DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalen (US 1043789; see reference in its entirety) in view of Sganga (US 3465453; see reference in its entirety), Escalante (US 2016489; see reference in its entirety) and Goldman (US 7055259 B2, see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Whalen disclose(s): A multifunctional rectangular ruler formed by a ruler body (Fig. 1: A) wherein the ruler body comprises a metric system scale mark on one surface (Fig. 1: D and pg. 1, lines 91-92), an imperial system scale mark (Fig. 1 and pg. 1, lines 42-47), an arc of 180 for drawing and/or measuring arcs with different angles (Fig. 1: H), a plurality of holes extending through at least one of the longer sides (Fig. 1: apertured D and pg. 1, line 89), at least one hollow circular area (Fig. 1: C), and in that at least one metric and an at least one imperial scale triangular grid area (Fig. 1: J) comprising a plurality of holes and the distance between the holes is equal to each other (Fig. 1).
Whalen does not specifically disclose: system scale mark on the other surface.
However, Sganga teach(es): a body (Fig. 5) including: system scale mark on the other surface (Fig. 5: 14 and col. 2, lines 67-70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen, with the teachings of Sganga, for the purpose
of visually showing a comparative relationship between systems (col. 1, lines 50-54).
Whalen in view of Sganga do(es) not specifically disclose: a metric and an imperial scale line extending on one of the longer lines above scale marks.
However, Escalante teach(es) a body (Fig. 1) including: a metric and an imperial scale line extending on one of the longer lines above scale marks (Fig. 1: 14 and page 1, lines 47-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen and Sganga, with the teachings of Escalante, for the purpose of facilitating marking (page 1, lines 47-50).
Whalen, Sganga and Escalante in view of Goldman do(es) not specifically disclose: characterized in that the ruler body comprises at least one hollow area having the shape of a projection of a cube for drawing an isometric cube.
However, Goldman teach(es) a body (Fig. 3) including: characterized in that the ruler body comprises at least one hollow area having the shape of a projection of a cube for drawing an isometric cube (Fig. 3: 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen, Sganga and Escalante, with the teachings of Goldman, for the purpose of serving as a teaching tool (col. 1, lines 28-30).
Regarding Claim 2, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein a plurality of holes are distributed above the arc with an interval of 10.
However, Escalante further teach(es): wherein a plurality of holes are distributed above the arc with an interval of 10 (Fig. 1: 22).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the ruler body comprises 2 hollow areas having the shape of a projection of a cube for drawing an isometric cube.
However, Goldman further teach(es): wherein the ruler body comprises 2 hollow areas having the shape of a projection of a cube for drawing an isometric cube (Fig. 3: 5 & 6).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman further in view of Moss (US 7051446 B2; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the arc of 180 is marked differently on the 2 surfaces of the body.
However, Moss teach(es) a body (Figs. 3-4) including: wherein the arc of 180 is marked differently on the 2 surfaces of the body (Figs. 3-4 and col. 6, lines 55-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman, with the further teachings of Moss, for the purpose of facilitating use in different orientations (col. 7, lines 31-35).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante, Goldman and Moss disclose(s) the body of Claim 3.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the arc of 180 is marked with degrees starting from 0 to 180 on one surface and from 90 to 90 on the other surface.
However, Moss further teach(es) wherein the arc of 180 is marked with degrees starting from 0 to 180 on one surface (Fig. 3).and from 90 to 90 on the other surface (Fig. 4).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 3.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante, Goldman and Moss disclose(s) the body of Claim 4.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the arc of 180 on the surface wherein the arc is marked with 0 to 180 comprises 2 more holes distributed above the arc in such a way that the holes correspond to 45 and 135 on the arc.
However, Escalante further teach(es) wherein the arc of 180 on the surface wherein the arc is marked with 0 to 180 comprises 2 more holes distributed above the arc in such a way that the holes correspond to 45 and 135 on the arc (Fig. 1: 22).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman.
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the ruler body has the dimensions of a credit card.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a ruler body having the dimensions of a credit card, since it has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPRQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Here the size of the ruler body (i.e. size of ruler body as seen in Fig. 1 of Whalen) does not appear to be significant to the function of the body, thus noting the size is absent any criticality, nor would it adversely affect the function of the combination of the body of Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the body in order to improve transportation of the body.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman further in view of Woods et al. (US 4490921; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the ruler body comprises at least 4 differently dimensioned hollow circular areas.
