DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajurvedi et al. (hereinafter Yajurvedi, US 2020/0389108 B1) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen, CN 102497142 A)).
For claim 13, Yajurvedi discloses a method for operating a household appliance (Yajurvedi discloses a method for operating an apparatus having brushless drive motor – see Yajurvedi, Fig. 1, paragraph [0002]. It is noted that Yajurvedi discloses a power tool which is silent for disclosing a household appliance. However, given that the reference shows the precise structure claimed by the present invention adds nothing to the claimed structure of the circuit, the phenomena, whether it is used in “a household appliance”. It is an intended use of the circuit and that does not carry patentable weight. Since the teaching of Yajurvedi’s apparatus for controlling motor can be used for operating “a household appliance”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use Yajurvedi’s system for operating “a household appliance”), which comprises the steps of:
starting up a brushless direct current drive motor of the household appliance (Figs. 4 and 11 of Yajurvedi discloses a motor control circuit 204 for starting up a brushless direct current drive motor 16 of the household appliance 10 – see Yajurvedi, Figs. 4 and 11, paragraphs [0005], [0077], [0083], [0128] and [0132]) by further sub-steps of:
increasing an actual rotational speed of a rotor of the BLDC drive motor in a controlled manner from its idle state (Figs. 4 and 11 of Yajurvedi disclose detecting an initial rotor position, parking the rotor, and thereafter issuing an open-loop frequency command to kick-start the motor and increase an actual rotational speed of a rotor of the BLDC drive motor in a controlled manner form its idle state – see Yajurvedi, -- see Yajurvedi, Fig. 11, paragraphs [0130]-[0132]) ;
determining an actual angle and the actual rotational speed of the rotor by means of high-frequency injection (Figs. 4 and 11 of Yajurvedi disclose the controller 230 for determining an actual angle and the actual rotational speed of the rotor by means of high-frequency injection HFI – see Yajurvedi, claim 14, paragraphs [0017]-[0018], [0024] , [0132] and [0164]);
controlling the actual rotational speed to a target rotational speed (Figs. 4, 11 and 20 of Yajurvedi disclose controlling the actual rotational speed to a target rotational speed in an event that the actual rotational speed reaches or exceeds a first threshold rotational speed -- -- see Yajurvedi, Figs. 4 , 11 and 28, paragraphs [0124], [0133], [0158], [0165]-[0166], [0169], [0176]) and [0195]); and
determining the actual angle and the actual rotational speed from an electromagnetic field signal in an event that the actual rotational speed reaches or exceeds a second threshold rotational speed (see Yajurvedi, Figs. 11-12 paragraphs [0016], [0020], [0024], [0040], [0133]).
Yajurvedi discloses a first, lower speed transition into closed-loop HFI operation and a second, higher-speed transition from HFI position estimation to back EMF based position estimation. Yajurvedi does not disclose the initial increase in rotor rotation speed is performed by means of a “deterministic target control torque”.
However, Chen discloses starting a permanent magnet synchronous motor (Figs. 1-2 of Chen disclose starting a permanent magnet synchronous motor PMSM -- see Chen, Figs. 1-2, paragraph [0009]) by increasing an actual rotational speed of a rotor of the BLDC drive motor in a controlled manner form its idle state by means of a deterministic (see Chen, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0012]-[0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the start up control of Yajurvedi to use the predetermined or constant startup torque taught by Chen for purpose of performing the known startup function of Yajurvedi with predictable results.
For claim 14, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the second threshold rotational speed is greater than the first threshold rotational speed (Yajurvedi discloses the second threshold rotational speed at a substantially greater HFI speed threshold, for example, approximately 45200 rpm (see Yajurvedi, paragraph [0133]) which is greater than the first threshold rotation speed at approximately 2 – 4 rpm (see Yajurvedi, paragraph [0169]).
For claim 15, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses the method according to claim 13, which further comprises generating actuation signals for energizing coils of the BLDC drive motor by means of a field-oriented control from a target control torque and the actual angle, wherein: if the actual rotational speed has not yet reached or exceeded the first threshold rotational speed, the target control torque supplied to the field-oriented control is the deterministic target control torque; and if the actual rotational speed reaches or exceeds the first threshold rotational speed, the target control torque supplied to the field-oriented control is a manipulated variable of a speed control, whose reference variable corresponds to the target rotational speed and whose feedback variable corresponds to the actual rotational speed.
(Fig. 10 of Yajurvedi discloses transforming measured phased current into d-axis and q-axis via Clarke transformation 320, converting the two-axis system from a fixed reference to a rotating reference frame via Park transformation unit 322, and performing inverse transformations via Inverse Park 326 and Inverse Clark 328 to generate inverter drive signals for energizing the motor windings , and calculating motor speed and target-speed reference -- see Yajurvedi, Fig. 10, paragraphs [0120]-[0121]; [0124]-[0126]. Chen discloses presetting a constant torque during startup and using FOC to control the id and Iq – see Chen, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0025]-[0027]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use the predetermined torque command during the initial acceleration interval and, upon reaching a speed suitable for closed-loop operation, use the output of Yajurvedi’s speed controller as the torque-producing command because Yajurvedi discloses both a fixed Iq* torque producing reference and an Iq* calculated as a PI function of actual speed and target speed. Such a transition represents the predictable use of the disclosed alternative torque commands according to the operating state of the motor).
