DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 20, 26; 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0113767 in view of Kwon et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0122514.
Re: claims 1, 20 and 26 (which are rejected under the same rationale), Jung teaches
1. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: displaying, when a foldable display screen is in a first physical state, a second wallpaper on the foldable display screen, wherein the second wallpaper is a first area of a first wallpaper; (“Referring to Fig. 3, the panel 310 shows the electronic device 101 as fully folded... If the electronic device 101 is fully folded, the second display 250 may display a designated content... or enter the inactive state.”; Jung, [0073], Figs. 2-3)
In a first display state (displaying, when a foldable display screen is in a first physical state), such as fully folded, the second display 250 displays the designated content (second wallpaper on the foldable display screen). Fig. 2 illustrates the second display 250, where the content is displayed (second wallpaper is the first area of a first wallpaper.
playing, when changing the foldable display screen from the first physical state to a second physical state, an animation comprising a first frame and a second frame; (“The processor 460 may control to display an image corresponding to a folding angle and the status of the electronic device 101 (e.g., an angle of the electronic device in relation to the face of the Earth) in a folding operation or an unfolding operation... ”; Jung, [0097], Fig. 4)
During a folding or an unfolding operation (changing the foldable display screen from the first physical state to a second physical state), the processor controls the display of an image (playing) corresponding to the folding angle.
(“The first images may include a plurality of images which dynamically change based on the folding angle... The first images may include a plurality of images including at least one object which dynamically changes based on the folding angle or a visual effect.”; Jung, [0109], [0110])
The image to be displayed include, for example, an object which dynamically changes (an animation comprising a first frame and a second frame) based on the folding angle.
displaying a third wallpaper in the first frame, wherein the third wallpaper is a second area of the first wallpaper; (“The panel 320 shows that the electronic device 101 is folded at a folding angle (or an acute angle) below 90° or so. For example, the panel 320 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 45°. If the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 exceeds a first angle, the first display 240 may switch from the inactive state to an active state for displaying content.”; Jung, [0074], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates, for example, that when the folding angle exceeds 45°, then the first display 240 becomes active (second area of the first wallpaper). Thus display 250 and display 240 are active (displaying a third wallpaper in the first frame, wherein the third wallpaper is a second area of the first wallpaper).
displaying a fourth wallpaper in the second frame, wherein the fourth wallpaper is a third area of the first wallpaper, (“The panel 330 shows that the electronic device 101 is folded at a folding angle θ over 90° or so. For example, the panel 330 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 135°. If the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 exceeds a second angle which is greater than the first angle, the second display 250 may switch, but is not limited to, from the active state to the inactive state.”; Jung, [0075], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates, for example, that when the folding angle exceeds 135°, then the second display 250 may become inactive or maintain the active state (displaying a fourth wallpaper in the second frame, wherein the fourth wallpaper is a third area of the first wallpaper).
and wherein sizes of the second area and the third area and locations of the second area and the third area in the first wallpaper are based on an unfolding angle of the foldable display screen; (“For example, the panel 320 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 45°. If the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 exceeds a first angle, the first display 240 may switch from the inactive state to an active state for displaying content... For example, the panel 330 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 135°. If the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 exceeds a second angle which is greater than the first angle, the second display 250 may switch, but is not limited to, from the active state to the inactive state... ”; Jung, [0074], [0075], Fig. 3)
When the foldable display is being unfolded and the folding angle (unfolding angle) exceeds, for example 45°, display 240 becomes active and the content is displayed on the display 240 and display 250 (size and locations of the second area) based on the folding angle. When the folding angle exceeds, for example 135°, display 250 becomes inactive and the content is displayed on display 240 (size and location of the third area) based on the folding angle. Jung is suggestive of the sizes (based on the display) of the second area and the third area, but does not explicitly state, however, Kwon teaches the sizes.
(“... the electronic device 101 may identify whether unfolding is detected. Based on at least one sensed parameter from at least one of the angle sensor 601, the distance sensor 602, the gyroscope sensor 603, or the Hall sensor 604, the electronic device 101 may identify unfolding, i.e. whether the electronic device is changed into the unfolded state.”; Kwon, [0126])
The electronic device determines whether unfolding is detected based on an angle sensor.
(“When unfolding is detected, then in operation 1705, the electronic device 101 may capture and store the first screen. In operation 1707, the electronic device 101 may display a transition screen based on at least a part of the stored capture screen in the first area of the second display 502 In operation 1709, the electronic device 101 may identify whether the execution of the at least one operation set to be performed to display the second screen is completed. When it is identified that the execution of at least one operation is not completed, in operation 1711, the electronic device 101 may change at least one of the size or the display position of the transition screen. The change of at least one of the size or the display position of the transition screen may be performed while the execution of the at least one operation is completed.”; Kwon, [0160], Fig. 18)
Fig. 18 illustrates that when the electronic device is being unfolded (based on an unfolding angle of the foldable display screen), it displays a transition screen in the first area of the second display 502. As the electronic device continues to be unfolded, the electronic device changes the display size and position of the transition screen.
