DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, “measuring a yaw angle” should be changed to “measuring the yaw angle”
Claim 7, “deviation of a yaw angle” should be changed to “deviation of the yaw angle”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Atzler (US 2015/0132129).
Regarding claim 1, Atzler discloses a method of controlling a wind turbine (abstract), the wind turbine comprising:
a tower (110 of Figure 2); and a rotor-nacelle-assembly (RNA) comprising a rotor (130 of Figure 2) and a nacelle (120 of Figure 2), the rotor comprising one or more blades (140 of Figure 2), the method comprising:
obtaining tilt angle data indicative of a tilt angle of the RNA (Para. 0010, via sensors);
obtaining yaw angle data indicative of a yaw angle of the RNA (Para. 0010, via sensors);
obtaining a thrust of the rotor (Para. 0010, via sensors);
determining tilt moment data based on the tilt angle data and the thrust (Para. 0010-0011, 0015, 0044), wherein the tilt moment data is indicative of a tilt moment acting on the rotor about a tilt axis (150 of Figure 2);
determining yaw moment data based on the yaw angle data (Para. 0010, 0012, 0015, 0044), wherein the yaw moment data is indicative of a yaw moment acting on the rotor about a yaw axis (160 of Figure 2); and
controlling a pitch angle of one or more of the blades based on the tilt moment data and the yaw moment data (Para. 0009, 0015).
Regarding claim 7, Atzler discloses wherein the yaw angle data (Para. 0010, 0012, 0015, 0044) is obtained by measuring a reference yaw angle of the RNA, and then measuring deviation of a yaw angle of the RNA from the reference yaw angle (Para. 0017).
Regarding claim 8, Atzler discloses wherein the rotor (130 of Figure 2) rotates at a rotor frequency, and the pitch angle varies at a frequency of once-per-revolution (1P) of the rotor (Para. 0007-0008, 0013-0014).
Regarding claim 9, Atzler discloses a wind turbine (100 of Figure 2) comprising: a tower (110 of Figure 2); a rotor-nacelle-assembly (RNA) comprising a rotor (130 of Figure 2) and a nacelle (120 of Figure 2), the rotor comprising one or more blades (140 of Figure 2); and a control system configured to control the wind turbine according to an operation, comprising:
obtaining tilt angle data indicative of a tilt angle of the RNA (Para. 0010, via sensors);
obtaining yaw angle data indicative of a yaw angle of the RNA (Para. 0010, via sensors);
obtaining a thrust of the rotor (Para. 0010, via sensors);
determining tilt moment data based on the tilt angle data and the thrust (Para. 0010-0011, 0015, 0044), wherein the tilt moment data is indicative of a tilt moment acting on the rotor about a tilt axis (150 of Figure 2);
determining yaw moment data based on the yaw angle data (Para. 0010, 0012, 0015, 0044), wherein the yaw moment data is indicative of a yaw moment acting on the rotor about a yaw axis (160 of Figure 2); and
controlling a pitch angle of one or more of the blades based on the tilt moment data and the yaw moment data (Para. 0009, 0015).
Regarding claim 10, Atzler discloses wherein the control system comprises one or more sensors configured to generate measurement data, wherein the control system is configured to obtain the tilt angle data and the yaw angle data on the basis of the measurement data (Para. 0010-0012, 0015, 0044).
Regarding claim 11, Atzler discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise an inclinometer carried by the RNA (Para. 0010, accelerometers can be used as an inclinometer).
Regarding claim 12, Atzler discloses wherein the inclinometer comprises an accelerometer (Para. 0010).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atzler (US 2015/0132129), in view of Thomsen (US 2021/0231102).
Regarding claim 2, Atzler discloses wherein the tilt angle data and/or the yaw angle data is obtained by obtaining measurement data and applying a [first filter] (210 of Figure 5; Para. 0047) and a [second] filter (211 of Figure 5; Para. 0047) to the measurement data for selecting 0P and 3P content respectively.
Atzler does not explicitly disclose applying a low-pass and a band-pass filter.
Thomsen discloses applying a low-pass and a band-pass filter (Para. 0048, anti-aliasing filter operates as a low-pass filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use a low-pass and a band-pass filter in the method of Atzler, as taught by Thomsen, to remove any high frequency content which is not needed for further use and to provide a control system which can instruct a pitch actuator in a manner that assists in reducing vibrations of elements of the wind turbine [Thomsen: Para. 0007, 0048].
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atzler (US 2015/0132129), in view of Becker (US 2010/0209247).
Regarding claim 3, Atzler discloses wherein obtaining the tilt angle data (Para. 0010, via sensors) comprises measuring an inclination of the RNA relative to gravity and determining the tilt angle data on the basis of the measured inclination of the RNA.
Atzler does not explicitly disclose an inclinometer.
Becker discloses an inclinometer (30A, 30B, 31A, 31B of Figure 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have one of the sensors in the method and wind turbine of Atzler be an inclinometer, as taught by Becker, to implement a state-monitoring of the rotor blades of a wind turbine as reliably as possible [Becker: Para. 0017].
Regarding claim 4, Atzler discloses wherein the inclinometer is carried by the RNA (Para. 0010, accelerometers can be used as an inclinometer).
Regarding claim 5, Atzler discloses wherein the inclinometer comprises an accelerometer (Para. 0010).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atzler (US 2015/0132129), in view of Dapino (US 2025/0180596).
Regarding claim 6, 13, Atzler discloses wherein obtaining the yaw angle data (Para. 0010, 0012, 0015, 0044) comprises measuring a yaw angle of the RNA with a [sensor] mounted on the RNA (claim 6);
wherein the one or more sensors (Para. 0010) carried by the RNA (claim 13).
Atzler does not explicitly disclose a magnetometer.
Dapino discloses a magnetometer (160 of Figure 1-2; Para. 0030, 0044-0045).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have one of the sensors in the method and wind turbine of Atzler be a magnetometer, as taught by Dapino, to optimize the performance of wind turbines and it consumes relatively low power (less than 0.1 mW) and has a low operating voltage, making it suitable for powering via energy harvesters [Dapino: Para. 0027, 0030].
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Bot (US 2022/0213870), Hammerum (US 2015/0167646), Wittrisch (US 2013/0302139), Huang (US 2010/0133827) disclose a wind turbine and method for controlling a wind turbine using sensors like inclinometers and accelerometers.
Fostad (US 2025/0244496) discloses using a magnetometer with a wind turbine.
Schwack (US 2025/0305481), Bonding (US 2017/0152835), Alberts (US 2025/0146471), Hammerum (US 2014/0015251), Egedal (US 2009/0047130) disclose controlling a wind turbine comprising accelerometers.
Kanev (US 2011/0229300) discloses a method of controlling a wind turbine using a low-pass filter.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834