DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gear teeth” of claims 3 and 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 4 depends on claim 3 and recites a smooth surface. Claim 3 recites “at least one set of gear teeth corresponding to at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member for interlocking with the interlock portions of the clutch members when the clutch members move to the engaged state.” The specification describes that the outer surface of the clutch contacting portion may include teeth or ridges (paragraph [0068] and [0070]). However, this appears to be an alternative to the smooth surfaces. There is no disclosure of a combination of teeth and smoother surfaces. In the option where these are on the same member, it is unclear how this would be arranged. In addition, the teeth that are disclosed on these surfaces are not gear teeth but rather descriptive of a rough surface, i.e., one with ridges or knurling. In addition, it is not disclosed that one may include teeth and the other may be smooth. As such, there is no working example or guidance from the inventor.
Claims 3, 4, 7, and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “at least one set of gear teeth corresponding to at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member for interlocking with the interlock portions of the clutch members when the clutch members move to the engaged state.” As noted above, the specification only discloses that teeth or ridges or knurling may be formed on the clutch contacting surfaces, however these are not disclosed in the specification as gear teeth. There are spline teeth illustrated (248 and 250) but these do not interlock any portion of the clutch members when the clutch members move to an engaged state.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the angle of rotation between the first orientation and the third orientation is greater than the angle of rotation between the first orientation and the second orientation.” There is no frame of reference for the angle and therefore it is unclear in which direction this angle is taken from.
Claim 12 recites “a featured clutch contacting portion.” This is reference 254 in the specification, which is illustrated as ridges and is disclosed as being teeth, ridges, or knurling (see paragraph [0068]. The smooth clutch contact portion 252 also may include texture, ridges or knurling (see paragraph [0067]). It is unclear what structure is require or may be encompassed by the featured portion. How is the portion “featured” and how does this structurally distinguish this portion from non-featured portions? Alternatively, is this merely an identifier for the portion that is contacted by the interlocking portion? For purposes of examination, the featured portion is interpreted as including some type of structure that is raised or lowered from the other portions of the cylindrical surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schotten (US 2014/0202821).
Claim 1
Schotten discloses a clutch comprising:
an inner rotatable member (30) and an outer rotatable member (36) configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, the inner rotatable member (30) being positioned radially inside the outer rotatable member (36); and
a plurality of clutch members (50) positioned radially between the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36), the clutch members (50) being spaced circumferentially about the axis of rotation relative to one another, the clutch members each including a wedge portion (12 and/or 14) and an interlock portion (54 and/or 52);
wherein when relative rotation between the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) is forced in a second rotational direction the clutch members move to an engaged state in which the clutch members prevent relative rotation between the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member causing the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable members member to rotate in unison with one another about the axis of rotation;
wherein when relative rotation between the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) is forced in a first rotational direction the clutch members move to a disengaged state in which the clutch members allow relative rotation between the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member; and
wherein engagement of the clutch members is sequenced such that the wedge portions engage prior to the interlock portions as the clutch members move from the disengaged state to the engaged state (see e.g., paragraph [0028] describing).
Claim 2
Schotten discloses an inner wedge bearing surface (surface of 30) and an outer wedge bearing surface (surface of 36) between which the wedge portions jam when the clutch members move to the engaged state, the inner wedge bearing surface corresponding to the inner rotatable member (30) and facing in an outward radial direction and the outer wedge bearing surface corresponding to the outer rotatable member (36) and facing in an inward radial direction.
Claim 5
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portions (12, 14) of the clutch members engage when the clutch members are rotated from a first orientation to a second orientation (a rotation around only axis X).
Claim 6
Schotten discloses wherein the interlock portions (52, 54) of the clutch members engage when the clutch members are rotated from the second orientation to a third orientation (a rotation around both X and Z axes).
Claim 7
Schotten discloses wherein the angle of rotation between the first orientation and the third orientation is greater than the angle of rotation between the first orientation and the second orientation. This is present in Schotten because rotation would first occur in the X axis to a first amount and then once the wedges started catching the clutch member would rotate around the Z axis to rotate further.
Claim 8
Schotten discloses wherein the interlock portions engage after sufficient torque is applied to initiate relative rotation between the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member in the second rotational direction after the wedge portions are engaged (see paragraph [0028]).
Claim 9
Schotten discloses wherein the relative rotation between the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable members member in the second rotational direction after the wedge portions are engaged is caused by slippage between the wedge portions and the inner wedge bearing surface and the outer wedge bearing surface (see paragraph [0028]).
Claim 10
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portion contacts (both) of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member while the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member rotate in a first direction relative to each other (see FIG. 3A and paragraph [0028]).
Claim 11
Schotten discloses wherein the interlock portion does not contact at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable members member while the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable members member rotate in the first direction relative to each other (see FIG. 3A and paragraph [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schotten in view of Yamaguchi (US 2017/0184158).
Claim 3
Schotten does not disclose at least one set of gear teeth corresponding to at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member for interlocking with the interlock portions of the clutch members when the clutch members move to the engaged state.
