DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As indicated in the previously issued Office Action, the claims 1, 10 and 19 recitations of “preset shape”, “preset reflective feature” and “preset transmissive feature” are unclear. Exactly what is the nature of these “preset” shapes, reflective features, and transmissive features? Exactly how are they “preset”? Exactly what person/entity is charged with “presetting” them? Exactly what structure/configuration is sought? Please review/revise/clarify. The Office appreciates Applicants’ attempt to discuss these items within the Arguments/Remarks filed on 02 June 2026, but Applicants are encouraged to set forth clear and unambiguous indications of the aforementioned items within the actual claim language.
As indicated in the previously issued Office Action, the claims 1-2 recitations of “a height of each of the coated micro-structures continuously changes”, “a height of each of the micro-structures changes continuously” and “the height of each of the coated micro-structures changes continuously” are unclear. Are the associated microstructures supposed to be configured such that they are susceptible to change is physical structure/shaping at any given time, as in the case of a fluid? Exactly what structure/configuration is sought? Please review/revise/clarify. The Office appreciates Applicants’ attempt to discuss these items within the Arguments/Remarks filed on 02 June 2026, but Applicants are encouraged to set forth clear and unambiguous indications of the aforementioned items within the actual claim language.
As indicated in the previously issued Office Action, the claim 2 recitation of “not able to be observed directly by human eyes” is unclear. Can the pertinent text be viewed indirectly via a mirror? Also note that humans are known to have a variety of respective eye strengths. Do Applicants actually desire some particular sizing or resolution? Exactly what structure/configuration is sought? Please review/revise/clarify. The Office appreciates Applicants’ attempt to discuss this limitation within the Arguments/Remarks filed on 02 June 2026, but Applicants are encouraged to set forth clear and unambiguous indications of the aforementioned demetallized graphic-text within the actual claim language.
The claim 1 recitation of “to remove a defect of the coating layer caused by the abrupt-change of the micro-structures” is unclear, as the exact physical nature of this “defect” is unknown. Accordingly, it is unknown how such a “defect” may be removed. Additionally, note that claim 1 is drawn to an optical anti-counterfeiting element- not a method of use/operation thereof. Are Applicants attempting to set forth method steps within an apparatus claim? In view of the foregoing, Applicants’ added language causes the exact scope of the pertinent claim to be unclear/unknown. Accordingly, please review/revise/clarify.
Claims 4-9, 11-18 and 20 are rejected as depending (directly or indirectly) from rejected independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0194091 to Heim et al. (“Heim”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0078374 to Taira et al. (“Taira”).
Regarding claim 1, Heim discloses an optical (para. 23 and 114) anti-counterfeiting (para. 117) element (e.g. security element 160, as shown in fig. 15 and discussed at para. 114), comprising: i) a substrate (e.g. transparent/translucent material 161, as shown in fig. 15 and discussed at para. 114); ii) a micro-structure forming layer (e.g. layer of material forming micropattern elements 162 and 163, as shown in fig. 15 and discussed at para. 114), wherein the micro-structure forming layer (aforementioned layer of material forming micropattern elements 162 and 163) is arranged on (fig. 15) a side surface (e.g. upper side surface, as shown in fig. 15) of the substrate (161), the micro-structure forming layer (aforementioned layer of material forming micropattern elements 162 and 163) has micro- structures (e.g. micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings, together, as shown in fig. 15 and discussed at para. 114), and a longitudinal section (e.g. angled portions, as shown in fig. 15) of each of the micro-structures (e.g. individual instances of micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings, as shown in fig. 15) has a preset shape (e.g. jagged contour shown in fig. 15); and iii) a coating layer (e.g. optically variable coating layers 164, 165 and 166, together, as shown in fig. 15 and discussed at para. 114), wherein the coating layer (164, 165 and 166, together) is arranged on (fig. 15) the micro-structure forming layer (aforementioned layer of material forming micropattern elements 162 and 163), the micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings) are coated with (fig. 15) the coating layer (164, 165 and 166, together) to form coated (fig. 15) micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings), and a height (e.g. vertical dimension, as shown in fig. 15) of each of the coated micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings) continuously changes (fig. 15); iv) wherein when a height (aforementioned vertical dimension) of each of the micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings) changes continuously (e.g. upon sloping portions shown in fig. 15), the coating layer (164, 165 and 166, together) has no demetallized region (fig. 15).
Heim does not disclose: i) when shapes (e.g. cross-sections, as shown in fig. 15) of the micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings) have an abrupt-change (e.g. instances of sides 167, as shown in fig. 15 and discussed at para. 115), the coating layer (164, 165 and 166, together) has a demetallized region to remove a defect (note that the instant claim is drawn to an optical anti-counterfeiting element- not a method of use/operation thereof) of the coating layer (164, 165 and 166, together) caused by the abrupt-change (aforementioned instances of sides 167) of the microstructures (aforementioned individual instances of micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings), and ii) wherein the demetallized region has a feature width greater than or equal to 0.1 micrometer and less than or equal to 100 micrometers.
