DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s priority to foreign application GB2210094.5 filed on July 8th, 2022, has been accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 30th, 2024, has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: in L1, “The extendable boom” should be “An extendable boom;” in L2 “a wear pad assembly” should be “the wear pad assembly.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “adjuster” in claim 1. Adjuster will be interpreted as a bolt with a nut as shown in Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 14-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Calago et al. (US 11041526), hereafter Calago.
With regards to claim 1, Calago discloses a wear pad assembly for an extendable boom having a first boom section and a second boom section (Abstract), the wear pad assembly comprising: an anchor (push plate 12, with plate member 26 and fasteners 14) for mounting to the first boom section, the anchor comprising a pin (fastener 14) extending between a first end and a second end (Not labeled separately in Fig. 1) along a longitudinal axis, the anchor further comprising a connecting portion (part of plate member 26, not labeled but has holes 34 in Fig. 2), extending outwardly from the first end of the pin in a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis wherein the connecting portion comprises a connecting aperture (holes 34)¸ and a wear pad (10) having a thickness extending between a coupling surface (plate slot 20) and an opposing sliding surface (wear surface 36), the coupling surface comprising a recess (Not labeled in Fig. 2) for engagement with the pin of the anchor; and an adjuster (fasteners 16) for adjusting the position of the wear pad along the pin in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis (Col. 3, L59-65), the adjuster having a contact end that is inserted through the connecting aperture and contacts the coupling surface of the wear pad (Col. 3, L9-13).
With regards to claim 3, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago further discloses wherein the pin and the recess are circular (Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 6, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago further discloses wherein the adjuster is configured to be lockable (via insert 18).
With regards to claim 7, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago further discloses wherein the adjuster comprises a threaded bolt (fastener 16) with a locking nut (insert 18).
With regards to claim 8, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago further discloses wherein the wear pad assembly comprises two or more adjusters (Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 14, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago further discloses an extendable boom having a first boom section (100) and a second boom section (102), the extendable boom comprising a wear pad assembly according to claim 1 (Col. 3, L55-57).
With regards to claim 15, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 14 as outlined above. Calago further discloses wherein the wear pad assembly is mounted to the first boom section and the second boom section is configured to slide relative to the first boom section along the sliding surface of the wear pad (Col. 3, L33-36).
With regards to claim 17, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago further discloses wherein the wear pad is constrained in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the first boom section by the contact end of the adjuster and the second boom section (Fig. 5).
With regards to claim 18, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago further discloses a telehandler comprising an extendable boom according to claim 14 (Col 3, L55-57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calago.
With regards to claim 2, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago does not directly disclose wherein the recess is configured to provide a clearance fit with the pin, in particular wherein the recess is sized and/or shaped to provide the clearance fit with the pin. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that this is known in the art and therefore rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art in order to make the wear pad assembly easier to be disassembled and replaced.
With regards to claim 4, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago does not directly disclose wherein an outer surface of the pin is smooth. However, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to make the pin smooth to prevent the pin from wearing down the wear pad thus increasing the durability of the wear pad.
With regards to claim 5, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago does not directly disclose wherein a perimeter of the sliding surface of the wear pad comprises a chamfer. However, this is a simple change in shape and therefore obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have a chamfer on the perimeter of the wear pad in order to reduce wear on the wear pad increasing durability.
With regards to claim 9, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Calago further discloses a washer (Fig. 1). Calago does not directly disclose a washer positioned between the coupling surface of the wear pad and the contact end of the adjuster. However, this is a simple rearrangement of parts and is therefore rendered obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to move the washer onto insert 18, based on clearance requirements to not interfere with other components (MPEP2144.04.VI.C).
With regards to claim 10, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 9 as outlined above. Calago further discloses wherein the wear pad comprises a locating feature for locating and/or retaining the washer on the wear pad (the flat surface of the wear pad is capable of retaining a washer in recess 24).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calago as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fortunato et al. (US 9950911), hereafter Fortunato.
With regards to claim 16, Calago discloses all the elements of claim 14 as outlined above. Calago further discloses wherein: the wear pad is positioned on a first side of the first boom section, the wear pad being located between the first boom section and the second boom section (Col. 3, L43-47). Calago does not disclose the anchor is mounted to a second opposing side of the first boom section, the pin extending through a first boom aperture (70) in the first boom section and into the wear pad.
However, Fortunato discloses an anchor for a wear pad that is on an opposing side of a first boon section. It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to move the anchor as disclosed by Calago to the position as disclosed by Fortunato in order to reduce wear on the wear pad.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable for disclosing “the annular flange extending around the wear pad recess.”
Although Calago discloses a washer and an annular flange (part of insert 18), there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art that would render it obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the annular flange extend around the wear pad recess.
Claims 10-13 would be allowable by virtue of their dependencies.
Conclusion
/J.L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653