(“... the electronic device 101 may sequentially display multiple changed screens in which the captured screen is variously changed, and may output an animation effect in the region 1830. For example, as in FIG. 18, in the unfolded state, the electronic device 101 may sequentially display the captured screen in the first area 1821, the second area 1822, and the third area 1823 of the second display 502. ”; Kwon, [0160])
Fig. 18 illustrates that as the electronic device is unfolded, it sequentially displays the image at different sizes and locations 1821, 1822, 1823 as an animation effect (sizes of the second area and the third area and locations of the second area and the third area in the first wallpaper).
and displaying, when the foldable display screen is in the second physical state, a fifth wallpaper on the foldable display screen,
and displaying a fifth wallpaper on the foldable display screen, when the foldable display screen is in the second physical state (unfolded or open).
(“The panel 340 shows that the electronic device 101 is fully unfolded. For example, in the panel 340, the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 180°.”; Jung, [0076])
When the electronic device is fully unfolded (second physical state), the image frame (fifth wallpaper) is displayed on display 240 (foldable display screen). Jung is silent regarding a fifth wallpaper, however, Kwon teaches this limitation.
(“... the electronic device 101 may sequentially display multiple changed screens in which the captured screen is variously changed, and may output an animation effect in the region 1830. For example, as in FIG. 18, in the unfolded state, the electronic device 101 may sequentially display the captured screen in the first area 1821, the second area 1822, and the third area 1823 of the second display 502. There is no limit to the number of frames that the electronic device 101 includes for configuring an animation. ”; Kwon, [0160])
Fig. 18 illustrates that as the electronic device is unfolded, it sequentially displays the image at different sizes and locations 1821, 1822, 1823 as an animation effect. For example, sequentially displayed images are considered to include a fifth wallpaper displayed on the foldable display.
wherein the fifth wallpaper is a fourth area of the first wallpaper, and wherein the fifth wallpaper is in a final animation frame in the . (“The panel 340 shows that the electronic device 101 is fully unfolded. For example, in the panel 340, the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 180°.”; Jung, [0076])
Fig. 3 illustrates that the foldable display is fully unfolded.
(“The processor 460 may control to display an image corresponding to a folding angle in a folding operation or an unfolding operation...”; Jung, [0096])
The processor controls display of the image (animation) that corresponds to the folding angle. Fig. 3 illustrates that when the foldable display is fully unfolded, the image (animation) is displayed on the display 240 (fifth wallpaper is the fourth area of the first wallpaper).
(“For example, the memory 470 may store images (or image frames) to be displayed on at least one of the first display 240 or the second display 250 in sequence (or in succession) according to an increase (or a decrease) of a folding angle. The memory 470 may include a table which maps the images to the folding angles respectively.”; Jung, [0102])
The memory stores image frames (animation) to be displayed according to the folding angle.
(“The first images may include a plurality of images which dynamically change based on the folding angle... The first images may include a plurality of images including at least one object which dynamically changes based on the folding angle or a visual effect.”; Jung, [0109], [0110])
The image to be displayed include, for example, an object which dynamically changes (animation) based on the folding angle. When the foldable display is fully unfolded, then the final frame of the dynamically changing object is displayed on display 240 (the fifth wallpaper is in the final animation frame in the animation).
(“The images corresponding to the folding angles may be displayed in sequence (or in succession) according to the folding angle, in the folding operation or the unfolding operation... the images corresponding to the folding angles are referred to as a plurality of designated images... The designated images may include images which dynamically change as the folding angle changes... For example, the designated images may be displayed to move at least one object therein sequentially (or successively) while the folding angle increases or decreases in the folding operation or the unfolding operation.”; Jung, [0123], [0125], [0126])
The images corresponding to the folding angles are displayed in succession according to the folding angle. The image include images which dynamically change as the folding angle changes. For example, the image is displayed to move an object successively while the folding angle increases or decreases. Thus, the object moves until the foldable display is fully open at 180° (the fifth wallpaper is in the final animation frame in the animation). Jung is suggestive of but does not explicitly state a fourth area of the first wallpaper, however, Kwon teaches this limitation.
(“... the electronic device 101 may sequentially display multiple changed screens in which the captured screen is variously changed, and may output an animation effect in the region 1830. For example, as in FIG. 18, in the unfolded state, the electronic device 101 may sequentially display the captured screen in the first area 1821, the second area 1822, and the third area 1823 of the second display 502. There is no limit to the number of frames that the electronic device 101 includes for configuring an animation.”; Kwon, [0160])
Fig. 18 illustrates that as the electronic device is unfolded, it sequentially displays the image at different sizes and locations/areas 1821, 1822, 1823 as an animation effect. For example, sequentially displayed images are considered to include a fourth area of the first wallpaper displayed on the foldable display. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Jung by adding the feature of sizes of the second area and the third area and locations of the second area and the third area in the first wallpaper are based on an unfolding angle of the foldable display screen and displaying, when the foldable display screen is in the second physical state, a fifth wallpaper on the foldable display screen, wherein the fifth wallpaper is a fourth area of the first wallpaper, and wherein the fifth wallpaper is in a final animation frame in the animation, in order to provide a seamless user experience such as seamless moving and displaying of an execution screen, as taught by Kwon ([0145]).
