DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/30/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim 1, the claim is rendered unclear because the definitions of the values of “an optical path length between folded optical paths” and “a total optical path length” are not disclosed in claim 1. It is not clear if these values are the same as “an optical path length between folded optical paths” and “a total optical path length” which are defined in claim 2 or if the values are calculated using the standard method of calculating optical path length which does not include indices of refraction. For the purpose of examination, “an optical path length between folded optical paths” and “a total optical path length” in claim 1 will be considered to be calculated using the same values as “an optical path length between folded optical paths” and “a total optical path length” which are defined in claim 2.
Claims 2-15 depend on claim 1 and therefore inherit the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun (US20170068029A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Yun discloses an optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]), comprising:
a first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]) and a second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]);
a beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]),
a first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]), and
a polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]), wherein the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]) is located between (Fig. 2—element 225 is between elements 217 and 227) the beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]) and the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]), the beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]) is located on a side (Fig. 2—element 217 is on the object side surface of element 210) of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]), and the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]) and the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]) are located on a side (Fig. 2—elements 225 and 227 are on the image side surface of element 220) of the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]);
wherein a ratio of an optical path length between folded optical paths (Table 1: path length between surfaces 2 and 7= 13) of the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) to a total optical path length (Table 1: total optical path length= 43) of the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) is from 0.2 to 0.3 (13/43= 0.3).
With respect to Claim 2, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the optical path length between folded optical paths (Table 1: path length between surfaces 2 and 7= 13) is a sum of products of thickness and refractive index of each element located between the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]) and the beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]), wherein the products comprise a product of width of air gap and air refractive index (Table 1= 10.1); and
the total optical path length of the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) is a sum of products of thickness and refractive index of each element through which light sequentially traverses in the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]), wherein the products comprise a product of width of air gap and air refractive index (Table 1= 10.1).
With respect to Claim 3, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]) comprises a first surface (Fig. 2-- element 224, first major surface; [0074]) and a second surface (Fig. 2-- element 226, second major surface; [0074]), the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]) comprises a third surface (Fig. 2-- element 214, first major surface; [0073]) and a fourth surface (Fig. 2-- element 216, second major surface; [0073]), wherein the second surface (Fig. 2-- element 226, second major surface; [0074]) and the third surface (Fig. 2-- element 214, first major surface; [0073]) are adjacent with an air gap therebetween (See Fig. 1);
the beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]) is provided on ([0101]: a partial reflector may be disposed surface 216, the partial reflector may be disposed on any major surface) the fourth surface (Fig. 2-- element 216, second major surface; [0073]) of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]), and the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]) is provided on ([0101]: a first quarter wave retarder may be disposed surface 214, the first quarter wave retarder may be disposed on any major surface) the third surface (Fig. 2-- element 214, first major surface; [0073]) of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]);
the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]) is provided on the second surface (Fig. 2-- element 226, second major surface; [0074]) of the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]).
With respect to Claim 4, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein the optical path length between folded optical paths is:
A12*no+T50*n50+T20*n20 (Table 1: path length between surfaces 2 and 7= 13)
wherein:
A12 is width of air gap between the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]) and the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]), and n0 is air refractive index;
T50 is thickness of the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]), and
T20 is refractive index of the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]); and
T20 is thickness of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]), and n20 is refractive index of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]).
With respect to Claim 5, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 3, and further discloses wherein further comprises a display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]) with a light-emitting surface configured to emit circularly polarized light or linearly polarized light ([0059]: The display panel may emit linearly or circularly polarized light);
when the light-emitting surface of the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]) emits the linearly polarized light, a second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface) is provided adjacent to the light-emitting surface of the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]), such that the linearly polarized light is converted into the circularly polarized light ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder would convert linearly polarized light into circularly polarized light).
With respect to Claim 6, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 5, and further discloses wherein the beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]) is located between the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]) and the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface) (Fig. 2—element 217 is between elements 225 and 230) (Fig. 2—element 217 is between elements 225 and 230).
With respect to Claim 9, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) further comprises a third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens) configured to transmit light, wherein the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]) is located between ([1000]: the third lens may be placed before the first lens and after element 230) the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]) and the third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens).
With respect to Claim 10, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 9, and further discloses wherein the beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]) is located between ([0101]: a partial reflector may be disposed surface 216, the partial reflector may be disposed on any major surface) the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]) and the third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens); the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]) and the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]) are located between the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]) and the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]).
