DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “a wall thickness of the valve lip portion” is unclear and indefinite. Claim 1, from which claim 13 depends upon, already claims a wall thickness of the valve lip portion. Therefore, it is unclear and indefinite whether “a wall thickness” in claim 13 is the same wall thickness or a different wall thickness from claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation will be read as the same wall thickness.
Further regarding claim 13, the limitation “an outer contour of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion; a wall thickness of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion” is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite how the contour and thickness of the lip portion gradually decrease towards itself.
Claim 15 recites the limitations “the bottom” in line 2 and "the valve disc” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “the bottom” in line 2 and "the valve disc” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 14, and 15, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 104224553.
Annotated Figure 2 from CN 104224553.
Regarding claim 1, CN 104224553 discloses:
An air-return valve (1-3) for mounting on a container, the air-return valve (1-3) comprising:
a valve body (1-3) and an air path formed along an axial direction of the valve body 1-3 (see translation pages 1 and 2)
the valve body (1-3) comprising a valve lip portion (3) and a valve body portion 1, 2 (see translation pages 1 and 2; see Figure 2)
wherein the valve lip portion (3) is positioned above the valve body portion 1, 2 see translation pages 1 and 2; see Figure 2
the valve lip portion (3) is a boss enclosed with a diaphragm (see translation pages 1 and 2; see Figure 2)
a wall thickness of the valve lip portion (3) is less than that of the valve body portion 1, 2 (see translation pages 1 and 2; see Figure 2)
the air path passes through the valve body portion 1, 2 (see translation pages 1 and 2; see Figure 2)
the valve lip portion (3) is provided with an air gap (7) thereon connected to the air path (see translation pages 1 and 2; see Figure 2)
the air gap (7) is closed when interior of the container is under a non-negative pressure and is opened when the interior of the container is under the negative pressure (see translation pages 1 and 2; see Figure 2)
Regarding claim 6, CN 104224553 discloses:
the valve body portion (1, 2) includes a valve head (see annotated figure above) and a valve neck (see annotated figure above), and the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is positioned below the valve head (see annotated figure above)
the valve head (see annotated figure above) is used to carry the valve lip portion (3), and the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is used to fit into a mounting hole on the container wall (see translation pages 1 and 2)
the valve body portion (1, 2) further includes a support body 4 (see translation pages 1 and 2)
the support body (4) is in the form of cylindrical shape and is used to support the valve neck (see annotated figure above), and an axis of the support body (4) coincides with that of the valve neck (see annotated figure above; see translation pages 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 7, CN 104224553 discloses:
the support body (4) is integrally formed with the valve body 1-3 (see Figure 2)
the support body (4) is wrapped inside the valve neck (see annotated figure above), an outer diameter of the support body (4) is smaller than that of the valve neck (see annotated figure above), and an inner diameter of the support body (4) is larger than diameter of the air path (see Figure 2)
or
the support body (4) is positioned in the air path, and its outer peripheral surface fits with the valve neck (see annotated figure above; see Figure 2)
the outer diameter of the support body (4) is larger than diameter of an air inlet of the air path, and an inner diameter of the support body (4) is not larger than the diameter of the air inlet of the air path (see Figure 2)
Regarding claim 8, CN 104224553 discloses:
the support body (4) is positioned in the air path, and the support body (4) is a thickened ring for increasing wall thickness of the valve neck (see annotated figure above)
inner diameter of the support body (4) is not larger than diameter of an air inlet of the air path (see Figure 2)
Regarding claim 14, CN 104224553 discloses:
An air-return container, comprising:
a container body, and the air-return valve (1-3) according to claim 1 (see rejection above)
wherein a mounting hole is provided on the container body, and the air-return valve (1-3) is interference-fitted with the mounting hole (see translation pages 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 15, CN 104224553 discloses:
the mounting hole is positioned at a bottom of the container body, and the bottom of the container body is provided with an inwardly concave surface (see translation pages 1-2)
an outer contour area of a valve disc (see annotated figure above) of the air-return valve (1-3) is smaller than an area of the inwardly concave surface of the container body (see translation pages 1-2)
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 11, and 14-17, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 213431774.
Annotated Figure 2 from CN 213431774.
Annotated Figure 2 from CN 213431774.
