DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending
1-9
35 U.S.C. 103
1-9
Priority
Applicant’s indication of Domestic Benefit/National Stage information based on 371 of PCT/JP2022/029131 filed 07/28/2022 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 12/30/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (US 20190134815 A1, “Fujii”) and further in view of Takeuchi et al. (US 20170259433 A1, “Takeuchi”).
Regarding claim 1: Fujii teaches: A robot parameter setting apparatus comprising: (Fujii: [0066] FIG. 1 is hardware block diagram of interference determination system 10. includes input unit 12 for inputting information, computing device 14 for processing information, robot arm 16 that is controlled based on computing results, and output unit 20 that includes monitor 18 for displaying results)
a first setting element which is either one of a target [. . .] and which is attached to an arm of a robot; (Fujii: [0067] input unit 12 functions as interface for inputting information to computing device 14, and includes means for inputting input data that includes initial orientation and target orientation of robot arm 16, obstacle information, robot information regarding robot arm 16. [0074] robot approximated bodies are generated, obtained by approximating each link (“portion of interest”) in first, second, and intermediate orientations, using second rectangular parallelepipeds. [0117] potential in area where robot arm 16 and nearby objects are possibly located is calculated, and path is generated based on potential. potential in area where robot arm 16 and nearby objects are possibly located is calculated using evaluation function)
a second setting element which is the other one of the target [. . .]; and (Fujii: [0074], [0076] possibility of interference between first combined approximated body and nearby object approximated body is determined, nearby object approximated body being obtained by approximating nearby object using first rectangular parallelepiped)
a controller configured to control the arm to execute parameter setting operation for setting parameter by placing the first setting element at a plurality of positions, (Fujii: [0070] interface 28 acquires initial orientation and target orientation that are input from input unit 12. interface 28 acquires rotational angles of respective drive shafts that specify orientation of robot arm 16. initial orientation and target orientation given as initial position and target position that include information regarding positions of leading end of robot arm 16. rotation angles of respective drive shafts are calculated by specific computing device, which includes CPU 24 of computing device 14, performing inverse kinematics calculation based on leading end positions. initial orientation may be current rotation angles of respective drive shafts of robot arm 16. target orientation or target position may be calculated based on image that shows position of item subjected to task carried out by robot arm 16. [0119] FIG. 5 is flowchart illustrating interference determination method regarding interference between specific link L of robot arm 16 and nearby object on motion path through which robot arm 16 move from orientation q.i to orientation q.i+1. FIG. 6 illustrates changes in check data list DL that is used in this interference determination method. check data list DL refers to stack data structure for storing plurality of pieces of check data D, and is configured so as to enable last-in, first-out (LIFO) of check data D. check data D refers to data that specifies two orientations at starting point and ending point that are subjected to interference determination. intermediate orientation on path connecting two orientations is computed based on this check data D, and first (or second or subsequent) combined approximated body is generated that includes robot approximated body data corresponding to at least three orientations, namely two orientations included in check data D and intermediate orientation)
wherein the controller is configured to control the sensor to acquire first check data related to the target in a state in which the first setting element is placed at a setting check position in a first half of the setting operation or before executing the setting operation, (Fujii: [0072] first orientation and second orientation are set so that rotation angle of each movable shaft increases or decreases monotonously while robot arm 16 changes from first orientation to second orientation. one movable shaft monotonously increases from rotation angle in first orientation to rotation angle in second orientation. Another movable shaft decreases monotonously from rotation angle in first orientation to rotation angle in second orientation. By thus setting first orientation and second orientation, and determining possibility of interference between later-described first rectangular parallelepiped that includes first orientation and second orientation and nearby object, it is possible to determine, at high speed, whether or not there is possibility of interference