With respect to Claim 11, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 10, and further discloses further comprises a display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]), provided close to the third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens) and a second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface),
wherein the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]) comprises a light-emitting surface, configured to emit circularly polarized light or linearly polarized light ([0059]: The display panel may emit linearly or circularly polarized light);
when the light-emitting surface of the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]) emits the linearly polarized light, the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface) provided between the light-emitting surface of the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]) and the third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens) such that, the linearly polarized light is converted into the circularly polarized light ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder would convert linearly polarized light into circularly polarized light).
With respect to Claim 12, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 11, and further discloses wherein the beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]) is located between the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]) and the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface) (Fig. 2—element 217 is between elements 225 and 230).
With respect to Claim 15, Yun discloses a head mounted display (Fig. 27A-- a perspective view of an optical system 2700 of a head-mounted display), comprising:
a housing ([0182]: element 200 may be used as a component within an HMD); and
an optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 13-114 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (US20170068029A1) in view of Yamaguchi (US 20210132388 A1).
With respect to Claim 7, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 5, and further discloses wherein further comprises a polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface),
the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface) and the polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface), the polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface) is located between the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface) and the light-emitting surface of the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]).
Yun and Yamaguchi are related as both pertaining to the field of HMDs. Yamaguchi discloses wherein the further comprises a screen protection sheet (Fig. 1—element CG, cover glass; [0026]), and
wherein the second phase retarder (Fig. 1—element 13, a first quarter wavelength plate; [0039]) and the polarizing element (Fig. 1—element 12, polarization plate; [0039]) are laminated to form a laminated composite film ([0026]: elements 13 and 12 may be attached in any appropriate manner, such as lamination) that is provided on the light-emitting surface of the display screen (Fig. 1—element 11a, light-emitting surface; [0023]), and the screen protection sheet (Fig. 1—element CG, cover glass; [0026]) is provided between (Fig. 1—element CG is located between elements 12 and 11a) the light-emitting surface (Fig. 1—element 11a, light-emitting surface; [0023]) and the laminated composite film ([0026]: elements 13 and 12 may be attached n any appropriate manner, such as lamination). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optical module of Yun with the image display device of Yamaguchi in order to reduce the size of a display panel while widening the angle of view (Yamaguchi, [0025]).
With respect to Claim 8, Yun and Yamaguchi disclose the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 7, and Yun further discloses wherein the total optical path length of the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) is as follows: T9o*n9o+T8o*n8o+T70*n7o+A27*n0+T20*n2o+T5o*n5o+A12*n0+A12*no+T5o*n5o+T2o*n2o +T20*n2o+T5o*n50+A12*n0+T60*n60+T10*n10 total optical path length is approx. 43)
wherein:
T8o is thickness of the polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface), n8o is refractive index of the polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface);
T70 is thickness of the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface), n70 is refractive index of the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface);
A27 is width of air gap between the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]) and the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface), n0 is air refractive index;
T20 is thickness of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]), n20 is refractive index of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]);
T5o is thickness of the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]), n5o is refractive index of the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]);
A12 is width of air gap between the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]) and the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]), n0 is air refractive index;
T60 is thickness of the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]), n60 is refractive index of the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]); and
T1o is thickness of the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]), and n10 is refractive index of the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]).
However, Yun does not disclose wherein T9o is thickness of the screen protection sheet, n9o is refractive index of the screen protection sheet. Yun and Yamaguchi are related as both pertaining to the field of HMDs. Yamaguchi discloses wherein the further comprises a screen protection sheet (Fig. 1—element CG, cover glass; [0026]) wherein T9o is thickness of the screen protection sheet ([0068]: the thickness of CG may vary), n9o is refractive index of the screen protection sheet (index of refraction of glass is approx. 1.52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optical module of Yun with the cover glass of Yamaguchi in order to protect the light emitting surface of a display panel from other optical layers (Yamaguchi, [0023]).