Claim 20 is a device analogous to the method of claim 1, is similar in scope and is rejected under the same rationale. Re: claim 20, Jung teaches
20. (New) An electronic device, comprising: a foldable display screen; (“The first display 240 may be a foldable display. The first display 240 may be folded or unfolded...”; Jung, [0067], Fig. 2)
Fig. 2 illustrates a foldable display screen.
one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (“Various embodiments as set forth herein may be implemented as software (e.g., the program 140) including one or more instructions that are stored in a storage medium (e.g., internal memory 136 or external memory 138) that is readable by a machine (e.g., the electronic device 101). For example, a processor 120 of the machine (e.g., the electronic device 101) may invoke at least one of the one or more instructions stored in the storage medium, and execute it...”; Jung, [0059], Fig. 1)
Fig. 1 illustrates a memory 130, which includes internal memory 136 and external memory 138 (one or more memories), that stores instructions. The memory 130 is coupled to processor 120, which includes main processor 121 and auxiliary processor 123 (one or more processors).
Claim 26 is a medium analogous to the method of claim 1, is similar in scope and is rejected under the same rationale. Re: claim 26, Jung teaches
26. (New) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed by one or more processors, (“Various embodiments as set forth herein may be implemented as software (e.g., the program 140) including one or more instructions that are stored in a storage medium (e.g., internal memory 136 or external memory 138) that is readable by a machine (e.g., the electronic device 101). For example, a processor 120 of the machine (e.g., the electronic device 101) may invoke at least one of the one or more instructions stored in the storage medium, and execute it... The machine-readable storage medium may be provided in the form of a non-transitory storage medium.”; Jung, [0059], Fig. 1)
The machine-readable storage medium is a non-transitory storage medium that stores instructions executed by a processor.
Re: claims, 2, 21 and 27 (which are rejected under the same rationale), Jung and Kwon teach
2. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, further comprising generating the animation in response to changing the foldable display screen from the first physical state to the second physical state. (“The processor 460 may control to display an image corresponding to a folding angle and the status of the electronic device 101 (e.g., an angle of the electronic device in relation to the face of the Earth) in a folding operation or an unfolding operation... ”; Jung, [0097], Fig. 4)
During a folding or an unfolding operation (changing the foldable display screen from a first physical state to the second physical state), the processor controls the display of an image corresponding to the folding angle (generating the animation in response to changing the foldable display screen from the first physical state to the second physical state).
(“For example, the memory 470 may store images (or image frames) to be displayed on at least one of the first display 240 or the second display 250 in sequence (or in succession) according to an increase (or a decrease) of a folding angle. The memory 470 may include a table which maps the images to the folding angles respectively.”; Jung, [0102])
The memory stores image frames (animation) to be displayed according to the folding angle.
(“The first images may include a plurality of images which dynamically change based on the folding angle... The first images may include a plurality of images including at least one object which dynamically changes based on the folding angle or a visual effect.”; Jung, [0109], [0110])
The image to be displayed include, for example, an object which dynamically changes (animation) based on the folding angle.
Re: claims 3 and 22 (which are rejected under the same rationale), Jung and Kwon teach
3. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein generating the animation comprises: determining wallpaper location change information based on a first location and a second location, (“If the electronic device 101 is fully folded, the second display 250 may display a designated content... or enter the inactive state... If the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 exceeds a first angle, the first display 240 may switch from the inactive state to an active state for displaying content.”; Jung, [0073], [0074], Fig. 3)
When the electronic device is fully folded the content is displayed on display 250 (first location). And, when the electronic device is being unfolded and the folding angle exceeds, for example 45°, then the display 240 becomes active (wallpaper location change information) and content is displayed on display 250 and display 240 (second location).
wherein the first location is in the first wallpaper and is of a wallpaper displayed on a first screen part of the foldable display screen in the first physical state, and wherein the second location is in the first wallpaper and is of a wallpaper displayed on the first screen part in the second physical state; (“If the electronic device 101 is fully folded, the second display 250 may display a designated content... or enter the inactive state... If the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 exceeds a first angle, the first display 240 may switch from the inactive state to an active state for displaying content.”; Jung, [0073], [0074], Fig. 3)
When the electronic device is fully folded (first physical state) the content is displayed on display 250 (first location in the first wallpaper and is of a wallpaper displayed on a first screen part of the foldable display screen in the first physical state). And, when the electronic device is being unfolded (second physical state) and the folding angle exceeds, for example 45°, then the display 240 becomes active and content is displayed on display 250 and display 240 (second location is in the first wallpaper and is of a wallpaper displayed on the first screen part in the second physical state).
and generating the animation based on the wallpaper location change information, the unfolding angle of the foldable display screen, and an animation effect parameter of the animation. (“The processor 460 may control to display an image corresponding to a folding angle in a folding operation or an unfolding operation... Based on a user input, the processor 460 may control to acquire (or generate) an image to be displayed on at least one of the first display 240 or the second display 250 in a folding operation or an unfolding operation, ”; Jung, [0096], [0099], Fig. 4)
The processor controls the generation of an image (generating the animation) based on the folding angle (unfolding angle) and based on where the image is to be displayed, such as the first display 240 or the second display 250 (based on the wallpaper location change information).
