DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozawa US-20090036264-A1, Vilar US-20210316713-A1, Bryant US-20160036365-A1, and Yao CN-104175896-A in view of Engineer US-20120032441-A1.
1. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 discloses
A gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of a truck crane, comprising an engine, **** controller, a power battery, a battery management system (BMS) used for controlling charge and discharge of the power battery and detecting a state of charge of the power battery [0032], and a range extending mechanism (i.e. boom, arm, bucket, stick, work device);
(Tozawa [0002-3] The present invention relates to a work machine provided with a hybrid drive system… A driving system for a work machine, such as a hydraulic excavator, may include a hybrid drive system that has an electric generator, which is adapted to be driven by an engine, and an electric power storage device for storing electric power generated by the generator. A hydraulic actuator control circuit for a boom cylinder, a stick cylinder, and a bucket cylinder, etc. includes an electric motor or a motor generator, as well as a pump or a pump motor to be driven by the electric motor or the motor generator.
(Tozawa [0032] An electric power storage device 23, which may be a battery, a capacitor, or the like, is connected to the motor generator controller 22c through an electric power storage device controller 23c, which may be a converter or the like. The electric power storage device 23 serves to store electric power fed from the motor generator 22 functioning as a generator, as well as feed electric power to the motor generator 22 functioning as a motor.)
(Tozawa [0037] Speed of the engine 11, engagement/disengagement by the engine clutch 12, and speed change by the power transmission unit 14 are controlled based on signals output from a controller (not shown).)
Tozawa: FIG.1
Vilar US-20210316713-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…all in one controller (i.e. central controller);
(Vilar [0032] As schematically illustrated in FIG. 2, the work vehicle 100 includes a control system including a controller 210. The controller may be part of a central control system of the work vehicle, or it may be a separate control module. The controller may include one or more user interface devices as referenced above, and may optionally be mounted in the operator cab at a control panel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an all in one controller with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Vilar, for the benefit of providing a master controller to orient communication and operation of sub-systems.
the power battery is connected to the BMS, and the BMS is connected to the **** controller;
(Tozawa [0032] An electric power storage device 23, which may be a battery, a capacitor, or the like, is connected to the motor generator controller 22c through an electric power storage device controller 23c, which may be a converter or the like. The electric power storage device 23 serves to store electric power fed from the motor generator 22 functioning as a generator, as well as feed electric power to the motor generator 22 functioning as a motor.)
(Tozawa [0037] Speed of the engine 11, engagement/disengagement by the engine clutch 12, and speed change by the power transmission unit 14 are controlled based on signals output from a controller (not shown).)
(Tozawa [0092] The starter motor generator controller 18c and the motor generator controller 22c are connected to an electric power storage device 23, which may be a battery, a capacitor, or the like, through an electric power storage device controller 23c, which may be a converter or the like.)
Vilar US-20210316713-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…all in one controller (i.e. central controller);
(Vilar [0032] As schematically illustrated in FIG. 2, the work vehicle 100 includes a control system including a controller 210. The controller may be part of a central control system of the work vehicle, or it may be a separate control module. The controller may include one or more user interface devices as referenced above, and may optionally be mounted in the operator cab at a control panel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an all in one controller with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Vilar, for the benefit of providing a master controller to orient communication and operation of sub-systems.
the **** controller is connected **** to a first motor controller used for controlling operation of an upper body (i.e. upper structure 4, swing control circuit 28, swing motor generator controller 4), and the all-in-one controller is connected to a third motor controller used for controlling [0041] operation of outriggers on a lower body (ie. a lower structure adapted to be driven by a travel motor);
(Tozawa [claim.1] A work machine comprising: a lower structure adapted to be driven by a travel motor)
(Tozawa [0032] An electric power storage device 23, which may be a battery, a capacitor, or the like, is connected to the motor generator controller 22c through an electric power storage device controller 23c, which may be a converter or the like. The electric power storage device 23 serves to store electric power fed from the motor generator 22 functioning as a generator, as well as feed electric power to the motor generator 22 functioning as a motor.)
(Tozawa [0041] hydraulic actuator control circuit 25 includes a travel control circuit 36 and a work equipment control circuit 37.)
