Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 32 it is unclear whether the “C6-C10” refers to the total number of carbon atoms in the aliphatic monoalcohol ether, or whether it refers to the number of carbon atoms in the alcohol residue. In claim 33 it is similarly unclear whether “C12-C30 esters” means that the entire ester contains 12 to 30 carbon atoms, or whether the acid residue contains 12 to 30 carbon atoms.
In claim 38 there is no antecedent basis for “said organic acid”, since claim 34, upon which claim 38 depends, does not recite an organic acid. For the purposes of examination, “said organic acid” is considered to refer to the organic solvent of claim 34, since if claim 38 were dependent on claim 35, which does recite an organic acid, it would fail to further limit claim 35.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 44 recites a “soot reduction catalyst composition” comprising the cerium composition of claim 23, but since claim 44 does not require any additional components, and claim 23 already requires that the cerium composition be useful as a soot reduction catalyst, claim 44 does not further limit claim 23.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23-24 and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valentine (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2005/0164139).
In paragraph 16 Valentine discloses adding a fuel borne catalyst to a diesel fuel. In paragraph 27 Valentine discloses that the composition can comprise a fuel soluble cerium composition, and in paragraph 28 Valentine discloses that the cerium compounds can be trivalent cerium carboxylates, where the carboxylate can be a neodecanoate, stearate, or octoate, all meeting the limitations of the long-chain carboxylates of claim 23. Since the cerium compounds are fuel soluble, the diesel fuel meets the limitations of the organic solvent of claim 23. In paragraphs 24 and 27 Valentine discloses that the catalyst also includes a platinum catalyst. The fuel composition of Valentine also meets the limitations of the soot reduction catalyst composition of claim 44, which does not require any components beyond what is required by claim 23.
In paragraph 27 Valentine further discloses that the preferred cerium octoate contains 12% cerium by weight, within the range recited in claim 24.
In paragraph 18 Valentine further discloses that the system of the invention further comprises a diesel particulate filter, and in paragraph 13 Valentine discloses that the system is able to oxidize soot at low exhaust temperatures without a need for frequent cleaning. In paragraph 22 Valentine discloses that the diesel fuel can be a blend of fuels, in which case one fuel meets the limitations of the fuel of claims 41-42 and the other meets the limitations of the organic solvent of claims 41-42. In paragraphs 16 and 18 and the reference’s claim 1, Valentine indicates that a diesel engine is operated with the fuel comprising the catalyst mixture, as recited in claims 41-42. While Valentine does not specifically disclose regenerating the diesel particulate filter at the temperature recited in claims 41-43, since the composition of Valentine meets the limitations of claimed composition, and Valentine teaches that it oxidizes soot at low exhaust temperatures, the method of Valentine will lead to the regeneration of the diesel particulate filter at temperatures meeting the limitations of claims 41 and 43, and also meet the limitations of claim 42 for the case where the optional Ce (III) carboxylates are not present.
In light of the above, claims 23-24 and 41-44 are anticipated by Valentine.
Claims 23, 25, 28-31, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilderson (U.S. Pat. No. 4,474,579).
In column 3 lines 29-31 Wilderson discloses a diesel fuel comprising a mixture of Ce(III)-2-ethylhexanoate and 2-ethylhexanoic acid. Diesel fuel functions as an organic solvent, meeting the limitations of the organic solvent of claim 23. The mixture of Ce(III)-2-ethylhexanoate and 2-ethylhexanoic acid meets the limitations of the cerium composition of claim 23 and the soot reduction catalyst composition of claim 44, since Ce(III)-2-ethylhexanoate meets the limitations of the Ce (III) long-chain carboxylate where RL is a C8 alkyl (ethylhexyl) group.
The Ce(III)-2-ethylhexanoate in the composition of Wilderson also meets the limitations of component (i) of claim 25, while the 2-ethylhexanoic acid meets the limitations of the long-chain conjugate acid of component (iii) of claim 25. The diesel fuel itself functions as an organic solvent, meeting the limitations of component (iv) of claim 25. Claim 25 is therefore anticipated by Wilderson for the case where the optional component (ii) is not present, and claim 30 is also anticipated since it only limits the optional component of claim 25.
In column 2 lines 35-36 and the reference’s claim 7 (“and/or”), Wilderson indicates that the carboxylates and acids can be mixtures, as recited in claim 28. In column 2 lines 65-68 Wilderson discloses that the mole ratio between free carboxylic acid and carboxylate (salt) is from 0.1 to 2, within the range recited in claim 29. Diesel fuel will comprise some C10-C13 alkanes, meeting the limitations of claim 31.
