DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mizushima et al. (US 2010/0165307 A1), hereinafter “Mizushima”.
Regarding claim 1, Mizushima discloses a light irradiation apparatus (abstract, Figs. 1 and 4A-4D) comprising:
a light source configured to emit light (Fig. 1, ref 1; paragraph [0126]);
a first light pipe configured to receive, as an input, the light emitted from the light source, and uniformize and output an illuminance distribution of the light (Fig. 1, ref 4; Fig. 4B, ref 4a; paragraphs [0153], [0171]);
a diffusion unit configured to diffuse the light output from the first light pipe (ref 5, paragraph [0168]); and
a second light pipe configured to receive, as an input, the light diffused by the diffusion unit, and uniformize and output an illuminance distribution of the light (ref 4b, paragraphs [0153], [0171]), wherein
the diffusion unit is a light diffusion surface provided on at least one of a light output surface of the first light pipe and a light input surface of the second light pipe (as shown in Fig. 4B, the claim does not require the diffusion unit to be directly on the surface).
Regarding claim 2, Mizushima discloses wherein a diameter of the light incident surface of the second light pipe is the same as a diameter of the light output surface of the first light pipe (inherently shown in Fig. 4, if the diameters were different, one would expect the disclosure to state).
Regarding claim 5, Mizushima discloses wherein the light diffusion surface is a translucent surface (paragraph [0168], a hologram diffuser is inherently translucent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Mizushima is silent regarding wherein a diameter of the light input surface of the second light pipe is smaller than a diameter of the light output surface of the first light pipe.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a diameter of the light input surface of the second light pipe is smaller than a diameter of the light output surface of the first light pipe as it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In this case, one would change the relative diameter in order to further uniformize the light.
Regarding claim 4, Mizushima is silent regarding wherein a diameter of a light output surface of the second light pipe is larger than a diameter of the light input surface of the second light pipe.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a diameter of a light output surface of the second light pipe is larger than a diameter of the light input surface of the second light pipe as it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In this case, one would change the relative diameter in order to have an irradiation range on the sample that is expanded.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi (US 2017/0210006 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mizushima teaches a measurement apparatus comprising: the light irradiation apparatus according to claim 1 (supra); but is silent regarding an imager configured to image measurement light generated by light with which a measurement target is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus.
However, Takahashi teaches an optical measurement device (abstract, Fig. 1, 3) including an imager configured to image measurement light (ref 21) generated by light with which a measurement target (ref 11) is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus (ref 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Mizushima with the teaching of Takahashi by including an imager configured to image measurement light generated by light with which a measurement target is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus as Takahashi teaches that its source is a diffuser, and it would be obvious to measure a target in order to obtain a 3D image of the target.
Regarding claim 7, Mizushima teaches an observation apparatus comprising: the light irradiation apparatus according to claim 1 (supra); but is silent regarding an imager configured to image observation light that is light with which a measurement target is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus.
However, Takahashi teaches an optical measurement device (abstract, Fig. 1, 3) including an imager configured to image observation light (ref 21) that is light with which a measurement target (ref 11) is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus (ref 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Mizushima with the teaching of Takahashi by including an imager configured to image observation light that is light with which a measurement target is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus as Takahashi teaches that its source is a diffuser, and it would be obvious to measure a target in order to obtain a 3D image of the target.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kinoshita (JP2002122554A).
Regarding claim 8, Mizushima teaches a measurement apparatus comprising: the light irradiation apparatus according to claim 1 (supra); but is silent regarding an imager configured to image observation light that is light with which a measurement target is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus, and output imaging data; and a film thickness derivation unit configured to derive a film thickness of the measurement target based on the imaging data.
However, Kinoshita teaches a film thickness measurement apparatus (abstract) including an imager configured to image observation light that is light with which a measurement target is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus, and output imaging data; and a film thickness derivation unit configured to derive a film thickness of the measurement target based on the imaging data (paragraphs [0009], [0016]-[0019], [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Mizushima with the teaching of Kinoshita by including an imager configured to image observation light that is light with which a measurement target is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus, and output imaging data; and a film thickness derivation unit configured to derive a film thickness of the measurement target based on the imaging data in order to perform measurement on a film.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yamamoto (US 2017/0146720) and Inoue (US 2018/0347964) teach conventional optical measurement devices with a diffuser, and could be combined with prior art of record to render the claims obvious.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877