Regarding claim 1, CN 213431774 discloses:
An air-return valve (52) for mounting on a container (1), the air-return valve (52) comprising:
a valve body (52) and an air path (see annotated figure above) formed along an axial direction of the valve body (52)
the valve body (52) comprising a valve lip portion (see annotated figure above) and a valve body portion (see head, neck, disc in annotated figure above)
wherein the valve lip portion (see annotated figure above) is positioned above the valve body portion (see head, neck, disc in annotated figure above)
the valve lip portion (see annotated figure above) is a boss enclosed with a diaphragm
a wall thickness of the valve lip portion (see annotated figure above) is less than that of the valve body portion (see head, neck, disc in annotated figure above; see Figure 2)
the air path passes through the valve body portion (see head, neck, disc in annotated figure above)
the valve lip portion (see annotated figure above) is provided with an air gap thereon connected to the air path (see annotated figure above)
the air gap is closed when interior of the container is under a non-negative pressure and is opened when the interior of the container is under the negative pressure
Regarding claim 5, CN 213431774 discloses:
the valve body portion (see head, neck, disc in annotated figure above) includes a valve head (see annotated figure above) and a valve neck (see annotated figure above), and the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is positioned below the valve head (see annotated figure above)
the valve head (see annotated figure above) is used to carry the valve lip portion (see annotated figure above), and the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is used to fit into a mounting hole on a container (1) wall (see Figure 2)
an outer contour area of the valve head (see annotated figure above) is larger than that of the valve neck (see annotated figure above) when projected along the axial direction of the valve body 52
a first rounded corner (see annotated figure above) is provided at outer peripheral edge of top of the valve head (see annotated figure above)
Regarding claim 9, CN 213431774 discloses:
the valve body (52) further includes a valve disc (see annotated figure above), and the valve disc (see annotated figure above) is positioned below the valve neck (see annotated figure above)
an outer contour area of the valve disc (see annotated figure above) is larger than that of the valve neck (see annotated figure above) when projected along the axial direction of the valve body
Regarding claim 11, CN 213431774 discloses:
at an interface of the valve neck (see annotated figure above) and the valve head (see annotated figure above), the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is provided with a second rounded corner (see annotated figure above), and the second rounded corner (see annotated figure above) is used to be fitted with an inner edge of a mounting hole on a container wall (see Figure 2)
at an interface of the valve neck (see annotated figure above) and the valve disc (see annotated figure above), the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is provided with a third rounded corner (see annotated figure above), and the third rounded corner (see annotated figure above) is used to be fitted with an outer edge of a mounting hole on a container wall
a periphery of the bottom surface of the valve disc (see annotated figure above) is provided with a fourth rounded corner (see annotated figure above)
a periphery of top surface of the valve disc (see annotated figure above) is provided with a second edge (see annotated figure above)
Regarding claim 14, CN 213431774 discloses:
An air-return container, comprising:
a container body (1), and the air-return valve (52) according to claim 1 (see rejection above)
wherein a mounting hole is provided on the container body (1), and the air-return valve (52) is interference-fitted with the mounting hole (see Figure 2)
Regarding claim 15, CN 213431774 discloses:
the mounting hole is positioned at a bottom of the container body (1), and the bottom of the container body (1) is provided with an inwardly concave surface (see Figure 2)
an outer contour area of a valve disc (see annotated figure above) of the air-return valve (52) is smaller than an area of the inwardly concave surface of the container body 1 (see Figure 2)
Regarding claim 16, CN 213431774 discloses:
An air-return container, comprising:
a container body (1), and the air-return valve according to claim 5 (see rejection above)
wherein a mounting hole is provided on the container body (1), and the air-return valve (52) is interference-fitted with the mounting hole (see Figure 2)
Regarding claim 17, CN 213431774 discloses:
the mounting hole is positioned at a bottom of the container body (1), and the bottom of the container body (1) is provided with an inwardly concave surface (see Figure 2)
an outer contour area of a valve disc (see annotated figure above) of the air-return valve (52) is smaller than an area of the inwardly concave surface of the container body 1 (see Figure 2)
Claim(s) 1-4, 14, and 15, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TW M414234.
Annotated Figure 6B from TW M414234.