In light of the above, claims 23, 25, 28-31, and 44 are anticipated by Wilderson.
Claims 23-25 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2009/0013588).
In paragraph 41 (Example 5) Zhou discloses a fuel additive mixture comprising cerium 2-ethylhexanoate (49% in 2-ethylhexanoic acid, 12% Ce). While Zhou does not specifically disclose the oxidation state of the cerium, the 12% cerium content indicates a trivalent cerium salt having three 2-ethylhexanoate residues. The additive mixture of Zhou comprises organic solvents such as mineral spirits and toluene. In paragraph 28 Zhou more broadly discloses solvents, such as mineral oil. The fuel additive composition of Zhou therefore meets the limitations of claim 23, as well as claim 44, which does not require any additional components, and claims 25 and 30, where the 2-ethylhexanoic acid is the long-chain carboxylic acid component (iii), and the carboxylate (ii) is not present.
The additive mixture in paragraph 41 of Zhou comprises about 20 g (12% of 167 g) of cerium. The total weight of the additive mixture is about 1518 g (500 ml toluene = about 431 g). The cerium content of the additive mixture is therefore about 1.3%, within the range recited in claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilderson in view of Sondjaja (U.S. 2014/0033605).
The discussion of Wilderson in paragraph 9 above is incorporated here by reference. Wilderson discloses a cerium composition meeting the limitations of claim 23, including a diesel fuel. In column 3 lines 3-17 Wilderson discloses that the diesel fuel can be based on natural oils. Wilderson does not specifically disclose the inclusion of the solvents of claims 32-33 in the cerium composition.
In paragraphs 20-24 and 114 Sondjaja discloses a fuel additive composition. In paragraphs 90-91 Sondjaja discloses that the composition can comprise a solvent, and that suitable solvents include ethylene glycol monobutyl ether and diethylene glycol mono-n-butyl ether, which are aliphatic monoalcohol ethers containing 6 and 8 carbon atoms respectively, meeting the limitations of the solvent of claim 32. In paragraph 98-99 Sondjaja discloses that the fuel additive compositions are useful in fuel composition predominantly comprising a biodiesel, and in paragraphs 105-108 Sondjaja discloses that the biodiesel is preferably methyl esters of fatty acids having 12 to 24 carbon atoms, meeting the limitations of the solvent of claim 33.
The inclusion of the cerium-based additives of Wilderson in the additive composition of Sondjaja, where ethylene glycol monobutyl ether and diethylene glycol mono-n-butyl ether, meets the limitations of claim 32. The use of the biodiesel of Sondjaja as the diesel fuel of Wilderson meets the limitations of claim 33 for the case where the biodiesel is the organic solvent, whether the cerium-based additive of Wilderson is added directly to the biodiesel or first incorporated into an additive composition of Sondjaja.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the cerium-based additives of Wilderson in the additive composition of Sondjaja, where ethylene glycol monobutyl ether and diethylene glycol mono-n-butyl ether, since Sondjaja teaches that additives for a biodiesel fuel can be formed into an additive composition using those solvents prior to incorporation into the fuel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the biodiesel of Sondjaja as the natural oil-based diesel of Wilderson, since Sondjaja teaches that they are suitable natural oil-derived esters for use as diesel fuels.
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Sondjaja (U.S. 2014/0033605).
The discussion of Zhou in paragraph 10 above is incorporated here by reference. Zhou discloses a fuel additive composition cerium composition meeting the limitations of claim 23, including a solvent. Zhou discloses in paragraph 26 that the fuel can be a diesel fuel or biodiesel. Zhou does not disclose the specific solvents of claims 32-33.
In paragraphs 20-24 and 114 Sondjaja discloses a fuel additive composition. In paragraphs 90-91 Sondjaja discloses that the composition can comprise a solvent, and that suitable solvents include ethylene glycol monobutyl ether and diethylene glycol mono-n-butyl ether, which are aliphatic monoalcohol ethers containing 6 and 8 carbon atoms respectively, meeting the limitations of the solvent of claim 32. In paragraph 98-99 Sondjaja discloses that the fuel additive compositions are useful in fuel composition predominantly comprising a biodiesel, and in paragraphs 105-108 Sondjaja discloses that the biodiesel is preferably methyl esters of fatty acids having 12 to 24 carbon atoms, meeting the limitations of the solvent of claim 33.
