DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-13 have been cancelled. Claims 14-26 are new. Claims 14-26 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12-30-2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hemiller (U.S. Pub. 2023/0393612) as supported by U.S. Provisional 63/348,810.
Regarding claim 14,
Hemiller teaches a flat display device (10 in fig. 1) comprising:
a flat grid frame and a flat LED circuit board([0026] discloses, "A plurality of light-emitting elements 18 is mounted to the display surface 16.... mounted to one or more module support structures...", See frame 14 in fig. 1),
wherein the grid frame and the circuit board form a stack (fig 1 illustrates grid arrangement of multiple frame 14 elements, fig. 3; [0031] teaches that the pixels 22 are arranged in an array with a specified pattern wherein the pixels 22 can be arranged in a specified array, such as a grid array), wherein an arrangement of LEDs on the LED circuit board is adapted to a grid structure of the grid frame (fig. 3), and
wherein the LEDs on the LED circuit board can be controlled individually or in groups so that the display device can deliver different display images ([0002] teaches that in some applications, such as digital billboards or scoreboards, individual display modules can be connected together and operated collectively to form a larger display; The control software and/or the one or more hardware controllers can then send control signals to the pixels 22 or to individual LEDs 18 that can operate the pixels 22 according to the specified series of textual messages).
Regarding claim 26,
Hemiller teaches the flat display device according to claim 14 wherein the device can be coupled to a notification unit via an electrical interface, and wherein electrical signals for defining display images are delivered from the notification unit to the display device via the interface ([0031] teaches that the display 10 can be controlled with control software and/or one or more hardware controllers, so that visual information, e.g., video, graphical, or textual information, is broken down into coordinates. Each coordinate can correspond to a specific pixel location within the overall display 10, such as a specific row and a specific column, and the control software and/or the one or more hardware controllers can operate each pixel according to a program that specifies a condition for each coordinate within the display 10 and controls each of the pixels 22 so that it will appear to emit light that meets the condition specified.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemiller (U.S. Pub. 2023/0393612) in view of Ishikawa (U.S. 2022/0157769).
Regarding claim 15,
Hemiller teaches the flat display device according to claim 14 but fails to further teach the features of claim 15.
Ishikawa teaches a display device wherein the stack additionally has a film, wherein the components of the stack are stacked in the order (i) film (104 per fig. 11C), (ii) grid frame (71 in fig. 7), (iii) circuit board (70 in fig. 7). ([0061] of Ishikawa teaches the LED display type display unit 61 has a configuration in which a great number of composite integrated films 1 (FIG. 1A) are installed to be arranged like a grid in a display region that is set on a surface of a planar circuit board; [0075] The circuit board 70 is provided with as many sticking regions 77 as the pixels (picture elements) forming an image; FIG. 7 further teaches grid frame (See support 71 in fig. 7) and circuit board 70 in fig. 7).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify the Hemiller system per the teachings of Ishikawa and utilize the recited stack structure for the purpose of providing practical benefits such as more precise LED arrangement and separation of optical and electrical components and functions whereby the circuit board placement is optimized for electrical routing.
Regarding claim 19,
Ishikawa teaches that the film, the grid frame and the circuit board are cast together, thus forming a LED package ([0078]-[0085] teach the manufacturing process, interpreted as “cast together” as broadly recited).
Regarding claim 20,
Ishikawa teaches that the circuit board is in several parts (Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemiller (U.S. Pub. 2023/0393612) in view of Ishikawa (U.S. 2022/0157769) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Mukumoto (U.S. 2021/0190294).
Regarding claim 16,
The combined teachings of Hemiller and Ishikawa teach the flat display device according to claim 15, but fails to teach the further recited limitations of claim 16.
Mukumoto teaches that the film and the grid frame are connected at the edge with double-sided adhesive tape ([0037] and FIG. 3 teach a sectional view of the backlight 1, and illustrates a part of the sectional view of FIG. 1 along X-X line. In FIG. 3, the LED substrate 12 is attached to the inner surface of the bottom of the first frame 11 with, for example, a double-sided tape.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to further modify the Hemiller system per the teachings of Mukumoto for benefit of simplifying assembly i.e., not requiring screws, rivets, additional fasteners and so preserving the delicate film structure.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemiller (U.S. Pub. 2023/0393612) in view of Ishikawa (U.S. 2022/0157769) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Keist (U.S. 2012/0306757).
Regarding claim 17,
The combined teachings of Hemiller and Ishikawa teach the flat display device according to claim 15, but fails to teach the further recited limitations of claim 17.