Regarding claim 1, TW M414234 discloses:
An air-return valve (40) for mounting on a container (30), the air-return valve (40) comprising:
a valve body (41, 42) and an air path formed along an axial direction of the valve body 41, 42 (see translation pages 5 and 6)
the valve body (41, 42) comprising a valve lip portion (42) and a valve body portion 41 (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
wherein the valve lip portion (42) is positioned above the valve body portion 41 (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
the valve lip portion (42) is a boss enclosed with a diaphragm 421 (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
a wall thickness of the valve lip portion (42) is less than that of the valve body portion 41 (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
the air path passes through the valve body portion 41 (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
the valve lip portion (42) is provided with an air gap (423) thereon connected to the air path (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
the air gap (423) is closed when interior of the container (30) is under a non-negative pressure and is opened when the interior of the container (30) is under the negative pressure (see translation page 7; see Figure 7)
Regarding claim 2, TW M414234 discloses:
a lower concave surface (see annotated figure above) is provided on top surface of the valve body portion (41), and the valve lip portion (42) is positioned on the lower concave surface (see annotated figure above)
Regarding claim 3, TW M414234 discloses:
the lower concave surface (see annotated figure above) rises smoothly at periphery, until it reaches and connects with the top surface of the valve body portion 41 (see Figure 6B)
Regarding claim 4, TW M414234 discloses:
the air gap (423) is in a straight linear shape and is opened at top of the valve lip portion (42) and is positioned on a symmetric plane of the valve lip portion 42 (see translation page 6)
Regarding claim 14, TW M414234 discloses:
An air-return container, comprising:
a container body (30), and the air-return valve (40) according to claim 1 (see rejection above)
wherein a mounting hole (32) is provided on the container body (30), and the air-return valve (40) is interference-fitted with the mounting hole 32 (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
Regarding claim 15, TW M414234 discloses:
the mounting hole (32) is positioned at a bottom of the container body (30), and the bottom of the container body (30) is provided with an inwardly concave surface 33 (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
an outer contour area of a valve disc (412) of the air-return valve (40) is smaller than an area of the inwardly concave surface (33) of the container body 30 (see translation pages 5 and 6; see Figure 6B)
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Fong (U.S. 2011/0180508.
Annotated Figure 2 from Fong.
Regarding claim 1, Fong discloses:
An air-return valve (124) for mounting on a container (1), the air-return valve (40) comprising:
a valve body (121, 123, 124) and an air path (125) formed along an axial direction of the valve body 121, 123, 124 (see paragraph 0023; see Figure 2)
the valve body (121, 123, 124) comprising a valve lip portion (1281) and a valve body portion (see annotated figure above)
wherein the valve lip portion (124) is positioned above the valve body portion (see annotated figure above)
the valve lip portion (124) is a boss enclosed with a diaphragm 128 (see paragraph 0023)
a wall thickness of the valve lip portion (124) is less than that of the valve body portion (see annotated figure above)
the air path (125) passes through the valve body portion (see annotated figure above)
the valve lip portion (124) is provided with an air gap (127) thereon connected to the air path 125 (see paragraph 0023)
the air gap (127) is closed when interior of the container (1) is under a non-negative pressure and is opened when the interior of the container (1) is under the negative pressure (see paragraph 0023)
Regarding claim 5, Fong discloses:
the valve body portion (see annotated figure above) includes a valve head (see annotated figure above) and a valve neck (see annotated figure above), and the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is positioned below the valve head (see annotated figure above)
the valve head (see annotated figure above) is used to carry the valve lip portion (124), and the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is used to fit into a mounting hole (122) on a container wall (see Figure 2)
an outer contour area of the valve head (see annotated figure above) is larger than that of the valve neck (see annotated figure above) when projected along the axial direction of the valve body 121, 123, 124
a first rounded corner (see annotated figure above) is provided at outer peripheral edge of top of the valve head (see annotated figure above)
Regarding claim 9, Fong discloses:
the valve body (121, 123, 124) further includes a valve disc (see annotated figure above), and the valve disc (see annotated figure above) is positioned below the valve neck (see annotated figure above)
an outer contour area of the valve disc (see annotated figure above) is larger than that of the valve neck (see annotated figure above) when projected along the axial direction of the valve body 121, 123, 124 (see Figure 2)
Regarding claim 12, Fong discloses:
the valve body portion (see annotated figure above) and the valve lip portion (124) are both cylinders (see Figure 2)
when projected along the axial direction of the valve body (121, 123, 124), an outer contour of the valve body portion (see annotated figure above) is circular, and an outer contour of the valve lip portion (124) is in form of oblong (see Figure 1)
the valve lip portion (124) is positioned on a symmetric plane of the valve body portion (see annotated figure above)
the air gap (127) is positioned on a symmetric plane of the valve lip portion (124) along the length direction
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213431774 in view of JP S4813384.
