DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment dated 12/27/2024 has been received and accepted. Claims 6-8 are newly presented. Claims 1-8 are being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) dated 4/9/2025 and 2/10/2026 have been received and considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 76, “mounting hole 41a” should be --mounting hole 40a-- per paragraph 77 and figure 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: biasing member in claim 1, corresponding in structure to coil spring 4 or coil spring 5 per paragraph 19 and primary chamber side biasing member in claims 5-8, corresponding in structure to coil spring 5 per paragraph 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that the biasing member is configured to bias the spool toward a primary chamber side (line 6). Claim 1 then recites the biasing member is disposed on the primary chamber side or a secondary chamber side (lines 10-11). It is unclear how the biasing member would be able to bias the spool toward a primary chamber side while being located on the primary chamber side. Based on figure 1, if the “primary chamber side” is the left side, the biasing member would necessarily need to be spring 4 located on the opposite, secondary chamber side in order to bias the spool toward the primary chamber side. If the “primary chamber side” is the right side, the biasing member would necessarily need to be spring 5 located on the opposite, secondary chamber side in order to bias the spring toward the primary chamber side. Thus, there does not appear to be a position where the biasing member biases the spool toward a primary chamber side and the biasing member is also disposed on the primary chamber side.
Claims 2-8 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, as far as they are definite, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirata et al. (U.S. 4,753,158).
Hirata discloses a valve (fig. 4) comprising: a housing (37a); a spool (38a) having a throttle port (39a), disposed in the housing to be movable in an axial direction (col. 5, ll. 28-57, col. 6, ll. 19-40 generally, the spool with the port moves to the left and right in fig. 4), and partitioning off the housing into a primary chamber (36a) and a secondary chamber (35a); and a biasing member (50a) configured to bias the spool toward a primary chamber side in an axial direction (the left side with 36a), wherein the spool operates in the axial direction due to a pressure difference between the primary chamber and the secondary chamber (col. 5, ll. 28-57, col. 6, ll. 19-40, especially col. 5, ll. 40-56 describing the pressure differential and also col. 6, ll. 29-36 and similar to the applicant’s device), and the biasing member is disposed on the primary chamber side or a secondary chamber side with respect to the throttle port (secondary chamber side, the right side in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Hirata further discloses wherein the spool has a step portion (the radially inward extending surface of spool 38a that spring 50a contacts, to the left of the lead line for numeral 40a in fig. 4) with which an end of the biasing member comes into contact (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hirata further discloses wherein the step portion is provided on an inner peripheral surface of the spool (radially inner peripheral surface, see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Hirata further discloses wherein the spool is further provided with an open-close port (43a, see col. 5, ll. 36-57, which opens and closes the passage at 46a based on a pressure differential) configured to switch a communication state between the primary chamber and the secondary chamber (from the communication state in which fluid flow from the primary chamber to the secondary chamber flows through 39a, 40a, 42a and into 36a to a communication state in which fluid flow from the primary chamber to the secondary chamber flows through the groove 46a, see col. 5, ll. 36-52, additionally and/or alternatively, see col. 6, ll. 6, ll. 24-40 describing two different communication states, one being when the spool is in a first position, the other being when the spool moves to the right), and the biasing member (50a) is disposed on the secondary chamber side with respect to the open-close port (to the right of the open-close port).
Regarding claims 5-8, Hirata further discloses a primary chamber side biasing member (51a) configured to bias the spool toward the secondary chamber side in the axial direction (to the right in fig. 4), wherein the throttle port and the primary chamber are in communication with each other via a flow path that bypasses the primary chamber side biasing member (when the spool is moved to the left and fluid is flowing from 35a, through 46a, and to 36a, the fluid bypasses the spring 51a as the flowpath is not through 51a via 41a, see col. 5, ll. 43-52).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Holder (U.S. 7,401,751) discloses a spool valve with biasing member that has various states of fluid flow including from the inlet to the outlet and from the outlet to the inlet.
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753