Keist teaches that the film is back-printed with a grid representation, the grid constant of which corresponds to a grid constant of the grid frame ([0007] teaches that the aim of this invention is to produce a continuous three-dimensionally shaped panel with integral control and/or display elements from plastics with a high quality appearance; [0071] teaches that the procedure may also be applied with back-printed film 3; while [0034] teaches that the film 3 is then printed and decorated on the front and/or back.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to further modify the Hemiller system per the teachings of Keist and back-print the film with a grid representation as taught by Keist because Keist teaches printing the front and/or back of a film used in a display assembly, thereby protecting the printed indicia while maintaining a visibility and improving durability and integration of the assembly.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemiller (U.S. Pub. 2023/0393612) in view of Ishikawa (U.S. 2022/0157769) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Pang (U.S. 2022/0310567).
Regarding claim 19,
The combined teachings of Hemiller and Ishikawa teach the flat display device according to claim 15 but fails to teach casting together of components to create an LED package.
Pang teaches a flat display device wherein the LED package and the housing pot are cast together ([0056] teaches in FIG. 3A a perspective view of an LED package 20 according to embodiments disclosed herein. The LED package 20 includes a body 22 that is arranged at least partially around a lead frame structure that includes lead frames 25-1 to 25-3. In certain embodiments, the body 22 includes an insulating material that is formed around and between portions of the lead frames 25-1 to 25-3 to provide mechanical stability as well as electrical insulation. The body 22 may comprise a molded plastic material or a ceramic material, among others.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to further modify the Hemiller system per the teachings of Pang thus providing improved mechanical strength due to use of fewer pieces that can loosen or shift.
Claim(s) 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemiller (U.S. Pub. 2023/0393612) in view of Ishikawa (U.S. 2022/0157769) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of QI (U.S. 2024/0362814).
Regarding claim 21,
The combined teachings of Hemiller and Ishikawa teach the flat display device according to claim 15 and in [0026], Hemiller teaches mounting to a grid frame (see the rejection of claim 14) and a potting structure, but fails to teach the further recited limitations of claim 21.
QI teaches a flat display device wherein the stack additionally has a housing pot base of a housing pot (43 in fig. 2), wherein a housing pot wall (45 in fig. 2) protrudes from the housing pot base, wherein the components of the stack are stacked in the order (i) film (10 and 30 in fig. 1), (ii) grid frame (see Hemiller), (iii) circuit board (20 in fig. 1), (iv) housing pot base (42 and 44 in fig. 1; alternatively see 43 and 45 in fig. 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to further modify the Hemiller system per the teachings of QI and thus include the housing pot base in further arrangement as recited, for the purpose of providing a mechanical foundation which provides structural support and maintains alignment between the stacked layers.
Regarding claim 23,
Hemiller teaches the housing pot has at least one fastening device for the display device on its side facing away from the LED package (see fastening devices in Fig. 7 and Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemiller (U.S. Pub. 2023/0393612) in view of Ishikawa (U.S. 2022/0157769) and QI (U.S. 2024/0362814) as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Pang (U.S. 2022/0310567).
Regarding claim 22,
The combined teachings of Hemiller, Ishikawa and QI teach the flat display device according to claim 21 but fails to teach the further features of claim 22.
Pang teaches a flat display device wherein the LED package and the housing pot are cast together ([0056] teaches in FIG. 3A a perspective view of an LED package 20 according to embodiments disclosed herein. The LED package 20 includes a body 22 that is arranged at least partially around a lead frame structure that includes lead frames 25-1 to 25-3. In certain embodiments, the body 22 includes an insulating material that is formed around and between portions of the lead frames 25-1 to 25-3 to provide mechanical stability as well as electrical insulation. The body 22 may comprise a molded plastic material or a ceramic material, among others.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to further modify the Hemiller system per the teachings of Pang thus providing improved mechanical strength due to use of fewer pieces that can loosen or shift.
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemiller (U.S. Pub. 2023/0393612) in view of Pang (U.S. 2022/0310567).
Regarding claim 24,
Hemiller teaches the flat display device according to claim 14 but fails to teach the further features of claim 24.
Pang teaches a flat display device according to claim 14, wherein an ambient air sensor is provided ([0068] teaches that a light sensor or ultraviolet sensor, thus teaching an “ambient air sensor” as broadly recited).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify the Hemiller system per the teachings of Pang and provide an ambient air sensor such as a light sensor, for the purpose of allowing the device to detect ambient lighting conditions and to adjust its operation accordingly i.e., improved visibility/readability.
Regarding claim 25,
Pang teaches that the ambient air sensor is arranged in an opening of the grid plate ([0068] teaches sensor placement within a cavity 34-1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DIONNE PENDLETON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689