DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to CLAIMS entered for patent application 18/879,972 filed on December 30, 2024.
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 14 recite the limitation “the network functions cluster” in lines 3 and 4 and line 4, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as a previous mention recites “network function cluster.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manthena (Pub. No.: US 2020/0195517) in view of "360° Operations Stack to Automate the Enterprise Telecom Network Operations,” WHITEPAPER on Innovation in Enterprise Automation, JIO PLATFORMS LTD. 31 DECEMBER 2021 (31-12-2021) [hereinafter Jio Platforms].
Regarding claim 1, Manthena discloses a Converged Network Operations Platform (Figs. 1A-1E and 2) (CN OPS), comprising: a CN OPS server comprising a processor coupled to a memory that comprises one or more engines/modules that when executed by the processor causes the CNOPS to: obtain data for node management and site topology management from a plurality of Network Functions (NFs) (Fig. 2, paras. [0076]-[0079]) associated with a communication network via a CN OPS user interface (Fig. 3, element 370, paras. [0056] and [0123]-[0124], Fig. 6, element 610); and provide configuration management for the plurality of NFs by one or more of: using a plurality of modification templates and replacing a plurality of configuration documents (Figs. 6 and 7, paras. [0123]-[0149]).
Manthena does not explicitly disclose causing the CNOPS to provide binary management for the plurality of NFs by using a binary .zip file for adding binaries from zip file contents; provide support for script management of the plurality of NFs by using the binary .zip file for adding executable script files from the zip files contents. However, in analogous art, Jio Platforms discloses a “Core Network Operations platform, which automates the process of upgrades of the network elements. With a view to provide best customer experience, Jio CN-OPS is an intelligent solution to upgrade the network functions. It is deeply integrated with AI, data native, and automation technologies based on the technical advantages in the 5G core network and in-depth understanding of O&M services. It will drastically cut down the time taken for upgrades in the production. This new way of network function upgradation not only meets the demand for change in customer needs, but also does it cost effectively. As it also reduces the manual intervention, the percentage of errors can also be decreased during the process. This platform is a value addition to the suite of products, having rare availability of this capability. It drastically cuts down on the time taken for upgrades in production (page 11),” and also discloses a 'Binary & Script Manager' wherein the second step, i.e., the step to take all the details of the upgrade: Configurations, Libraries, Binaries and Scripts, etc and to consolidate and save all the differentials into a template file, takes place (Page 11, lines 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manthena to allow for providing binary management for the plurality of NFs by using a binary .zip file for adding binaries from zip file contents, and providing support for script management of the plurality of NFs by using the binary .zip file for adding executable script files from the zip files contents. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for well-known techniques to be applied in order to improve the performance of the system.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the CN OPS as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to apply a Method of Procedure (MOP) template to an instance of NF (Jio Platforms, pages 11-12, “Core Network Operations Platform – Jio CN-OPS” section. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the CN OPS as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive the binary .zip file via the CN OPS user interface (Jio Platforms, page 5, paragraph 2, page 6. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the CN OPS as claimed in claim 2, and further discloses wherein, in order to apply the MOP template, the processor is configured to: select the instance of NF; select a site for the instance of NF; select a cluster for the instance of NF; select micro-services for the instance of NF; and apply or execute the MOP template based on the selected site, cluster, and micro-services for the instance of NF (Jio Platforms, pages 11-12, “Core Network Operations Platform – Jio CN-OPS” section. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the CN OPS as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to manage and capture details about each of a plurality of nodes in the communication network that are deployed over a plurality of sites and in a plurality of clusters (Jio Platforms, page 9), and wherein the processor is configured to provide repository management for the plurality of NFs (Jio Platforms, page 17. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the CN OPS as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to coordinate and manage upgradation by building end to end upgradation process for a network function cluster by using a plurality of micro services, wherein the network functions cluster is executed subsequently based on the updates/upgradation (Jio Platforms, page 3, first paragraph; page 7, first paragraph; page 12, lines 1-7. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the CN OPS as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to automate a plurality of jobs/tasks that an admin user performs for managing the plurality of network functions (Manthena, para. [0019]; Jio Platforms, page 2, paragraph 3. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the CN OPS as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to communicate with a database to store files associated with the plurality network functions and save changes that are required during an upgrade process of a plurality of network elements (Jio Platforms, page 11. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the CN OPS as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the processor is configured to communicate with an Operations, Administration and Maintenance (OAM) engine/module (Jio Platforms, page 18, NOAM/SOAM) to provide operation and management functionality for the plurality of network functions and to control a plurality of microservices (Jio Platforms, page 3, first paragraph; page 7, first paragraph; page 12, lines 1-7. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.).
Regarding claim 10, Manthena discloses a computer-implemented method for providing network management functions via a Converged Network Operations Platform (Figs. 1A-1E and 2) (CN OPS), the method comprising: obtaining, by a CN OPS server comprised in the CN OPS, data for node management and site topology management from a plurality of Network Functions (NFs) (Fig. 2, paras. [0076]-[0079]) associated with a communication network via a CN OPS user interface (UI) (Fig. 3, element 370, paras. [0056] and [0123]-[0124], Fig. 6, element 610); and providing, by the CN OPS server, configuration management for the plurality of NFs by one or more of: using a plurality of modification templates and replacing a plurality of configuration documents (Figs. 6 and 7, paras. [0123]-[0149]).