However, Woods teach(es) a body (The Figure) including: wherein the ruler body comprises at least 4 differently dimensioned hollow circular areas (The Figure: 70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman, with the further teachings of Woods, for the purpose of facilitating drawing circles of common diameters (col. 5, lines 45-53).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante, Goldman and Woods disclose(s) the body of Claim 7.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the ruler body comprises 7 hollow circular areas wherein one of the circular areas has the diameter of 3 mm.
However, Woods further teach(es) wherein the ruler body comprises 7 hollow circular areas wherein one of the circular areas has the diameter of 3 mm (The Figure: 70 where the 3/32 dimension is equivalent to 3mm).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 7.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante, Goldman and Woods disclose(s) the body of Claim 8.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the ruler body comprises 7 hollow circular areas wherein a circular area having the diameter of 10 mm is positioned on a side of the circular area having the 3 mm diameter, a circular area having a diameter of 5 mm is positioned adjacent to circular area having the diameter of 10 mm and a circular area having a diameter of 6 mm is positioned adjacent to circular area having the diameter of 5 mm.
However, Woods further teach(es) wherein the ruler body comprises 7 hollow circular areas wherein a circular area having the diameter of 10 mm is positioned on a side of the circular area having the 3 mm diameter, a circular area having a diameter of 5 mm is positioned adjacent to circular area having the diameter of 10 mm and a circular area having a diameter of 6 mm is positioned adjacent to circular area having the diameter of 5 mm (The Figure: 70).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 7.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a pair of circular areas having the diameter of 10mm, a pair of circular areas having a diameter of 5 mm and a pair of circular areas having a diameter of 6 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a pair of circular areas (i.e. having a diameter 10mm, 5mm and 6mm, respectively), since it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 VI (B)).
Here the number of circular areas (i.e. a pair) does not appear to be significant to the function of the body, thus noting number of circular areas is absent any criticality, nor would it adversely affect the function of the combined body of Whalen, Sganga, Escalante, Goldman and Woods.
Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would use a multiple of the circular areas in order to increase drawings of circles of common diameters when utilizing the body.
The combination does not specifically disclose: circular areas having the diameter of 10 mm are positioned on each side of the circular area having the 3 mm diameter.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the location of the circular areas from the location shown by Woods (The Figure: 70) to a location positioned on each side of the circular area having the 3 mm diameter of the body, because absent any criticality, this is only considered to be an obvious modification of combined body of Whalen, Sganga, Escalante, Goldman and Woods that a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would be able to provide using routine experimentation since the courts have held that there is no invention in shifting the position if the operation of the body would not be thereby modified. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The location of the circular areas does not appear to be critical to the current invention nor to the reference.
Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would change the location of the circular areas in order to suit the needs of the user of the device in order to facilitate duplicating circular areas of the same diameter when drawing circles.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman further in view of Rode et al. (US 9121750 B2; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the ruler body comprises a pixel system scale mark.
However, Rode teach(es) a body (Fig. 5) including: wherein the ruler body comprises a pixel system scale mark (Fig. 6: 606).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman, with the further teachings of Rode, for the purpose of facilitating increments (col. 6, lines 1-18).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman further in view of Cayton (US 4713891; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose wherein the ruler body comprises a pica system scale mark.
However, Cayton teach(es) a body (Fig. 1) including: wherein the ruler body comprises a pica system scale mark (Fig. 1: 56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman, with the further teachings of Cayton, for the purpose of facilitating layouts (col. 1, lines 5-7).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman further in view of Nielson et al. (US 7040034 B2; see reference in its entirety).
Regarding Claim(s) 13, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the ruler body is made from stainless steel.
However, Nielson teach(es) a body (Fig. 5) including: wherein the ruler body is made from stainless steel (Fig. 5 and col. 8, lines 4-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman, with the further teachings of Nielson, for the purpose of increasing durability (col. 8, lines 4-7).
Regarding Claim(s) 14, Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman disclose(s) the body of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the ruler body is coated with titanium.
However, Nielson teach(es) a body (Fig. 5) including: wherein the ruler body is coated with titanium (Fig. 5 and col. 8, lines 4-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Whalen, Sganga, Escalante and Goldman, with the further teachings of Nielson, for the purpose of increasing durability (col. 8, lines 4-7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate to ruler body: Musham (US 2039333); Moghadampour et al. (US 11279167 B2); Ostachowski (US 10345090 B2); Baumgartner (US 7059060 B1).
The following reference(s) relate to references found in the applicant’s originally filed specification but are not listed in the IDS filed 30 December 2024: Lin (TW 563968); Xia et al. (CN 216385369); Meng et al. (CN102126384); Bai (CN 203957646).
/TC/
24 October 2026
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855