(“The memory 470 may store a plurality of images corresponding to folding angles respectively. For example, the memory 470 may store images (or image frames) to be displayed on at least one of the first display 240 or the second display 250 in sequence (or in succession) according to an increase (or a decrease) of a folding angle. The memory 470 may include a table which maps the images to the folding angles respectively.”; Jung, [0102])
The memory stores image frames to be displayed on display 250 or display 240 according to the folding angle (unfolding angle).
(“... a first sensor for detecting a folding angle formed between the first housing and the second housing, a memory for storing a plurality of first images corresponding to a plurality of folding angles respectively, and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor may be configured to acquire information of the folding angle, through the first sensor, identify an image corresponding to the folding angle among the plurality of the first images, identify at least one display for displaying the image among the first display and the second display, based on the folding angle, and display the image on the at least one display.”; Jung, [0108], Fig. 4)
The processor acquires information of the folding angle (unfolding angle), identifies an image (animation) corresponding to the folding angle, identifies at least one display for displaying the image based on the folding angle (wallpaper location change information) and displays the image on the identified display generating the animation based on the wallpaper location change information, the unfolding angle of the foldable display screen).
(“The first images may include a plurality of images which dynamically change based on the folding angle... The first images may include a plurality of images including at least one object which dynamically changes based on the folding angle or a visual effect.”; Jung, [0109], [0110])
The displayed images (generated images) include an object that dynamically changes (generating the animation) based on the folding angle or a visual effect (based on the unfolding angle of the foldable display screen and an animation effect parameter of the animation)
Re: claims 4 and 23 (which are rejected under the same rationale), Jung and Kwon teach
4. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, wherein generating the animation further comprises: determining ,when changing the foldable display screen from the first physical state to the second physical state, a size of a wallpaper in each animation frame in the animation based on an unfolding angle corresponding to each animation frame “At the folding angle ranging from the first angle to the second angle, the processor 460 may display an image including an object which dynamically changes, on the first display 240 and the second display 250. For example, while the folding angle increases from the first angle to the second angle, the processor 460 may display images including an object 621 indicating part of the Moon which rotatably moves and changes in size, on the second display 260 and display images including an object 623 indicating other part of the Moon than the part of the Moon of the object 621, which rotatably moves and changes in size, on the first display 240.”; Jung, [0144], Fig. 6)
Fig. 6 illustrates that when the electronic device is unfolding and the folding angle increases, a first part of the moon is displayed on display 250 (which is a smaller display) and another part of the moon is displayed on display 240 (which is a larger display). The portion of the moon displayed on display 240 rotatably moves (animation) and increases in size.
(“At the folding angle ranging from the second angle to the third angle (180°), the processor 460 may display an image including an object which dynamically changes, on the first display 240. For example, as shown in panels 605 through 609, as the folding angle increases from the second angle to the third angle, the processor 460 may display images including objects 631 through 651 indicating the Moon which rotatably moves and changes in size, on the 1-1 display 240-1 and the 1-2 display 240-3.”; Jung, [0145])
As the electronic display continues to be unfolded (based on the unfolding angle corresponding to each animation frame), the image of the moon, which is displayed on the display 240, dynamically changes (animation frames). Panels 603-607 illustrate that the displayed moon rotatably moves and changes in size (determining a size of the wallpaper in each animation frame).
(“As shown in panels 1401 through 1409 of FIG. 14, while the electronic device 101 switches from the fully folded state to the fully unfolded state, the processor 460 may display the designated images generated based on the original image by zooming out the original image, on at least one of the first display 240 or the second display 250.”; Jung, [0167], Fig. 14)
Fig. 14 illustrates that as the electronic device switches from fully folded to fully unfolded (unfolding angle), the images are displayed based on zooming out of the original image (reducing the size of the image) (determining a size of the wallpaper in each animation frame).
determining a location that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame in the animation based on the wallpaper location change information, the unfolding angle corresponding to each animation frame in the animation, and the animation effect parameter of the animation; (“With the electronic device 101 fully folded, the processor 460 may display an image including a first object 1701 at the center of the second display 250 as shown in panel 1701.”; Jung, [0200], Fig. 17)
Fig. 17 illustrates, in the first row for example, that when the electronic device is fully folded the processor displays an object in the center of the display 250 (location that is in the first wallpaper).