However, Yamaguchi discloses a sprag clutch including at least one set of gear teeth (see paragraph [0082], surface peaks and valleys that form the roughness with a height of 0.8 micrometers) corresponding to the inner rotatable member for interlocking with surfaces of the clutch members as they move to the engaged state. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Schotten to include the ridges/teeth on the outer surface of the inner rotatable member in order to provide a quicker engagement/response time. As so modified, the interlock portions of the clutch members would be the portion that interlocks when the clutch members move to the engaged state.
Claim 4
Schotten discloses at least one smooth contacting portion (inner surface of the outer rotatable member not modified to be rough) corresponding to the outer rotatable member for contacting the wedge portions of the clutch members when the clutch members move into the engaged state. The outer rotatable member was not proposed to be modified in the rejection of claim 3 and therefore remains smooth.
Claim(s) 12-16, 18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schotten in view of Akagi (US 5,038,903).
Claim 12
Schotten discloses a clutch assembly comprising (see FIG. 3A):
an inner rotatable member (30);
an outer rotatable member (36) having a portion being concentric with the inner rotatable member (30); and
a plurality of clutch members (50) including a wedge portion (12 and/or 14) and an interlock portion (54 and/or 52);
the plurality of clutch members (50) being arranged between the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36);
the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) being freely rotatable when rotated with respect to one another in a first direction (see paragraph [0028] and FIG. 3A and 4A);
the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) being coupled to one another by the clutch members (50) to restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) with respect to one another in a second direction (see paragraph [0028] and FIG. 3A and 4A);
the interlocking portion (54 and/or 52) of the clutch members being configured to contact a clutch contacting portion on at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member; and
the wedge portion (12 and/or 14) of the clutch members being configured to contact a smooth clutch contacting portion (surfaces of the inner and outer rotatable members) on at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member.
As best understood and in an effort to promote compact prosecution, Schotten does not disclose that the interlocking portion contacts “a featured clutch contacting portion.” However, Akagi discloses a one-way clutch (see FIG. 9) having cams (33) between two rotatable members (see FIG. 9) where the inner rotatable member includes indents in which the cams sit (see FIG. 9 illustrating features that are not smooth on the inner rotatable member). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Schotten to include the indents on the inner rotatable member in order to create a faster engagement time but provide greater contact area.
As so modified, the smooth clutch contacting portion is smooth relative to the featured clutch contacting portion.
Claim 13
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portions of the clutch members engage with the smooth clutch contacting portion (one of the two wedge portions engages the outer rotatable member which includes the smooth surface) to restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with respect to one another in the second direction.
Claim 14
Schotten as modified discloses wherein the interlocking portions of the clutch members engage with the featured clutch contacting portion (one of the two interlocking portions engages the inner rotatable member which includes the feature surface) to restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with respect to one another in the second direction.
Claim 15
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portions and the interlocking portions engage sequentially (see paragraph [0028] describing that rotation along the X axis causes only the wedge to engage and rotation along both the X and Z axes causes the interlocking portions to engage). It is well understood that first rotation would result in the X axis alone and that contact would causes the additional rotation in the Z axis.
Claim 16
Schotten discloses wherein the interlocking portions engage after first torque is applied to overcome the engagement of the wedge portion and initiate rotation of the of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with respect to one another in the second direction (see paragraph [0028]). Rotation in the reverse direction causes the cams to disengage.
Claim 18
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portions of the clutch members contact the smooth clutch contacting portion while the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member are rotated with respect to one another in the first direction (see FIG. 3A and paragraph [0028]). As would understood, upon rotation of the members, the cam will rotate along the X axis until the wedge portions (larger diameter portions) engage which will necessarily tilt the cam, i.e., rotate the cam along the Z axis, which will then cause rotation until the interlocking (smaller diameter portions) engage.
Claim 20
Schotten discloses wherein the clutch members rotate between a first orientation and a second orientation, wherein when placed into the second orientation, the wedge portions of the clutch members engage with the smooth clutch contacting portion to restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with respect to one another in the second direction (see FIG. 3A and paragraph [0028]). The second orientation is interpreted as the position of the cams when rotation begins and the cam rotates in the X direction only.
Claim 21
Schotten discloses wherein the clutch members rotate between the second orientation and a third orientation, wherein when placed into the third orientation, the interlocking portions of the clutch members engage with the featured clutch contacting portion to restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with respect to one another in the second direction (see FIG. 3A and paragraph [0028]). The third orientation is interpreted as the position of the cams when rotation causes the wedges to catch and thereafter tilt the cams, i.e., rotate the cams along the Z axis until the interlocking portions engage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With reference to claim 17, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the combination of features including for example the sequential engagement of the wedge and interlocking portions “wherein the engagement of the interlocking portions with the featured clutch contacting portion restricts the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with respect to one another in the second direction when the first torque is applied.” The featured portions are always in engagement in Akagi and do not function in the same manner that is recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2010/0181160 discloses cams having one portion 21, 23 that engages separately from another portion 22, 24. US 2006/0076205 discloses cams with one portion 20 and another portion. FR 756885A discloses a cam with a first portion 2 and second portion 12 in FIG. 1 or two portions in FIG. 3.
/STACEY A FLUHART/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655