between robot arm 16 and nearby object when robot arm 16 moves from first orientation to second orientation. [0079] if it is determined that there is possibility of interference therebetween in case where first orientation is sufficiently close to second orientation, and accordingly resolution is sufficient, it is conceivable that interference between robot arm 16 and nearby object is highly likely to actually occur. For this reason, it can be determined that no more robot approximated bodies need to be newly generated to continue more detailed interference determination. CPU 24 determines that robot arm 16 is highly likely to interfere with nearby object when moving from first orientation to second orientation, and interference determination method according to embodiment ends. Then, it may be accurately determined whether or not interference will occur, using another method that requires complexity, or another path may also be searched, as needed. [0119], [0120] computing device 14 records [link.i, link.i+1] as check data D at end of check data list DL, provided in specific area of storage device. check data D [link.i, link.i+1] specifies orientations of specific link that correspond to orientation q.i and orientation q.i+1 of robot arm)
the controller is configured to control the arm to execute a movement for placing the first setting element at the setting check position in a latter half of the setting operation or after executing the setting operation, and (Fujii: [0072], [0119], [0120], [0122] computing device takes out check data D at end of check data list DL, as [link.a, link.b]. Here, [link.i, link.i+1] that was recorded as check data D at end of check data list DL is taken out as [link.a, link.b], and [link.i, link.i+1] that is check data D taken out from check data list DL is deleted. link.a is example of “first orientation” of “portion of interest” in course search state, and link.b is example of “second orientation” of “portion of interest” in course search state)
then controls the sensor to acquire second check data related to the target, and (Fujii: [0069] interference determination method for determining possibility that robot arm 16 will interfere with nearby object, such as obstacle, is realized using interference determination system 10. [0119]-[0129]. FIG. 7A schematically shows robot arm 16 moving from orientation i to orientation q.i−1, and nearby obstacles. link.c, intermediate link between link.a and link.b, is generated by. FIG. 8 shows setting of link.c, intermediate link between link.a and link.b. intermediate link link.c set by solving forward kinematics based on average value of joint value that indicates rotation angle of each drive shaft at time of link.a and joint value that indicates rotation angle of each drive shaft at time of link.b. rotational speed of link of robot arm is not constant but increases and decreases. computing device determines possibility of interference between approximated bodies obtained by approximating link.a, link.b, and link.c and nearby objects. robot approximated bodies generated, obtained by approximating shape of link corresponding to link.a, link.b, and link.c, using second rectangular parallelepipeds. first combined approximated body generated, obtained by approximating these robot approximated bodies using first rectangular parallelepiped, and possibility of interference between first combined approximated body and nearby object approximated body data determined. robot approximated body corresponding to link.a calculated based on joint values of respective drive shafts in orientation q.i, length of each link, and robot data of link stored, calculated as values of respective vertices that specify second rectangular parallelepiped. robot approximated bodies are calculated for link.b and link.c)
the controller is configured to judge whether or not there is a change in position of the first setting element or the second setting element based on the first check data and the second check data (Fujii: [0072], [0147] in step S52, [link.a, link.c] is taken out as [link.a, link.b], and link.c corresponding to an intermediate link therebetween is generated. [0150] FIG. 13 third combined approximated body, after processing has returned to step S52, by setting link.c and link.b in FIG. 12 as link.a and link.b, respectively, generating link.c corresponding to an intermediate link between the newly-set link.a and link.b, and combining three robot approximated bodies corresponding to link.a, link.b, and link.c).
However, Fujii does not explicitly teach: [a setting element is] a sensor and which is attached to an arm of a robot
Takeuchi teaches: [a setting element is] a sensor and which is attached to an arm of a robot (Takeuchi: [0072] force detecting section 21 is force sensor provided between end effector and manipulator. [0073] force detecting section may be another sensor that detects value indicating magnitude of force applied to end effector or object gripped by end effector such as torque sensor. [0254] force detecting section is six-axis force sensor).
