DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maki et al. (8,986,849).
Maki et al. teaches an automobile comprising at least one outer skin part made of coated press hardened steel having a coating and a base steel. The coating, before heating and press hardening, contains 8-12% of Silicon, up to 3% Iron, unavoidable impurities up to 0.1%, and a balance being Aluminum, by weight, as disclosed on lines 46-59 of column 2 and 34-45 of column 17. The coating has a thickness from 10 to 20 µm per side, see examples 1-4 as disclosed in Table 5 in column 22.
In reference to claim 9, the at least one semi-visible part is chosen from the group consisting of: A-pillar, B-pillar, C-pillar, as disclosed on line 30 of column 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al. (8,986,849) in view of Mataigne et al. (US 2015/0292072).
Maki et al. does not disclose the waviness.
Mataigne et al. teaches forming a part with a waviness less than or equal to 0.37µm, as disclosed in paragraph [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the part of Maki et al. with a waviness below 0.35 µm, as taught by Mataigne et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to improve surface appearance and prevent the penalty of “orange peel” aspect.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al. (8,986,849) in view of Murakami et al. (2015/0007911).
Maki et al. does not disclose the claimed microstructure.
Murakami et al. teaches forming an automobile component with a microstructure after press hardening of at least 95% martensite, as disclosed in paragraphs [0064] and [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the microstructure of the at least one semi-visible part of Maki et al. after press hardening comprising of at least 95% martensite, as taught by Murakami et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to produce a part that is of high strength and rich in ductility.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al. (8,986,849) in view of Murakami et al. (2015/0013856).
Maki et al. does not disclose the claimed microstructure.
Murakami et al. teaches forming an automobile component with a microstructure after press hardening of at least 50% martensite and less than 40% of bainite, as disclosed as #13 of Table 5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the microstructure of the at least one semi-visible part of Maki et al. after press hardening comprising of at least 50% martensite and less than 40% of bainite, as taught by Murakami et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to produce a part that is of high strength and rich in ductility.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al. (8,986,849) in view of CA 3022671.
Maki et al. does not disclose the claimed microstructure.
CA 3022671 discloses forming the microstructure of a steel automotive vehicle structure after press hardening comprising 5 to 20% martensite, up to 10% bainite, and at least 75% equiaxed ferrite, as disclosed on lines 27-30 of page 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the microstructure of the at least one semi-visible part of Maki et al. after press hardening comprising 5 to 20% martensite, up to 10% bainite, and at least 75% equiaxed ferrite, as taught by CA 3022671, with a reasonable expectation for success to produce a part that is lightweight and high strength, yet has good drawability during manufacturing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Singh (US 2019/0106155) discloses another pillar structure with a microstructure of ferrite, bainite, and martensite.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 September 24, 2026