DETAILED ACTION
Product by process limitations
Product by process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps.
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (See MPEP § 2113)
Claim 9 recites: “A method for assembling a scroll compressor, applied to the scroll compressor according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises:…”, these limitations are subject to product by process analysis.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “radial through-hole” in claim 1 (which is described in Para 58 as not being shown) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because “a preset position” in line 20 should be --the preset position--.
Claim 5 is objected to because “and a guide protrusion that adapted to each other;” in lines 2-3 should be --and a guide protrusion, the guide groove adapted to the guide protrusion--.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“A method for assembling a scroll compressor, applied to the scroll compressor according to claim 1” in lines 1-2 should be -- A method for assembling of claim 1--;
“a preset position” in line 8 should be --the preset position--;
“a preset position” in line 15 should be --the preset position--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noboru (U.S. 4,838,773).
Re claim 1:
Noboru discloses a scroll compressor (1, scroll compressor - Col. 3, Lines 43-44), comprising:
a main bearing housing (9, frame - Col. 3, Line 56), configured to connect with a fix scroll (20, fixed scroll member - Col. 3, Line 61-62) of the scroll compressor (1) and support an orbiting scroll (21, orbiting scroll - Col. 3, Line 62) of the scroll compressor (1), wherein the main bearing housing (9) has a receiving chamber (Modified Fig. 1 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of receiving chamber)) and a thrust surface through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of thrust surface through-hole)) connected to the receiving chamber (Modified Fig. 1 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 1 above), the thrust surface through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B) is formed on a thrust surface (Modified Fig. 1 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of thrust surface of element 9)) of the main bearing housing (9) for supporting the orbiting scroll (21)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Fig. 2);
a driving shaft (6, driving shaft - Col. 3, Line 52), wherein the driving shaft (6) extends through the main bearing housing (9)(see Fig. 1) and penetrates the thrust surface through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 1 above) to drive the orbiting scroll (21) to perform a translational rotation relative to the fix scroll (20)(see Figs. 1-2 and Col. 5, Lines 12-24); and
a balance block (33, swing link - Col. 4, Line 41; 35, balance weight - Col. 4, Line 45), wherein the balance block (33, 35) is arranged on the driving shaft (6)(see Fig. 4) and configured to provide a reverse centrifugal force or a reverse centrifugal torque to balance dynamic unbalance generated by an eccentric shaft section (8) of the driving shaft (6)(see Figs. 1-4, 9-9a, Col. 4, Line 29 - Col. 6, Line 43 (especially see Col. 5, Line 52 - Col. 6, Line 17)),
the balance block (33, 35) comprises:
a fixed block (33), configured to be arranged into the receiving chamber (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the thrust surface through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 1 above) and fixedly connected to the driving shaft (6)(see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, and Col. 4, Lines 45-49); and
a movable block (35), wherein the movable block (35) is configured to be arranged into the receiving chamber (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the thrust surface through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B), and move radially away from the driving shaft (6) to a preset position (Fig. 3B)(see Figs. 3A-3B and Col. 5, Line 59 - Col. 6, Line 17), and is connected to the fixed block (33)(see Figs. 3A-4 and Col. 5, Line 59 - Col. 6, Line 17); or the movable block is configured to be arranged into the receiving chamber through a radial through-hole formed on the main bearing housing, and move radially towards the driving shaft to a preset position, and is connected to the fixed block.
Re claim 2:
Noboru discloses the scroll compressor (1) according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the scroll compressor (1) further comprises a plug (3, upper closure member - Col. 3, Lines 46), and the plug (3) is configured to block the radial through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B)(see Fig. 1 and Col. 3, Lines 43-51).
Re claim 3:
Noboru discloses the scroll compressor (1) according to claim 2 (as described above), wherein the plug (3) is connected to the main bearing housing (9) in a statically sealed manner (see Fig. 1 and Col. 3, Lines 43-51).