Taira teaches the concept of providing: i) when shapes (e.g. cross-sections, as shown in fig. 12) of micro-structures (e.g. individual triangular instances of echelette grating shapings, as shown in fig. 12) have an abrupt-change (e.g. steep slope, as shown in fig. 12), a coating layer (e.g. metal discussed at para. 7) has a demetallized region (e.g. regions of metal thin lines, as shown in fig. 12 and discussed at para. 7; note that per para. 7, these metal thin lines are formed via oblique evaporation of portions of the metal layer); and ii) wherein the demetallized region (aforementioned regions of metal thin layers) has a feature width greater than or equal to 0.1 micrometer and less than or equal to 100 micrometers (para. 52).
Given that Heim and Taira both concern microstructure optical elements, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the Taira oblique evaporation teachings to the Heim regions straddling sides 167, thereby forming Taira metal thin line regions having width dimensions as desired, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant Heim security element 160 assembly presenting optical aesthetics as desired.
Regarding claim 2, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 1, wherein the demetallized region (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) is provided at a position where the abrupt change (aforementioned Heim regions straddling sides 167) occurs (Heim fig. 15) in the micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of Heim micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings), such that the height (aforementioned vertical dimension) of each of the coated micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of Heim micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings) changes continuously (Heim fig. 15), wherein the demetallized region (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) is in a non-macro (per Heim para. 116, the security element 160’s main set of shapings is a “micropattern” 170) demetallized (note that executed of the aforementioned Taira oblique evaporation operation) graphic-text form (per Heim para. 3, such a security element presents a graphic motif); the non-macro demetallized graphic-text is demetallized graphic-text which is not able to be observed directly by human eyes and is able to be observed only by using a microscope (note that the instant claim is drawn to an optical anti-counterfeiting element- not a method of use thereof), and the non-macro demetallized graphic-text does not affect an anti-counterfeiting effect (see the rejection under 35 USC 112 set forth supra) of the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together).
Regarding claim 4, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 2, wherein a ratio of an area (e.g. vertical spatial area, as shown in Heim fig. 15) of the demetallized region (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) to a total area (e.g. horizontal spatial area, as shown in Heim fig. 15) of the optical anti- counterfeiting element (Heim 160) is less than or equal to 0.5 (Heim para. 18).
Regarding claim 5, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 2, wherein when there are a plurality (Heim fig. 15, in view of the modification set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) of demetallized regions (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions), at least two demetallized regions (e.g. neighboring instances of aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) among the plurality of demetallized regions (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) are connected with each other (e.g. connected by way of individual instances of micropattern elements Heim 162 and 163, as shown in fig. 15).
Regarding claim 6, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 2, wherein when there are a plurality (Heim fig. 15, in view of the modification set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) of demetallized regions (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions), at least two (e.g. distally opposite instances of aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) demetallized regions (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) among the plurality of demetallized regions (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) are not connected with each other (Heim fig. 15, in view of the modification set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra).
Regarding claim 7, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 1, wherein the preset shape (aforementioned jagged contour shown in Heim fig. 15) comprises at least one of a sine shape, a wedge shape (Heim fig. 15), symmetrical rectangular teeth, asymmetrical rectangular teeth, and a trapezoid shape.
Regarding claim 8, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 1, wherein each of the micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of Heim micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings) has a feature size of greater than or equal to 0.1 micrometer and less than or equal to 500 micrometers (Heim para. 18) in a plane (e.g. horizontal plane, as shown in Heim fig. 15) parallel to (Heim fig. 15) the substrate (Heim 161).
Regarding claim 9, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 8, wherein each of the micro-structures (aforementioned individual instances of Heim micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings) has the feature size of greater than or equal to 0.2 micrometer and less than or equal to 100 micrometers (Heim para. 18) in the plane (aforementioned horizontal plane) parallel to (Heim fig. 15) the substrate (Heim 161).
Regarding claim 10, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 1, wherein the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together) provides a preset reflective feature (Heim para. 23 and 115, and claim 2) or a preset transmissive feature (Heim para. 9).
Regarding claim 11, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together) is a single reflective layer or a single dielectric layer.
However, it has been held that the use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide such an integral formation of the Heim layers 164, 165 and 166, in order to yield a resultant assembly with fewer constituent parts.
