DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10, 14, 16-17, 20-21, 29-30, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “inserting a mechanical limb into a body of a subject through the incision, where the mechanical limb comprises a linear portion, at least part of which extends outside the body…” (emphasis added by Examiner). It is unclear whether the phrase “at least part of which” refers back to the linear portion only or to the mechanical limb as a whole, therefore rendering the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, it will presume to refer to the linear portion.
Claims 2, 4-7, 10, 14, 16-17, 20-21, 29-30, and 33-37 are indefinite by virtue of their dependency on indefinite base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 10, 14, 16-17, 20-21, 29-30, and 33-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0312357 A1 to Levin et al. (hereinafter “Levin”) in view of US 2002/0032456 A1 to Jervis (hereinafter “Jervis”).
Regarding claim 1, Levin discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1A-2I, 15A-16C; and [0004]-[0005] & [0172]-[0299]) a method of conducting abdominal surgery in a surgical zone (see at least [0174] and [0213]) the method comprising: creating an incision (see [0005]/[0209]); inserting a mechanical limb (101/102, Figs. 15A-D) into a body of a subject through the incision (see [0209]), where the mechanical limb comprises a linear portion (1501 + 102, Figs. 15A-D), at least part (102) of which extends outside the body (see [0209]), and a tool (104) coupled to a distal end of the mechanical limb (see Figs. 15A-D); manipulating the mechanical limb within the body so that the tool contacts the abdominal target site (see [0282]-[0295]); and using the tool, conducting the abdominal surgery within the surgical zone (see [0282]-[0295]).
Levin further discloses (claim 4) wherein the mechanical limb comprises an articulated mechanical limb, further including at least one flexible portion (1502) disposed between the linear portion and the tool (see Figs. 15A-D and [0282]-[0292]); (claim 5) wherein the manipulating comprises bending the articulated mechanical limb within the body at the at least one flexible region so that the tool contacts the surgical zone (see Figs. 15A-D and [0282]-[0292]); (claim 6) wherein the bending comprises bending the articulated mechanical limb such that a sum of angles between adjacent effective segment longitudinal axes, in at least one three dimensionally oriented plane, is greater than 90O (see Fig. 15D and [0292]); (claim 10) wherein the bending of the articulated mechanical limb is to contact the surgical zone from an access direction where the access direction is different by at least 90O from a direction of entry of the articulated mechanical limb into the body (see Figs. 15A-D and [0282]-[0292]); (claim 14) wherein the inserting comprises inserting the at least one flexible portion into the body, while maintaining at least a majority of the linear portion outside of the body (see Figs. 15A-D and [0282]-[0292]); (claim 16) wherein the manipulating comprises repairing a hernia with the tool of the mechanical limb (see [0204] & [0209]); (claim 17) wherein the repairing of the hernia comprises moving displaced tissue of the hernia body through a second tissue (see [0004] & [0209]-[0216]); (claim 20) wherein the hernia is an inguinal hernia, and the surgical zone is the inguinal triangle (see [0204] & [0209]); (claim 21) wherein the hernia is a ventral hernia, and the surgical zone is a surface of the abdominal wall (see [0204] & [0209]); (claim 30) wherein the repairing comprises holding a portion of body tissue away from the surgical zone (see [0004] & [0209]-[0216]); (claim 34) wherein a ratio between a length of the mechanical limb disposed outside the body and a length of the mechanical limb disposed within the body, measured as a sum of lengths of longitudinal axes of portions of the mechanical limb within the body, is in the range of 1:2 - 1:4 (see Figs. 16A-C and [0293]-[0295]); (claim 35) wherein a ratio between a length of portions of the mechanical limb disposed outside the body and a length of portions of the mechanical limb disposed within the body, measured as a sum of lengths of longitudinal axes of portions of the mechanical limb within the body, is at least 1:2 or at least 1:3 (see Figs. 16A-C and [0293]-[0295]); (claim 36) wherein the inserting comprises, in order: placing a trocar (114) in the incision, while the trocar is in a first angular orientation relative to abdominal tissue including the incision; inserting the mechanical limb through the trocar to a first extent while the trocar is in the first angular orientation, such that a first segment of the mechanical limb is disposed within the body; changing an angular orientation of the trocar, together with the mechanical limb, relative to the abdominal tissue; and inserting the mechanical limb through the trocar to a second extent while the trocar is in the second angular orientation, such that the first segment and an additional second segment of the mechanical limb are disposed within the body (see Figs. 15A-16C and [0282]-[0295]); and (claim 37) wherein the first angular orientation is substantially perpendicular to the abdominal tissue, and the second angular orientation is at an acute angle relative to the abdominal tissue (see Figs. 15A-16C and [0282]-[0295]).
Regarding claim 1, Levin fails to specifically disclose where the step of creating an incision is at a sub-Pfannenstiel region of the abdomen, and with respect to claim 2, wherein the creating of the incision comprises creating the incision in close proximity to the pubic bone, below the Pfannenstiel line. Note that Levin discloses that the method is for repairing a hernia defect (see [0209]).
Jervis discloses, in the same field of endeavor, a method of conducting abdominal surgery in a surgical zone to repair a hernia (see at least [0015]), wherein an incision (12) is created at a sub-Pfannenstiel region of the abdomen in close proximity to the pubic bone, below the Pfannenstiel line (11) (see Fig. 9 and [0029]-[0033]) for the purpose of accessing the hernial space in females who have scarring such as a Pfannenstiel scar which can make access difficult by accessing the hernial space via an inferior incision to the Pfannenstiel line (see [0029]-[0032]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Levin's method by creating the incision at the sub-Pfannenstiel region as taught by Jervis in order to access the hernial space in females who have scarring such as a Pfannenstiel scar which can make access difficult by accessing the hernial space via an inferior incision to the Pfannenstiel line.
Regarding claim 7, the proposed combination of Levin and Jervis, as discussed above for the reasons set forth above, would further disclose wherein the bending comprises bending around the pubic bone of the body (see [0029]-[0033] of Jervis and [0282]-[0295] of Levin, in the proposed combination, the bending of Levin at the incision of Jervis would result in bending around the pubic bone to access the hernial space as appropriate).
Regarding claims 29 and 33, the combination of Levin and Jervis discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above, however, the combination fails to specifically disclose wherein a length of the incision is in the range of 1cm to 5cm, 2cm to 5cm, 1cm to 4cm, 2cm to 4cm, 1cm to 3cm, or 2cm to 3cm, and wherein a shortest distance between the incision and the surgical zone, measured along a wall of the body, is less than 10cm (though the combination suggests that the incision is outside of the surgical zone based on Fig. 9 of Jervis and [0209] of Levin). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of being obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1395- 97(2007)), to obtain the predictable result of determining the optimal incision length to accommodate the diameter of the mechanical limb and/or trocar, given that there are a finite number of incision lengths which would minimize the invasiveness to the patient while also suitably accommodating the mechanical limb and/or trocar, and further, depending on the anatomy of the patient, patient's body size and proportions, and exact location of hernial defect, there would be a finite number of shortest distances between the incision and the surgical zone.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 Notice of references cited disclosing surgical procedures comprising making incisions near the Pfannenstiel line or pubic bone area as well as articulating hernia treatment devices.
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771