The inclusion of the additives of Zhou in the additive composition of Sondjaja, where ethylene glycol monobutyl ether and diethylene glycol mono-n-butyl ether, meets the limitations of claim 32. The use of the biodiesel of Sondjaja as the biodiesel of Zhou meets the limitations of claim 33 for the case where the biodiesel is the organic solvent, whether the additive composition of Zhou is added directly to the biodiesel or first incorporated into an additive composition of Sondjaja.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the cerium-based additives of Zhou in the additive composition of Sondjaja, where ethylene glycol monobutyl ether and diethylene glycol mono-n-butyl ether, since Sondjaja teaches that additives for a biodiesel fuel can be formed into an additive composition using those solvents prior to incorporation into the fuel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the methyl ester biodiesel of Sondjaja as the biodiesel of Zhou, since Sondjaja teaches that they are suitable compounds for use as biodiesel.
Claims 34 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gamlen Europe (GB 1571210) in view of Chane-Ching (CA 2391946 C).
Gamlen Europe discloses on page 1 lines 17-26 a method of preparing cerium salts where a cerium hydroxide is reacted with a long-chain carboxylic acid having at least 8 carbon atoms, and the cerium is a trivalent cerium, as recited in step (a) of claim 34. In the example on page 2 lines 62-76 Gamlen Europe discloses that white spirit, an organic solvent as recited in step (b) of claim 34, is added to the reaction mixture following the reaction. In the example Gamlen Europe discloses performing the reaction at 80° C, within the range recited in claim 37. Gamlen Europe also discloses in the example carrying out the reaction in the presence of white spirit, meeting the limitations of claim 38 under the interpretation set forth in paragraph 3 above. Gamlen Europe does not specifically disclose carrying out the reaction under a non-oxidative atmosphere.
An English-language machine translation of Chane-Ching, which is attached, has been used in setting forth this rejection, and the paragraph numbers referred to herein are those of the machine translation. In paragraph 4 Chane-Ching discloses a reaction of a cerium (III) salt, and that it can be carried out under a nitrogen atmosphere, which is a non-oxidative atmosphere as recited in claim 34. In paragraph 5 Chane-Ching further discloses that the products can be additionally processed, and the atmosphere plays a role in the transformation of cerium (III) into cerium (IV).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the reaction of Gamlen Europe under a non-oxidative atmosphere, such as the nitrogen atmosphere of Chane-Ching, in order to limit the oxidation of cerium (III) into cerium (IV), since Gamlen Europe desires a trivalent cerium salt.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-27, 35-36, and 39-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 26-27, the prior art, as exemplified by the references discussed above does not disclose or render obvious further including a cerium (III) carboxylate of a C2-C5 carboxylic acid in the claimed composition, where the components are present in the claimed amounts. Wilderson, as discussed in paragraph 9 above, discloses that a mixture of acids can be used to prepare the cerium carboxylate, where the acids can have as few as 4 carbon atoms, but does not provide motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically combine a long-chain carboxylic acid and a C4 or C5 carboxylic acid to produce carboxylates in the relative amounts recited in claims 26-27.
Similarly, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious carrying out the reaction of the cerium (III) precursor with a long-chain carboxylic acid in the presence of a C2-C5 carboxylic acid, as required in claim 35. The Gamlen Europe reference requires the carboxylic acid reactant to comprise at least 8 carbon atoms. Wilderson, in column 2 lines 46-57, discloses a different synthetic route to the cerium(III) carboxylates than recited in the claims, and does not specifically disclose a mixture of a long-chain carboxylic acid reaction and a shorter-chain carboxylic acid reactant.
Regarding claim 36, Gamlen Europe discloses on page 1 lines 33-44 that the ratio of acid molecules to cerium atoms in the reaction ranges from 0.2 to 1. Since the products of Gamlen Europe have an acid residue to cerium ratio of 3, Gamlen Europe therefore requires the cerium(III) reactant to be present in stoichiometric excess, contrary to the requirements of claim 36.
Regarding claim 39, Gamlen Europe does not disclose or render obvious adding solvent at the temperature recited in claim 39. The examples of Gamlen Europe disclose performing the reaction at a temperature lower than the range recited in claim 39; one of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to raise the temperature after the completion of the reaction.
Regarding claim 40, Gamlen Europe discloses that the reaction is carried out in the presence of an organic medium, and that a separated aqueous phase is eliminated before the addition of additional solvent. In the examples Gamlen Europe indicates that the organic medium can be white spirit, as is the solvent added later. There is no indication in Gamlen Europe that the product is filtered prior to addition of organic solvent, and no motivation to do so.
Conclusion
/JAMES C GOLOBOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771