For claim 16, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses the method according to claim 13, which further comprises generating the deterministic target control torque by means of a signal transmitter (see Chen, paragraphs [0015]-[0016]).
For claim 17, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the deterministic target control torque is a constant target control torque (see Chen, paragraphs [0011]-[0013]).
For claim 21, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein in the idle state of the BLDC drive motor the actual rotational speed of the BLDC drive motor is zero (Figs. 10-11 of Yajurvedi discloses the idle state of the BLDC drive motor 16, the actual rotation speed of the BLDC drive motor is zero when controller 230 or==proceeds to park the at discrete positions at steps A and B – see Yajurvedi, Figs. 10-11, paragraphs [0130]-[0131]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajurvedi et al. (hereinafter Yajurvedi, US 2020/0389108 B1) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen, CN 102497142 A)), further in view of Patel et al. (hereinafter Patel, US 2006/0097688 A1).
For claim 18, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses all limitations as applied in claim 15 above. Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses the deterministic target control torque which is silent being a chronological progression of the target control torque. However, Patel discloses the deterministic target control torque which is a chronological progression of the target control torque (see Patel, paragraph [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined start up torque command of Yajurvedi in view of Chen to vary the startup torque command over time in accordance with the torque command slew taught by Patel for purpose of providing a smooth startup/restart and avoiding an abrupt application of motor torque.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajurvedi et al. (hereinafter Yajurvedi, US 2020/0389108 B1) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen, CN 102497142 A)), further in view of Hatori et al. (hereinafter Hattori, US 2007/0035272 A1).
For claim 19, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses all limitations as applied in claim 13 above.
Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses the deterministic target control torque which is not dependent on at least one pressure present in a reciprocating compressor of the household appliance driven by the BLDC drive motor or on a variable derived therefrom. However, Hattori discloses the deterministic target control torque which is dependent on at least one pressure present in a reciprocating compressor of the household appliance driven by the BLDC drive motor or on a variable derived therefrom (see Hattori, paragraph [0011]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined start up torque of Yajurvedi in view of Chen such that the predetermined startup torque is selected or determined based upon the compressor pressure difference as taught by Hattori for purpose of providing sufficient starting torque for the compressor according to the pressure dependent compressor load while avoiding an unnecessarily selected starting torque.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajurvedi et al. (hereinafter Yajurvedi, US 2020/0389108 B1) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen, CN 102497142 A)), further in view of Campbell et al. (hereinafter Campbell, US 2017/0317617 A1).
For claim 20, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses all limitations as applied to claim 15 above, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses generating actuation signals for energizing coils of a brushless permanent magnet motor by means of field oriented control from a target torque and rotor angle (see explanation in claim 5 above). Yajurvedi further discloses field oriented control using d-axis and q-axis current reference value (see explanation in claim 5 above). Yajurvedi in view of Chen does not disclose a maximum torque per ampere (MTPA) logic is connected upstream of a field-oriented control logic, and converts the target control torque into a target ld current and a target lq current. However, Campbell discloses a motor control system includes a maximum torque per ampere logic is connected upstream of a field-oriented control logic, and converts the target control torque into a target ld current and a target lq current (Fig. 3 of Campbell discloses maximum torque per ampere logic 310 which is connected upstream of a field-oriented control logic, and converts the target control torque Te into a target l*ds current and a target l*qs current – see Campbell, Fig. 3, paragraph [0031]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the field oriented motor control of Yajurvedi in view of Chen to include the MTPA torque to current command generation taught by Campbell for purpose of providing efficient utilization of motor current.
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajurvedi et al. (hereinafter Yajurvedi, US 2020/0389108 B1) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen, CN 102497142 A)), further in view of Takeoka et al. (hereinafter Takeoka, US 2018/0175752 A1).
For claim 22, Yajurvedi in view of Chen discloses a household appliance (Yajurvedi in view of Chen obviously discloses a household appliance – see explanation in claim 13 above. For supporting, Takeoka discloses motor control system 30 which is used to operate refrigerator – see Takeoka, Fig. 1, paragraph [0001]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the startup and motor control technique of Yajurvedi in view of Chen for controlling the BLDC motor used for operating a household appliance as taught by Takeoda for purpose of providing controlled startup and operation a household appliance), comprising:
a brushless direct current drive motor (Fig. 4 of Yajurvedi discloses a brushless direct current drive motor 16 – see Yajurvedi, Fig. 4, paragraph [0086]);
wherein the household appliance is configured to perform the method according to claim 13 (see explanation in claim 13 above).
For claim 23, Yajurvedi in view of Chen, further in view of Takeoka discloses the household appliance according to claim 22, further comprising a reciprocating compressor being driven by means of said BLDC drive motor (Fig. 1 of Takeoka discloses a reciprocating compressor 17 being driven by means of said BLDC drive motor 5 – see Takeoka, Fig. 1, paragraph [0095]).
For claim 24, Yajurvedi in view of Chen, further in view of Takeoka discloses the household appliance according to claim 22, wherein the household appliance is a refrigeration appliance (see Takeoka, paragraph [0002]).
For claim 25, Yajurvedi in view of Chen, further in view of Takeoka discloses the household appliance according to claim 22, wherein the household appliance is a refrigerator (see Takeoka, paragraph [0002]).
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
Sep 29, 2026