Vilar US-20210316713-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…all in one controller (i.e. central controller);
(Vilar [0032] As schematically illustrated in FIG. 2, the work vehicle 100 includes a control system including a controller 210. The controller may be part of a central control system of the work vehicle, or it may be a separate control module. The controller may include one or more user interface devices as referenced above, and may optionally be mounted in the operator cab at a control panel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an all in one controller with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Vilar, for the benefit of providing a master controller to orient communication and operation of sub-systems.
Bryant US-20160036365-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for …” is connected to a high-voltage slip ring of a central revolving body, the high-voltage slip ring of the central revolving body is connected to a first motor”;
(Bryant [0018] The (1) rechargeable battery, the source of power that connects to (2) an inductor, the coil that amplifies amperes that power the DC motor interconnects to a generator as a (4) dynamotor which is a power plant unit that connects to a (5) capacitor in which distributed power that connects to the (6) iron core power transformer provide the electromotive force (EMF) or voltage that connects to (7) the electromagnetic wound as the induction coil connects to the (8) variable resistor that controls the amount of current (amperes) to the magnetic field that that is connected to a power controller which connects to the (9) slip ring. An air gap between the rotor bar interacts with the electromagnetic induction which produces an output of magnetomotive force. (10) The electromagnetic rotor bar is the rotating force or an alternating current induction motor. The (14) flywheel is a lever that produces torque which is the rotating force or the amount of winding in the coil as the resistance produces the EMF's or voltage and the amount of turn in the loop as an inductance of amp's to interact in a magnetic field to generate the amount of watt-power output as the formula: voltage×amperage=wattage.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include connections to a high-voltage slip ring of a central revolving body, the high-voltage slip ring of the central revolving body and connected to a first motor with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Bryant, for the benefit of providing power and connections to system components.
****;
Yao CN-104175896-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…the range extending mechanism comprises an integrated starter generator (ISG) and a second motor controller used for controlling the ISG… the ISG is connected to the second motor controller, and the second motor controller;
(Yao [Abstract] whole-vehicle energy management controller for an internal-combustion generating extended-range electric vehicle. According to the whole-vehicle energy management controller, an MCU (microprogrammed control unit) detects and controls an ICE (internal combustion engine) through an ICE load adjusting circuit by the aid of a functional port of the MCU as well as detects and controls an ISG (integrated starter and generator) to work through an ISG rectifier and inverter circuit; charging and discharging states of a current storage battery and charging states of a driving motor and a controller of the driving motor are read through a storage battery SOC; a controller power supply adjusting circuit provides required working power supplies for all modules in the controller. By the aid of the whole-vehicle energy management controller, according to the SOC of the current storage battery and the demanded whole-vehicle driving power, the range extender can be started up and stopped, the output power and the operation condition of the range extender can be adjusted, and charging and discharging management of the storage battery can be coordinated, so that optimum control can be implemented on whole-vehicle energy management.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an integrated starter generator (ISG) and a second motor controller used for controlling the ISG with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yao, for the benefit of providing a secondary controller to orient communication, power, and operation of sub-systems.
Vilar US-20210316713-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…all in one controller (i.e. central controller);
(Vilar [0032] As schematically illustrated in FIG. 2, the work vehicle 100 includes a control system including a controller 210. The controller may be part of a central control system of the work vehicle, or it may be a separate control module. The controller may include one or more user interface devices as referenced above, and may optionally be mounted in the operator cab at a control panel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an all in one controller with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Vilar, for the benefit of providing a master controller to orient communication and operation of sub-systems.
****.
Engineer US-20120032441-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…an output end of a crankshaft of the engine is connected to the ISG, and an output end of the ISG is connected to a clutch of a truck crane;
(Engineer [0032] When the engine is to be started, the starter/alternator is configured and operated so as to function as a motor. In other words, the battery is electrically coupled to the starter/alternator so as to cause it and the flywheel to rotate. Such rotation of the flywheel causes the crankshaft to rotate, thereby creating conditions conducive to engine starting. After the engine is started, the starter/alternator is again configured so that it is thereafter operated as the alternator. Such an ISG also can be configured so as to create a hybrid engine so that the starter/generator can be used to provide additional power to the power train.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an output end of a crankshaft of the engine is connected to the ISG, and an output end of the ISG is connected to a clutch of a truck crane with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Engineer, for the benefit of providing a configuration so as to create a hybrid engine so that the starter/generator can be used to provide additional power to the power train [0008].
10. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 discloses
A crane, comprising the gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 1.
(Tozawa [0002-3] The present invention relates to a work machine provided with a hybrid drive system… A driving system for a work machine, such as a hydraulic excavator, may include a hybrid drive system that has an electric generator, which is adapted to be driven by an engine, and an electric power storage device for storing electric power generated by the generator. A hydraulic actuator control circuit for a boom cylinder, a stick cylinder, and a bucket cylinder, etc. includes an electric motor or a motor generator, as well as a pump or a pump motor to be driven by the electric motor or the motor generator.
(Tozawa [0032] An electric power storage device 23, which may be a battery, a capacitor, or the like, is connected to the motor generator controller 22c through an electric power storage device controller 23c, which may be a converter or the like. The electric power storage device 23 serves to store electric power fed from the motor generator 22 functioning as a generator, as well as feed electric power to the motor generator 22 functioning as a motor.)
(Tozawa [0037] Speed of the engine 11, engagement/disengagement by the engine clutch 12, and speed change by the power transmission unit 14 are controlled based on signals output from a controller (not shown).)
Tozawa: FIG.1
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozawa US-20090036264-A1, Vilar US-20210316713-A1, Bryant US-20160036365-A1, Yao CN-104175896-A and Engineer US-20120032441-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of DeDona US-20150097527-A1.
2. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 lacks
The gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 1,
wherein the all-in-one controller is connected to an on-board charger used for charging the power battery, and the on-board charger is provided with an external power input port.
DeDona US-20150097527-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…wherein the all-in-one controller is connected to an on-board charger used for charging the power battery, and the on-board charger is provided with an external power input port”;
(DeDona [0006, 0012] A method of charging an auxiliary battery that includes, in response to electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) being connected to a vehicle charge port to provide power to an on-board charger, operating, by at least one controller,...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include wherein a controller is connected to an on-board charger used for charging the power battery, and the on-board charger is provided with an external power input port with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by DeDona, for the benefit of providing the connection ports and control components necessary for charging a system via an external connection.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozawa US-20090036264-A1, Vilar US-20210316713-A1, Bryant US-20160036365-A1, Yao CN-104175896-A, Engineer US-20120032441-A1 and DeDona US-20150097527-A1 as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Field US-6044922-A.
3. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 lacks
The gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 2, wherein the engine has an operating condition, and the operating condition comprises a plug-in operating mode and a range-extended operating mode.
Field US-6044922-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…engine has an operating condition, and the operating condition comprises a plug-in operating mode and a range-extended operating mode”;
(Field [c.3 l.20] Prior hybrid propulsion systems were typically capable of operating in one or more of the following modes (but none were capable of operating in a choice of all of them): (1) a series hybrid, which is plugged in for recharge, and which uses the engine as a "range extender" when the electrical storage mechanism is depleted, and/or (2) a series hybrid which runs the engine in order to recharge its own electrical storage mechanism, typically via a generator/alternator, and/or (3) a parallel hybrid, which is plugged in for recharge, and which uses the engine and/or the electric motor either separately or in unison, depending upon conditions, circumstances, and the process controller, in order to directly power the vehicle, and/or (4) a parallel hybrid similar to the one described in (3), directly above, but which recharges its own electrical storage system via the engine and, typically, a generator/alternator (see U.S. Pat. No. 5,081,365). Each of these modes has its benefits and drawbacks, depending on circumstances, thus the industry is involved in debate over which system is the most promising.,...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an operating condition, and the operating condition comprises a plug-in operating mode and a range-extended operating mode with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Field, for the benefit of providing separate operating modes under conditions where power provided/available may differ.
4. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 lacks
The gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 3, wherein when the on-board charger is connected to an external power supply, the engine is in the plug-in operating mode and stops operating;
when the on-board charger is not connected to the external power supply, the engine is in the range-extended operating mode and drives the ISG to generate power.