(“If the electronic device 101 fully folded is unfolded to the first angle which is less than the folding angle of panel 1703, the processor 460 may display images which move the first object 1701 from the center of the second display 250 to an upper right portion of the second display 250, on the second display 250.”; Jung, [0201])
When the electronic device is unfolded to, for example, a first angle (the unfolding angle corresponding to each animation frame in the animation), the processor displays images which move the first object from the center to the upper right portion (determining a location that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame in the animation based on the wallpaper location change information) of the display 250, where the animation effect parameter is considered to be the movement of the object from the center to the upper right portion of the display 250..
(“As shown in panels 1701 through 1707, if the electronic device 101 is fully unfolded from the folding angle of panel 1703, the processor 460 may display images which move the first object 1701 from the upper right portion of the first display 240 to a lower left portion of the first display 240, on the first display 240.”; Jung, [0202])
When the electronic device is fully unfolded (the unfolding angle corresponding to each animation frame in the animation), the processor displays images which move the first object from the upper right portion to a lower portion (determining a location that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame in the animation based on the wallpaper location change information) of the first display 240.
determining an area that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame based on the size of the wallpaper in each animation frame in the animation and the location that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame; (“The processor 460 may generate images (or image portions in the area of the guide 2020) displayed in the guide 2020 (included in the guide 2020), as the designated images while the guide 2020 moves. For example, the processor 460 may generate the images displayed in the guide 2020 as the designated images while the guide 2020 moves, wherein the images displayed in the guide 2020 correspond to the folding angles, respectively, while the guide 2020 moves.”; Jung, [0242], Fig. 20)
Fig. 20 illustrates that the processor determines the area of the guide 202 and generates images or image portions (determining an area that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame), that are displayed in the guide 2020, as the guide moves across the display of the image/wallpaper 2010.
(“The processor 460 may receive a user input for magnifying or reducing the guide 2020. For example, the processor 460 may magnify or reduce the guide 2020, by receiving an input which touches and drags at least one of vertexes 2021 through 2027 of the guide 2020.”; Jung, [0243])
The processor may magnify or reduce the size of the guide.
(“The processor 460 may generate images (or image portions in the area of the guide 2020) displayed in the guide 2020 while the guide 2020 is magnified or reduced, as the designated images. For example, the processor 460 may generate the images displayed in the guide 2020, as the designated images while the guide 2020 is magnified or reduced, wherein the images displayed in the guide 2020 while the guide 2020 is magnified or reduced correspond to the folding angles, respectively.”; Jung, [0244])
The processor generates images or image portions for in the area of the guide 2020 while the guide is magnified or reduced (determining an area that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame based on the size of the wallpaper in each animation frame in the animation) as the guide moves (location that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame). .
and generating the animation based on the area that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame. (“Based on the user input, the processor 460 may set (or change) a width to height ratio (or a height to width ratio) of the guide 2020... Based on the user input, the processor 460 may generate the designated images including a visual effect.”; Jung, [0245], [0246])
Fig. 20 illustrates that based on user input the processor changes the size of the guide and generates image including a visual effect as the guide (area that is in the first wallpaper) moves across the image/wallpaper (generating the animation based on the area that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Kwon as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Park et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0130684.
Re: claim 5, Jung and Kwon are silent regarding identifying the area comprises changing, based on the size of each animation frame in the
5. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 4, wherein identifying the area comprises changing, based on the size of each animation frame in the animation and the location that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame, a location and a size of a mask on a display surface in which the first wallpaper is located to obtain the wallpaper in each animation frame, (“For example, example 1901 may be a state in which the electronic device 101 is in a closed state and displays the first wallpaper 1910 through the display on the basis of a designated image area of a wallpaper image.”; Park, [0368], Fig. 19)
Fig. 19 illustrates, in panel 1901, that when the electronic device is in a closed state, it displays wallpaper 1910 in the designated image area.
(“ For example, the electronic device 101 may detect a state change in which an output resolution of the display changes (or a display ratio of a display area changes) while displaying the first wallpaper 1910.”; Park, [0369])
When there is a state change, where the electronic device switches from closed to open, the display ratio of the display area changes while displaying the first wallpaper.
(“In example 1903, the electronic device 101 may provide a switching effect in which, while being switched from a closed state to an open state, the electronic device 101 is switched from the first wallpaper 1910 based on a first image area of a designated wallpaper image in the closed state to a second wallpaper 1920 based on a second image area of a designated wallpaper image in the open state (e.g., a wallpaper image that is the same as or different from the designated wallpaper image in the closed state).”; Park, [0370])
When switching from a closed state to an open state, the electronic device provides a switching effect. The electronic device is switched (changing) from a first wallpaper in a first image area at a first size of a wallpaper image in the closed state to a second wallpaper based on a second image area of a second size (based on the size of each animation frame in the animation and the location that is in the first wallpaper and that is of the wallpaper in each animation frame) of a wallpaper image in the open state (where the wallpaper image is the same or different).
