DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites "wherein the amount of rotation between the first orientation and the third orientation is greater than the amount of rotation between the first orientation and the second orientation." There is no frame of reference for the amount of rotation and therefore it is unclear in which direction this amount of rotation is taken from. What is the rotation of? Is this the rotation of the clutch members, of one or both of the rotatable members, or some other rotation?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schotten (US 2014/0202821).
Claim 1
Schotten discloses a clutch comprising:
an inner rotatable member (30) and an outer rotatable member (36) configured to rotate about an axis of rotation, the inner rotatable member (30) being positioned radially inside the outer rotatable member (36); and
a plurality of clutch members (50) positioned radially between the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36), the clutch members (50) being spaced circumferentially about the axis of rotation relative to one another, the clutch members each including a wedge portion (12 and/or 14) and an interlocking portion (54 and/or 52);
wherein when relative rotation between the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) is forced in a second rotational direction the clutch members move to an engaged state in which the clutch members prevent relative rotation between the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member causing the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable members member to rotate in unison with one another about the axis of rotation;
wherein when relative rotation between the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) is forced in a first rotational direction the clutch members move to a disengaged state in which the clutch members allow relative rotation between the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member; and
wherein engagement of the clutch members is sequenced such that the wedge portions engage with one or more of the outer rotatable member and the inner rotatable member prior to the interlocking portions engaging with one or more of the outer rotatable member and the inner rotatable member as the clutch members move from the disengaged state to the engaged state (see e.g., paragraph [0028] describing the rotation around both of the x and z axis to engage).
Claim 2
Schotten discloses an inner wedge bearing surface (surface of 30) and an outer wedge bearing surface (surface of 36) between which the wedge portions jam when the clutch members move to the engaged state, the inner wedge bearing surface corresponding to the inner rotatable member (30) and facing in an outward radial direction and the outer wedge bearing surface corresponding to the outer rotatable member (36) and facing in an inward radial direction.
Claim 5
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portions (12, 14) of the clutch member engage when the clutch members are rotated about respective clutch member axis of rotations from a first orientation to a second orientation (a rotation around only axis X).
Claim 6
Schotten discloses wherein the interlocking portions (52, 54) of the clutch members engage when the clutch members are rotated from the second orientation to a third orientation (a rotation around both X and Z axes).
Claim 7
Schotten discloses wherein the amount of rotation between the first orientation and the third orientation is greater than the amount of rotation between the first orientation and the second orientation. This is present in Schotten because rotation would first occur in the X axis to a first amount and then once the wedges started catching the clutch member would rotate around the Z axis to rotate further.
Claim 10
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portion contacts (both) of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member while the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member rotate in the first rotational direction relative to each other (see FIG. 3A and paragraph [0028]).
Claim 11
Schotten discloses wherein the interlocking portion does not contact at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable members member while the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable members member rotate in the first rotational direction relative to each other (see FIG. 3A and paragraph [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schotten in view of Yamaguchi (US 2017/0184158).
Claim 3
Schotten does not disclose at least one set of gear teeth corresponding to at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member for interlocking with the interlock portions of the clutch members when the clutch members move to the engaged state.
However, Yamaguchi discloses a sprag clutch including at least one set of gear teeth, which are one example of ridges (see paragraph [0082], surface peaks and valleys that form the roughness with a height of 0.8 micrometers) corresponding to the inner rotatable member for interlocking with surfaces of the clutch members as they move to the engaged state. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Schotten to include the ridges/teeth on the outer surface of the inner rotatable member in order to provide a quicker engagement/response time. As so modified, the interlock portions of the clutch members would be the portion that interlocks when the clutch members move to the engaged state.
Claim 4
Schotten discloses at least one smooth contacting portion (inner surface of the outer rotatable member not modified to be rough) corresponding to the outer rotatable member for contacting the wedge portions of the clutch members when the clutch members move into the engaged state. The outer rotatable member was not proposed to be modified in the rejection of claim 3 and therefore remains smooth.
Claim(s) 12-15, 18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Schotten in view of Akagi (US 5,038,903).
Claim 12
Schotten discloses a clutch assembly comprising (see FIG. 3A):
an inner rotatable member (30);
an outer rotatable member (36) having a portion being concentric with the inner rotatable member (30); and
a plurality of clutch members (50) each including a wedge portion (12 and/or 14) and an interlock portion (54 and/or 52);
the plurality of clutch members (50) being arranged between the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36);
the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) being freely rotatable when rotated with respect to one another in a first direction (see paragraph [0028] and FIG. 3A and 4A);
the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) being coupled to one another by the clutch members (50) to restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member (30) and the outer rotatable member (36) with respect to one another in a second direction (see paragraph [0028] and FIG. 3A and 4A);
the interlocking portion (54 and/or 52) of the clutch members being configured to contact a clutch contacting portion on at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member; and
the wedge portion (12 and/or 14) of the clutch members being configured to contact a smooth clutch contacting portion (surfaces of the inner and outer rotatable members) on at least one of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member.