Field US-6044922-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…when the on-board charger is connected to an external power supply, the engine is in the plug-in operating mode and stops operating… when the on-board charger is not connected to the external power supply, the engine is in the range-extended operating mode”;
(Field [c.3 l.20] Prior hybrid propulsion systems were typically capable of operating in one or more of the following modes (but none were capable of operating in a choice of all of them): (1) a series hybrid, which is plugged in for recharge, and which uses the engine as a "range extender" when the electrical storage mechanism is depleted, and/or (2) a series hybrid which runs the engine in order to recharge its own electrical storage mechanism, typically via a generator/alternator, and/or (3) a parallel hybrid, which is plugged in for recharge, and which uses the engine and/or the electric motor either separately or in unison, depending upon conditions, circumstances, and the process controller, in order to directly power the vehicle, and/or (4) a parallel hybrid similar to the one described in (3), directly above, but which recharges its own electrical storage system via the engine and, typically, a generator/alternator (see U.S. Pat. No. 5,081,365). Each of these modes has its benefits and drawbacks, depending on circumstances, thus the industry is involved in debate over which system is the most promising.,...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an operating condition, and the operating condition comprises a plug-in operating mode and a range-extended operating mode depending upon being plugged in with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Field, for the benefit of providing separate operating modes under conditions where power provided/available may differ.
Yao CN-104175896-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…operating mode and drives the ISG to generate power”;
(Yao [Abstract] whole-vehicle energy management controller for an internal-combustion generating extended-range electric vehicle. According to the whole-vehicle energy management controller, an MCU (microprogrammed control unit) detects and controls an ICE (internal combustion engine) through an ICE load adjusting circuit by the aid of a functional port of the MCU as well as detects and controls an ISG (integrated starter and generator) to work through an ISG rectifier and inverter circuit; charging and discharging states of a current storage battery and charging states of a driving motor and a controller of the driving motor are read through a storage battery SOC; a controller power supply adjusting circuit provides required working power supplies for all modules in the controller. By the aid of the whole-vehicle energy management controller, according to the SOC of the current storage battery and the demanded whole-vehicle driving power, the range extender can be started up and stopped, the output power and the operation condition of the range extender can be adjusted, and charging and discharging management of the storage battery can be coordinated, so that optimum control can be implemented on whole-vehicle energy management.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an operating mode and drives the ISG to generate power with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yao, for the benefit of providing power and operation of sub-systems.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozawa US-20090036264-A1, Vilar US-20210316713-A1, Bryant US-20160036365-A1, Yao CN-104175896-A and Engineer US-20120032441-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Matsubara US-6634447-B1.
5. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 lacks
The gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 1, wherein the engine has a starting condition, an idling condition and a traveling condition.
Matsubara US-6634447-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…wherein the engine has a starting condition, an idling condition and a traveling condition”;
(Matsubara [c.3 l.55] In the control mode of this hybrid vehicle, there are the "motor start-up mode" in which the start-up of the engine is carried out by the motor, the "idle stop mode" in which the engine is stopped under predetermined conditions, such as when the vehicle has stopped, an "idle mode" that maintains the engine in an idle state after fuel has been cut off, a "deceleration mode" in which regenerative operation is carried out by the motor, an "acceleration mode" in which the engine is provided an assist drive by the motor, and a "cruise mode" in which the motor is not operating and the car travels under the drive power of the engine.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include wherein the engine has a starting condition, an idling condition and a traveling condition with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Matsubara, for the benefit of defining separate operating conditions according to desired operational parameters and results.
6. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 discloses
The gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 5, ****, **** to work and drive the engine to start, and the clutch is in a disengaged state [0057].
(Tozawa [0057] Disengaging the engine clutch 12 enables the motor generator 22 to be run as an electric motor by the electric power stored in the electric power storage device 23, thereby operating the pumps 17A,17B in a still environment where the engine 11 is in a stopped state.)
(Tozawa [0069] A starter motor generator 18 is connected in series to the engine 11. The starter motor generator 18 is adapted to be driven by the engine 11 so as to function as a generator as well as receive electric power so as to function as an electric motor to start up the engine 11. A starter motor generator controller 18 c, which may be an inverter or the like, is connected to the starter motor generator 18.)
Matsubara US-6634447-B1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…wherein when the engine is in the starting condition”;
(Matsubara [c.3 l.55] In the control mode of this hybrid vehicle, there are the "motor start-up mode" in which the start-up of the engine is carried out by the motor, the "idle stop mode" in which the engine is stopped under predetermined conditions, such as when the vehicle has stopped, an "idle mode" that maintains the engine in an idle state after fuel has been cut off, a "deceleration mode" in which regenerative operation is carried out by the motor, an "acceleration mode" in which the engine is provided an assist drive by the motor, and a "cruise mode" in which the motor is not operating and the car travels under the drive power of the engine.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include wherein the engine has a starting condition, an idling condition and a traveling condition with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Matsubara, for the benefit of defining separate operating conditions according to desired operational parameters and results.