(“According to an embodiment, example 1903 may illustrate an example of providing a switching effect between wallpapers on the basis of a frame in/out effect. For example, the first wallpaper 1910 may gradually disappear in a frame out in a designated direction, while the second wallpaper 1920 may appear at roughly the same time, gradually substituting for the first wallpaper 1910 in a frame in.”; Park, [0371])
Fig. 19 illustrates in panel 1903, that when switching from a closed state to an open state, the first wallpaper 1910 may gradually disappear in a frame out in a designated direction, while the second wallpaper 1920 appears at the same time gradually substituting for the first wallpaper. The first wallpaper 1910 is considered to be a mask, where the location and the size of the mask is changing as it moves across the display surface (changing... a location and a size of a mask on a display surface in which the first wallpaper is located to obtain the wallpaper in each animation frame).
and wherein the wallpaper in each animation frame is a visible area other than an area shielded by the mask on the display surface in which the first wallpaper is located. (“According to an embodiment, example 1903 may illustrate an example of providing a switching effect between wallpapers on the basis of a frame in/out effect. For example, the first wallpaper 1910 may gradually disappear in a frame out in a designated direction, while the second wallpaper 1920 may appear at roughly the same time, gradually substituting for the first wallpaper 1910 in a frame in.”; Park, [0371])
Fig. 19 illustrates that the first wallpaper 1910 gradually disappears in a frame out in a designated direction (area shielded by the mask on the display surface in which the first wallpaper is located), while the second wallpaper 1920 appears at the same time, gradually substituting for the first wallpaper (wallpaper in each animation frame is a visible area). In panel 1903, the wallpaper 1910 acts as a mask that shields a portion of the display as it moves up. As the mask moves up it gradually reveals more of the wallpaper 1920. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Jung by adding the feature of identifying the area comprises changing, based on the size of each animation frame in the
Re: claim 6, Jung and Kwon teach
6. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein a wallpaper in each animation frame is a live wallpaper comprising a wallpaper frame sequence, wherein the wallpaper frame sequence comprises at least two wallpaper animation frames, (“The processor 460 may control to display an image corresponding to a folding angle and the status of the electronic device 101 (e.g., an angle of the electronic device in relation to the face of the Earth) in a folding operation or an unfolding operation... ”; Jung, [0097], Fig. 4)
During a folding or an unfolding operation, the processor controls the display of an image corresponding to the folding angle.
(“The first images may include a plurality of images which dynamically change based on the folding angle... The first images may include a plurality of images including at least one object which dynamically changes based on the folding angle or a visual effect.”; Jung, [0109], [0110])
The image to be displayed include, for example, an object which dynamically changes (wallpaper frame sequence comprises at least two wallpaper animation frames) as the folding angle changes (wallpaper in each animation frame is a live wallpaper).
and wherein generating the (“If the electronic device 101 is fully folded, the second display 250 may display a designated content... or enter the inactive state... If the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 exceeds a first angle, the first display 240 may switch from the inactive state to an active state for displaying content.”; Jung, [0073], [0074], Fig. 3)
When the electronic device is fully folded the content is displayed on display 250 (first location). And, when the electronic device is being unfolded and the folding angle exceeds, for example 45°, then the display 240 becomes active (wallpaper location change information) and content is displayed on display 250 and display 240 (second location).
wherein the first location is in the first wallpaper and is of a wallpaper displayed on a first screen part of the foldable display screen in the first physical state, and wherein the second location is in the first wallpaper and is of a wallpaper displayed on the first screen part in the second physical state; (“If the electronic device 101 is fully folded, the second display 250 may display a designated content... or enter the inactive state... If the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 exceeds a first angle, the first display 240 may switch from the inactive state to an active state for displaying content.”; Jung, [0073], [0074], Fig. 3)
When the electronic device is fully folded (first physical state) the content is displayed on display 250 (first location in the first wallpaper and is of a wallpaper displayed on a first screen part of the foldable display screen in the first physical state). And, when the electronic device is being unfolded (second physical state) and the folding angle exceeds, for example 45°, then the display 240 becomes active and content is displayed on display 250 and display 240 (second location is in the first wallpaper and is of a wallpaper displayed on the first screen part in the second physical state).
determining a correspondence between a wallpaper in each animation frame in the animation and a wallpaper animation frame in the wallpaper frame sequence; (“The images corresponding to the folding angles may be displayed in sequence (or in succession) according to the folding angle, in the folding operation or the unfolding operation... the images corresponding to the folding angles are referred to as a plurality of designated images... The designated images may include images which dynamically change as the folding angle changes... For example, the designated images may be displayed to move at least one object therein sequentially (or successively) while the folding angle increases or decreases in the folding operation or the unfolding operation.”; Jung, [0123], [0125], [0126])
The images corresponding to the folding angles (correspondence between a wallpaper in each animation frame) are displayed in sequence or succession (wallpaper animation frame in the wallpaper frame sequence) according to the folding angle. The image include images which dynamically change as the folding angle changes. For example, the image (correspondence between a wallpaper in each animation frame in the animation) is displayed to move an object successively while the folding angle increases or decreases (wallpaper animation frame in the wallpaper frame sequence).
