DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YUAN (WO 2021/184301 A1).
With respect to claims 21, 31:
YUAN discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see par.0074-0080), "UE") comprising a processor configured to: receive a first set of simultaneous uplink (UL) grants for transmitting first simultaneous transmissions using a first set of two or more beams; (par.0074), 0080); transmit a first power headroom report (PHR) (see par.0080); comprising a first power sharing indication indicating a first power sharing status for the first simultaneous transmissions; (see par.0079-0080); fig.6-8, par.(0082, 0086, 0090), note that the format of the PHR is indicative of the fact that the two beams do not share a power budget); receive a second set of simultaneous UL grants for transmitting second simultaneous transmissions using a second set of two or more beams; (see par. (0074); par.(0078), (0079); determine a second power sharing status for the second simultaneous transmissions; (see par.(0078), "two beams that share a power budget") and transmit a second PHR when the determined second power sharing status is different than the first power sharing status. (see par. (0078), (0079).
With respect to claims 22, 32:
YUAN discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the second PHR comprises a second power sharing indication indicating the second power sharing status for the second simultaneous transmissions (parag. 0078, the format of the PHR including a single PH is indicative of the power sharing status, i.e. of the fact that the two beams share the same power budget).
With respect to claims 23, 33:
YUAN discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the first PHR comprises a first maximum power associated with a first beam and a second maximum power associated with a second beam, and wherein the first beam and the second beam are comprised in the first set of two or more beams (fig. 7, 8, parag. 0085-0090).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN (WO 2021/184301 A1).
With respect to claims 24, 34:
YUAN discloses the WTRU of claim 23, wherein the second PHR comprises a third maximum power associated with a third beam and a fourth maximum power associated with a fourth beam and wherein the third beam and the fourth beam are comprised in the second set of two or more beams (YUAN discloses solution for a PHR transmitted in case of no power sharing (see fig. 7 and 8). Adding an indication of the maximum power in a PHR is a solution well known in the context of 3GPP network. It would have been obvious for one of the skilled person implementing the system of YUAN to adopt the same design option for the PHR transmitted in case of power sharing parag. 0078-0079) which is equated to the second power headroom of the claims (see analysis of claim 21 above)).
Claims 25-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
YUAN (WO 2021/184301 A1) as applied to claim 21 above and further in view of Zhou (Pub. No.: US 2024/0171207 A1)
With respect to claims 25, 35:
The rejection of claim 21 is incorporated; YUAN does not explicitly disclose wherein a value of the first power sharing status and the second power sharing status comprises true or a value of the first power sharing status and the second power sharing status comprises false.
Zhou discloses wherein a value of the first power sharing status and the second power sharing status comprises true or a value of the first power sharing status and the second power sharing status comprises false (parag. 0425 discloses true while 0466 discloses false). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Zhou into the teaching of YUAN in order to prevent exposure to radio frequency electromagnetic fields.
With respect to claims 26, 36:
Zhou discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the first beam and the third beam are the same beam (parag. 0161).
With respect to claims 27, 3:7
Zhou discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the first set of two or more beams are comprised in a first panel group (fig. 53).
With respect to claims 28, 38:
Zhou discloses the WTRU of claim 27, wherein a value of a first power sharing status is based on the first set of two or more beams being comprised in a first panel group (fig. 54, parag. 0492).
With respect to claims 29, 39:
Zhou discloses the WTRU of claim 28, wherein the value of the first power sharing status is further based on an angle between the two or more beams (parag. 0114).
With respect to claims 30, 40:
Zhou discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor is configured to periodically transmit the first PHR report based on a timer (parag. 0145, 0233).
Conclusion
/AJIBOLA A AKINYEMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649