With respect to Claim 13, Yun discloses the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 11, and discloses further comprises a polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface),
wherein the beam splitting element (Fig. 2-- element 217; partial reflector; [0073]) is provided on ([0101]: a partial reflector may be disposed surface 216, the partial reflector may be disposed on any major surface) a surface of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]) proximate to the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]), the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]) is provided on a surface of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]) distal ([0101]: a first quarter wave retarder may be disposed surface 224, the first quarter wave retarder may be disposed on any major surface) to the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]), and the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]) is provided on a surface of the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]) proximate to the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]);
the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface) and the polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface), and the polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface) is located between ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface) the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface) and the light-emitting surface of the display screen (fig. 2-- element 230, image surface; [0075]).
However, Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein the further comprises a screen protection sheet, and
wherein the second phase retarder and the polarizing element are laminated to form a laminated composite film that is provided on the light-emitting surface of the display screen, and the screen protection sheet is provided between the light-emitting surface and the laminated composite film.
Yun and Yamaguchi are related as both pertaining to the field of HMDs. Yamaguchi discloses wherein the further comprises a screen protection sheet (Fig. 1—element CG, cover glass; [0026]), and
wherein the second phase retarder (Fig. 1—element 13, a first quarter wavelength plate; [0039]) and the polarizing element (Fig. 1—element 12, polarization plate; [0039]) are laminated to form a laminated composite film ([0026]: elements 13 and 12 may be attached n any appropriate manner, such as lamination) that is provided on the light-emitting surface of the display screen (Fig. 1—element 11a, light-emitting surface; [0023]), and the screen protection sheet (Fig. 1—element CG, cover glass; [0026]) is provided between (Fig. 1—element CG is located between elements 12 and 11a) the light-emitting surface (Fig. 1—element 11a, light-emitting surface; [0023]) and the laminated composite film ([0026]: elements 13 and 12 may be attached n any appropriate manner, such as lamination). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optical module of Yun with the image display device of Yamaguchi in order to reduce the size of a display panel while widening an angle of view (Yamaguchi, [0025]).
With respect to Claim 14, Yun and Yamaguchi disclose the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) according to claim 13, and Yun further discloses further comprises a third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens), the total optical path length of the optical module (Fig. 2-- element 200; optical system; [0072]) is:
T9o*n9o+T8o*n8o+T70*n7o+A37*n0+T30*n3o+A23*n0+T2o*n2o+T5o*n5o+A12*n0+A12*n0+T5o*n5o+T20*n2o+T20*n2o+T5o*n5o+A12*n0+T60*n60+T1o*n10 (total optical path length is approx. 43);
wherein:
T8o is thickness of the polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface), n8o is refractive index of the polarizing element ([0059]: a linear polarizer is disposed between the second quarter wave retarder and the image surface);
T7o is thickness of the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface), n7o is refractive index of the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface);
A37 is width of air gap between the third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens) and the second phase retarder ([0059]: a second quarter wave retarder is disposed between the partial reflector and the image surface), no is air refractive index;
T30 is thickness of the third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens), n3o is refractive index of the third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens);
A23 is width of air gap between the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]) and the third lens ([0100]: the optical system may include a third lens), no is air refractive index;
T20 is thickness of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]), n20 is refractive index of the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]);
T5o is thickness of the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]), n5o is refractive index of the first phase retarder (Fig. 2-- element 225; quarter wave retarder; [0074]);
A12 is width of air gap between the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]) and the second lens (Fig. 2-- element 210; first optical stack; [0072]), no is air refractive index;
T60 is thickness of the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]), n6o is refractive index of the polarizing reflective element (Fig. 2-- element 227, reflective polarizer; [0074]); and
T1o is thickness of the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]), and n10 is refractive index of the first lens (Fig. 2-- element 220; second optical stack; [0072]).
However, Yun does not disclose wherein T9o is thickness of the screen protection sheet, n9o is refractive index of the screen protection sheet. Yun and Yamaguchi are related as both pertaining to the field of HMDs. Yamaguchi discloses wherein the further comprises a screen protection sheet (Fig. 1—element CG, cover glass; [0026]) wherein T9o is thickness of the screen protection sheet ([0068]: the thickness of CG may vary), n9o is refractive index of the screen protection sheet (index of refraction of glass is approx. 1.52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optical module of Yun with the cover glass of Yamaguchi in order to protect the light emitting surface of a display panel from other optical layers (Yamaguchi, [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qin (US 20190018255 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. X and [0013]-[0018].
Hoppe (US 5715023 A) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and Col 3, Lines 27-67.
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872