic surfactant, and as the reference teaches forming the soap in a mold, obviously the soap must be in liquid form, poured into the mold and dried before the holes can be punched.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh, US 2018/0312790.
Singh teaches a soap bar with a hollow core (see abstract and figure 1). It is clear from figure 1 that a large portion of the soap bar is composed of the core, and so one of ordinary skill would expect at least 30% of the soap bar to be composed of the core.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, a soap bar is by definition an anionic surfactant and well-known aesthetic agents such as dyes and fragrances are patently obvious additions to soap bars.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder, US 8,324,142.
Snyder teaches a hollow cell bath soap with a multi-cell frame (see abstract and figure 1). It is clear from figure 1 that most of the soap bar is empty space, and so one of ordinary skill would expect at least 30% of the soap bar to be composed of the frame with empty space. The soap bar is formed by extruding the soap into a mold to form the multi-cell frame (col. 4, lines 22-35).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, a soap bar is by definition an anionic surfactant and well-known aesthetic agents such as dyes and fragrances are patently obvious additions to soap bars.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown, US 2004/0110653.
Brown teaches a soap bar for use only once or a few times comprising inert core supporting a relatively thin shell of soap (see abstract and figure 1). It is clear from figure 1 that most of the soap bar is empty space, and so one of ordinary skill would expect at least 30% of the soap bar to be composed of the inert core. The soap bar is formed by extruding the soap into a mold to form the multi-cell frame (col. 4, lines 22-35).
With respect to claims 9 and 10, a soap bar is by definition an anionic surfactant and well-known aesthetic agents such as dyes and fragrances are patently obvious additions to soap bars.
With respect to claim 13, these soap bars and core may be co-extruded from which individual bar elements may be severed.
Claims 1-6, 9, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsang, US 2003/0227775.
Tsang teaches a soap bar with a cavity which extends through opposite sides of the soap bar and is adapted to receive a special effects cartridge (claim 39 and figure 1). It is clear from figure 1 that a large portion of the soap bar is composed of the cavity, and so one of ordinary skill would expect at least 30% of the soap bar to be composed of the cavity. While ultimately the cavity is filled with the special effects cartridge, before this occurs the soap bar is the same as that claimed.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, a soap bar is by definition an anionic surfactant and well-known aesthetic agents such as dyes and fragrances are patently obvious additions to soap bars.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiGiovanna, US 4,308,157.
DiGiovanna teaches a soap bar with a core containing a liquid such as a perfume (figure 3 and col. 1, lines 53-55). It is clear from figure 3 that a significant portion of the soap bar is composed of the core, and so one of ordinary skill would expect at least 20% of the soap bar to be composed of the core.
With respect to the kit claimed, the refence teaches a solid soap and a liquid core.
With respect to claims 9 and 10, a soap bar is by definition an anionic surfactant and well-known aesthetic agents such as dyes and fragrances are patently obvious additions to soap bars.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The examiner notes that soap bars with cores (cavities) are common in the art.
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761