Yao CN-104175896-A discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…the power battery supplies power to the ISG, and the second motor controller controls the ISG;
(Yao [Abstract] whole-vehicle energy management controller for an internal-combustion generating extended-range electric vehicle. According to the whole-vehicle energy management controller, an MCU (microprogrammed control unit) detects and controls an ICE (internal combustion engine) through an ICE load adjusting circuit by the aid of a functional port of the MCU as well as detects and controls an ISG (integrated starter and generator) to work through an ISG rectifier and inverter circuit; charging and discharging states of a current storage battery and charging states of a driving motor and a controller of the driving motor are read through a storage battery SOC; a controller power supply adjusting circuit provides required working power supplies for all modules in the controller. By the aid of the whole-vehicle energy management controller, according to the SOC of the current storage battery and the demanded whole-vehicle driving power, the range extender can be started up and stopped, the output power and the operation condition of the range extender can be adjusted, and charging and discharging management of the storage battery can be coordinated, so that optimum control can be implemented on whole-vehicle energy management.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include an integrated starter generator (ISG) and a second motor controller used for controlling the ISG with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Yao, for the benefit of providing a secondary controller with power to orient communication, power, and operation of sub-systems.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozawa US-20090036264-A1, Vilar US-20210316713-A1, Bryant US-20160036365-A1, Yao CN-104175896-A, Engineer US-20120032441-A1, and Matsubara US-6634447-B1 as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Choi US-20160009271-A1.
7. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 lacks
The gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 5, wherein when the engine is in the idling condition, the state of charge of the power battery is low, and the second motor controller controls the ISG to charge the power battery; when the state of charge of the power battery is high, the ISG stops working, and the clutch is in a disengaged state.
Choi US-20160009271-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…when the engine is in the idling condition, the state of charge of the power battery is low, and the second motor controller controls the ISG (i.e. integrated starter and generator) to charge the power battery; when the state of charge of the power battery is high, the ISG stops working, and the clutch is in a disengaged state (i.e. no longer engaged during idle mode)”;
(Choi [0013] the hybrid electric vehicle is in a coasting state, and an SOC of a battery is less than or equal to an idle lock-up charge entering SOC, and the idle lock-up charge entering SOC is set based on the driving tendency level. In the idle lock-up charge control, an engine clutch may be maintained in an engaged state, and the battery may be charged through electric power generation of a motor and an integrated starter and generator.)
(Choi [0061] The idle lock-up charge control is used to charge the battery 50 using both of the motor 20 and the integrated starter and generator 60. When the idle lock-up charge entering condition is satisfied, the controller 100 may be configured to maintain the engine clutch 30 in an engaged state and charge the battery 50 through electric power generation of the motor 20 and the integrated starter and generator 60. As shown in FIG. 5, since the motor 20 and the integrated starter and generator 60 generate the electric power using both of the power of the engine 10 and the torque of the wheel 80, charge efficiency may be more improved than the idle charge control in which only the integrated starter and generator 60 is used. Therefore, even when the vehicle is driven under a severe condition in which acceleration or deceleration is frequently generated, the SOC of the battery 50 may be maintained in a normal range.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include when the engine is in the idling condition, the state of charge of the power battery is low, and the second motor controller controls the ISG (i.e. integrated starter and generator) to charge the power battery; when the state of charge of the power battery is high, the ISG stops working, and the clutch is in a disengaged state with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of ensuring a battery is charged during predetermined when a battery is low.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozawa US-20090036264-A1, Vilar US-20210316713-A1, Bryant US-20160036365-A1, Yao CN-104175896-A, Engineer US-20120032441-A1, and Matsubara US-6634447-B1 as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of YANASE US 20200192369 A1.
8. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 discloses
The gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 5, wherein when the engine is in the traveling condition, the second motor controller controls the ISG to output a positive or negative torque, and the clutch is in an engaged state.