Fujii and Takeuchi are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robot control settings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Fujii with the aspects of Takeuchi to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a robot parameter setting apparatus that includes sensors attached to the arm of the robot. The motivation for modification would have been to better measure the forces acting on the robot to enable more effective and efficient robot controls (Takeuchi, [0140], [0281]).
Regarding claim 2: Fujii-Takeuchi further teach: The robot parameter setting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller uses a position, as the setting check position, at which the first setting element is placed by a user moving the arm before placing the first setting element at the plurality of positions for the parameter setting operation (Fujii: [0079], [0105] leading-end initial position S′ and the leading-end target position G′ can be set by an operator using a teaching pendant. Takeuchi: [0038] in control device, number of setting values determined in advance or input by user. [0039] With this configuration, control device causes robot to perform, for respective setting values, number of which is determined in advance or input by user, predetermined first motion on basis of the setting values. [0084] control amounts are position and posture of designated teaching point, corrected change amounts). The motivation for modification would have been to improve the user interface and overall user experience, thus improving work efficiency by the robot (Takeuchi, [0140]).
Regarding claim 3: Fujii-Takeuchi further teach: The robot parameter setting apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a display device configured to display a judgement that there is the change in position (Fujii: [0066] monitor 18 for displaying results. [0070]-[0072]. Takeuchi: [0038], [0039]. [0084] control amounts are position and posture of designated teaching point, corrected change amounts, time, and force control parameters. corrected change amounts mean corrected change amounts calculated by robot control device through force control immediately before control amount information is generated. [0158] main screen G2 includes a mode selection region, display data selection region, information display region, and button. [0165]-[0166]). The motivation for modification would have been to improve the user interface and overall user experience, thus improving work efficiency by the robot (Takeuchi, [0140]).
Regarding claim 4: Fujii-Takeuchi further teach: The robot parameter setting apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a display device configured to display an amount of the change in position when there is the change in position (Takeuchi: [0038]-[0039], [0084], [0158]. [0165]-[0166]). The motivation for modification would have been to improve the user interface and overall user experience, thus improving work efficiency by the robot (Takeuchi, [0140]).
Regarding claim 5: Fujii-Takeuchi further teach: The robot parameter setting apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a display device configured to display a direction of the change in position when there is the change in position (Takeuchi: [0038]-[0039], [0084], [0158], [0165]-[0166]). The motivation for modification would have been to improve the user interface and overall user experience, thus improving work efficiency by the robot (Takeuchi, [0140]).
Regarding claim 6: Fujii-Takeuchi further teach: The robot parameter setting apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a display device configured to display a screen for the user to set the setting check position or a screen for allowing the user to select the setting check position (Fujii: [0105] leading-end initial position S′ and leading-end target position G′ can be set by operator using teaching pendant. Takeuchi: [0038]-[0039], [0084], [0158]. [0165]-[0166]). The motivation for modification would have been to improve the user interface and overall user experience, thus improving work efficiency by the robot (Takeuchi, [0140]).
Regarding claim 7: Fujii-Takeuchi further teach: The robot parameter setting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the robot parameter setting apparatus is configured to display a screen for having the user select whether or not to use the set parameter when the controller judges that there is the change in position (Takeuchi: [0038]-[0039], [0084], [0158]. [0165]-[0166]). The motivation for modification would have been to improve the user interface and overall user experience, thus improving work efficiency by the robot (Takeuchi, [0140]).
Regarding claim 8: Fujii-Takeuchi further teach: The robot parameter setting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second setting element is supported by a predetermined support portion (Fujii: [0074] robot approximated bodies are generated, obtained by approximating each link (“portion of interest”) in first, second, and intermediate orientations, using second rectangular parallelepipeds).
Regarding claim 9: Fujii-Takeuchi further teach: A robot comprising the robot parameter setting apparatus according to claim 1 (Fujii: [0066] FIG. 1 includes input unit, computing device, robot arm that is controlled based on computing results, and output unit that includes monitor).
Conclusion
/MADISON B EMMETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3658