Regarding claim 12, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 1, wherein i) the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together) is a stack layer (Heim fig. 15) formed by stacking multiple layers (Heim fig. 15) of dielectric layers (Heim para. 115); or ii) the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together) is a stack layer (Heim fig. 15) formed by alternately stacking reflective layers (e.g. metallic layer structure discussed at Heim para. 115) and dielectric layers (e.g. dielectric structure discussed at Heim para. 115).
Regarding claim 13, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 1, wherein the optical anti-counterfeiting element (Heim 160) further comprises a protective layer (e.g. transparent coating discussed at Heim para. 23), wherein the protective layer (aforementioned transparent coating) is arranged on (per Heim para. 23, pattern elements 162 and 163 may be provided with the aforementioned additional transparent coating) the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together), and the protective layer (aforementioned transparent coating) is a transparent layer (Heim para. 23).
Regarding claim 15, Heim in view of Taira discloses an optical anti-counterfeiting product (e.g. security papers or value documents discussed in Heim written abstract and at para. 58), comprising (Heim written abstract and para. 58) the optical anti- counterfeit element (Heim 160) according claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Heim in view of Taira discloses a method for manufacturing (Heim para. 5) an optical (Heim para. 23 and 114) anti-counterfeiting (Heim para. 117) element (e.g. Heim security element 160, as shown in fig. 15 and discussed at para. 114), wherein the method for manufacturing (Heim para. 5) an optical anti-counterfeiting element (Heim 160) is configured for manufacturing (Heim para. 5) the optical anti-counterfeiting element (Heim 160) according to claim 1, wherein the method for manufacturing (Heim para. 5) an optical anti-counterfeiting element (Heim 160) comprises: i) forming a micro-structure forming layer (aforementioned layer of material forming Heim micropattern elements 162 and 163) having micro-structures (aforementioned Heim micropattern element 162 and 163 shapings, together) on (Heim fig. 15) a substrate (Heim 161); ii) forming a coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together) having a demetallized region (aforementioned Taira metal thin line regions) on (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 1, supra) the micro-structure forming layer (aforementioned layer of material forming Heim micropattern elements 162 and 163); and iii) forming a protective layer (e.g. transparent coating discussed at Heim para. 23) on (per Heim para. 23, pattern elements 162 and 163 may be provided with the aforementioned additional transparent coating) the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together).
Regarding claim 17, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 2, wherein the preset shape (aforementioned jagged contour shown in Heim fig. 15) comprises at least one of a sine shape, a wedge shape (Heim fig. 15), symmetrical rectangular teeth, asymmetrical rectangular teeth, and a trapezoid shape.
Regarding claim 18, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 2, wherein each of the micro-structures (Heim 162 and 163) has a feature size of greater than or equal to 0.1 micrometer and less than or equal to 500 micrometers (Heim para. 18) in a plane (e.g. horizontal plane, as shown in Heim fig. 15) parallel to (Heim fig. 15) the substrate (Heim 161).
Regarding claim 19, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 2, wherein the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together) provides a preset reflective feature (per Heim para. 55, reflective features may be provided within the assembly) or a preset transmissive feature (per Heim para. 55, transparent features may be provided within the assembly).
Regarding claim 20, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 2, wherein the optical anti-counterfeiting element (Heim 160) further comprises a protective layer (e.g. transparent coating discussed at Heim para. 23), wherein the protective layer (aforementioned transparent coating) is arranged on (per Heim para. 23, pattern elements 162 and 163 may be provided with the aforementioned additional transparent coating) the coating layer (Heim 164, 165 and 166, together), and the protective layer (aforementioned transparent coating) is a transparent layer (Heim para. 23).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heim in view of Taira and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0012337 to Heim (“Heim ‘337”).
Regarding claim 14, Heim in view of Taira discloses the optical anti-counterfeiting element according to claim 13, but does not disclose wherein a difference in refractive indexes between the protective layer (aforementioned transparent coating) and the micro-structure forming layer (aforementioned layer of material forming Heim micropattern elements 162 and 163) is less than 0.5.
Heim ‘337 teaches the concept of providing a difference in refractive indexes between a protective layer (e.g. transparent lacquer layer 30, as shown in fig. 2 and discussed at para. 52) and a micro-structure forming layer (e.g. embossing lacquer layer 24, as shown in fig. 2 and discussed at para. 52) being less than 0.5 (para. 12).
Given that Heim and Heim ‘337 both pertain to security elements containing microstructures therein, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the Heim transparent coating and layer of material forming micropattern elements 162 and 163 with refractive indexes having a difference of 0.3 or less according to the Heim ‘337 teachings, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant optimally secure element, that is less likely to be successfully counterfeited.
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicants’ claim amendments, a further search of the pertinent areas of prior art was executed. Within said search, the aforementioned Taira reference was identified. Accordingly, Applicants’ arguments have been considered, but are moot because the rejection relies on a new combination of references.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN V LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637