DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10, 15-16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (CN 109407700 A, IDS).
As to claim 1, Zhao discloses an guiding apparatus for aircraft landing, wherein comprising: a light-emitting array (Fig. 1-2, QR code, para. 0011-0013), disposed in a target landing area of an aircraft, comprising at least one light-emitting unit (Fig. 1-2, QR code, para. 0011-0013) located at a target landing point and a plurality of light-emitting units arranged around the at least one light-emitting unit; a light-emitting control unit, electrically connected to the light-emitting array, and configured to control the light-emitting array to emit lights in accordance with preset light-emitting timing (Fig. 2-3, para. 0034-0035, 0040, 0084-0086).
As to claims 7 and 22, Zhao further discloses a method/computer readable medium for guiding aircraft landing, wherein comprising the step of: controlling the guiding apparatus for aircraft landing according to claim 1 to emit light in accordance with preset light-emitting timing (para. 0077-0086).
As to claims 8 and 15, Zhao further discloses an aircraft landing control method, wherein comprising the steps of: controlling the guiding apparatus for aircraft landing according to claim 1 to emit light in accordance with a preset light-emitting timing (para. 0034-0037); gathering light signals emitted by the light-emitting array on the aircraft, and controlling the aircraft to land to the target landing point by outputting corresponding flight control instructions in accordance with the gathered light signals (para. 0066-0067).
As to claims 9 and 16, Zhao further discloses wherein the step of outputting corresponding flight control instructions in accordance with the gathered light signals comprises: identifying the light-emitting timing and light-emitting positions of the light signals (para. 0066-0067); matching the light-emitting timing with the preset light-emitting timing to calculate the position of each light-emitting unit (para. 0066-0067); obtaining the real-time position, attitude and target landing point of the aircraft in accordance with the positions of the light-emitting units (para. 0082-0086).
As to claim 10, Zhao further discloses wherein the step of identifying the light-emitting timing and light-emitting positions of the light signals comprises: obtaining the movement trajectory of bright spots, the movement trajectory comprises the positions of the bright spots in each frame; determining the light-emitting timing and light-emitting positions of each light-emitting unit in accordance with the movement trajectory of the bright spots (para. 0073-0082).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Koh et al. (US 2022/0033105 A1).
As to claim 2, Zhao does not explicitly disclose the plurality of light-emitting units are arranged in N circles centered on the target landing point, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1. However, Koh teaches the plurality of light-emitting units are arranged in N circles centered on the target landing point, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 1). Therefore, given the teaching of Koh, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the apparatus of Zhao, by employing the well-known or conventional features of arranged in N circles centered on the target landing point, to aid aircraft landing.
As to claim 3, the feature of the distance between the light-emitting units arranged in the M-th circle and the target landing point is preset multiples of the distance between the light-emitting units arranged in the M−1st circle and the target landing point, where M is an integer greater and 1<M≤N, is design choice.
As to claim 4, Koh further teaches wherein the circle is of regular or irregular shape (Fig. 1).
As to claims 5-6, the use of timing code to emit light for different light units is also design choice.
As to claims 11-14, comparing the position of two bright spots via a threshold distance in two consecutive frames to determine whether they are same bright spot is well known and obvious to do.
Conclusion
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661