and generating the animation based on the wallpaper location change information, the unfolding angle of the foldable display screen, an animation effect parameter of the animation, and the correspondence between each animation frame in the animation and a wallpaper animation frame in the wallpaper frame sequence. (“The processor 460 may control to display an image corresponding to a folding angle in a folding operation or an unfolding operation... Based on a user input, the processor 460 may control to acquire (or generate) an image to be displayed on at least one of the first display 240 or the second display 250 in a folding operation or an unfolding operation, ”; Jung, [0096], [0099], Fig. 4)
The processor controls the generation of an image (generating the animation) based on the folding angle (unfolding angle), which indicates a correspondence between the image frame (animation frame) and animation sequence, and based on where the image is to be displayed, such as the first display 240 or the second display 250 (based on the wallpaper location change information).
(“The memory 470 may store a plurality of images corresponding to folding angles respectively. For example, the memory 470 may store images (or image frames) to be displayed on at least one of the first display 240 or the second display 250 in sequence (or in succession) according to an increase (or a decrease) of a folding angle. The memory 470 may include a table which maps the images to the folding angles respectively.”; Jung, [0102])
The memory stores image frames to be displayed on display 250 or display 240 according to the folding angle (unfolding angle).
(“... a first sensor for detecting a folding angle formed between the first housing and the second housing, a memory for storing a plurality of first images corresponding to a plurality of folding angles respectively, and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor may be configured to acquire information of the folding angle, through the first sensor, identify an image corresponding to the folding angle among the plurality of the first images, identify at least one display for displaying the image among the first display and the second display, based on the folding angle, and display the image on the at least one display.”; Jung, [0108], Fig. 4)
The processor acquires information of the folding angle (unfolding angle), identifies an image (animation) corresponding to the folding angle, identifies at least one display for displaying the image based on the folding angle (wallpaper location change information) and displays the image on the identified display generating the animation based on the wallpaper location change information, the unfolding angle of the foldable display screen).
(“The first images may include a plurality of images which dynamically change based on the folding angle... The first images may include a plurality of images including at least one object which dynamically changes based on the folding angle or a visual effect.”; Jung, [0109], [0110])
The displayed images (generated images) include an object that dynamically changes (generating the animation) based on the folding angle or a visual effect (based on the unfolding angle of the foldable display screen and an animation effect parameter of the animation)
Re: claim 9, Jung and Kwon teach
9. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, wherein the first screen part is a primary screen of the foldable display screen. (“If the electronic device 101 is fully folded, the second display 250 may display a designated content... or enter the inactive state.” ; Jung, [0073], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates that when the foldable display is fully folded, the display 250 (the first screen is the primary screen of the foldable display screen).
Re: claim 10, Jung and Kwon teach
10. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, wherein the animation effect parameter comprises at least one of a play duration, an animation effect curve, or an animation effect manner. (“The first images may include a plurality of images including at least one object which dynamically changes based on the folding angle or a visual effect.”; Jung, [0110])
The images to be displayed include, for example, an object which dynamically changes based on the folding angle or visual effect (animation effect parameter).
(“The images corresponding to the folding angles may be displayed in sequence (or in succession) according to the folding angle, in the folding operation or the unfolding operation... the images corresponding to the folding angles are referred to as a plurality of designated images... The designated images may include images which dynamically change as the folding angle changes... For example, the designated images may be displayed to move at least one object therein sequentially (or successively) while the folding angle increases or decreases in the folding operation or the unfolding operation.”; Jung, [0123], [0125], [0126])
The images corresponding to the folding angles are displayed in succession (animation) according to the folding angle. The image include images which dynamically change as the folding angle changes. For example, the image is displayed to move an object successively while the folding angle increases or decreases (play duration, an animation effect curve). For example, the object moves until the foldable display is fully open at 180° (play duration, animation effect curve).
(“As shown in panels 1001 through 1009 of FIG. 10, while the electronic device 101 switches from the fully folded state to the fully unfolded state, the processor 460 may display images including a visual effect of changing color of objects indicating points sequentially arranged, on at least one of the first display 240 and the second display 250.”; Jung, [0159], Fig. 10)
Fig. 10 illustrates in panels 1001-1009 that as the electronic devices changes from the fully folded state to the fully unfolded state, the processor displays a visual effect of changing the color of objects indicating points sequentially arranged (animation effect parameter comprises an animation effect manner).
(“If the user unfolds the electronic device 101 quickly, the processor 460 may display images including an object which dynamically changes in response to the unfolding (or folding) speed of the electronic device 101, on at least one of the first display 240 or the second display 250.”; Jung, [0148])
When, for example, the electronic device is being unfolded quickly, the processor displays an object which dynamically changes in response to the unfolding speed (play duration).
