DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “uniformizing optical system” “a diffusion unit configured to diffuse the light” “a film thickness derivation unit configured to derive a film thickness” in claims 1, 2, 6, & 10.
Applicant recites the uniformizing optical system may be a light pipe or fly eye lens (claims 2 & 6).
Applicant recites the diffusion unit is a diffusion plate (claim 7).
Applicant teaches the thickness derivation unit is a computer and physically includes a memory such as a RAM and a ROM, a processor (arithmetic circuit) such as a CPU, a communication interface, and a storage unit such as a hard disk. The analysis unit 60 functions by executing a program stored in 15 the memory by the CPU of the computer system. The analysis unit 60 may include a microcomputer or an FPGA (0074) (pg. 32, line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MIZUMURA WO 2011136056.
With respect to claim 1, Mizumura teaches a light irradiation apparatus comprising:
a light source (fig 1, 2) configured to emit light;
a first uniformizing optical system “fly eye lens” (fig 1, 3) (pg. 2, ¶ 7, line 1) configured to receive, as an input, the light emitted from the light source, and uniformize and output an illuminance distribution of the light “distribution made uniform by the first fly-eye lens 3” (pg. 4, ¶ 6);
a diffusion unit “diffusion plate” (fig 1, 4) (pg. 2, ¶ 3, lines 6-7) configured to diffuse the light output laser “light L is diffused” (pg. 4, ¶ 8) from the first uniformizing optical system; and
a second uniformizing optical system “fly eye lens” (abstract, line 3) (fig 1, 6) configured to receive, as an input, the light diffused by the diffusion unit, and uniformize and output an illuminance distribution of the light “uniformize the distribution of the intensity” (abstract, lines 4-5).
With respect to claim 6 according to claim 1, Mizumura teaches the light irradiation apparatus wherein the first uniformizing optical system is a first fly-eye lens “fly eye lens” (abstract, line 3) (fig 1, 3) (pg. 2, ¶ 7, line 1), and the second uniformizing optical system is a second fly-eye lens “fly eye lens” (fig 1, 6).
With respect to claim 7 according to claim 1, Mizumura teaches the light irradiation apparatus wherein the diffusion unit is a diffusion plate “diffusion plate” (fig 1, 4).
With respect to claim 8, Mizumura teaches a measuring apparatus comprising:
the light irradiation apparatus according to claim 1 and imager “camera” (pg. 3, ¶ 7) configured to image measurement light generated by light with which a measurement target (fig 1, 20) “marks 20” (pg. 3, ¶ 7) is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus.
With respect to claim 9, Mizumura teaches an observation apparatus comprising:
the light irradiation apparatus according to any one of claims (fig 1); and an imager “camera” (pg. 3, ¶ 7) configured to image observation light that is light with which a measurement target “marks 20” (pg. 3, ¶ 7) is irradiated from the light irradiation apparatus
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIZUMURA WO 2011136056 in view of Li WO 2022199549.
With respect to claim 2 according to claim 1, Mizumura does not teach the first uniformizing optical system is a first light pipe, and the second uniformizing optical system is a second light pipe.
Li, in the same field of optical mechanical systems as Mizumura, teaches a light pipe 121 or a fly-eye lens may be used when performing homogenization processing on the illumination beam (pg. 5, ¶ 2 ,lines 5-7). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the first/second fly-eye lens for a first/second light pipe as a functional equivalent for uniformizing light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, & 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or to include the limitation(s) and any intervening claims into the base claim. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “a
diameter of a light input surf ace of the second light pipe is the same as a diameter of a light output surf ace of the first light pipe”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 3.
As to claim 4, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “a
diameter of a light input surf ace of the second light pipe is smaller than a diameter of a light output surface of the first light pipe”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 4.
As to claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “wherein a
diameter of a light output surf ace of the second light pipe is larger than a diameter of a light input surf ace of the second light pipe”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 5.
As to claim 10, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “a film thickness derivation unit configured to derive a film thickness of the measurement target based on the imaging data”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 10.
Conclusion
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877