Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakoshi et al. (CN114008500) in view of Yusa et al. (WO02094532A1).
Regarding claims 1-4, Murakoshi teaches that it is known to form a plurality of partially coupled and parallel aligned single core optical fibers (see Fig. 6B) into a tape by coating the fibers with an uncured resin (about 6 paragraphs before Problem of Transmission Loss section) wherein a portion of the uncured resin is removed from the combined fibers using a rotary blade (about 5 paragraphs before Problem of Transmission Loss section) and wherein the resin is cured thereafter (about 4 paragraphs before Problem of Transmission Loss section). Murakoshi fails to teach wherein any of the processing takes place in a bubble inhibition atmosphere. However, Yusa teaches that when processing curable resins, it is known to process them under a carbon dioxide atmosphere in order to prevent bubble formation in the resin (8 paragraph before the Claims section). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the carbon dioxide atmosphere of Yusa in resin coating method of Murakoshi in order to prevent bubble formation in the processing of Murakoshi. Further it is noted that reasonably the prior art teaches providing a carbon dioxide atmosphere wherein at least some part is necessary as a source of gas container as a “supply part” (such as a tank or a gas line) and the mold of Yusa would read on a “gas filling part”. It is noted that the teaching of Yusa would lend one of ordinary skill to apply the gas in locations wherein the uncured resin is exposed to air, thereby preventing bubble formation. As such, one employing these principles in Murakoshi may perform the provision with a confined space such as a closed chamber or at least an area wherein a carbon dioxide atmosphere could actually be provided, wherein whatever type of container that is employed to contain the gas in a limited area could be referred to as a “gas filling part”. Nonetheless, one of ordinary skill in the art applying the teachings of Yusa would not merely apply the carbon dioxide of Yusa in an unconfined manner because Yusa teaches confinement of the gas to the proximity of uncured resin so as to allow it to perform its intended function.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Murakoshi does not teach the benefits of preventing bubble formation for the purpose of preventing surface roughness. However, this is not a requirement of the prior art. It is not necessary that the prior art perform the same steps as the current claims for the same reasons. The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Further the applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the “particular structures” of claim 1 as amended. However, the only new parts provided in claim 1 is the recitation of a “gas filling part” and a “gas supply part” wherein the gas filling supply part provides gas to the filling part. As explained above it is the position of the examiner that both of these parts are implicitly present in Yusa and would be immediately envisaged by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Further the applicant makes arguments drawn to the use of supercritical carbon dioxide in the invention of Yusa. However, it is noted that Yusa teaches two uses of carbon dioxide, the first being the covering gas described by the examiner and the second being the supercritical carbon dioxide. The teachings related to the supercritical carbon dioxide are largely irrelevant because this carbon dioxide and provision was not cited by the examiner as pertinent to the problems solved by Yusa.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717