Re: claim 11, Jung and Kwon teach
11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 3, wherein when the first physical state is a folded state, the first location is a preset location in the first wallpaper. (“For example, in the panel 310, the electronic device 101 may be at a folding angle of θ of about 00... If the electronic device 101 is fully folded, the second display 250 may display a designated content... or enter the inactive state.” ; Jung, [0073], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates that the first physical state of the foldable display the fully folded state and that the display 250 (first location is a preset location in the first wallpaper) displays content in the fully folded state.
Re: claim 12, Jung and Kwon teach
12. (Currently Amended) The method claim 3, further comprising obtaining the animation effect parameter angles may be displayed in sequence (or in succession) according to the folding angle, in the folding operation or the unfolding operation... the images corresponding to the folding angles are referred to as a plurality of designated images... The designated images may include images which dynamically change as the folding angle changes... For example, the designated images may be displayed to move at least one object therein sequentially (or successively) while the folding angle increases or decreases in the folding operation or the unfolding operation.”; Jung, [0123], [0125], [0126])
The images corresponding to the folding angles are displayed in succession according to the folding angle. The images include images which dynamically change as the folding angle changes. For example, the image is displayed to move an object successively while the folding angle increases or decreases (image effect parameter).
Re: claim 24, Jung and Kwon teach
24. (New) The electronic device of claim 22, wherein the foldable display screen comprises an outward foldable screen, an inward foldable screen, or a rollable screen. (“Fig. 3 is an illustration of an electronic device 101 based on a folding angle while the electronic device 101 changes from a folding state to an unfolding state...”; [0072], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates that the foldable display is an inward foldable screen
(“For example, in the panel 310, the electronic device 101 may be at a folding angle of θ of about 00... the panel 320 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 45°... the panel 330 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 135 °... The panel 340 shows that the electronic device 101 is fully unfolded.” ; Jung, [0073], [0074], [0075], [0076], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates that the foldable display is an inward foldable display where the fully folded angle is 0° and the fully unfolded angle is 180°.
Re: claim 25, Jung and Kwon teach
25. (New) The electronic device of claim 22, wherein when the foldable display screen is an outward foldable screen or an inward foldable screen, the first physical state is a folded state, an intermediate state, or an unfolded state, (“Fig. 3 is an illustration of an electronic device 101 based on a folding angle while the electronic device 101 changes from a folding state to an unfolding state...”; [0072], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates that the foldable display is an inward foldable screen. 320 illustrates that the first physical state is the folded state. The first physical state can also be intermediate states 320 and 330 or unfolded state 340.
wherein the intermediate state is a state between the folded state and the unfolded state, and wherein the intermediate state comprises at least one of a first intermediate state and a second intermediate state, (“For example, the panel 320 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 45°... For example, the panel 330 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 135°.”; Jung, [0074], [0075], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates two intermediate states 320 (first intermediate state) and 330 (second intermediate state) between the folded state and the unfolded state.
and wherein when the first physical state is the folded state, the second physical state is the intermediate state or the unfolded state, (“... the panel 310 shows the electronic device 101 is fully folded... the panel 320 shows that the folding angle θ of the electronic device 101 is about 45°”; Jung, [0073], [0074], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates that the in panel 310 the electronic device is fully folded (the first physical state is the folded state) and in panel 320 the electronic device is at a folding angle of 45° (second physical state is the intermediate state).
wherein when the first physical state is the unfolded state, the second physical state is the intermediate state or the folded state, or wherein when the first physical state is the first intermediate state, the second physical state is the unfolded state, the folded state, or the second intermediate state. (“While the electronic device 101 changes from the fully folded state to the fully unfolded state in FIG. 3, an example in which the electronic device 101 changes from the fully unfolded state to the fully folded state may be applied in the identical or similar manner.”; Jung, [0077], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates the electronic device changing from the fully folded to the fully unfolded state, however, the electronic device can also change from the fully unfolded state tot eh fully folded state. Fig. 3 illustrates in panel 340 that the electronic device is in the fully unfolded state (first physical state is the unfolded state). In panel 330, the electronic device is at a folding angle of 135° (the second physical state is the intermediate state). Also, as illustrated in Fig. 3, if the first physical state is panel 330, where the folding angle is 135°, the second physical state can be the unfolded state in panel 340 or the second intermediate state in panel 320.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art teaches or suggests:
From claim 7 – “wherein the correspondence that animation frames in the animation are in a one-to-one correspondence with wallpaper animation frames in the wallpaper frame sequence, a wallpaper in a first animation frame in the animation is an mth frame in the wallpaper frame sequence, and the mth frame is a wallpaper displayed on the foldable display screen in the first physical state, and wherein m is an integer greater than or equal to 1. “ Claim 8 depends from claim 7 and includes all of the limitations of claim 7.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/Donna J. Ricks/Examiner, Art Unit 2618
/DEVONA E FAULK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2618