YANASE US 20200192369 A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…wherein when the engine is in the traveling condition, the second motor controller controls the ISG to output a positive or negative torque, and the clutch is in an engaged state”;
(YANASE [0049] The travel mode setting section 24 determines whether the requested travel mode may be set as the travel mode to be executed (step S4). The details of the process performed by the travel mode setting section 24 will be described later with reference to FIG. 5. After step S4, control is performed according to the to-be-executed travel mode set by the travel mode setting section 24; that is, the clutch control section 25 controls the clutch actuator 6 (step S5), the engine start/stop command section 26 controls the ISG 11 (step S6), the torque allocation section 27 determines the target motor torque and the target engine torque (step S7), and the engine control section 29 and the motor control section 28 control the engine 2 and the electric motor 3, respectively (steps S8 and S9). Specifically, along with the travel mode transition, the engine 2 is started or stopped (step S10), the clutch 5 is disengaged or engaged (step S11), the engine 2 is brought into operation (step S12), and the electric motor 3 is brought into operation (step S13). For convenience of illustration, steps S5 to S13 are shown in a serial order. However, the order in which steps S5 to S13 are performed is not particularly limited, and these steps may be performed in any order suitable for the situation and needs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include wherein when the engine is in the traveling condition, the second motor controller controls the ISG to output a positive or negative torque, and the clutch is in an engaged state with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by YANASE, for the benefit of providing motion control.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tozawa US-20090036264-A1, Vilar US-20210316713-A1, Bryant US-20160036365-A1, Yao CN-104175896-A and Engineer US-20120032441-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of HONG US-20150122762-A1.
9. (Currently amended) Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 discloses
The gasoline-electric hybrid operating system of the truck crane according to Claim 1, wherein the **** system is connected to an upper operating motor (i.e. swing motor), and the upper operating motor is connected to a first hydraulic pump used for driving an upper operating system [0006]; the ****.
(Tozawa [0006] The hydraulic actuator control circuit serves to control hydraulic fluid fed from the pump of the hybrid drive system to the travel motor and the work actuator.)
Tozawa US-20090036264-A1 discloses the claimed invention except for the distinct controller connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to connect the system according to the limitation(s) aboce, since it has been held that mere relocation of an element would not have modified the operation of the device. (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Vilar US-20210316713-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for an “…controllers (i.e. central controller);
(Vilar [0032] As schematically illustrated in FIG. 2, the work vehicle 100 includes a control system including a controller 210. The controller may be part of a central control system of the work vehicle, or it may be a separate control module. The controller may include one or more user interface devices as referenced above, and may optionally be mounted in the operator cab at a control panel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include controllers with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Vilar, for the benefit of providing a master controller to orient communication and operation of sub-systems.
HONG US-20150122762-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “…system is connected to an outrigger motor, and the outrigger motor is connected to a second hydraulic pump used for driving outriggers on the lower body is act”;
(HONG [0005] Additionally, a hook connected by a chain is connected to the other end of the boom assembly. Furthermore, a front outrigger that is capable of extending and retracting and provided in the front area of the electric vehicle, thereby supporting the front load of the electric vehicle, a rear outrigger that is capable of extending and retracting and provided in the rear area of the electric vehicle, thereby supporting the rear load of the electric vehicle, an outrigger cylinder that extends and retracts by the hydraulic fluid pressurized by the hydraulic pump, thereby extending and retracting the front and rear outriggers, an outrigger jack-up cylinder that extends and retracts by the hydraulic fluid pressurized by the hydraulic pump, thereby moving up and down the front and rear outriggers, and an outrigger manipulating unit that controls the hydraulic fluid discharged by the hydraulic pump and supplied to the outrigger cylinder and the outrigger jack-up cylinder, are provided.)
(Hong [0017] two hydraulic pumps, within the fluid tank, each of which is connected by fluid lines to the wheel driving motor, the rotation driving unit, the angle changing cylinder, the boom extension and retraction cylinder, the winch, and each of the outriggers, and two electric motors)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Tozawa to include system is connected to an outrigger motor, and the outrigger motor is connected to a second hydraulic pump used for driving outriggers on the lower body is act with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by HONG, for the benefit of providing the connections and power components needed to move a machine.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Bissontz (US-20100078234-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… the PTO provides power to a hydraulic pump, which provides hydraulic pressure to operate such devices as lifts and outriggers”;
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663