Manthena does not explicitly disclose providing, by the CN OPS server, a binary management for the plurality of NFs by using a binary .zip file for adding binaries from zip file contents; providing, by the CN OPS server, support for script management of the plurality of NFs by using the binary .zip file for adding executable script files from the zip files contents. However, in analogous art, Jio Platforms discloses a “Core Network Operations platform, which automates the process of upgrades of the network elements. With a view to provide best customer experience, Jio CN-OPS is an intelligent solution to upgrade the network functions. It is deeply integrated with AI, data native, and automation technologies based on the technical advantages in the 5G core network and in-depth understanding of O&M services. It will drastically cut down the time taken for upgrades in the production. This new way of network function upgradation not only meets the demand for change in customer needs, but also does it cost effectively. As it also reduces the manual intervention, the percentage of errors can also be decreased during the process. This platform is a value addition to the suite of products, having rare availability of this capability. It drastically cuts down on the time taken for upgrades in production (page 11),” and also discloses a 'Binary & Script Manager' wherein the second step, i.e., the step to take all the details of the upgrade: Configurations, Libraries, Binaries and Scripts, etc and to consolidate and save all the differentials into a template file, takes place (Page 11, lines 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manthena to allow for providing binary management for the plurality of NFs by using a binary .zip file for adding binaries from zip file contents, and providing support for script management of the plurality of NFs by using the binary .zip file for adding executable script files from the zip files contents. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for well-known techniques to be applied in order to improve the performance of the system.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10, and further discloses comprising applying, by the CN OPS server, a Method of Procedure (MOP) template to an instance of network function (Jio Platforms, pages 11-12, “Core Network Operations Platform – Jio CN-OPS” section. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 10, and further discloses comprising receiving, by the CN OPS server, the binary .zip file via the CN OPS user interface (Jio Platforms, page 5, paragraph 2, page 6. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 11, and further discloses comprising selecting, by the CN OPS server, the instance of network function (NF);selecting, by the CN OPS server, a site for the instance of NF; selecting, by the CN OPS server, a cluster for the instance of NF; selecting, by the CN OPS server, micro-services for the instance of NF; and applying or executing, by the CN OPS server, the MOP template based on the selected site, cluster, and micro-services respectively for the instance of the NF (Jio Platforms, pages 11-12, “Core Network Operations Platform – Jio CN-OPS” section. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 11, and further discloses comprising coordinating and managing upgradation, by the CN OPS server, by building end to end upgradation process for a network function cluster by using a plurality of micro services, wherein the network functions cluster is executed subsequently based on the updates/upgradation (Jio Platforms, page 3, first paragraph; page 7, first paragraph; page 12, lines 1-7. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 11, and further discloses comprising automating, by the CN OPS server, a plurality of jobs/tasks that an admin user performs for managing the plurality of network functions (Manthena, para. [0019]; Jio Platforms, page 2, paragraph 3. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Manthena and Jio Platforms discloses the computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 11, and further discloses comprising: communicating, by the CN OPS server, with a database to store files associated with the plurality network functions and save changes that are required during an upgrade process of a plurality of network elements; and communicating, by the CN OPS server, with an Operations, Administration and Maintenance (OAM) engine/module to provide operation and management functionality for the plurality of network functions and to control a plurality of microservices (Jio Platforms, page 3, first paragraph; page 7, first paragraph; page 12, lines 1-7. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.).
Regarding claim 17, Manthena discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions causing a processor to perform operations comprising: obtaining data for node management and site topology management from a plurality of Network Functions (NFs) (Fig. 2, paras. [0076]-[0079]) associated with a communication network via a Converged Network Operations Platform (Figs. 1A-1E and 2) (CN OPS) user interface (UI) (Fig. 3, element 370, paras. [0056] and [0123]-[0124], Fig. 6, element 610); and providing configuration management for the plurality of NFs by one or more of: using a plurality of modification templates and replacing a plurality of configuration documents (Figs. 6 and 7, paras. [0123]-[0149]).
Manthena does not explicitly disclose providing a binary management for the plurality of NFs by using a binary .zip file for adding binaries from zip file contents; providing support for script management of the plurality of NFs by using the binary .zip file for adding executable script files from the zip files contents. However, in analogous art, Jio Platforms discloses a “Core Network Operations platform, which automates the process of upgrades of the network elements. With a view to provide best customer experience, Jio CN-OPS is an intelligent solution to upgrade the network functions. It is deeply integrated with AI, data native, and automation technologies based on the technical advantages in the 5G core network and in-depth understanding of O&M services. It will drastically cut down the time taken for upgrades in the production. This new way of network function upgradation not only meets the demand for change in customer needs, but also does it cost effectively. As it also reduces the manual intervention, the percentage of errors can also be decreased during the process. This platform is a value addition to the suite of products, having rare availability of this capability. It drastically cuts down on the time taken for upgrades in production (page 11),” and also discloses a 'Binary & Script Manager' wherein the second step, i.e., the step to take all the details of the upgrade: Configurations, Libraries, Binaries and Scripts, etc and to consolidate and save all the differentials into a template file, takes place (Page 11, lines 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manthena to allow for providing binary management for the plurality of NFs by using a binary .zip file for adding binaries from zip file contents, and providing support for script management of the plurality of NFs by using the binary .zip file for adding executable script files from the zip files contents. This would have produced predictable and desirable results, in that it would allow for well-known techniques to be applied in order to improve the performance of the system.
Conclusion
Claims 1-17 are rejected.
/Joshua D Taylor/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 June 26, 2026