Schotten does not disclose that the interlocking portion contacts "a featured clutch contacting portion." However, Akagi discloses a one-way clutch (see FIG. 9) having cams (33) between two rotatable members (see FIG. 9) where the inner rotatable member includes indents in which the cams sit (see FIG. 9 illustrating features that are not smooth on the inner rotatable member). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Schotten to include the indents on the inner rotatable member in order to create a faster engagement time but provide greater contact area.
As so modified, the smooth clutch contacting portion is smooth relative to the
featured clutch contacting portion.
Claim 13
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portions of the clutch members engage
with the smooth clutch contacting portion (one of the two wedge portions engages the outer rotatable member which includes the smooth surface) to restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with respect to one another in the second direction.
Claim 14
Schotten as modified discloses wherein the interlocking portions of the clutch
members engage with the featured clutch contacting portion (one of the two interlocking
portions engages the inner rotatable member which includes the feature surface) to
restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with
respect to one another in the second direction.
Claim 15
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portions and the interlocking portions
engage sequentially (see paragraph [0028] describing that rotation along the axis
causes only the wedge to engage and rotation along both the X and Z axes causes the
interlocking portions to engage). It is well understood that first rotation would result in
the X axis alone and that contact would causes the additional rotation in the Z axis; these two sides will not engage simultaneously at the exact same time since this would not create the rotation around the z-axis that is required.
Claim 18
Schotten discloses wherein the wedge portions of the clutch members contact
the smooth clutch contacting portion while the inner rotatable member and the outer
rotatable member are rotated with respect to one another in the first direction (see FIG.
3A and paragraph [0028]). As would understood, upon rotation of the members, the
cam will rotate along the X axis until the wedge portions (larger diameter portions)
engage which will necessarily tilt the cam, i.e., rotate the cam along the Z axis, which
will then cause rotation until the interlocking (smaller diameter portions) engage.
Claim 20
Schotten discloses wherein the clutch members rotate between a first orientation
and a second orientation, wherein when placed into the second orientation, the wedge
portions of the clutch members engage with the smooth clutch contacting portion to
restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable member with
respect to one another in the second direction (see FIG. 3A and paragraph [0028]). The
second orientation is interpreted as the position of the cams when rotation begins and
the cam rotates in the X direction only.
Claim 21
Schotten discloses wherein the clutch members rotate between the second
orientation and a third orientation, wherein when placed into the third orientation, the
interlocking portions of the clutch members engage with the featured clutch contacting
portion to restrict the rotation of the inner rotatable member and the outer rotatable
member with respect to one another in the second direction (see FIG. 3A and
paragraph [0028]). The third orientation is interpreted as the position of the cams when
rotation causes the wedges to catch and thereafter tilt the cams, i.e., rotate the cams
along the Z axis until the interlocking portions engage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With reference to claim 8, the prior art does not disclose the combination of features where the engagement is sequential (recited as “after”) with the functioning related to the torque.
With reference to claim 16, the prior art does not disclose the combination of features where the engagement is sequential with the functioning related to the two torques as these are recited in the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 28 is allowed.
With reference to claim 28, after further consideration of Schotten, the prior art does not disclose the combination of features where the engagement is sequential with the functioning related to the two torques as these are recited in the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed June 25, 2026, with respect to claims 1 and 12 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
With regard to claims 1 and 12, Applicant argues that Schotten surfaces 52 and 54 do not engage. The Examiner disagrees. If the sprag only rotated along the X-axis, this position would be true. However, as described in paragraph [0028], the sprag does not fully engage until the sprag rotates along both the x-axis and the z-axis, meaning the sprag engages in a tilted position such that both sides (12, 14; and 52, 54) engage. The only action present that can cause this bending force to rotate around the z-axis is contact at the larger diagonal line, i.e., on the larger surfaces 12, 14. Furthermore, with regard to claim 12, Applicant makes an argument related to elements 36 and 37 of Akagi. These elements were not referred to in the rejection. Instead, as noted, in FIG. 9 of Akago the inner rotatable member has indents in which the cams 33 respective sit. The indents in which each cam 33 sits form the non-smooth surface referred to in the claim and rejection. For clarity of the record, further explanation is below in the form of an annotated figure of Akago pointing to some of these indents.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Indents)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
There is no argument presented as to why these references would not be combinable or obvious. As such, the rejection must be maintained.
The amendment to claim 3 overcomes the drawing objections. The arguments and amendment overcome the prior rejection under 112(a).
With regard to the rejection under 112(b) of claim 12, Applicant states that the recitation that the smooth clutch contacting portion being smooth relative to the features clutch contacting portion defines the smoothness. The rejection has been reconsidered in view of the argument and has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
To the extent the rejections are considered new, Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STACEY A FLUHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655