DETAILED ACTION
for
SEAL STRUCTURE FOR TORQUE SENSOR AND ROBOT
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 12/30/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show (seal shape member, as claimed in claim 6) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are made.
The following title is suggested: SEAL STRUCTURE FOR TORQUE SENSOR AND ROBOT HAS CONTACT PORTION ON STRAIN GENERATING STRUCTURE.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The “seal shape member, as claimed in claim 6” does not have a reference number in the specification and is not described regarding the embodiment descriptions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Since the claim is absent of a transitional phrase, it is unclear if the claim language is "open" or "closed". Furthermore, it is unclear where the preamble ends the body (structure) of the claim begins.
The claims are replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operating device. The transitional phrases "comprising", "consisting essentially of" and "consisting of" define the scope of a claim with respect to what unrecited additional components or steps, if any, are excluded from the scope of the claim.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claims 1-6: The phrase "seal member” lacks antecedent basis. The subtraction from the phrase "annular shape seal member" has not been previously associated with the term "seal member”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. [herein after Suzuki] (US 2019/0250051).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses a seal structure for a torque sensor, the seal structure (32) being fixed to a position between a first member (14) and a fixed portion (33) of a reducer (30), which includes the fixed portion (33) and a movable portion (13) rotatably supported by the fixed portion (33) around a predetermined axis line (Fig. 7a), wherein the torque sensor detects a torque around the axis line (¶0040), the seal structure (32) having an annular shape seal member surrounding an outer periphery of the torque sensor (Fig. 6), and the seal member (32) being compressed by the fixed portion (33) and the first member (14) in a direction along the axis line (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki further discloses torque sensor (10) being formed in a disk shape, the first member (14) being provided with a recess (Fig. 6) having an inner circumference surface arranged at a radially outside position of an outer circumference surface of the torque sensor (10), and the seal member (32) being compressed at an opening edge portion of the recess (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses a seal structure (32) for a torque sensor (10), the seal structure (32) being fixed to a position between a first member (14) and a fixed portion (33) of a reducer (30), which includes the fixed portion (14) and a movable portion (13) rotatably supported by the fixed portion around a predetermined axis line (Fig. 7a), the torque sensor (10) being fixed to the first member (14) using an adapter (15) and detects a torque around the axis line (¶0040), the seal structure (32) comprises an annular shape seal member surrounding an outer periphery of the torque sensor (Fig. 6), and the seal member (32) being compressed by the fixed portion (33) and the adapter (15) in a direction along the axis line (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki further discloses the torque sensor (10) being formed in a disk shape (Fig. 1), the fixed portion (14) being provided with a recess having an inner circumference surface arranged at a radially outside position of an outer circumference surface of the torque sensor (Fig. 6), and the seal member (32) being compressed at an opening edge portion of the recess (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki further discloses the torque sensor (10) having an annular shape second seal member (11), the second seal member (11) being compressed by the first member (14) and the adapter (15) in the direction along the axis line (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses a robot having a first member (14); a second member; a reducer (30) that supports the second member so as to be rotatable around a predetermine axis line with respect to the first member (14); a torque sensor (10) fixed to a position between the reducer (30) and the first member (14), the torque sensor (10) detecting a torque around the axis line (Fig. 6); and an annular shape seal member (11) surrounding an outer periphery of the torque sensor (Fig. 1), the reducer (30) includes a fixed portion (33) to which the torque sensor (30) is fixed and a movable portion (13) being rotatably supported by the fixed portion (33) around the axis line (Fig. 3), and the seal member (32) being compressed by the fixed portion (33) and the first member (14) in the direction along the axis line (Fig. 6).
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855