Regarding claims 6-8 CN 213431774 discloses the invention as essentially claimed and further discloses the valve body portion (see head, neck, disc in annotated figure above) includes a valve head (see annotated figure above) and a valve neck (see annotated figure above), and the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is positioned below the valve head (see annotated figure above); the valve head (see annotated figure above) is used to carry the valve lip portion (see annotated figure above), and the valve neck (see annotated figure above) is used to fit into a mounting hole on the container (1) wall.
CN 213431774 fails to disclose the valve body portion further includes a support body; the support body is in the form of cylindrical shape and is used to support the valve neck, and an axis of the support body coincides with that of the valve neck; the support body is integrally formed with the valve body; the support body is wrapped inside the valve neck, an outer diameter of the support body is smaller than that of the valve neck, and an inner diameter of the support body is larger than diameter of the air path; the support body (is positioned in the air path, and the support body is a thickened ring for increasing wall thickness of the valve neck; inner diameter of the support body is not larger than diameter of an air inlet of the air path.
JP S4813384 teaches an air-return valve (1) wherein a valve body portion further includes a support body 2; the support body (2) is in the form of cylindrical shape and is used to support a valve neck (3), and an axis of the support body (2) coincides with that of the valve neck 3 (see Figure 2); the support body (2) is integrally formed with the valve body 3; the support body (2) is wrapped inside the valve neck (3), an outer diameter of the support body (2) is smaller than that of the valve neck (3), and an inner diameter of the support body (2) is larger than diameter of the air path 6 (see Figure 2); the support body (2) is positioned in the air path (6), and the support body (2) is a thickened ring for increasing wall thickness of the valve neck 3; inner diameter of the support body (2) is not larger than diameter of an air inlet (11) of the air path 6 (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified CN 213431774 to provide the valve body portion further includes a support body; the support body is in the form of cylindrical shape and is used to support the valve neck, and an axis of the support body coincides with that of the valve neck; the support body is integrally formed with the valve body; the support body is wrapped inside the valve neck, an outer diameter of the support body is smaller than that of the valve neck, and an inner diameter of the support body is larger than diameter of the air path; the support body (is positioned in the air path, and the support body is a thickened ring for increasing wall thickness of the valve neck; inner diameter of the support body is not larger than diameter of an air inlet of the air path, as taught by JP S4813384. Doing so would prevent warping/collapsing of the valve neck.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213431774 in view of CN 108814986.
Regarding claim 13, CN 213431774 discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose an outer contour of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion; a wall thickness of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion.
CN 108814986 teaches an air-return valve wherein an outer contour of a valve lip portion (133, 134) gradually decreases along the direction from a valve body portion (132) to the valve lip portion 133, 134 (see Figure 2); a wall thickness of the valve lip portion (133, 134) gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion (132) to the valve lip portion 133, 134 (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified CN 213431774 to provide an outer contour of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion; a wall thickness of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion, as taught by CN 108814986. Doing so would lower the force needed to open the valve.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fong in view of CN 108814986.
Regarding claim 13, Fong discloses the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to disclose an outer contour of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion; a wall thickness of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion.
CN 108814986 teaches an air-return valve wherein an outer contour of a valve lip portion (133, 134) gradually decreases along the direction from a valve body portion (132) to the valve lip portion 133, 134 (see Figure 2); a wall thickness of the valve lip portion (133, 134) gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion (132) to the valve lip portion 133, 134 (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified Fong to provide an outer contour of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion; a wall thickness of the valve lip portion gradually decreases along the direction from the valve body portion to the valve lip portion, as taught by CN 108814986. Doing so would lower the force needed to open the valve.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753