Re claim 5:
Noboru discloses the scroll compressor (1) according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the movable block (35) moves radially relative to the fixed block (33) through a guide groove (36, opening - Col. 4, Lines 43-44) and a guide protrusion (Modified Fig. 3C above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of guide protrusion)) that adapted to each other (see Figs. 3A-3B); one of the guide groove (36) and the guide protrusion is arranged on the fixed block (33)(see Figs. 3A-3C and Col. 4, Lines 42-45), and the other one of the guide groove and the guide protrusion (Modified Fig. 3C above - A) is arranged on the movable block (35)(see Modified Fig. 3C).
Re claim 6:
Noboru discloses the scroll compressor (1) according to claim 5 (as described above), wherein the guide groove (36) is a wedge-shaped groove extending radially (see Figs. 3A-3C at corners of element 35), and correspondingly, the guide protrusion (Modified Fig. 3C above - A) is a wedge-shaped protrusion extending radially (see Modified Fig. 3C above).
Re claim 7:
Noboru discloses the scroll compressor (1) according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the movable block (35) is detachably connected to the fixed block (33) through fasteners (39, guide pins - Col. 4, Line 52)(see Figs. 3A-3C).
Re claim 8:
Noboru discloses the scroll compressor (1) according to claim 1 (as described above), wherein the main bearing housing (9) comprises:
a main body (10, bearing portion - Col. 3, Line 56), configured to support the orbiting scroll (21)(see Figs. 1-2) and is provided with the receiving chamber (Modified Fig. 1 above - A)(see Modified Fig. 1 above and Fig. 2); and
at least two connecting arms (Modified Fig. 2 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize each element B as a type of connecting arm)), arranged separately on an outer peripheral wall (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as type of outer peripheral wall of element 10)) of the main body (10) along a circumferential direction (see Modified Fig. 2 above), and each of the connecting arms (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) is formed by extending radially outward from the main body (10), and the connecting arms (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) are connected to the fix scroll (20)(see Modified Fig. 2 above).
Re claim 9:
Noboru discloses a method for assembling a scroll compressor (1, scroll compressor - Col. 3, Lines 43-44)(see Figs. 1-4), applied to the scroll compressor (1) according to claim 1 (as described above),wherein the method comprises:
arranging the fixed block (33) into the receiving chamber (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the thrust surface through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 1 above) and connecting the fixed block (33) to the driving shaft (66)(see Fig. 4 at elements 8 and 33);
arranging the movable block (35) into the receiving chamber (Modified Fig. 1 above - A) through the thrust surface through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 1 above);
driving the movable block (35) to move radially away from the driving shaft (6) relative to the fixed block (33) to a preset position (Fig. 3B)(see Figs. 3A-3B and Col. 5, Line 59 - Col. 6, Line 17); and
connecting the movable block (35) to the fixed block (33)(see Figs. 3A-4 and Col. 5, Line 59 - Col. 6, Line 17), or
the method comprises:
arranging the fixed block into the receiving chamber through the thrust surface through-hole and connecting the fixed block to the driving shaft; arranging the movable block into the receiving chamber through the radial through-hole;
driving the movable block to move radially towards the driving shaft relative to the fixed block to a preset position; and
connecting the movable block to the fixed block
Re claim 10:
Noboru discloses the assembly method (see Figs. 1-4) according to claim 9 (as described above), wherein after the step of connecting the movable block (35) to the fixed block (33)(see Figs. 3A-4 and Col. 5, Line 59 - Col. 6, Line 17), the method further comprises:
sealing the radial through-hole (Modified Fig. 1 above - B)(see Fig. 1 and Col. 3, Lines 43-51).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 would be allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Additionally, the prior art of record does not teach “the driving shaft sequentially extends through the second cylindrical surface, the conical surface, the first cylindrical surface and the annular surface, the fixed block is located in a space surrounded by the conical surface, the movable block is located in a space surrounded by the first cylindrical surface, and the thrust surface through-hole is formed on the annular surface” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 4.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by one or more references.
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 8/28/26