DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, “prebuilding the unified digital predistortion…” in line 3 should be corrected to “prebuilding a unified digital predistortion…” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3 – 11 and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites “using a unified digital predistortion hardware structure, and obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks by using software configuration.”
In claim 1, the limitation of obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks by using software configuration involves implementing a mathematical or AI-based model using software/configuration. Thus, the claim recites mathematical calculations for obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks which fall within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites a unified digital predistortion hardware structure. However, the recited structure does not impose any other meaningful limits on the claim. The using step is unrelated to the obtaining step. Therefore, the additional limitation is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The claim also recites artificial intelligence, neural networks and software configuration. However, neural networks and DPD schemes typically involve mathematical operations, optimization, and model selection.
The claim is not just about training a model in the abstract. It is directed to: a unified digital predistortion hardware structure and implementing a digital predistortion scheme. The “using” step was found to be insignificant extra-solution activity. Using a hardware structure is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. Therefore, this limitation remains insignificant extra solution activity even upon reconsideration and does not amount to significantly more. The claim may refer to digital predistortion hardware structure and digital predistortion schemes, where digital predistortion may improve RF transmitter performance. However, the claim does not have any limitations that addresses these issues. The claim does not specify if, how and where predistortion is performed. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 3 recites “obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks by using software configuration.”
In claim 3, the limitation of obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks by using software configuration involves implementing a mathematical or AI-based model. Thus, the claim recites mathematical calculations for obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks which fall within the mathematical concepts grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites artificial intelligence, neural networks and software configuration. However, neural networks and DPD schemes typically involve mathematical operations, optimization, and model selection.
The claim is not just about training a model in the abstract. It is directed to: obtaining digital predistortion schemes. The claim may refer to digital predistortion schemes, where digital predistortion may improve RF transmitter performance. However, the claim does not have any limitations that addresses these issues. The claim does not specify if, how and where predistortion is performed. The claim is not patent eligible.
In claims 4 – 11 and 14 - 20, the claimed invention is also not directed to patent eligible subject matter, where the dependent claims do not add additional significant limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al (US 2022/0385317).
Re claim 2, Jung teaches of method for implementing a digital predistortion hardware structure (DPD, Fig.6), comprising: prebuilding (pre-training, Paragraphs 0089, 0094 and 0096) a unified digital predistortion hardware structure (NN1, NN2, Fig.6 and Paragraphs 0115 – 0117), wherein the unified hardware structure is configured to implement artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion (Figures 5 – 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benosman et al (US 2022/0198253) in view of Stulp et al (“Many regression algorithms, one unified model: A review”, Neural Networks 69 (2015) 60–79).
Re claim 1, Benosman teaches of a method for implementing a digital predistortion scheme (#351, Fig.3B), comprising: using a unified digital predistortion hardware structure (#352, #353, Fig.3B), and obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of a number of neural-networks by using software configuration (#410116, Fig.4B-2 and Fig.4E). However, Benosman does not specifically teach of obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks.
Stulp teaches of using a unified hardware structure (unified model, Fig.3), and obtaining artificial-intelligence schemes of eight neural-networks by using software configuration (at least 8 neural networks, Fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have unified artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks for exponential intelligence.
Re claim 3, Benosman teaches of a method for implementing a digital predistortion scheme (#351, Fig.3B), comprising: obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of a number neural-networks by using software configuration (#410116, Fig.4B-2 and Fig.4E). However, Benosman does not specifically teach of obtaining artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks.
Stulp teaches of using a unified hardware structure (unified model, Fig.3), and obtaining artificial-intelligence schemes of eight neural-networks by using software configuration (at least 8 neural networks, Fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have unified artificial-intelligence-digital-predistortion schemes of eight neural-networks for exponential intelligence.
Re claim 17, Benosman teaches of device, comprising a memory and at least one processor, wherein the memory is configured to store at least one program; and the at least one processor is configured to perform the method of claim 1 when executing the at least one program (processor, memory, Paragraph 0054).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benosman and Stulp in view of Vu et al (US 2024/0119264).
Re claim 18, Benosman and Stulp teach all the limitation of claim 1 except of non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform the method of claim 1.
Vu teaches of a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform digital predistortion (Paragraph 0017).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for its storage capacity, portability, where data cannot be changed and for preventing accidental erasure of programs or files.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 – 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4 – 11, 14 – 16 and 19 – 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ARISTOCRATIS FOTAKIS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633